Official Sony PlayStation 3 Launch Event, Please read first post for more details

Ruff Bark
post Sep 4 2008, 02:22 PM

62 posts

Some good and bad news! First the Bad News:

The warranties for PS3s bought from other regions will not be covered by Sony Malaysia (note: I kinda expected this). However, I'm told Sony Malaysia is still looking into this matter.

The (maybe) Good News:

When I asked my contact about the DS3 controller, it seems there might be some confusion over whether it will be bundled together or not.

Initially I was told that the PS3 model that will be sold on the launch day is the CECHK model, which according to Wikipedia is the latest one (i.e. no BC, SACD, and flash card reader). However when I pointed out that the latest bundle should come with the DS3 controller, he said that he'll get back to me.

There's a possibility that he may have been confused about my earlier email; maybe he thought I was asking whether the bundle will come with an extra DS3 controller. So it's possible that the bundle *will* come with the DS3 controller after all. Hopefully by the end of today I'll have confirmation.

If it doesn't come with a DS3 controller, I'm told that the cash voucher can be used to buy the DS3 controller on the day of the launch.

This post has been edited by Ruff Bark: Sep 4 2008, 02:22 PM
Ruff Bark
post Sep 4 2008, 08:59 PM

62 posts

Just a quick, but important, update about the current situation.

If you notice, the PS3 Launch teaser microsite is no longer up on Sony Style Malaysia. It's been taken down temporarily and will be back up sometime next week.

This is because Sony Japan will be posting an official announcement on the availability of the 80GB PS3 in Asia on September 10th (previously the past announcements was for US and Europe only), so Sony Malaysia took it down as they don't want to be seen as jumping the gun before Japan.
Ruff Bark
post Sep 4 2008, 09:48 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Sep 4 2008, 09:45 PM)
As for Malaysia PSN, the content and updates will sure be the same as Hong Kong and Singapore PSN because Asia region is controlled by Sony HK. So you can be rest assured we won't be getting MGS4 with a ridiculous title like GEAR BESI KERAS 4 or Silent Hill: Homecoming translated to BUKIT SENYAP: BALIK KAMPUNG  tongue.gif
Actually I wouldn't mind buying a game with titles like those! They sound hilariously awesome. laugh.gif
Ruff Bark
post Sep 5 2008, 02:38 PM

62 posts

Little update on the PS3 bundle package sold on the launch day.

Those who pre-order online will now only get a free Blu-Ray movie title. But this is only limited to the first 50 online pre-orders.

For the first 100 who line up on that day, more value for you! The bundle will now consist of the following items:

1x 80GB PS3
1x Soul Calibur IV
1x PS3 game (choose from Resistance, Assassin's Creed, Ninja Gaiden or Ratchet and Clank)
1x cash voucher (only if you're one of the first 100)
1x Soul Calibur IV CD case holder
1x Limited Edition PS3 bag

As you can see, Sony Malaysia is now giving the online pre-order goodies to those who line up on the day of the launch.
Ruff Bark
post Sep 5 2008, 04:06 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(grimmjaw @ Sep 5 2008, 03:42 PM)
so bro Ruff Bark

no DS3??

any news bout the warranty?is the warrany is locally or international...i mean can the warranty be use outside MY?
The 1 year warranty is a standard local warranty, so you can't use it internationally.

And the news you guys have been waiting for:

The DS3 controller WILL be bundled with the console.

Start lining up guys. wink.gif
Ruff Bark
post Sep 5 2008, 04:12 PM

62 posts

Still RM1799. But the stuff you get with the package is pretty worth it. If I weren't saving up for my trip, I'd get it myself. T_T
Ruff Bark
post Sep 5 2008, 04:16 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 5 2008, 04:12 PM)

Counting from outside, the core-80GB will also be priced around RM1350 at most. Add in 2 games which is about RM160 for SC4 and RM140 for any of those Greatest hits titles, will amount up to RM1650+/-.

RM160 for SC4? Where do you do your shopping? Last time I checked at Play-Asia, it's selling for RM225.
Ruff Bark
post Sep 5 2008, 04:42 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(leenux @ Sep 5 2008, 04:33 PM)
now 50-50 about the deal laugh.gif

1x 80GB PS3 - GOOD
1x DS3 (if included) - GOOD
1x Soul Calibur IV - paid for as part of package, don really need this
1x PS3 game (choose from Resistance, Assassin's Creed, Ninja Gaiden or Ratchet and Clank) - paid for as part of package, don really need this
1x cash voucher (only if you're one of the first 100)- GOOD if can afford to line up early
1x Soul Calibur IV CD case holder - paid for as part of package, don really need this
1x Limited Edition PS3 bag - paid for as part of package, don really need this
1year Local Warranty - GOOD

hope next week's announcement can sway my decision further nod.gif

also important to know where does the waiting line starts? this is important i guess to avoid any confrontation icon_question.gif
To avoid confusion, please don't list the DS3 controller separately. Otherwise other people coming in may assume that the bundle comes with an extra controller. wink.gif

Well, since the launch is taking place outside at the main entrance, I assume you may need to line up outside. Next week's announcement should have more info.

Better still, maybe you can check with Sony people the day before the event. Since the gaming marathon will start the day before around 10 a.m., there should be someone around who can confirm on where to line up. (Yeah, I know I haven't posted up the game competition details yet. Been busy with other stuff).
Ruff Bark
post Sep 5 2008, 05:30 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(chinook @ Sep 5 2008, 05:19 PM)
Any idea on future pricing, Ruff BarK? I mean maybe a standalone PS3?
No idea, mate. Sony hasn't released any info about this matter. Anyway, this may be the last time you hear from me in this thread until the official announcement is posted next week. I have Mercenaries 2 to review this weekend and I'll be needing all my spare time for it! brows.gif
Ruff Bark
post Sep 10 2008, 03:26 PM

62 posts

Sorry guys for the long wait! We only just got the official press release minutes ago. Details as follows:

==================

Sony Computer Entertainment Hong Kong Limited (SCEH) today announced the release of PLAYSTATION®3 (PS3™) 80GB model in Malaysia on 20th September 2008, at a recommended retail price of RM 1,599 (Including tax).

The PS3™ 80GB model will be a complete entertainment system comprising of a Blu-ray™ player, HDMI output, an integrated Wi-Fi connection, Cell Broadband Engine™, DUALSHOCK®3 Wireless Controller, and a built-in 80GB hard-disk drive. The multi-functionality of the 80GB PS3™ is a comprehensive entertainment value designed to appeal to a wide range of consumers from hard-core gamers to general entertainment enthusiasts!

In addition, users will also be able to enjoy immersive game play experience on the popular PS3™ software title including “Soul Calibur IV™”. SCEH will continue to further expand the PS3™ platform with highly anticipated PS3™ game software title line-up such as “LittleBigPlanet™”, “Motorstorm 2”, and “Resistance 2”.

To mark the launch of PS3™ in Malaysia, SCEH will open the website for Malaysian users. This will give opportunities for Malaysian users to enjoy localized entertainment content such as information of software titles and related news. Please visit: http://asia.playstation.com/my on 20 September to see what SCEH has made for Malaysian users!

Official distributors:
- Sony Malaysia
- Uptron Multimedia SDN. BHD.

Product Information ~ <PLAYSTATION®3>
Product Name PLAYSTATION®3
Release Date September 20th, 2008
Recommended Retail Price RM 1,599 (including tax)
Product Code CECHK06
CPU Cell Broadband Engine™
GPU RSX™
Sound Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Digital 5.1 ch, DTS 5.1 ch, LPCM 7.1 ch, AAC, others
Memory 256MB XDR Main RAM、256MB GDDR3 VRAM
HDD(Hard Disk) 2.5 inch Serial ATA 80 GB
I/O USB2.0 x2
Memory 256 MB XDR Main RAM, 256 MB GDDR3 VRAM
Communication Ethernet ○(10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T)
IEEE 802.11 b/g ○
Bluetooth 2.0(EDR) ○
Wireless Controller (Bluetooth) ○
AV Output Screen size 480i/576i, 480p/576p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p
HDMI OUT ○(x1/HDMI NextGen)
AV MULTI OUT ○(x1)
DIGITAL OUT (OPTICAL) ○(x1)
BD/DVD/CD Drive (Read Only) Maximum Read Speed Blu-ray Disc 2x (BD-ROM)
DVD 8x (DVD-ROM)
CD 24x (CD-ROM)
Power AC 220-240V, x50/60Hz
Power Consumption Approximately 280W
Dimensions
(Excluding maximum projecting part) Approximately 325 x 98 x 274 mm(W x H xD)
Weight Approximately 4.4kg
Operating Temperature 5℃~35℃
Included DUALSHOCK 3® Wireless Controller x 1
AC Power Cord x 1
AV Cable x 1
USB Cable x 1
Manual x 1
* Storage media(Memory Stick™、SD Memory Card、CompactFlash)are sold separately.
* Dolby is a trademark of Dolby Laboratories.
* “DTS” and “DTS Digital Surround” are registered trademarks of DTS, Inc.
* “CompactFlash” is a trademark of SanDisk Corporation.
* HDMI is a trademark of HDMI Licensing, LLC.
* “Blu-ray Disc” is a trademark.
* The Bluetooth word mark is owned by the Bluetooth SIG,
* All other trademarks are the properties of their respective owners.
* “Memory Stick” is a trademark of Sony Corporation.
* “PlayStation” and “PLAYSTATION” are registered trademarks of Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.
Also, “PS3”, “PS2”, and “RSX” are trademarks of the same company
* “ ” is a registered trademark of Sony Computer Entertainment Inc

About Sony Computer Entertainment Hong Kong Limited
Sony Computer Entertainment Hong Kong Limited is a subsidiary of Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. responsible for sales and marketing activities of PlayStation® products in Hong Kong, Taiwan, Thailand, Singapore and Malaysia.
For further information, please visit PlayStation® Asia’s Official Website at http://asia.playstation.com

===============

As you may notice, the press release confirms that the console to be launched in Malaysia is the new 80GB model which comes with the DS3 controller. The listed price of RM1,599 appears to be only for the console only. The press release also doesn't mention anything about the event as Sony Malaysia is currently still finalizing the details.

BTW, the website http://asia.playstation.com/my redirects back to the PlayStation homepage for Asia (Singapore)...so no point going there now I guess.

This post has been edited by Ruff Bark: Sep 10 2008, 03:28 PM
Ruff Bark
post Sep 10 2008, 03:32 PM

62 posts

limyusiong: No. From what I understand, the RM1,599 price only refers to the standalone console with DS3 without any games bundled.

This post has been edited by Ruff Bark: Sep 10 2008, 03:33 PM
Ruff Bark
post Sep 10 2008, 03:37 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Sep 10 2008, 03:33 PM)
sorry, my english is poor.......i boh tak cek

Added on September 10, 2008, 3:34 pm

Ruff, so tis will de selling price on launching day or yet to be confirm for price and package?

TQ
Yet to be officially announced, but the details I posted earlier about the package should be correct (i.e. RM1,799 for PS3 with 2 games).
Ruff Bark
post Sep 10 2008, 04:11 PM

62 posts

Well, apparently the event details are already out on The Star and on Kotaku.

http://kotaku.com/5047708/malaysia-is-gett...unch-this-month
http://star-techcentral.com/tech/story.asp...4045&sec=prodit
Ruff Bark
post Sep 10 2008, 05:54 PM

62 posts

If I weren't saving up for my trip, I'd definitely get one. ;_;

But then again, I can always borrow my office's PS3 and bring home to pla- err, I mean 'review' games. biggrin.gif
Ruff Bark
post Sep 10 2008, 07:16 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Xiaodu @ Sep 10 2008, 06:05 PM)
wow...i'm envy you...

what company you work anyway ?(just kepo kepo)
cry.gif
Ruff Bark
post Sep 11 2008, 11:43 AM

62 posts

Another official press release, this time confirming the event launch details! rclxms.gif

====================

PLAYSTATION®3 is landing soon

The much awaited PLAYSTATION®3 is coming to the Malaysian shore this September

Kuala Lumpur, present – Sony Malaysia is appointed by Sony Computer Entertainment Hong Kong Limited (SCEH) to announce the arrival of the much awaited PLAYSTATION®3 (PS3™) with its launch scheduled on 20th September 2008 at One Utama Shopping Centre, Petaling Jaya. The PS3™ launch is an event that is sure to take the Malaysian gaming fans by storm, with its new bigger and better capacity of 80GB, fabulous launch package you don’t want to miss, fun activities to keep the adrenaline pumping and lots of exciting PS3™ games to satisfy your gaming hunger.

In conjunction with the launch of the much awaited PS3™, Sony Malaysia, for the very first time, is organising a PS3™ game challenge marathon – “Longest Video Game Marathon”. The game marathon is an attempt to achieve recognition in The Malaysia Book of Records, as the longest gaming competition in the country. This game challenge will kick-start on 19th September and continue through to 20th September.

In addition to that, there will be special launch package that is sure to wow the avid fans of PS3™. For the first 120 early birds at PS3™ booth at the launch on 20th September, they will get to purchase PS3™ at a special package of RM 1,799 that comes with 1 unit 80GB PS3™, the latest Soul Calibur IV™ game software, plus one optional selected PS3™ game . All these come with a custom made PS3™ tote bag and Soul Calibur IV™ CD holder. There’s cash voucher giveaways worth from RM150 to RM1,000 for the 120 early birds who purchase the special launch package. The stand-alone price of PS3™ is RM 1,599. Besides PS3™ launch and roadshow, PS3™ will be available at all Sony Style outlets and selected Sony Centre outlets from 20th September onwards.

To add sizzles to the event, there will also be a Game Girls Competition of which the winner at this competition will get a once in a lifetime opportunity to represent Malaysia at the Asia Game Show, better known as AGS, in Hong Kong for the final competition from 19th to 22nd December 2008.

Other activities during the event also include exciting PS3™ product highlights, interactive games activities, and special packages up for grabs. “We expect to receive good response from our PLAYSTATION®3 special launch package. The new PS3™ has bigger capacity with 80GB HDD and the special launch package comes with the latest Soul Calibur IV game and one optional selected PS3™ game at affordable price”, said Mr. Taku Taguchi, General Manager for Product Marketing Division in Sony Malaysia. There will be a roadshow on both 19th and 20th September for customers to feel it for themselves the latest PS3™.

Get set for the bigger capacity PS3™, coming your way this September. Don’t miss the opportunity to enjoy the mouth-watering special launch package, only for the first 120 customers at the launch!

===================

Points to note in the press release:

- Launch is confirmed 20th September at 1Utama. icon_rolleyes.gif
- Special bundle price is confirmed RM1,799, which comes with the 80GB PS3, SCIV, One selected PS3 game (Resistance, Ratchet and Clank Future, Ninja Gaiden Sigma, or Assassin's Creed), one PS3 tote bag, and one SCIV CD holder
- The number of cash vouchers given out to early birds who line up on the day of the launch is now 120, instead of only 100.
- The PS3 will be available at all Sony Style outlets and selected Sony Centre outlets from 20th September
- Confirmation ofthe Game Girls Competition and Game Marathon competition

Ruff Bark
post Sep 11 2008, 11:56 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(leenux @ Sep 11 2008, 11:51 AM)
ruff bark, launch sale on 20th september midnight now or still the old time i.e. 11am? what time the gaming marathon starts on 19th? aiks.. might need to take leave alrd cry.gif
Should be the old time of 11:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. However the gaming marathon will begin the day before, most likely in the morning around 10 a.m.
Ruff Bark
post Sep 11 2008, 03:47 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Xiaodu @ Sep 11 2008, 03:45 PM)
huh ? i thought RM1599 is include SC4 game ?
If you read the first press release carefully, the RM1,599 one doesn't say that it will come with the game.

0.0471sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:46 PM