Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!

skyz79
post Feb 26 2011, 11:57 PM

well the male and female can be identified at the bottom of its belly. If you see a white spot on the bottom of the belly its a female.
well if u put 2 males they might end up killing each other. If your fishes are for competiton or display make sure u isolate them its better.
i've been breeding for quite some time . my fishes are mostly from thailand. compare to ipoh hatchery its much more better.

Added on February 27, 2011, 12:03 am
QUOTE(Blissguy @ Feb 26 2011, 12:37 AM)
so how do i get him bro....  smile.gif

i am not sure i have a female betta.... now i put both in a mini pawn i made with leaves
um.... the other in a small plastic bottle so both can see itch other.
leave it be for 2 days
then let it go, but what if it's not a female what will happen? any info guys and gals
never seen a female so ganas be for!
well the male and female can be identified at the bottom of its belly. If you see a white spot on the bottom of the belly its a female.
well if u put 2 males they might end up killing each other. If your fishes are for competiton or display make sure u isolate them its better.
i've been breeding for quite some time . my fishes are mostly from thailand. compare to ipoh hatchery its much more better.

Added on February 27, 2011, 12:14 am
QUOTE(edmund90 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:27 PM)
jialat... my fish color is fading after i put it into a bigger tank.. roughly 1 feet tank i guess.. anything i can do?

i read some article it say the fish might b lack of oxygen or temp or etc.. shud i put a pump for it?
well normally i just put less than half tank water if one feet.
u have to keep overnight better and you can try putting a leave called "tua hiok poh" its a leave which have medical function for fishes.
the water will turn brown like tea but its ok . when ur fish is stable again u can change the water by half then the colour will fade away and
the fish will be fine again. it works for mine i hope it can help.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Feb 27 2011, 12:14 AM
skyz79
post Feb 28 2011, 01:19 AM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Feb 27 2011, 10:27 PM)
no white dot below it? aiyo go buy a female lo... rm1-rm2 saja.<---plakat or veiltail la i mean...
in penang sometimes i get to buy quite a variety of females such as halfmoon plakat, halfmoon and double tail too. i found them in CTY aquarium shop.
but u got to try ur luck ok coz sometimes the condition of the fish not so good mostly injury so depends on ur luck lo. u buy a few normally one or two will survive and i think thats good enough coz its just 90cents.

Added on February 28, 2011, 1:25 am
QUOTE(curaptz @ Feb 27 2011, 07:57 AM)
Photos of ur betta bro...
Hehe..
will post them in FB soon. my camera sucks take d not nice. wait i lend from my friend and will take and upload them.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Feb 28 2011, 01:25 AM
skyz79
post Mar 21 2011, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 20 2011, 10:48 PM)
haha.. good luck.. i do my culture for 3 weeks..
http://www.facebook.com/?flyingspaghettimo...100002155390662

hi i have setup my site in facebook.
hope u enjoy looking at my bettas.
They are for sale. I will add more breeds soon.

Added on March 21, 2011, 1:17 pmhttp://www.facebook.com/?flyingspaghettimonster=home#!/profile.php?id=100002155390662

here is my collection that i just post in fb.
im doing retail for betta and they come in many varieties.
will post more soon once they are shipped from bangkok.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Mar 21 2011, 01:17 PM
skyz79
post Mar 21 2011, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 21 2011, 01:30 PM)
bro,i hav lil suggestion for ur site.. maybe u shud set the photo to view by public instead of fren only.. i guess will attract more ppl
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=1618...100002155390662

sry guys wrong link

Added on March 21, 2011, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(skyz79 @ Mar 21 2011, 01:39 PM)
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=1618...62&l=cc4597067a

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=1617...62&l=12ba66f1a9

Added on March 21, 2011, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(budblely @ Mar 21 2011, 01:29 PM)
anyone got cun HM to sell ah?
if got i let u know got shipment coming this april.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Mar 21 2011, 01:55 PM
skyz79
post Mar 21 2011, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Mar 21 2011, 03:45 PM)
question about ketapang leaves...i just cimply grab can already rite? anything i need to know incase grab a poor quality one..
pick the dry ones only.
skyz79
post Mar 22 2011, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 22 2011, 01:21 PM)
arghhhhhhhhh... dunno wats wrong but more and more fries r dying.. already small spawn and now die so many.. dunno got 10 survive or not now.. ><!!
think your water is not stable as before breeding u need to put indian almond leaves to avoid your fries from getting infected with fungus and parasites.
you will have to feed them too after they spawn for a few days. i usually feed them with shrimps. u need to put the shrimps evenly if u have a big tank or aquarium
as the young fries not yet able to hunt for food on their surroundings like the adults.
as this is your first time breeding this pair the fries are a little weak. maybe on your second attempt they will be ok.
but don't expact much if u are using an aquarium. I tried using that and only manage to breed around 20 to 30 fries per tank.

by using plastic tanks i mange to raise around 100 now. its best if u have algae in the water as thats the best to keep them alive as it is hard to estimate how much they
eat. worms and shirmps (protein) green plants (fibre). if u have both of this ur fries will grow fast too. hope this can help you out in your next try.
skyz79
post Mar 22 2011, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 22 2011, 03:23 PM)
wow.. thx.. the tank is smaller than 1ft size.. roughly same size with plastic tank.. maybe shud try bloom some algae next time.. but now just hope the remaining able to survive.. 1 also tak apa.. laugh.gif  at least have some result..  shocking.gif
now setting up for bbs.. waiting the salt dilute..
its best that u use fine salt so it can dilute faster. good luck ya
skyz79
post Mar 23 2011, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 23 2011, 03:54 PM)
if i leave the dad in longer is it ok?
usually the male won't eat their young unless they got frighten.
i took them out only after the fries can swim on their own properly.
usually after a week but i will keep them isolated from people.

skyz79
post Mar 25 2011, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 24 2011, 08:41 PM)
any one knows how long to see the bb betta ya? now is like so tinny ...
well about a few weeks u can see them grow d. for mine coz my tank no algae just feed bbs so around 3 to 4 weeks it can start eating worm.
make sure u pick the worms before feed or they might get choked if the worm too large.

skyz79
post Mar 25 2011, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 25 2011, 01:15 PM)
now my tank so kotoh la and can't see the bb haiz don't know how to make it for 2 more weeks ....

Added on March 25, 2011, 1:16 pm

i think i will just give it to the lfs ...

but of cost is normal for us to just keep the good ones.
What u feed your fish?
if really dirty u should clean it. normally after i suck out the dirt i will put some new water in.
but i dun put straight like that i use a bottle and dug a hole and let the water slowly drip to the aquarium.

skyz79
post Mar 25 2011, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 25 2011, 03:22 PM)
what you us to take out old the left over food?
the baby so tinny scared suck out ! hahah.....
i just use a small pipe . u know the one we use for oxigen pump?
u have to be careful not to fast when u suck out the dirt.
skyz79
post Mar 25 2011, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 25 2011, 01:29 PM)
got algae will better? i m trying to bloom some algae for my next spawn..
is it just put the water expose to the sun then wait few days later got something yellowish or green?
yes. as when u take ur time to spawn ur bbs it will have something to eat too as i mention plants can provide natural fibre for the fish.
the water will turn green as u watch carefully there is a layer of greenish stuf on the surface of your breeding tank. Actually if u use aquarium got expose to some
sunlight will be just perfect for the baby fries. careful not to expose too much as if ur water turn too green u will not be able to see your fish.
too bad my home cant do that for my aquariums. so i use plastic tank/ bucket. i will expose them daily for a few hours when the sun is not too hot.
if not you will warm up the water and kill ur fries. dun put plastics on floor ya if u keep them outside. put some bricks under it so the heat from the ground wont
transfer too much to your plastic tank. i hope this can help. good luck!

Added on March 25, 2011, 4:41 pm
QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 25 2011, 04:31 PM)
wah rely need kong fu oh if like that, if i let it be what will happen?
if ur water too dirty ur fries will get sick it might effect the whole spawn.
no need always change. i change just once a week or two.
u dun put in too much bbs will be ok . but if u feed boiled egg yolk then must change daily as water will smell and turn cloudy.
bbs can last a few hours in your tank so better if compare to egg.
microworm is also good but it will sink so if ur fish stay below mostly then ok .
if not u will have to clean them.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Mar 25 2011, 04:41 PM
skyz79
post Mar 25 2011, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 25 2011, 04:50 PM)
wah say...... so much work him...... and not much time
haha ya i put a lot of effort in it. hope i get a few nice pair soon.

skyz79
post Mar 27 2011, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 27 2011, 04:06 PM)
kutu air (daphnia) or liquifry no1? those stupid algae so hard to bloom.. when dont wan the tank is full of it.. now i wan dont have.. ><!!
take it easy bro all u need is some sunlight.
will see them in a week or two.

Added on March 27, 2011, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 27 2011, 03:50 PM)
some thing from pet shop, not sure what it is. but it works so far

Added on March 27, 2011, 3:51 pmi think i am just going to let it be and feed every day
maybe its because the source of food is not enough or the enviroment also.
my spawn also 1 month d. some big but some small. i will get a fibre tub soon.
wait for my dragons hmpk to arrive.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Mar 27 2011, 04:22 PM
skyz79
post Mar 28 2011, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Mar 27 2011, 11:35 PM)
hi guyz...i have question here.
I tried to breed my betta for 2 batch already and i still fail to keep the fry.What should should i give them to eat so they can grow fast?for the previous 2batch, all GG within 2weeks  cry.gif ...I want to do more research before i breed them again
u need a good water condition if u wanna breed.
put some indian almond leaves to your spawning tank.
leave a few days then u mix ur male n female in the pool let them look at each other for a few hours and see the female reaction .
if u see the female come close to your male bottle its a good sign to breed.
try put a lot of live plants in the tank if possible let in some sunlight or u can buy a uv light to spawn some algae in the tank.
when the mating is over remove the female only .
leave the male for a week. once it can swim it will start feeding on the algae on its own.
after a week u need to supply life food to your fries. microworm, bbs or any other source that the fry can eat.
in a month u can see the fries will grow around 1cm +++ depends on how u feed them if u feed evenly then they will come out same size.
after that just feed them worms will do but u need to pick smaller worms if too big it will get choke to death.
hope this can help u out good luck.
skyz79
post Mar 28 2011, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Mar 28 2011, 12:36 AM)
erm...what is bbs?can recommend few life plants?because i try money plants before but it doest not work. By the way izzit a must to put indian almond leave?Because i skip it in my previous batch.
put indian almond leaves better as it can act as a sterilizer for the water or u apply general aid. normally i put both.
well actually any water plants will do . keladi, water bog, anacharis, or cabomba.
bbs is baby brime shrimps.
kinda expensive though around 140 per can but can use a long time. depend on how much fish u wanna spawn.
u can learn to spawn the shrimps from internet.

Added on March 28, 2011, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(edmund90 @ Mar 28 2011, 10:41 AM)
wow.. u do look around my age.. so early married? btw, mikacarrick dont only look for cheap bbs because it depends on the hatching rate also.. some cheap bbs hatching rate very low.. after all is just the same but need do more work.. (correct me if i m wrong)

Added on March 28, 2011, 10:43 amOh yea i got a question, hope got some1 can answer me..
A '2' ray plakat must b a traditional plakat and not a hmpk?
Will a hmpk spawn have 2 ray plakat?
well u might have that if both of ur male or female might have been mix with that blood line.
i try use male hm and female plakat before when it turn out i got double tail too.
because one of them got mix with double tail before.

today very lucky i found a shop got pure female CT for sale for just rm 1.
i hope its not mix before coz the look really genuine like original female CT
u should once a while look at shops too sometimes the return is also good.

for myself my next try i wanna come up with dthm with ct fins. looks cool.
too bad my friend doesn't wanna sell his.

This post has been edited by skyz79: Mar 28 2011, 01:01 PM
skyz79
post Mar 29 2011, 01:33 AM

QUOTE(Blissguy @ Mar 29 2011, 01:20 AM)
all rite here's some thing i got today....

poison !!!  smile.gif
nice
this is my blue ct female and the white one no idea anyone know what is it?
haha really hard to tell like got mix d.

skyz79
post Mar 30 2011, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(curaptz @ Mar 30 2011, 04:19 PM)
haiiis...
then cancel...lol...
go during betta sunday better. more ppl to bring their fish to show show show..
then got more HM to culik... tongue.gif
kl very active ya not like in pg i dun hear much activity from the club
skyz79
post Apr 1 2011, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(nicotine @ Apr 1 2011, 02:55 AM)
looks like internal disease to me, symptom exactly the same as my hm. The first few day very active after that I could see they don't really wunna swim, make bubbles and always stay at bottom then fins start to deteriorate as there's no more 180 degree when flaring.  One of them died and the 2nd survived with medication.
when you buy from the shop u need to mix the water from the shop and your water into the tank.
Dont put straight away. dip the packet in you new water 1st before you mix them.
make sure you don't feed them for few days.
Most important is that you must not use them for breeding so soon they might be in stress.
they like salt a lot so u have to put some salt and ketapang leave in the water to qurantine the fish
general aid with salt also will do if u cant find any ketapang leaves.
Normally for good gred fishes i use quality general aid such as tetra brand. you dun have to put much as its very diluted. u just new put a few drops.
your water must be kept a few days before use. if u really in a hurry then u can use airpump on the water for at least a night around 12 hours.
the water will be stable by then.
hope this info can help you in the future.

0.0473sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:55 PM