Single Guitar Stand, Where to buy in PJ area?

TStoccatina
post Sep 1 2008, 04:18 AM, updated 18y ago

226 posts

I own a Yamaha F310, a beginner. And a student currently studying in Kampar, Perak. Of course like most students, I live in a very small room with little space available. And I need to practice my guitar a lot everyday. So I am tired of keeping my guitar in a guitar bag everyday after I used it. And I don't have much space to place my guitar too.

So I am planning to buy a single guitar stand from Bentley Music. The one located near IKEA and The Curve? I spotted some Hercules Brand guitar stand and planning to buy one, but I found these reviews when I was surfing the net just now.

Well I bought this stand about 5 months ago and loved it from day one. I own a Jackson Randy Rhoads Pro issue which was over a grand just for the guitar alone and it looks great on it. Now I am reading other peoples reviews and notice they are talking about the finish coming off their headstocks and when I read those I ran to my guitar and saw the same DAMN thing! DO NOT GET THIS STAND if you care about your guitar. Who is going to pay for everybodys tainted guitars??????? The foam damages your guitar so dont get it! LIARS!!!!!

If you have a guitar and you DON'T want the finish damaged, then DO NOT BUY THIS STAND!!! I got this stand on Monday March 7, 2005 at 5 p.m., put my vintage '85 G&L L2000 bass in it and let it hang over night. It did look really good in the stand I have to admit. But to my shock, the next day when I picked up the bass to play it, the finish had been completely burned off on both sides of the headstock where it had been hanging in the stand. I mean the glossy finish was completely burned off! Looked almost like someone had put a cigarette lighter to it. The manufacturer says its "specially formulated foam" or SFF is safe for all guitar finishes. That claim is definitely NOT TRUE. If you want to protect your guitar's finish, then don't put it in this stand!

Quality:
I would have given it a "10." It's well made except for the SFF foam that WILL DAMAGE YOUR GUITAR'S FINISH!!! Since it damaged mine after less than one day of use, I'm giving it a "1" for WORST.

Now I don't dare to buy lah.

So any of u own a good one and know where to buy one in PJ area?

To those who dunno about Hercules, click here.

This post has been edited by toccatina: Sep 1 2008, 04:20 AM
SweetTooth
post Sep 1 2008, 04:30 AM

2,650 posts

i myself am using the triple one and rustreaver is using a single one if im not mistaken. its a really good stand imo, worth your money thumbup.gif
its very solid and ignore the review about the foam. it won't damage the finish of your guitar. i can vouch for that because i've been hanging 3 guitars on that that stand and all the finishes are not damaged icon_rolleyes.gif
TStoccatina
post Sep 1 2008, 04:35 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Sep 1 2008, 04:30 AM)
i myself am using the triple one and rustreaver is using a single one if im not mistaken. its a really good stand imo, worth your money thumbup.gif
its very solid and ignore the review about the foam. it won't damage the finish of your guitar. i can vouch for that because i've been hanging 3 guitars on that that stand and all the finishes are not damaged icon_rolleyes.gif
biggrin.gif where do you buy yours? How much ah?
chyu89
post Sep 1 2008, 04:38 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Never bother to have one lol, just simply throw at a corner, i mean put.
TStoccatina
post Sep 1 2008, 05:05 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Sep 1 2008, 04:38 AM)
Never bother to have one lol, just simply throw at a corner, i mean put.
my room is small until all corners are filled. wink.gif
Kelvw
post Sep 1 2008, 05:07 AM

1,591 posts

you just have to becareful if your guitar has nitro fiinishing. Anyway it's not recommended to place your guitar on the stand for prolong periods. Best bet is to place it in your case after playing.
Everdying
post Sep 1 2008, 12:01 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

im using this stand.
http://www.k-m.de/GUITAR-STAND-HELI.3+M51aa00261e3.0.html

got it from SMX in times square.
TStoccatina
post Sep 1 2008, 12:35 PM

226 posts

placing on the floor is better than placing on a stand for long hours??? ohmy.gif

Added on September 1, 2008, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2008, 12:01 PM)
im using this stand.
http://www.k-m.de/GUITAR-STAND-HELI.3+M51aa00261e3.0.html

got it from SMX in times square.
how much u buy? but that stand is for electric guitar wor.. mine is acoustic nia.. can or not? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by toccatina: Sep 1 2008, 12:37 PM
archinkent
post Sep 1 2008, 01:52 PM

285 posts

i have the hercules stand, just like the one u posted for 5 years. have used 2 guitars with it and none of their finishes are damaged. so there...
Everdying
post Sep 1 2008, 02:38 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(toccatina @ Sep 1 2008, 12:35 PM)
placing on the floor is better than placing on a stand for long hours???  ohmy.gif

Added on September 1, 2008, 12:36 pm
how much u buy? but that stand is for electric guitar wor.. mine is acoustic nia.. can or not?  unsure.gif
mine is actually for acoustic...seems to have dissapeared from the website...
i think i got it for around RM65-80...cant remember already.
afad
post Sep 1 2008, 03:43 PM

308 posts

what about the plain guitar stand that cost about RM30 - RM40 at any guitar store?
is it worth to buy it or better go with hercules?

SweetTooth
post Sep 1 2008, 04:08 PM

2,650 posts

those stands are ok, but hercules stands are definitely more durable and sturdy smile.gif
afad
post Sep 1 2008, 04:27 PM

308 posts

so u are saying it's better for me to get the hercules stands instead of the plain stand,
hmm, actually i was thinking the same thing but just want to hear what others thought,
now its confirm, hercules it is..

btw, sweettooth, dont u wanna jual ur stand? tongue.gif
blademaster
post Sep 1 2008, 04:56 PM

1,009 posts

DIY lah TS....cheaper LOL
SweetTooth
post Sep 1 2008, 04:59 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(afad @ Sep 1 2008, 04:27 PM)
so u are saying it's better for me to get the hercules stands instead of the plain stand,
hmm, actually i was thinking the same thing but just want to hear what others thought,
now its confirm, hercules it is..

btw, sweettooth, dont u wanna jual ur stand?  tongue.gif
i'll keep mine tongue.gif
afad
post Sep 1 2008, 05:21 PM

308 posts

lol, thought so...
SweetTooth
post Sep 1 2008, 05:32 PM

2,650 posts

a brand new single stand would be about rm70 iirc
worth the investment.
blademaster
post Sep 1 2008, 05:46 PM

1,009 posts

I think Singapore is way cheaper for stands. Normally cost less than S$20 for a good one
afad
post Sep 1 2008, 05:59 PM

308 posts

yeah, i know, the hercules single stand cost about RM80 at bents..
i actually have set for the hercules for quite sometimes,
its just that im still searching if there's other brand that better than hercules..

freakfingers12
post Sep 1 2008, 06:01 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Ever considered a guitar hanger instead?It takes lesser space than a stand,and it's also better than stands.I've heard that stands will bend the neck after sometime.

BTW,why's there a songkok above the emoticons?Funny weih!

0.0160sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:23 AM