Nokia Nokia N79, Nseries with style and features

idoblu
post Nov 6 2008, 09:13 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

This morning i read in the newspaper that Customs seized one huge shipment of mobile phones - Nokia and Titan. Are those AP phones or fake phones?
BeNz
post Nov 6 2008, 11:21 AM

75 posts

how much is the ram inside N79?
64mb sdram?
wiki says only 50mb

This post has been edited by BeNz: Nov 6 2008, 11:24 AM
exshige
post Nov 6 2008, 11:39 AM

186 posts

RM1304 liao.. omg.. stock market crashed overnight from RM1399... biggrin.gif

getting ready my cash liao...
idoblu
post Nov 6 2008, 02:31 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(exshige @ Nov 6 2008, 11:39 AM)
RM1304 liao.. omg.. stock market crashed overnight from RM1399... biggrin.gif

getting ready my cash liao...
rm1300 already.... rclxms.gif
RedLC
post Nov 6 2008, 02:33 PM

37 posts

can someone comment bout the keypad?
can't sabar already..price drop very fast rclxm9.gif
isaaclimhw
post Nov 6 2008, 10:52 PM

436 posts

buy from renee..
i bought around 5 phones from her already..
so far so good..
xD
skyer
post Nov 7 2008, 12:41 AM

816 posts

Yup...keypad is the biggest concern now ....

Duisburg, 6th Nov 2008, 5.40 p.m.

This post has been edited by skyer: Nov 7 2008, 12:43 AM
BeNz
post Nov 7 2008, 12:51 AM

75 posts

how much is the ram?
anyone knows?
idoblu
post Nov 7 2008, 06:49 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(BeNz @ Nov 7 2008, 12:51 AM)
how much is the ram?
anyone knows?
Memory

microSD memory card slot, hot swappable, max. 8 GB
Up to 50 MB internal dynamic memory
stanny
post Nov 7 2008, 07:54 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Nov 7 2008, 12:41 AM)
Why is it biggest concern?

idoblu
post Nov 7 2008, 09:29 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(skyer @ Nov 7 2008, 12:41 AM)
try it yourself first. for me i feel that the upper buttons for calls, soft menus, media button, are too close together. and for the keypad, you cant differentiate the placing of the numbers since there is no "separation" between the numbers. very difficult to sms if you dont look at the phone.

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 9 2008, 03:03 PM
idoblu
post Nov 9 2008, 03:04 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Ok i was at Sunway Pyramid today and I went to the Nokia Store to check out the phone. So happy that I saw both N78 and N79 (real sets) put out there for testing. Alamak but the N79 hang already. The store assistant tried to take out the battery and reinsert to reset it, but still hanged.

In the end, the store assistant was kind enough to open one from a new box to let me try. First thing is SMS. I feel that the keys are further apart as compare to N78 which is good. If you dont look at the phone, you might press the wrong keys but I think I can get use to it and eventually strike the right keys. As I stated before, the soft menu keys, call and hangup, cancel button are all too close together. All in all, not bad.

N79 can be felt to be slimmer than N78. Opening the camera door will turn on the camera function.

I didnt want to play too long. I only tried SMS. It is unfortunate that the demo set hang if not I can stay there and play with all the functions.

So now the BIG QUESTION - which colour to buy? White or Grey? The White front comes with Brown, Green and Blue while the Grey comes with Brown, Red and White. Actually I kinda of like the White front more but prefer the Red and White back covers. Thinking of trading with others that bought or buying the Grey model.

Ok I change my mind from N78 back to N79.

Whats the best price now?

doomx
post Nov 9 2008, 04:11 PM

Look at mah stars
2,801 posts

the AP set N79 is selling at 1.3k. just checked Renee's thread. i'll be glad if u can review me about the phone. thinking of this and n85 smile.gif
snakevenom
post Nov 9 2008, 04:25 PM

SO MANY STARS!!
1,121 posts

i did try the N79 yesterday at the Nokia shop in Gardens, the phone is thin alright just one thing is the keypad, it's a bit hard for me cause it totally flat! maybe need sometime to get use to it.
idoblu
post Nov 9 2008, 05:56 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

if you buy N79 which color would you get?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 9 2008, 05:57 PM
exshige
post Nov 10 2008, 12:42 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 9 2008, 03:04 PM)
So now the BIG QUESTION - which colour to buy? White or Grey? The White front comes with Brown, Green and Blue while the Grey comes with Brown, Red and White. Actually I kinda of like the White front more but prefer the Red and White back covers. Thinking of trading with others that bought or buying the Grey model.
swapping colors... hmm...

i want silver front with red/brown/green back cry.gif the green is in the white set...

idoblu
post Nov 10 2008, 01:10 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i swap with you lo for your white back, but wonder if you put the green back onto your grey phone, will the theme change to green or not? i think maybe not.
laukh
post Nov 10 2008, 02:48 PM

I bought a grey N79 for $1370 at mutiara, ipoh. Good camera quality, saw the images on PC, they are all great! All buttons are nicely built (except the volume/zoom key), don't worry about key closeness, u can press them individually without much effort, and normal skill. But the real problem is the side volume up-down key (right side, near top), for my set at least. The up key was ok, but the down key is almost not pressable! So, test that out b4 paying ur money. I paid mine without ever pressing this key, and the shop owner wasn't a gentleman, i must say, and i have to live with the harder to press down key. What right do we consumers have on this matter? Even in Low Yat Plaza, they will exchange one to one for any defect. And one more thing, my set don't come with Chinese characters, but may be able to upgrade at the AP service center.
idoblu
post Nov 10 2008, 02:53 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

thanks for the review laukh. i find those buttons hard to press too, wonder if its just your set or all are like that?

lets start a owners list here - youre the first so far

1. laukh (grey)
2. myf76 (grey)

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 11 2008, 12:05 PM
leewai
post Nov 10 2008, 07:50 PM

96 posts

I am getting 1 soon! Fall in love with it the first tine i saw it.. I prefer the white 1.. but likes the white and red back cover too! Can it be sold separately? Any idea?

70 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:05 PM