Official Anti-Virus Thread, General antivirus discussion

eXPeri3nc3
post May 11 2006, 10:00 AM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ May 11 2006, 10:13 AM)
which av can prevent it then?  sweat.gif
IMHO, If I have not mistaken HijackThis can detect ADS in the pc.
So, you can try to remove it, but that is through what I recalled in my mind, not so sure about that. notworthy.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 28 2006, 06:10 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Jul 28 2006, 07:03 PM)
u can set the protection level setting to high speed.
High speed/? blink.gif
What do you mean by high speed huh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 29 2006, 02:57 PM

9,257 posts

May 06 results

Source - AV Comparatives - http://www.av-comparatives.org/seiten/erge...se/report10.pdf

I lol-ed when I se AVG is the lowest laugh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 29 2006, 03:01 PM

9,257 posts

Comparatives of results in years

Year 2006

Year 2005

Year 2004

Source - AV Comparatives
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 29 2006, 03:14 PM

9,257 posts

Weird... ClamAV release fix faster than others... In sober virus['05]

Source - http://www.pcwelt.de/news/sicherheit/111012/index2.html
In german
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 30 2006, 05:44 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jul 30 2006, 12:20 PM)
advanced with + meaning wat?
OVERVIEW
Those tables show the levels reached by the various products in our anti-virus comparatives. The levels are set for each test by the tester. Products that got the "standard"-level can be understood as products that based on our tests have a good on-demand detection rate of zoo-samples, "advanced" a very good on-demand detection rate and "advanced+" an excellent on-demand detection rate of zoo-samples. Such a classification was also set to the retrospective tests. For more information please read the test reports and the document with the FAQ's. Please note the different columns 'on-demand' and 'retrospective test'. It's forbidden to make those tables available on other sites.

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jul 30 2006, 06:32 PM)
u just register it in the official website, it will send u the free registration code, example like tis: W37723211H3200A1106-D1P5M8WY.
Huh is it? huh.gif Haven't use Avast before laugh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 30 2006, 06:48 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jul 30 2006, 07:43 PM)
dun know wat happened, nod32 let me infected sum virus in behind, now shift bsck to avast once only i confirm who fault is tis then only i shift to nod32 again. tongue.gif
What do you mean?? laugh.gif
Did u mean that once you've suspect nod32 left some files infected, then you change to Avast, then change back to nod32 after you've clarified the prob? huh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 31 2006, 11:06 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jul 30 2006, 11:29 PM)
i try nod32 also, and also got some problem
make my connection like shit
and always prompt for virus detection......

but when i close it, it juz normal...
Huh? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
nod32 lags connection??
OMG!~*
Thought of trying it... Better don't... rclxm9.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 31 2006, 03:09 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jul 31 2006, 02:54 PM)
doh.gif  nod32 last month got problem with its update server until lot user can update virus database.
Something's wrong with your sentence.
Please rephrase it, update server got problem causing a lot of users can update?
Lol... laugh.gif I read 3 times only can figure out what's happening... biggrin.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 31 2006, 08:28 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jul 31 2006, 08:06 PM)
u can consider the latest f-secure  thumbup.gif  not bad with its builtin firewall, damn strong.
but i prefer avast for it easy fast access menu & low hdd usage.  sweat.gif
Call me newbie but I'm not running any AV's atm...
I would like to try Sophos as my campus is using it, yet macgyver proposes F-secure...
Hmm... smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 1 2006, 11:07 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Aug 1 2006, 12:28 AM)
f-secure is suitable for normal user who want set it & forget with strong firewall feature.

for u, u can use sygate firewall with avast. unless u can pay for jetico the strongest firewall so far.  thumbup.gif
I'm running sygate in background. flex.gif
Avast eh, would think about it then.
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 4 2006, 11:30 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Aug 1 2006, 12:24 PM)
omg, u just run only sygate wo antivirus?  sweat.gif
i just being kena liao coz didnt load avast few day ago until my pc is dying.  doh.gif
My PC is running SpywareBlaster, SpywareGuard, Sygate Personal Firewall.
Enough.
And also Lavasoft Ad Aware - one month++ haven't touch it... laugh.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 5 2006, 07:46 PM

9,257 posts

Seems like nod32 is popular and have a good reputation... smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 7 2006, 12:20 AM

9,257 posts

Well, if combined with firewalls it should do the trick smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 7 2006, 11:56 AM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(butthafly @ Aug 7 2006, 05:09 AM)
i think i can use some help  icon_question.gif
previously i used the Norton Anti Virus 2006
and i get annoyed with it.dry.gif
And so a friend of mine installed me the kaspersky instead.

We already removed the Norton from the Add/Remove Program in Control Panel with the Symantec Live Update too.

Then i went to my Program Files folder, tried to delete the Norton file.
But there's one file named 'NAVSHEXT.DLL' that can not be removed. huh.gif
It kept on saying the file is protected and could not be removed or something like that lah!

I ignored it at first.

And now whenever i want to open my Microsoft Office's, doesn't matter whether it's Word or Excel or even Powerpoint, the windows tried to configures something and then there's this dialoq box appeared saying
"Norton Anti Virus 2006 does not support the Repair feature. Please uninstall and reinstall"

after i clicked OK for like 3 or 5 times, then only i can start using the Microsoft Office.

it annoyed me until now.grumble.gif

icon_question.gif Help?

How do i remove it completely? mellow.gif
Use the Norton Removal tool
http://www.techsupportforum.com/showthread.php?t=75996
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 7 2006, 12:01 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Aug 7 2006, 01:42 AM)
u try with jetico yet?  icon_rolleyes.gif
Not yet, I even have problems dling Nod32 because my 56k connection lag like hell this week, don't know what happened... cry.gif cry.gif
BTW, what is jetico? I know Outpost and Kerio la... tongue.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 10 2006, 10:33 PM

9,257 posts

I'm just running Spyware Guard, Spyware Blaster, Sygate Personal Firewall.
Does not each much resources, blocked all intrusion so far... smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 11 2006, 12:05 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Aug 11 2006, 10:40 AM)
nothing beats the ol' windows firewall XD...Im using that laugh.gif
I'm using SP1, doesn't have that... laugh.gif
My friends windows firewall kena hack in just a twinkling of an eye shocking.gif
I saw it in front of my eyes... doh.gif doh.gif

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 11 2006, 12:21 PM

9,257 posts

It's seems like eternity since the last time I full scanned my pc... laugh.gif
I use HJT as defense line... rclxm9.gif

Anyhow from what I've observed about AV's
  • It's either resource eater or no lag
  • but not-so-powerful protection or too powerful protection, until certain legitimate processes detected as malware doh.gif
  • There's no free lunch in this world... dry.gif

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Aug 11 2006, 12:23 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Oct 11 2006, 10:09 PM

9,257 posts

^ and some might be detected but AV just fails to remove it... doh.gif Esp AVG[not fanboyism, it happened to me doh.gif]

0.0404sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:37 PM