Gen-X
post Sep 28 2012, 06:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:31 PM)
want to ask, my parents is coming around end of the year, can recommend any nice apartment to rent for like a week?
There are plenty of nice apartments, what's your budget.

If not mistaken Garden Hotel has both rooms and apartments and the price is affordable if you are looking at accommodation for two.

Just go to agoda.com-->Melbourne Australia-->at the right column click CBD and it will list all the hotel and apartments they have at CBD--> click on any hotel--> then click the map, and it will show all the hotels on plan, from there see which is near you.

And if your parents have Maybank and Citibank can get discount with Agoda, click here to my article Exclusive Agoda.com room reservation Discount with My Credit Cards Of course always compared with other booking sites (CIMB Visa with HotelClub, RHB with AsiaWebDirect, Bookings, etc) and and the hotel website itself too.

For those looking for a budget hotel room for a single person or an apartment for family of four? click here to read my article Melbourne Clean Affordable Hotel Accommodation Single Person or Family of Four

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 28 2012, 08:37 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Sep 28 2012, 04:35 PM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

It's Grand Finals weekend baby!
Those of you who are lucky enough to be in Melbourne this time of the year will get to experience the intensity of Australian Football.
So soak it up and enjoy the atmosphere smile.gif

This post has been edited by Monya Meow Meow: Sep 28 2012, 04:40 PM
static
post Sep 30 2012, 04:06 PM

781 posts

Swannies!!!!

silkysilk
post Oct 1 2012, 12:07 AM

195 posts

hei guys, how much should i bring for 14 days trip to aus (perth, melbourne and sydney)?

This post has been edited by silkysilk: Oct 1 2012, 12:07 AM
tamago11
post Oct 1 2012, 12:17 AM

30 posts

any nice budget hotel near airport or any 3 stars hotel in melb city can recommend me?? thanks
ahoq
post Oct 1 2012, 12:33 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(tamago11 @ Oct 1 2012, 01:17 AM)
any nice budget hotel near airport or any 3 stars hotel in  melb city can recommend me?? thanks
same quest here

also near to car rental

Great Southern Hotel ok or not?
Gen-X
post Oct 1 2012, 04:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(silkysilk @ Oct 1 2012, 12:07 AM)
hei guys, how much  should i bring for 14 days trip to aus (perth, melbourne and sydney)?
Maximum you can bring in is AUD10K per person unless you declare tongue.gif How much would depends on what is your budget lah and how many people in your group. Anyway, if you have a credit card not to worry as almost everywhere accept it. Also bring along a Debit Card just in case you need to withdraw cash.

QUOTE(tamago11 @ Oct 1 2012, 12:17 AM)
any nice budget hotel near airport or any 3 stars hotel in  melb city can recommend me?? thanks
QUOTE(ahoq @ Oct 1 2012, 12:33 AM)
same quest here

also near to car rental

Great Southern Hotel ok or not?
If for one person or family of 4, Space Hotel in edge of CBD is clean and bed comfy. Check out my above link I posted.

If 3 persons, check out Formule 1 in CBD.

I also posted above link to my article on Agoda Discount with Maybank, Citibank and HSBC credit card. In the same article I also have link on CIMB Visa card hotel promo with HotelClub and RHB cards with AsiaWebDirect. Compare the rates and make sure you take note if taxes are imposed. For example, the CIMB Hotel Club Promo rates includes taxes BUT if you go to HotelClub.com directly, the rates are not inclusive of taxes until you go to the check out page.
ahoq
post Oct 1 2012, 07:16 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2012, 05:11 PM)
Maximum you can bring in is AUD10K per person unless you declare tongue.gif How much would depends on what is your budget lah and how many people in your group. Anyway, if you have a credit card not to worry as almost everywhere accept it. Also bring along a Debit Card just in case you need to withdraw cash.
If for one person or family of 4, Space Hotel in edge of CBD is clean and bed comfy. Check out my above link I posted.

I also posted above link to my article on Agoda Discount with Maybank, Citibank and HSBC credit card. In the same article I also have link on CIMB Visa card hotel promo with HotelClub and RHB cards with AsiaWebDirect. Compare the rates and make sure you take note if taxes are imposed. For example, the CIMB Hotel Club Promo rates includes taxes BUT if you go to HotelClub.com directly, the rates are not inclusive of taxes until you go to the check out page.
Hi Gen-X,

Really appreciate your reply above.

But i am a bit confuse now..

Space Hotel : RM303

Added on October 1, 2012, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2012, 05:11 PM)

Hi Gen-X,

Space Hotel : RM303 / Night

Great Southern Hotel Melbourne : RM223 / Night

My question is :

1. Space hotel share bathroom -> share with other customer?
2. Which one is better? I mean most comfortable like near to railway station or bustand, near to car rent shop.. etc2

thanks,

I am going to aus next month

This post has been edited by ahoq: Oct 1 2012, 07:21 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 1 2012, 07:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahoq @ Oct 1 2012, 07:16 PM)
Hi Gen-X,

Space Hotel : RM303
Bro, what are you confused with? RM303 is less than AUD100.

Space Hotel Melbourne website, 1st November single occupant room shared toilet starting from AUD71. Twin starting from AUD85.

Agoda.com - Space Hotel 1st November single occupant room shared toilet starting from AUD79 (before MBB Discount). Twin starting from AUD92.

If you single and really on a budget, go for the dormitories - Starting from AUD31

You can select RM too for Space Hotel Website.

If you want to see how the share toilet look like - click here to read my article Melbourne Clean Affordable Hotel Accommodation Single Person or Family of Four

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 1 2012, 07:32 PM
sfwong1
post Oct 1 2012, 09:59 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 28 2012, 04:35 PM)
It's Grand Finals weekend baby!
Those of you who are lucky enough to be in Melbourne this time of the year will get to experience the intensity of Australian Football.
So soak it up and enjoy the atmosphere  smile.gif

omg did i really miss this crowd??!? i was working during the grand final. everywhere was so quiet
ahoq
post Oct 1 2012, 10:09 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2012, 08:30 PM)
Bro, what are you confused with? RM303 is less than AUD100.

Space Hotel Melbourne website, 1st November single occupant room shared toilet starting from AUD71. Twin starting from AUD85.

Agoda.com - Space Hotel 1st November single occupant room shared toilet starting from AUD79 (before MBB Discount). Twin starting from AUD92.

If you single and really on a budget, go for the dormitories - Starting from AUD31

You can select RM too for Space Hotel Website.

If you want to see how the share toilet look like - click here to read my article Melbourne Clean Affordable Hotel Accommodation Single Person or Family of Four
i am going for honeymoon wink.gif

i am confused with which hotel is better for me

agoda

My question is :

GSH offer cheaper price but izit ok? i mean near to railway station, bus stand, etc2..

and we are going to stay for 2night

we are going to stay at melbourne for 4d3n, now confused which hotel is better for us

Gen-X
post Oct 1 2012, 11:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahoq @ Oct 1 2012, 10:09 PM)
i am going for honeymoon wink.gif

i am confused with which hotel is better for me

agoda

My question is :

GSH offer cheaper price but izit ok? i mean near to railway station, bus stand, etc2..

and we are going to stay for 2night

we are going to stay at melbourne for 4d3n, now confused which  hotel is better for us
Congrats!

Aiyah, that one not confuse lah. If you see my article, the title is SINGLE person or family of four. For 2 person, your choices is like plenty and for Ensuite Bedroom for 2 you can eliminate Space Hotel.

I got no idea where is Great Southern Hotel. If you are in the City, makan easy and can walk to most places. Got FREE tourist bus and Tram also. All I did in Melbourne was makan and more makan and spending time at the Casino before my family joined me, hahaha.

And taking public transport, they don't accept cash, you need Myki card - Click here to read my article Melbourne Central Business District - Getting Around.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 2 2012, 12:42 AM
Monya Meow Meow
post Oct 2 2012, 07:23 AM

100% Tiffanyfied
2,222 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Oct 1 2012, 09:59 PM)
omg did i really miss this crowd??!? i was working during the grand final. everywhere was so quiet
Yepz you did!
Yeah Sat morning was soooo quiet, except for the area surrounding the 'G' tongue.gif
annielee
post Oct 2 2012, 01:44 PM

294 posts

stumble upon iVenture for discounts tourist entry..

anyone use that before ??

jchong
post Oct 2 2012, 05:49 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ahoq @ Oct 1 2012, 10:09 PM)

I'm sure with the Internet and Google Maps you can easily find out this info right?

Have you also checked the hotel's website: http://www.greatsouthernhotel.com.au/Melbo...tent.aspx?p=loc

Anyway, the short answer is it is fairly well located and close to Southern Cross train station.
ahoq
post Oct 3 2012, 10:49 AM

13 posts

Hi all,

Thanks for all yor reply & feedback.

Izit possible if we buy aus sim card to surf internet using galaxy tab that we bring from malaysia?

If yes how about the rate? have prepaid like here in Malaysia?
Gen-X
post Oct 3 2012, 11:17 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ahoq @ Oct 3 2012, 10:49 AM)
Hi all,

Thanks for all yor reply & feedback.

Izit possible if we buy aus sim card to surf internet using galaxy tab that we bring from malaysia?

If yes how about the rate? have prepaid like here in Malaysia?
why you did not read my article I gave the link above in my reply to you. In the article I touched on prepaid sim cards too.

yes, you can buy a prepaid sim card that come with data and use it with our Malaysia Android phones . While I was there, I bought Vodafone and Telstra AUD30 package that is good for 30 days and can surf internet anywhere. If you bring along your ipad (and with wifi connection from your Android hotspot) you can do Facetime too or if your Tab has front camera can do video calls with skype smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 3 2012, 11:18 AM
ycs
post Oct 3 2012, 12:13 PM

3,956 posts

does it cost the same to get visa from travel agent instead of online?
ahoq
post Oct 3 2012, 01:54 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 3 2012, 12:17 PM)
why you did not read my article I gave the link above in my reply to you. In the article I touched on prepaid sim cards too. 

yes, you can buy a prepaid sim card that come with data and use it with our Malaysia Android phones . While I was there, I bought Vodafone and Telstra AUD30 package that is good for 30 days and can surf internet anywhere. If you bring along your ipad (and with wifi connection from your Android hotspot) you can do Facetime too or if your Tab has front camera can do video calls with skype smile.gif
Hi Gen-X,

Yes i did read your article. But want to confirm since i dont want to buy new phone as i will be there for 6d5n only.

If I buy the vodafone and telstra, cant use in Malaysia rite?

I dont think it is worth for me unless the phone can be used in malaysia.

But what do you think about that?

Added on October 3, 2012, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 3 2012, 01:13 PM)
does it cost the same to get visa from travel agent instead of online?

From my understanding, if online AUD20.

but if use travel agency only rm25 / person.

I just applied yesterday use travel agency.
http://www.mudah.my/Visa+ETA+Australia+for...an-17847028.htm

Should receive it by today.

This post has been edited by ahoq: Oct 3 2012, 01:58 PM
fuzzy
post Oct 3 2012, 02:05 PM

*pew pew pew*
6,659 posts

Hi people,

I will be flying to Australia for end of Dec to spend my Xmas there, will land in Sydney and flight straight out to Melbourne to spend a week there.

Question is, once we arrive in Melbourne, should we target to get a rental car and go straight to Yarra Valley and finished up the east side, move to GOR before coming back to CBD and subsequently finish up the city tour and fly back out again OR do we do it otherwise?

ie. Arrive in melbourne, go to town and visit it for a few days, then go to Yarra, etc and finish up at GOR before going back to Sydney?

144 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:36 PM