fins all connected very nice... but only happen if he spread them... lolz... quite fat as well.... hope his fins will grow much more elegant and shiny....
Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!
Feb 7 2009, 02:55 AM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
jz bought a betta today... first time keepers... currently holding him in my low tech planted tank... but the tank dun seem healthy for the plants... lolz... if the plants start dying, i'll transfer him into my main planted tank... hopefully he wont bite/nip any of my tetras or plants....
![]() fins all connected very nice... but only happen if he spread them... lolz... quite fat as well.... hope his fins will grow much more elegant and shiny.... |
Feb 10 2009, 08:19 PM
usually whats the reason for betta to jump out of water??... the betta i just bought for my housemate jumped out from the water bowl... i didnt notice it until when i saw him lying motionless on the floor... pushed it around, notice it shakes a little... quickly put him back into another tank....
the water bowl was filled with filtered drinking water (i guess no problem with the water as my betta uses it).... bottom had some holland sand (suspect this, but my betta tank also uses similar holland sand)... now he is abit nyawa-nyawa ikan... his body covered with a layer of white slimy thing... i thought betta are hardy fish.... |
Feb 10 2009, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Feb 10 2009, 08:39 PM) @the_catacombs yea... white white wool wrapping around it... how can i remove/cure the disease??....Bro, ur fish is been infected by disease already. Probably is Fungus infection eh? Some sort of white white thing like wool that wrapping the body of the fish right? Btw, ya fish very tough already man.. It jumped out from the tank for quite sometime and still alive. i guess he was out of water for almost an hour... looks pretty dried up, but yet still breathing... |
Feb 10 2009, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Feb 10 2009, 09:23 PM) @the_catacombs thanks for the info.... what's gentian violet or methylene blue anyway??... this one??..Out from water for around an hour time? Source from BSM: Click HERE ![]() jz now i tried removing the fungus off his body physically using my fingers.... but he still seems very weak... occasionally floats motionless with fins closed/drops back.... |
Feb 11 2009, 12:22 AM
i dun think da betta can last till tomolo... now terbalik adi not swimming... knock da bowl abit only he move abit...
Mar 5 2009, 03:30 AM
a few quick questions... can betta live in strong water current??... currently i have a small pico size tank housing my betta... plans to get a HOB water filter and do some low tech planted tank inside for it... (lazy to do water change twice a week adi)... because previously i did the same setup for my guppies and all of them didnt survive the strong water current....
2nd question... can 1 male n 1 female betta live together??.... |
Mar 5 2009, 06:13 AM
QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Mar 5 2009, 03:34 AM) 1st)no... dun give ur betta live in strong water current.. i think they prefer dead water(no water movement).. a single HOB.. i think shud not b a big problem if u housing it at big aquarium~~ oh okay... thanks for the info... i guess i'll maintain what i have for now... dead water without filter with single male betta in it.... 2)a male and a female.. will normally end up the dominant one(mostly male) kill the weaker side... if u playing to keep betta together... female is ur best choice... u can keep them in the large number.. they can stay well(may ocasinally flare, but wont cause serious injured~~ |
Mar 7 2009, 12:49 AM
Mar 12 2009, 02:27 AM
is it normal for betta to be active??... mine seems to be crazy whole day swimming left n right around the tank...
Mar 13 2009, 04:55 AM
QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Mar 13 2009, 03:49 AM) erm, normally they are inactive at night, as they need to rest.. for ur case.. i m not sure.. if the fish are newly bought, if the fish showing bar on the body and colour fade away.. they fish consider stress.. get some ketapang leave for him and put him under a place that only have a dim light or no light at all.. nope... not newly bought... more than 1 month already.... everything seems normal and he is eating well...does it mean when the tank is lit up with lights, bettas will usually go active??... coz i put him in a small planted tank, hence i switch on the lights at nite for the plants to grow.... yes i do notice he is more active when lights are switched on... is active good or no good??.. |
Mar 13 2009, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Mar 13 2009, 03:56 PM) oh... great den.... thanks... Added on March 15, 2009, 6:08 pmtoday i tried introducing my betta into my main planted tank... he dont seem to like it as he constantly stays in da bushes or near the water filter.... he doesnt even bothered when i feed them... This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Mar 15 2009, 06:08 PM |
Mar 18 2009, 03:23 AM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 17 2009, 04:50 PM) Yea. Just like the fish got experience and thing goes easy for them. Eh bro, i just got my 2feet tank and luckily its heavy rain today. Gonna move my fish into the tank tonight. Just wander are sponge filter along enough? Cause im lazy to 3-4day a WC. So going to invest a filter. does water temperature affects bettas??.. coz i notice the tank i house my betta has higher water temperature compare to my main planted tank... when i put my betta in da planted tank, his color faded a little.... |
Mar 18 2009, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Mar 18 2009, 05:26 AM) yup... some prefer lower temperature.. normal show betta will be stress under cold condition~~ they will seldom flare if u put them in the air cond room.. but my main tank water temperature around 25-27oC... should be ideal for betta rite??... does other water parameter such as ammonia, nitrite, nitrate affects betta??... This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Mar 18 2009, 12:06 PM |
Mar 18 2009, 05:42 PM
Mar 19 2009, 02:44 AM
Mar 19 2009, 09:53 PM
can guppies live with betta??
Mar 20 2009, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(mengdez @ Mar 19 2009, 10:30 PM) QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 20 2009, 12:22 AM) Guppy might gone in the next day or u wil see them float on the water surface. oh ok... thanks for the advice..i did intro my betta into my main tank with tetras and rasboras... he damn stress kept hiding in the bushes or dwells around the water filter area.... once i saw my tetra nipped my betta's tail... lucky no casulty... i quickly put him back into his private tank... |
Mar 20 2009, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 20 2009, 09:20 AM) nope... my betta is the largest in there... larger by abit.... but serpae tetra is popular having aggressive temperament... no surprise it nipped my betta.... even many of my rasboras tail end gone adi... |
Mar 22 2009, 04:31 AM
anyhow i experimented guppies and betta in same tank... so far no casulties... betta and guppies mind their own business..
Mar 22 2009, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 22 2009, 11:17 PM) Woah.. That is a gud news. Seems ya betta quite calm and not aggressive type. Ain't like mine, my wild mac fries is starting to fight with each other already. The big one is nipping the small guy tail.. Even in a 2 feet tank. Both fries are only around 1.5inch long. yeah... my betta seems vr shy type... i tried introduce him into my main tank with other tetras... he kept hiding in the bushes... |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:38 PM |