Camera bag review. (PICTURES ADDED), Bag by Godspeed (weird brand) from China

TSraist86
post Aug 30 2008, 02:39 PM, updated 18y ago

1,577 posts

I've just recently received a shipment of 2 camera bags from China. The company makes OEM bags for US brands (ie, Tamrac and Lowepro) and have started their own line of camera bags called Godspeed. I know the brand is a little weird, but in all fairness, the quality is extremely high.

I'll do a little review of the two bags including photos of the bag.

SY 514
The first bag on review is the SY 514 model.

Specs:
Exterior Dimensions: L39xW18xH27cm
Interior Dimensions: L37xW15xH26cm
Weight: 1.75KG
Materials: 600D Ripstop Nylon and 600D endure nylon
Water resistant coated
Flexible compartment arrangement.
Laptop compartment.

First impression

My first impression of the bag is that it's seriously huge. Can easily fit 2 SLR with battery grip (top and bottom, short lens), 6 short lenses. Alternatively, can fit 1 SLR with batt grip and 1 long lens (ie canon L or minolta 70-200mm f2.8).

Carrying support

Good back support with lots of padding. Lots of straps to configure the length and support. One concern is that those extra straps might be a hindrance.

Build Quality

Extremely well built. Quality is on par with Lowepro, Tamrac, Bagmans and Crumpler. Zips are all done with flaps to prevent water from entering the camera compartments. Compartment padding is adequate to withstand everyday use. The bag will protect your camera from accidental drops and impacts.

Value for money
The bag is a good value for money purchase. A branded camera bag with the same quality and size will cost around RM500-700 (Lowepro Computrekker – RM 470, Tamrac Adventure 74 – RM 455. I spent about RM 350 after factoring in all the shipping cost and etc. Another note, the SY 514 is slightly larger than the Lowepro Computrekker and Tamrac Adventure 74.

NOTE:
BOTH BAGS ARE NOW AVAILABLE FOR SALE. Click Here to view the sales thread.

This post has been edited by raist86: Aug 30 2008, 05:27 PM
TSraist86
post Aug 30 2008, 02:40 PM

1,577 posts

SY 616

Bag specification:
Upper compartment dimension: L22xW17xH12cm
Lower compartment dimension: L25xW17xH(22-27)cm
Exterior dimension: L24xW23xH45cm
Weight: 1.3KG
600D water resistant nylon build
Ergonomic sling strap and slip lock attachment
Side access lid
All weather cover (waterproof)
Zip stop bucklers

First impression

The 2nd bag I’m reviewing is similar to the Lowepro Slingshot AW300 (in terms of sling form and size). I currently am using a Lowepro Slingshot AW200 and I’m happy to say that the carrying comfort is about the same if not better due to the larger back coverage and thicker strap padding. Quality is also top notch. The only difference is that access to the camera compartment is limited to the side opening only. Unlike the LP Slingshot where you can unzip all the way, the SY616 only allows for side opening. Accessing the camera compartment is also a breeze as it has a bracket which unzips both zips at the same time, much faster than the Slingshot.

Carrying support

The strap and the backsupport is very well padded. Can easily carry heavy loads without feeling tired. It also has a side strap which you can click on to the main strap to prevent the bag from swaying while on the move. The SY616 also has a special clip which allows you top mount a tripod to the bag and secure it firmly. It has an ingenious tripod support which you can take out at the bottom of the bag. That way, your tripod will be securely attached to the bag and not move about when you’re walking.

Camera compartment
In the brochure, it says that the bag can carry up to 2 SLR. However, after personally testing it, I’d only recommend one SLR (with batt attachment) and a long zoom lens attached to it. The compartment can also handle 3-4 lens or flashgun.

Build quality
As I’ve mentioned in the first section, the build quality is as par if not better than the Lowepro Slingshot AW 300. I especially like the detached weather cover as you can remove it for drying after use in the rain. I couldn’t dry off my AW200 weather cover properly as it’s attached to the bag. Zips are all quite easy to open and close. The buckles are quite firm and should withstand prolong usage.

Value for money
A Slingshot AW 300 will easily cost around 400-500 (Yamiya Lowepro Slingshot AW300 is RM 460 while the camera shop in Midvalley sells for around RM 530). I purchased the SY616 for about RM 300 including shipping and other fees. It is definitely a value for money. In fact, I’m contemplating to keep the SY616 and sell off my Slingshot 200AW.

This post has been edited by raist86: Aug 30 2008, 03:39 PM
yuktsi14
post Aug 30 2008, 02:52 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

izzit good?
compare to crumple?
TSraist86
post Aug 30 2008, 03:20 PM

1,577 posts

I can compare it to tamrac and lowepro as i have bags from both brands. They are equally good without the high price.

I'll have to admit that Godspeed brand on the bag is a little cheeky.. But if you're after substance, then the bag is quite recommended.

Photobucket is seriously slow. Upload 10 pictures takes almost 1 hour plus.
' or 1=1 --
post Aug 30 2008, 03:34 PM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

i think the name of the brand is pretty cool. Godspeed. wooh! so cool sey!
kysham
post Aug 30 2008, 03:35 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Oh, this is the Godspeed brand ah? I think there are people in Malaysia selling this brand because I had seen it in shops before....
TSraist86
post Aug 30 2008, 03:41 PM

1,577 posts

Very rare though. According to my correspondence with the company, they only sold like less than 100 bags to Malaysia because their brand is not known here.
david890701
post Aug 30 2008, 04:15 PM

-
3,152 posts

raist, u only buy two right , how bout if we buy more than 10 , and will the bag cheaper because share shipping?
TSraist86
post Aug 30 2008, 04:23 PM

1,577 posts

i only brought in two this time cos i don't know about the bag quality.

i will organize a bulk soon after i sell off the current two. Need some money to cover the cost. Shipping should be cheaper once i bring it in in bigger quantity.

note though, the bags are quite heavy and bulky. Cheapest also per bag will cost around RM 50 for shipping.
wjie20
post Aug 30 2008, 06:07 PM

6 Star-Dude
1,582 posts

They look similar to LowePro...do they offer warranty?
carcraze66
post Aug 30 2008, 09:18 PM

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

as TS mentioned,this is the "maker" or the factory of making lowerpro and etc. camera bag one,so its quality i think is not bad lo.......haha.........
SHOfrE3zE
post Aug 30 2008, 11:03 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

do they make something like lowepro flipside 300?
TSraist86
post Aug 31 2008, 12:57 AM

1,577 posts

I think they have. emme check the brochure tomorrow.

They are OEM for some of the Lowepro and Tamrac bags. As i've said earlier, quality is top notch.

Both bags are currently on sale in my thread. My price is negotiable. Am willing to sell it slightly lower than what i paid cos i need to have liquid cash on hand to bring in more bags.
TSraist86
post Sep 1 2008, 09:19 AM

1,577 posts

Added info:

The SY616 bag can carry a recommended of 1 SLR body and 4 lenses instead of 2 body and 4 lenses as stated by the brochure. It's just too cram to pack that much equipment in.

The slingbag is more for on-the-move shooting with emphasis on mobility.
jimlim007
post Sep 1 2008, 10:54 AM

Enoch
4,073 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif china brand bag also need >rm250 doh.gif
TSraist86
post Sep 1 2008, 11:05 AM

1,577 posts

china manufactured, but they make for lowepro and tamrac.

The expensive part is the shipping. In total, my two bags cost almost RM 200 just to ship it in here to Malaysia (DHL).

Lowepro sells their 300AW for RM 450++.
it's already RM 200 difference. So you'd rather pay RM 200 just for the logo?

Added on September 1, 2008, 11:09 amoh yea, china stuff doesn't necessarily mean cheap stuff kay.
want cheap one, i can also get, grade C stuff lo. But use few times, threads come off dun blame me.

This post has been edited by raist86: Sep 1 2008, 11:09 AM
pOlipOng
post Sep 2 2008, 11:44 AM

173 posts

interesting

might consider once i get my dslr
ed0gawa
post Sep 2 2008, 11:56 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Sep 1 2008, 11:05 AM)
china manufactured, but they make for lowepro and tamrac.

The expensive part is the shipping. In total, my two bags cost almost RM 200 just to ship it in here to Malaysia (DHL).

Lowepro sells their 300AW for RM 450++.
it's already RM 200 difference. So you'd rather pay RM 200 just for the logo?

Added on September 1, 2008, 11:09 amoh yea, china stuff doesn't necessarily mean cheap stuff kay.
want cheap one, i can also get, grade C stuff lo. But use few times, threads come off dun blame me.
Wow, you serious on the shipping for 2 bags cost RM200?
Then i must be pretty glad that last time DHL charge me so cheap for me stuffs.... 10-20kg for RM400 iirc
shuttersyok
post Sep 2 2008, 12:27 PM

130 posts

is they any bag where i can have quick access to my gear and at the same time have enuf space to put other stuff(such ar clothes, undies etc tongue.gif ) for a single overnight stay?
TSraist86
post Sep 2 2008, 07:32 PM

1,577 posts

shutter:
i guess the SY616 will work for you. Access to the camera is from the side. It's a sling bag, just need to sling it forward.
there's a small top compartment for you to cram in a shirt, towel and undies. Dun think can fit a long pants though. Short pants maybe can go in. Alternatively, you can shift the padding compartment to store the long pants.
It's going on offer for RM 250. Offer ends this week.

ed0gawa:
I think they use DHL priority shipping to send to me. The delivery charge is collected and i don't know about the full amount until the bag reached my doorstep. Call it a mistake on my part.
davidmak
post Feb 9 2009, 12:35 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I got the SY616 and the bag is superb. I got it for RM170 (Pudu Plaza) and its the best bag I ever bought as such a price point! Highly recommended.
green_tie8
post Jul 31 2009, 12:25 AM

davidmak..u buy at pudu plaza..
YL or other shop?can u give me the shop detaill..
want buy also la..
wink.gif
3km
post Jun 3 2010, 03:43 PM

hey.. I am interested in this bag.. How do I contact you for the best price?

Added on June 3, 2010, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(davidmak @ Feb 9 2009, 12:35 AM)
I got the SY616 and the bag is superb. I got it for RM170 (Pudu Plaza) and its the best bag I ever bought as such a price point! Highly recommended.
hey.. david can you send me the add of the shop you bough it from? or email at micodia@hotmail.com.
Thanks alot!

This post has been edited by 3km: Jun 3 2010, 03:45 PM

0.0212sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:35 PM