Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!

Angel86
post Feb 6 2009, 10:53 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Feb 1 2009, 11:17 PM)
Can i put my betta fish tank beside my computer?
Will the radiation kill it?
QUOTE(fylon @ Feb 5 2009, 09:13 PM)
Btw guys, dumb question.. Was wander will betta bite? I mean if we put our finger into the tank. laugh.gif
doh.gif
What questions are these?Its like being asked by a 5 yr old kid.
Bettas wont die of radiation if you put it beside your pc.And no,bettas dont bite.OMFG. doh.gif
Angel86
post Feb 7 2009, 01:03 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Feb 6 2009, 08:45 PM)
Im asking politely, i hope u can reply politely too, elder
Im not saying you la bro.Chill.I just got cha-dou-ed biggrin.gif
And not saying anyone either.Too much of kopitiam i guess.
This is two of my fishes from my few collection.

This post has been edited by Angel86: Feb 7 2009, 01:23 PM

Angel86
post Feb 7 2009, 06:40 PM

222 posts

Of course.But then if you feed it permanently then its diet will not be balanced.Moreover,mosquito larvae isnt disease free.
Angel86
post Feb 7 2009, 11:29 PM

222 posts

Normally many betta sellers will have warranty for their fishes and if its DOA,then just snap a pic and send it to the seller and he'll refund another one.
@Andy0625:Rearing bettas are a lot easier and hassle free compared to other tropical fishes.Unless you are/want to be a professional breeder or seller then you should visit those forums and get as much info as you can bout bettas.Else,add water,some anti chlorine,pinch of salt,mix it and you're good to go.
Angel86
post Feb 8 2009, 02:07 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Feb 7 2009, 11:47 PM)
Btw, regarding to the water.. Is that really salt needed to be add in? I plan to pick up some ketapang leaf nearby by house as my fish spa. laugh.gif
Salt is not necessary but is best added to avoid white spot.Ketapang is good but will color your water once you put it in.
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Feb 8 2009, 12:10 AM)
Thanks for the prompt reply , I guess I should hunt for a nice halfmoon.

- Just read that halfmoon need more care than other bettas , guess I'm off to get Crowntail instead , but they looks like all the fins like tear apart.  doh.gif
I should put water and anti clorine into the Kit first and left it for overnight right ?  blush.gif
If you are using anti chlorine then you need not leave the water overnight.
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Feb 8 2009, 12:34 AM)
As I mentioned before , I saw one Blue HM on the shelf and on the next day , around 5 to 8 bettas just died like that.  doh.gif

I guess I should get from breeders instead.  blush.gif

Anyway , is HM really needs change the water once every 3 days ?  icon_question.gif
Thats actually your call because it all depends on how you are going to keep your bettas,ie;in barracks or jars.
So,if you are keeping them in jars or your marina kit,it wont be necessary to change it every 3 days.Once a week or when the water's dirty will do.
Angel86
post Feb 8 2009, 11:35 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Feb 8 2009, 10:01 AM)
You should be mistaken the marina kit that I bought.
It's not normal huge marina kit and it's a small Marina Theme kit instead.
Read that they say the larger the container , the longer I need to change the water.

Fyi , the Theme Marina kit is only 2L , I guess it should be okay even once a week right ?  drool.gif
Waiting for the betta seller in Lyn , going to get from him.  smile.gif
I know.Is it the one with some design at the background?Nevertheless changing water frequently isnt necessary unless you notice the water in the tank's dirty.
Angel86
post Feb 9 2009, 01:47 AM

222 posts

Its risky unless you buy them from reliable sellers.
@Andy0625:What type of betta are you looking for bro?I can help you to find one which suits your preference.
Angel86
post Feb 9 2009, 05:04 PM

222 posts

Bro,when you put ketapang leaves in the water and leace it a few hours,the water will turn brownish.

This post has been edited by Angel86: Feb 9 2009, 05:05 PM
Angel86
post Feb 10 2009, 12:13 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Feb 9 2009, 06:18 PM)
Any recommendations on where to get HM , HMPK or CT ?
I just wanted to recommend you bro yewlin or spirit of demon.I have a nice white hm to let go too.

QUOTE(yewlin @ Feb 9 2009, 10:21 PM)
i got some red HMPK to let go if you interested. smile.gif
hello bro admin from betta4u. smile.gif
Angel86
post Feb 10 2009, 12:47 AM

222 posts

He's an admin there.the head admin owns the site if im not mistaken.
Angel86
post Feb 10 2009, 09:57 PM

222 posts

Methylene blue can be obtained from fish shops easily.You dont need to use expensive brands as the Rm1.50 Ich medicine will work.
Angel86
post Feb 11 2009, 11:37 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Feb 11 2009, 12:28 AM)
methylene so cheap mer? i bought it for rm13. i think the one u mention, rm1.50 one is general aids..
Bro,Rm1.50 got many types which is general aid,anti ich and anti parasite.General aid contains malachite green while anti ich uses methylene blue.Im asking him to get the Anti ich medicine.
Angel86
post Feb 16 2009, 11:36 PM

222 posts

Not a nice picture.It doesnt do any justice to the betta at all.
Angel86
post Mar 20 2009, 09:29 PM

222 posts

Here are my few bettas.Pictures are not superb as some didnt flare to the fullest and the color is actually better than in the picture. biggrin.gif
There are more but too lazy and tired to take.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Angel86
post Mar 21 2009, 02:54 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 20 2009, 11:11 PM)
@Angel86
Nice better u have there bro.  The no.3 black and white betta looks like koi. laugh.gif
The red spot is actually the gills when it was flaring.The black spots are actually blue. biggrin.gif
Angel86
post Mar 23 2009, 02:22 AM

222 posts

Actually there are only 2 sd's in the picture.The MG and the butterfly.The rest are all HM's but i didnt get to really capture them when they're fully flaring.
Angel86
post Mar 29 2009, 03:17 AM

222 posts

Haha,i read this in bsm already.damn lucky. smile.gif
My red copper hmpk.

Angel86
post Mar 29 2009, 04:09 PM

222 posts

Anti bacterial salt?
I never heard of this before.The amount of salt you put depends on the size of the betta jar.
Angel86
post Mar 30 2009, 01:26 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(Kinci @ Mar 30 2009, 02:55 AM)
ph 6.2~7 should be fine for fishes. less than 6 means ur water more acidic, more than 7 means alkaline. and why put salt? your fish is sick? never heard of that salt too. if its healthy just aged water/chloramine will do fine.

if its the suitable size of your tank u're asking about, i'll say the larger the better. most people like to keep betta's in a dang small jar. which is bad for the fish health/liking. nobody likes being cramped in such a small space right? even thought it's a fish, well, you will want ur pet to be happy right. its really up to u. but personally i use a 10 gallon tank. its planted and filtered.
QUOTE(inv @ Mar 30 2009, 10:21 AM)
actually, you should avoid using salt at all cost. Only use salt to quarantine and treat sick fish. if you only have 1-2 betta, a 10 gallon tank is fine.. but when you have 100s like felix, 10gallon per fish is gonna take up a lot of space! haha...

if you intend to keep betta and breed betta, you need a minimum of 1gallon jar/tank. water change is to be done at least once every week, better if twice a week.
Both of you are wrong when you mention not using salt for betta keeping.Its either you're not really experienced or dont know much bout betta keeping so please,don give wrong advice.
Many experienced betta keepers/breeders uses some salt and have slighly acidic water when keeping their bettas.The tannic acid in ketapang leaves will make the water more acidic and its been said to calm the fish down and bettas love it.Even Atison Betta Spa has indian almond leaf extract(ketapang) where its used to add to the water in betta.And,a bigger tank doenst necessarily mean its better.

Angel86
post Mar 30 2009, 02:23 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(betta9 @ Mar 30 2009, 02:04 PM)
oh, but what kind of salt? can i use anti bact salt? and why the fish looks stress, or just keep quiet all the time? its don't want to eat anymore. before this i gave frozen BW. im afraid it will die if not eat anything. please help me..
btw, i already put ketapang leaf in the fish tank.
If you bought the salt from the aquarium shop then it can be used.Did you overfeed it?How many litres of water in ur betta tank?

0.0479sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:28 AM