Does lapping make much difference?

TSsyahirax
post Aug 25 2008, 11:24 PM, updated 18y ago

anomie!
562 posts

mates,i was just wondering,Does lapping the base of thermalright ultra 120 extreme make much difference?ve read in few forums that sometimes the temp manage to drop around 1C-3C,anyone could share their own experience?Thanks a lot.
chyu89
post Aug 25 2008, 11:26 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

I tried my own and i don't feel any difference, either im blind or im bad in lapping, so i wouldnt want to risk lapping my s1283 as i seen some consequences of accident of lapping it here.
TSsyahirax
post Aug 25 2008, 11:43 PM

anomie!
562 posts

well,i think using sandpaper with 1000 grit sandpaper and above would be okay right(for xigmatek)?

This post has been edited by syahirax: Aug 25 2008, 11:43 PM
mfcm
post Aug 26 2008, 12:41 AM

2,765 posts

hmm i did lap my ultra120 extreme..but too bad i didnt manage to take the non lapping temp doh.gif but the result after lapping i think quite impresive..runnin 4.05ghz daily idle 38c load 57c in non AC room..my room abit hot during evening till midnight/early mornin sweat.gif
TSsyahirax
post Aug 26 2008, 12:53 PM

anomie!
562 posts

Mfcm,mind sharing your lapping method,is it same as this?Because i dont wanna lap if theres no diff at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rO5gk6mZuso

mfcm
post Aug 26 2008, 02:02 PM

2,765 posts

yup..same method as the link u gv..need to hold the base crossing with ur finger there tongue.gif
chyu89
post Aug 26 2008, 02:43 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

mfcm's 120 wouldnt be that risky as s1283 hdt lol..lap wrongly heatpipe worn out and got hole.
mfcm
post Aug 26 2008, 03:23 PM

2,765 posts

owh..i miss out bout the xigmatek..i tot TS wanna lap th ultra120e laugh.gif bout xigmatek yeah since its HDT so im abit worried bout it..afraid leak while lapping doh.gif
E-J@1
post Aug 26 2008, 06:12 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

"make much difference" as in 10c?

no way laugh.gif

only 1~3c temp drop

u lucky if can get 5c temp drop
TSsyahirax
post Aug 26 2008, 06:24 PM

anomie!
562 posts

well,ive lapped my xigmatek too and its actually fine.Just have to be extra care and dont use 1000 grit and below.Well,gonna try lap first the ultra 120

Added on August 26, 2008, 6:25 pmyeah,if 10C,ill be the happiest person on earth biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by syahirax: Aug 26 2008, 06:25 PM
a1098113
post Aug 26 2008, 08:19 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

ive had a lapped ifx14 and it made quite a field day in terms of performance.. it was brilliant!
TSsyahirax
post Aug 26 2008, 08:35 PM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 26 2008, 08:19 PM)
ive had a lapped ifx14 and it made quite a field day in terms of performance.. it was brilliant!
what grit u were using anyway?from start to the end of lapping process?Does mirror shine basically important ?
mfcm
post Aug 26 2008, 09:05 PM

2,765 posts

erm if HDT myb u can try the soft grit like 2000..but will take time abit laugh.gif lastime i didnt on ultra120 i use rough -> soft one..erm mirror shine ah..for me if the base mirror shine but not smooth/flat enuf then wont help much to gv best contact to ur proc nod.gif
TSsyahirax
post Aug 26 2008, 09:20 PM

anomie!
562 posts

yeah,thats what i thought of,the purpose of lapping is to have the flatest surface as possible.
clawhammer
post Aug 26 2008, 09:59 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Lapping would help to a certain extent only and 2-3C is already considered good. Those which gets 10C lower after lapping, the temp drop might not be due to the lapping result but perhaps the previous mounting wasn't properly in place so after the lap, people thought that it gave that enourmous drop in temps smile.gif
TSsyahirax
post Aug 26 2008, 10:17 PM

anomie!
562 posts

yeah,like weve discuessed before,sometimes people are exaggerating it too much.hehe
Da'men
post Aug 26 2008, 10:33 PM

539 posts

In one of my rigs, I had used Xingmatek 1283 Red Scorpion as it was highly recommended. I used Zalman thermal grease which was said to be almost equal to Artic Silver 5, the temps was 45 deg C idle and 70 degrees after a few minutes of stressing . By the way I was using AMD X2 6400+ OC to 3.34 Ghz. I realize although the direct heatpipe contact is a novel idea , i noticed the intervening aluminium fins may not be the same level as copper surfaces and may be propping the heatpipe from the cpu heatspreader. Furthermore the heatpipe surface was not really smooth...I cannot even see a faint reflection.

So I lapped with grit 600 then 800 then 1000 then 1200 then 1600 and finally 2000. Each lapping about 20 to 40 strokes. Although not really a mirror finish I can at least seen my faint reflection on the copper surface. More importantly, the contact surface of both copper and intervening aluminium septae are smooth and leveled.

I decided to try Artic Cooling MX-2 spread on the cpu.

This time, idle temps 32 deg C and 51 deg C running Orthos for nearly an hour. i was able to push the speed to 3.6 GHz by increasing the CPU voltage.

Now one may argue the MX-2 thermal grease could be responsible for the temperature drop but I had used the same compound for another heatsink and it showed inferior temperature cooling compared to Zalman thermal grease.

So I have to assume the lapping must have contributed significantly to the temperature drop.

Just thought I would share....anyone else have same experience?
TSsyahirax
post Aug 26 2008, 11:37 PM

anomie!
562 posts

hmm thats a big difference but did you mount your hsf correctly and do u use the S&S kit?
Da'men
post Aug 28 2008, 06:06 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Aug 26 2008, 11:37 PM)
hmm thats a big difference but did you mount your hsf correctly and do u use the S&S kit?
Good question, I was concerned initially at the initial temps (before lapping) and remounted the heatsink thinking it may not be properly seated but had got similar results. I did not use any special kits but only what I got from the box. I have tried lapping before in my older rigs and did not find much difference.....there is only 2 or at most 3 degree Celcius drop. So when I was building my current rigs the heat sinks were not lapped and just used the factory finished heat sink surface but I think the significant drop here is because of the direct heat pipe technology in the the Xingmatek Red Scorpion. Lapping probably increases the efficiency of the heat transfer.....but I was worried during the lapping process I might rupture the heat pipe but fortunately it was quite resilient.

If I had any more dough and time I might get another Xingmatek to replace my Coolermaster Gemini II for my Intel rig but the thought of removing the mobo and unscrewing the bolts that hold this monster of a heatsink ........ sweat.gif rclxub.gif .

Hope it helps. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Da'men: Aug 28 2008, 06:19 PM
TSsyahirax
post Aug 28 2008, 09:59 PM

anomie!
562 posts

What u were using anyway Da'men?i assume its amd,for xigmatek red scorpion if u were using intel,it might be not as tight because its use push pin configuration.Im gonna lap my hsf maybe,probably next week.smile.gif
seiji_kun
post Aug 29 2008, 01:38 AM

641 posts

quite satisfy after lapped sometimes cn reach 31 deg c bt at nite lor temp quite low...
TSsyahirax
post Aug 29 2008, 02:59 AM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(seiji_kun @ Aug 29 2008, 01:38 AM)
quite satisfy after lapped sometimes cn reach 31 deg c bt at nite lor temp quite low...
thats pretty impressive i must say,gonna lap mine next week.biggrin.gif
serez
post Aug 29 2008, 03:12 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

yah seriously lapping job can lower temp a little bit. its because lapping itself removes air gap on the surface. i`ve tried on both of my hs, blue orb and tr hr01. both gives significant result after lapping which reduce temp by 3c. thumbup.gif
Da'men
post Aug 29 2008, 03:34 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Aug 28 2008, 09:59 PM)
What u were using anyway Da'men?i assume its amd,for xigmatek red scorpion if u were using intel,it might be not as tight because its use push pin configuration.Im gonna lap my hsf maybe,probably next week.smile.gif
You are right, the Xingmatek was for my AMD system Athlon X2 6400+ Black edition with a 125W TDP. Have not tried it on Intel as yet. You are probably right the mounting for Intel CPU socket may not be as secure as the clip mechanism for the AMD and I probably will need some 3rd party bolting kit.
seiji_kun
post Aug 29 2008, 06:38 AM

641 posts

finally cn reach 30 deg c..huhu..c my cpu temp.. tongue.gif

TSsyahirax
post Aug 29 2008, 12:32 PM

anomie!
562 posts

mine right now is 45C idle and 61 load sad.gif a bit too high.What tim u were using anyway seijikun?
seiji_kun
post Aug 29 2008, 07:51 PM

641 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Aug 29 2008, 12:32 PM)
mine right now is 45C idle and 61 load sad.gif a bit too high.What tim u were using anyway seijikun?
i jus use tuniq tx2 oli..mayb my room temp quite low tat y cn reach 30 n i dun like on my pc at day cause quite hot bout 35-38 c after lapped be4 lapped cn reach 40-44 c quite satisfy... tongue.gif ...what coolng u use??...it aso depend on ur room temp too...
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 29 2008, 08:12 PM

4,809 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/363027
i dont know why we need a new thread

0.0236sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled