[How To] Clean your heatsink, Pls gather some tips here
TSJ-Slade
Aug 23 2008, 10:19 AM, updated 17y ago
Edit by darkie . Yes i totally agree with J-slade. There isn't a very comprehensive guide on how to clean your heatsinks out to free them from the dust bunnies. so I've turned this thread into a discussion thread so we all can share out methods  Guys I've been away from this subforum for some time.. hope you guys can help me again like how you guys did before.. I know this question has been asked so so so many times but I am still left in the dark about the solution. How exactly do you clean your heatsink properly? Because using tissue or cloth you still can't get in between those fins. And using water will cause this oxidation and you will see white droplets where the water wasn't dried properly. I even tried using water then hairblowing it dry.. still have the same effect. Is there any special type of fluid u can dunk your heatsink into and let it rinse properly without causing this oxidation? This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Aug 23 2008, 04:54 PM
Apec
Aug 23 2008, 10:41 AM

There got chemicals solution like contact cleaner which will dry and do not leave any water mark for electronics (sold in Ace hardware shop, cost roughly RM13/can) and if you do not like to use liquid form then go for compress air can to spray out the dust (also available from Ace Hardware shop, cost roughly RM25/can)
DaRkSyThE
Aug 23 2008, 04:52 PM
ok great idea. lets turn this into another discussion thread
bad melatonin
Aug 24 2008, 03:13 AM
as for me, i soaked my ifx14 in water mixed wt dishwasher liquid & then brushed off d dust at the fin wt brush (soft shoe polish type). after that left it dry under the sun... hehehe...
tkh_1001
Aug 24 2008, 03:47 AM
QUOTE(Apec @ Aug 23 2008, 10:41 AM) There got chemicals solution like contact cleaner which will dry and do not leave any water mark for electronics (sold in Ace hardware shop, cost roughly RM13/can) and if you do not like to use liquid form then go for compress air can to spray out the dust (also available from Ace Hardware shop, cost roughly RM25/can) wow so good ka? i heard my fren told me contact cleaner costs around rm50 at hardware shop  i shud get one liao btw, super noob question here.... the compressed air cepat habis tak?
lichyetan
Aug 24 2008, 09:56 AM
for the base of the heatsink, use alchohol + lint free for me... for the fins of heatsink, compress air duster is a good choice
sup3rfly
Aug 24 2008, 11:13 AM
for the fins i use small paint brush and for the base try use back the tim on the base and polish it with tissue, i find it will give me some mirror finish effect and i will help to clean up some minor copper base oxidization as well
DaRkSyThE
Aug 24 2008, 12:46 PM
i actually use a dib of autosol to clean mine.  works quite well but you cant overapply if not your polish will be uneven
mADmAN
Aug 24 2008, 03:07 PM
i use paint brush to clean the main dusts on the fins... after that i spray with water (high pressure) to get all dusts out....
when thats done...i blow dry with 1 or 2 delta FFB 1212EHE (depending)
the base... artic clean or nail polish.
overclockalbert
Aug 24 2008, 06:25 PM
nice ideas.
i never clean my TRUE120 for 6month already. i think it's time to soak them in for refresher.
dro
Aug 24 2008, 07:25 PM
i usually use tooth brush~ its not too soft nor to hard it works all around the pc if u're a sneaker freak....u'd know its ur best fren
chyu89
Aug 25 2008, 04:54 PM
I just take it out,throw into basin, take toothbrush brush all the dust .
hilmiangah
Aug 25 2008, 06:14 PM
Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
i brasso the base of the heatsink to get all the harden tim off.
BlueWind
Aug 25 2008, 06:28 PM
I just spraaaaay the heatsink with my compressed air can. - I finished up the whole can by spraying the whole parts in my casing. Tiring job though.
mp3
Aug 25 2008, 06:41 PM
For copper heatsink, I use rubbing alcohol to clean the base, then rub some tomato sauce and rinse. Shinny For fin, running water unfortunately..... This post has been edited by mp3: Aug 25 2008, 06:42 PM
OlgaC4
Aug 25 2008, 06:50 PM
The best way to clean a copper heat sink it to soak in to coke. Then rinse with water if possible RO water walah shine as new. Coke contain some chemical that can clean or eat those unreach fin effectively.
This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Aug 25 2008, 06:56 PM
dro
Aug 28 2008, 02:51 AM
sure can clean the fins by soaking them? no rust meh? dats great news as my the deeper part of my cooler are unreachable by any brush or cloth
bryanyeo87
Aug 28 2008, 04:18 AM
soak in coke  Added on August 28, 2008, 4:19 amQUOTE(dro @ Aug 28 2008, 02:51 AM) sure can clean the fins by soaking them? no rust meh? dats great news as my the deeper part of my cooler are unreachable by any brush or cloth its called carbonic acid This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Aug 28 2008, 04:19 AM
boon.fong
Aug 28 2008, 10:41 AM

Hi guys, any one try the vacuum cleaner to clean the fin?
tomatos
Aug 28 2008, 04:17 PM
Get a compressed aircan and spray between the fins. Wouldn't suggest dipping your hs into water especially those with bare alumminium fins. You would notice that part fading due to oxidation. If you were to touch with your hands, you might notice some permanent thumbprint due to oxidation.