QUOTE(chow1942 @ Feb 17 2009, 02:28 AM)
yaya... agreed.. it is hard to snap the photo.. may b u can use video and upload to youtube.. it willl b easier...share some of my fish..
marble HMPK
Red HM
Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!
Feb 17 2009, 03:51 PM
406 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: serdang, seri kembangan |
Mar 5 2009, 03:16 AM
Mar 5 2009, 03:34 AM
QUOTE(areola @ Mar 2 2009, 01:43 PM) Hi guys, I recently bought a betta with a small aquarium 5 -6 inches long and 4-5 inches tall. I dont have a filter or a pump. Besides feeding and changing the water, what else can I do? This is my first time having a fish as a pet. for betta, u dun really nid a pump, juz do more WC enuf.. and somemore they are surface breather.. u can try to spawn him/her... it is really fun.. but, b4 u spawn him/her.. must ask urself.. can u dedicated for the young frys... but, it is really fun to see the frys growing~~gd luck for ur betta keeping ya Added on March 5, 2009, 3:44 am QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 5 2009, 03:30 AM) a few quick questions... can betta live in strong water current??... currently i have a small pico size tank housing my betta... plans to get a HOB water filter and do some low tech planted tank inside for it... (lazy to do water change twice a week adi)... because previously i did the same setup for my guppies and all of them didnt survive the strong water current.... 1st)no... dun give ur betta live in strong water current.. i think they prefer dead water(no water movement).. a single HOB.. i think shud not b a big problem if u housing it at big aquarium~~2nd question... can 1 male n 1 female betta live together??.... 2)a male and a female.. will normally end up the dominant one(mostly male) kill the weaker side... if u playing to keep betta together... female is ur best choice... u can keep them in the large number.. they can stay well(may ocasinally flare, but wont cause serious injured~~ This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 5 2009, 03:44 AM |
Mar 8 2009, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 8 2009, 01:18 PM) Finally got myself some java moss for my fish after weeks on hunting. erm... wild betta are not that aggresive than show betta.. they hav no problem staying together...Anyways, just wander can few wild betta been together in a tank? Cause i saw the LFS do that and the all the 3 betta live peacefully. Dont see the fish is biting each other. i hav more than 10 pcs of mac... they stay together peacefully... here is the lovely adult pair~~ Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 10 2009, 03:23 AM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 9 2009, 09:26 AM) @spirit no lah.. cuz wildtype... especially MAC, are not that hardly compare to show betta... so, the water fluatution cannot be too much.. so, if u cannot do WC frequently.. u have to rely on all this filteration system lo... in fact, they dun like the bubble and the prefer the calm water... so, wat i can do is to keep the air bubble at low or moderate lo...Nice setup there bro.. Whats ur water temp and water PH? Yeap. That what i've found about wild betta. That are seem to be calmer then show betta. erm... water temperature is at 25 celcius wif 2 fans directly blowing from the top... no chiller is using here as it cost a bomb.... water ph is 4.5 lower down using seachem acid buffer or ocean free ph down~~ here i show some of my show betta that i took their picture today.. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 13 2009, 03:49 AM
QUOTE(jun08 @ Mar 11 2009, 07:07 PM) i m selling them. but the picture is for ilustration only.. if u wan to choose the fish, u can visit to my house..Added on March 13, 2009, 3:54 am QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Mar 11 2009, 07:22 PM) It seems tat betta are very fragile(?) it depend of the fish.. if the fish are healthy are not dirty, u no nid to change the water.. if ur betta is HMPK, u can even change the water once every 2 weeks... if ur betta is HM, u are required to change the water twice a week.. if u betta is CT, u have to check the water parameter more often as the fin will curl...My fren betta tat bought from pasar malam juz passed away Dunno wats wrong also but suspect fin rot as the find is getting smaller and smaller each day Color also slowly fading and died at the end hmm... I plan2 buy a betta but need2 learn alot first I wan2 ask hw frequent do u guys change the water and did u all change all the water or 80%of it? And does a healthy betta swim with their fin open as in demon's vid? for a healthy betta, they shud have a full flare and very aggresive when they saw only opponets(a mirror will do). beside that, the healthy fish will alwiz blow bubble nest.. it also indicate they are ready to breed... Added on March 13, 2009, 3:57 am QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 12 2009, 02:27 AM) is it normal for betta to be active??... mine seems to be crazy whole day swimming left n right around the tank... erm, normally they are inactive at night, as they need to rest.. for ur case.. i m not sure.. if the fish are newly bought, if the fish showing bar on the body and colour fade away.. they fish consider stress.. get some ketapang leave for him and put him under a place that only have a dim light or no light at all..This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 13 2009, 03:57 AM |
Mar 13 2009, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 13 2009, 04:55 AM) nope... not newly bought... more than 1 month already.... everything seems normal and he is eating well... if that case, i think shud b no problem..does it mean when the tank is lit up with lights, bettas will usually go active??... coz i put him in a small planted tank, hence i switch on the lights at nite for the plants to grow.... yes i do notice he is more active when lights are switched on... is active good or no good??.. |
Mar 16 2009, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 16 2009, 11:55 AM) @MX510 erm.. brother.. can upload some of ur mac picture... how many pair u bought.. u buy adult one ot juvinile... Proven spawn b4? Coz, i saw some forum, they said if the MAC male swallow the eggs for first time, means he is infertile already.. So, he will did the same at the next spawn..Try give spirit a PM, as i know he is breeding some nice betta. @Spirit Just started my mac journey man.. Haha! Ya mac were from BSM Haji also? I pick up my from his house in previous week. |
Mar 17 2009, 12:24 AM
@fylon
ya.. i know there are lot of reason for a male to swallow eggs, but, i read somewhere in a oversea forum.. they said if a pair have succesful spawn... it is very easy to keep them breeding... ya.. brother.. may b u can share ur experience at www.bettakakis.com as well.. |
Mar 18 2009, 02:56 AM
for my frys.. coz i m using 2 feet tank.. So, i think quite small for them.. so, i m using HOB filter and sponge filter too...
Added on March 18, 2009, 2:57 amPenang CTY betta competition result have been release.. check the link below http://bettakakis.com/e107_plugins/forum/f...wtopic.php?3289 This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 18 2009, 02:57 AM |
Mar 18 2009, 05:26 AM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 18 2009, 03:23 AM) does water temperature affects bettas??.. coz i notice the tank i house my betta has higher water temperature compare to my main planted tank... when i put my betta in da planted tank, his color faded a little.... yup... some prefer lower temperature.. normal show betta will be stress under cold condition~~ they will seldom flare if u put them in the air cond room.. |
Mar 19 2009, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 18 2009, 05:42 PM) this is a showbetta... is plakat type~~Added on March 19, 2009, 12:56 am@fylon.. i have 12 frys, 4 from melvin, 8 from haji(bought 10 but 2 die) haji one is about 0.5 to 1 inch. melvin one is about 1.5~2 inch This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 19 2009, 12:56 AM |
Mar 23 2009, 12:32 AM
@angel,
where u get ur fish.. some looks like plakat and SD @pakutekan, when i back to kl will send u those photo.. sending my fish to singapre yesterday |
Mar 24 2009, 11:49 PM
brother.. is it a plakat..
or may b a hmpk when it is a full flare... for my humble opinion.. the fish that u show shud b grizzle or platinum... not patel... pastel is abit transparent with no metalic... and opaque is abit pinky with no metalic too.. platinum is metalic carrier... grizzle is white metallic body and little bit of blue and greenish and the fin...normally pop-up from platinum or copper spawn... Added on March 24, 2009, 11:50 pmanyway, nice catch brother~~ This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 24 2009, 11:50 PM |
Mar 29 2009, 01:43 AM
my wild caught betta Pugnax
Pugnax photo taken with flash ![]() Pugnax female that looks like MAC female, which have a "dot" at the caudal fin ![]() the over tank overview ![]() more photo and story line check this link http://bettakakis.com/e107_plugins/forum/f...wtopic.php?3335 Added on March 29, 2009, 1:44 ammy juvinile Macrostoma Remember, click to enlarge ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() [/quote1238262212] This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 29 2009, 01:44 AM |
Mar 30 2009, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(inv @ Mar 30 2009, 10:21 AM) actually, you should avoid using salt at all cost. Only use salt to quarantine and treat sick fish. if you only have 1-2 betta, a 10 gallon tank is fine.. but when you have 100s like felix, 10gallon per fish is gonna take up a lot of space! haha... welcome back minghan if you intend to keep betta and breed betta, you need a minimum of 1gallon jar/tank. water change is to be done at least once every week, better if twice a week. For the salt issue.. my humble opinion is only apply aquarium salt(white and blue oso can, but blue better) when the fish fall sick or when there is more than 20pcs of fish in comm tank... Salt act as a medium to increase the strength of the fish.. So, if ur fish fall sick, salt can enchance their ability to fight with gems and bacterias... So, if u constantly using salt, when the fish fall sick, there is not easy increase their strength again... betta9, dun worry bout ur fish too much, are they newly purchase? U shud let them calm down first... let them get use to the new enviroment first. May be, u can put some KTP or BWE for them to calm them down... Cheers for the betta enthusiast, Spirit aka Felix |
Mar 31 2009, 12:43 AM
no ppl are figthing lah... just some discusiion become too seriuos liao... figthing need to face to face one... we are not fighting fish.. we are human, so.. we are not born to fight.. just sometime out of control..haha
anyway, we all know that posting info at here is kind of sharing info... shairng is caring... So, i hope no one get hurt in this pure hobbist thread... kinci and angle calm down.. it is just pure salt issue.. dun make it big.. i hope both of u can continue sharing info here, as i know u guys are really care about betta and vr experienced in this field~~ Added on March 31, 2009, 12:46 am@catacomds CT fin is vr easy to curl when the water parameter went wrong.. so, it is not easy to maintain a good CT... i m not a fan for CT, and dun really know much oso.. but, if i will go into CT.. i will find KCT and halfsun~~ Added on March 31, 2009, 12:49 am@styr... welcome back to the betta world... It is advise to prepare enough fries food before starting any spawning process... So, u experinced it.. hope u will do better at next attempt... This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 31 2009, 12:49 AM |
Mar 31 2009, 01:14 PM
haha... i have more into wild now...
already have MAC... and pugnax... now, booked a pair of betta channoides and oso a pair of albirmaginata... yewlin, got betta rubra already... so, if his rubra spawn.. i will chop a pair too.hahaha... after rubra, may b go for taeniata or ocellata.. Added on March 31, 2009, 1:20 pm QUOTE(betta9 @ Mar 31 2009, 01:23 AM) i think bobby got it.. u can ask him.. if not, may b u can ask yewlin...now, i stop using glass tank.. i used SU container... which is a plastic container... price is around rm1.60 each... i used platic container because... it is light weight and it wont break so easier.. and most important, it wont cut u( my hand have a little bit injured when i do water change for my fish, due to the sharp edge of glass tank..) This post has been edited by spirit of demon: Mar 31 2009, 01:20 PM |
Mar 31 2009, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Mar 31 2009, 01:34 PM) @spirit i m not quiting show betta.. still got continue.. but, spend some of my time on wild betta now.. cuz they really looks fun... i m now letting go most of my HMs at promotion price... because i need to transfer the cash to buy the expensive wildbetta..Ur quitting show betta now? Haha.. Get into wildly? tomoro going to ship 2 pairs, a pair to sabah, a pair to johor~~ both pair in conditioning now..haha |
Mar 31 2009, 09:52 PM
the rm15 is 1.5ft, rite?
that day i went, they said finish d.. only 2ft one left over... betta9, u can go to jalan pasar get those container.. not need to bulk with me.. same price they offer.. even u get a big bag.. and acrylic sure expensive, so... i dun think is ridiculuos.. i have try to ask around those acrylic shop.. they dun really wish to do water proof acrylic tank.. u shud feel u are lucky that they entertain u.. |
| Change to: | 0.0478sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:00 PM |