Guitars GIBSON LES PAUL STUDIO, PRICE? IS IT WORTH??

Everdying
post Aug 25 2008, 09:46 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(SE W950i @ Aug 25 2008, 08:34 PM)
yupyup, last time been to mahogany ss2 when studying there, MIA CE model cost around RM9K, and those with 'bird' inlays cost more than RM13K. wondering how much diff getting guitars from Spore than here, mean with trip cost, etc..

Saw swee lee promotions, Gibson BFG Les Paul cost S$1799, really tempting for it.  rclxms.gif

anyone want go sama- sama??    icon_idea.gif

URL:Swee Lee Promo
dont say singapore la.
u could take a flight to US, enjoy a nice holiday and come back with the PRS and spare change.

Kelvw
post Aug 26 2008, 04:55 PM

1,591 posts

Looks like a good deal. The Valve Jr. is so cheap smile.gif

If you make a trip to Bangkok, plenty of Gibsons at Central World plaza. Prices aren't too bad.
blacktrix
post Aug 26 2008, 05:29 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Yay. The return of Bman.
SkylineFreak
post Aug 27 2008, 01:30 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Aug 26 2008, 05:07 PM)
BFG not worth it. Gibson is too cheap to even put simple dot inlays.
You can get many other better axes for way less.

You wanna know how cheap Gibson can get, go check out their melody maker.

Pathetic piece of junk, that doesn't even comes with intonation adjustable saddles or action that are adjustable.
Better off buying a cheap copy and you even get full set of inlays and tun-o-matic bridge.
Wow, you really hate Gibson that much? You're probably a Fender fanboy.

Have you ever played a Gibson? I haven't and I think it probably pwns Fender and other brands.

btw, how can 3000$ be cheap to you? Their Melody Maker is just an entry-level Gibson at a low price. It's not a super-duper guitar btw.
blacktrix
post Aug 27 2008, 10:26 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Nope. He's the infamous bman.
I'm closing this thread because like any thread bman starts, it's quickly becoming a flame zone area.

Thanks for screwing another thread bman!

- Thread Closed -

-REOPENED-

I invised the offending posts and consider this a Warning to Batuapi or Bman........ one more post like that and it's another holiday for you.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Aug 27 2008, 10:28 AM
Bassix
post Aug 28 2008, 01:55 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Aug 26 2008, 06:30 PM)

Have you ever played a Gibson? I haven't and I think it probably pwns Fender and other brands.

You're probably a Gibson fanboy.

Have you ever played a Fender? I haven't and I think it probably pwns Gibson and other brands.

SkylineFreak
post Aug 29 2008, 10:33 PM

162 posts

Yup, I played a Fender. Maybe it's just not my type. That's why I think it sucks. I think the body and neck are too thin for my liking.

Sorry if I offended you lor.
apique
post Aug 30 2008, 01:20 AM

71 posts

for me epiphone lp are more better than gibson
people spent alot of money only for the name of gibson
its not a big deal rite??

Added on August 30, 2008, 1:20 amfor me epiphone lp are more better than gibson
people spent alot of money only for the name of gibson
its not a big deal rite??

This post has been edited by apique: Aug 30 2008, 01:20 AM
Everdying
post Aug 30 2008, 01:58 AM

30,735 posts

so a proton is better than evo?

there are little things missing in the cheaper one that u dont notice until u actually play a better made guitar.
its these little things that contribute to the bigger price tag.
Kelvw
post Aug 30 2008, 04:02 AM

1,591 posts

There are differences. I wanted to get an Epi initially.
Tried both Epi LP Standard and Gibson LP Standard Faded side by side at the store. Epi seems ok until I tried the real deal. Was blown away by the clarity and tone. But that was the last I saw of it, it was gone in less than a week.
[vogue]angel
post Aug 30 2008, 12:21 PM

107 posts

hey, i got someone tat can help you find Gibson Les Paul Studio. His name is Eric Tjan. Go ask him for advicelar. but rememer to tell him which country ur fromlar.

http://www.public.fotki.com/etjan/ ( his website)

You can also go

http://guitargasing.blogspot.com/. This is the famous Hub4thailand in soft.com.sg. They have all kinds of guitars also, but in sing dollars.
The guitars they show are really mindblowing. They are selling Gibson Les Paul Studio. You can check them out.

I hope this help in your quest for Les Paul Studio ( hope to own 1 in the future , but now i start dreaming first )
apique
post Aug 30 2008, 01:47 PM

71 posts

sorry bro..
but dont compare proton and evo kwn..
there are bigger gap there..
i know gbson are more expensive than epi
n of course there hav different but not to much
just a little bit rite..so why spent alot of money to buy gbson where you can have a good guitar wit affordable price??

my 1 cents...

Added on August 30, 2008, 1:50 pmsorry bro..
just a little bit rite..so why spent alot of money to buy gbson where you can have a good guitar wit affordable price??

my 1 cents...

This post has been edited by apique: Aug 30 2008, 01:50 PM
Bassix
post Aug 30 2008, 03:29 PM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(SkylineFreak @ Aug 29 2008, 03:33 PM)
Yup, I played a Fender. Maybe it's just not my type. That's why I think it sucks. I think the body and neck are too thin for my liking.

Sorry if I offended you lor.
no you didn't offend me. I was just trying to be an idiot.

I love gibbies tone. Just that they're too freaking expensive
blademaster
post Aug 30 2008, 03:58 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(apique @ Aug 30 2008, 01:47 PM)
sorry bro..

my 1 cents...

Added on August 30, 2008, 1:50 pmsorry bro..

my 1 cents...
Reason why Gibson > Epiphone

-Better wood, electronics, hardware
-Better tuning machines to stay in tune
-Craftmanship. Looking at the finish a beginner know's what cheap already
-MIA VS MIC

but tone wise, it's very subjective. I've tried a few studios and some fadeds LPs against the higher end Epis like gold top and ebony one, I'll buy a Gibson instead. To remind you, it's subjective and that just came best to my ears.

TS, if you play metal, and if you were me, I'll pickup a Gibson LP studio, tell the 490RT and 498 pickups to FO, install EMG 81 onto them. Totally brutal, seriously.
Everdying
post Aug 30 2008, 08:44 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(apique @ Aug 30 2008, 01:47 PM)
sorry bro..

my 1 cents...
wat bigger gap? ratio is almost same.
evo to proton price is about 6:1, rm50k to rm300k.
gibson to epi price ratio is slightly lower about 5:1, rm2k to rm10k.

so i think its a fair comparison.
of cos the guitars arent subjected to 300% tax or whatever, so the comparison is quite crap if compared to overseas prices.
if overseas, the proton will die cos can get ford mustangs for usd20k.

so yea, ur right, dont compare cos it will make the proton look real real real bad compared to international cars at the same price.

blademaster explained abit.
but for guitars, the best way to try is the clean sound, or my fav way is unplugged.
then u can see wats missing.

cos with distortion, almost everything can sound the same tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Aug 30 2008, 08:47 PM
sean392
post Aug 30 2008, 08:46 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 30 2008, 08:44 PM)
wat bigger gap? ratio is almost same.
evo to proton price is about 6:1, rm50k to rm300k.
gibson to epi price ratio is slightly lower about 5:1, rm2k to rm10k.

so i think its a fair comparison.
of cos the guitars arent subjected to 300% tax or whatever, so the comparison is quite crap if compared to overseas prices.

blademaster explained abit.
but for guitars, the best way to try is the clean sound, or my fav way is unplugged.
then u can see wats missing.

cos with distortion, almost everything can sound the same tongue.gif
Especially with EMGs!!!
tongue.gif
enteryourusername
post Aug 31 2008, 01:36 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 30 2008, 08:46 PM)
Especially with EMGs!!!
tongue.gif
so biased tongue.gif

neway, i oso like to try those guitars unplugged.
quite lucky my epi sounded not bad, and i like it better than most guitar that i tried.
morpheuzneo
post Aug 31 2008, 02:28 AM

238 posts

good thread..

always dream about owning 1 LP.. one day..!

at least from this thread i understand a bit the diff between LP Studio and Custom..

just a beginner... try to play few chords.. smile.gif

anybody still using line 6 here?

apique
post Aug 31 2008, 03:52 AM

71 posts

thanx for those who give me a guide
im a juz a noobie bout this
im glad to hav ur advice...thanx bro
cheers!!! =D