Perodua Kancil... be it 660 or 850..., Mods 2 make it alil faster & smoother..

TSekiddie
post Aug 23 2008, 12:45 AM, updated 16y ago

810 posts

de question is how? hahaaa!

what would be ideal for mods to make the lil' carby mousedeer goes alil' faster yet smoother? hehe... faster surely is more responsive to ur throttle... and again faster as in carby and not in swapping de engine ya coz' i can be very sure alot will said change to L2/L5... hahaaa! y do so? a stock kancil is just as fun to drive as well!

wink.gif

-storm-
post Aug 23 2008, 12:55 AM

Hmmm........
2,104 posts

Exhaust mod?
ceo684
post Aug 23 2008, 01:00 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

change to L2 lah for instant powah. not much potential u can squeeze out of stock engine. change to anything bigger and noisier than stock exhaust for top end decrease a little.
TSekiddie
post Aug 23 2008, 01:01 AM

810 posts

for a carby... what would be de most ideal size/diameter?

wink.gif

tommi88
post Aug 23 2008, 01:01 AM

275 posts

2 b honest...there iz nth much u can do wif da carbie engine...im also a 660cc kancil owner...i wanna make da engine more responsive but alot of ppl advice me 2 swap a L2/L5 engine...unless u really hav da greens,u can change 2 weber carb....dat also u hav 2 custom make da tapak everything 4 da carb...then find a good tuner 2 tune da carb 4 u or else u will end up less power but consume more petrol if da carb iz nt tune properly...itz nt ez 2 find a good carb tuner in KL...simple mods like air filter,plug cable,spark plug,voltage stabilizer,grounding cable will help improve drivability...but i doubt it will help alot in performance...n 4 exhaust mods...i think 1.5 inch should b ok...go bigger u will end up in a noisy ride n ppl will b calling u names....
TSekiddie
post Aug 23 2008, 01:06 AM

810 posts

hahaaa! ppl will be calling me names... ya, especially when i go back home late at nite, rite? hehe...

another thing... why izzit alwiz L2/L5? i want a responsive carby! hahaaa! it's just that easy... i knew there is a thing u can mod at de carb there... it's called 'carb jet' where it will shoot more fuel into de intake hence more power... anyone done tat b4?

wink.gif

tommi88
post Aug 23 2008, 01:10 AM

275 posts

easy...L2/L5 iz direct plug n play into da engine bay...no need modifications on engine mounting...L2 engine iz turbo charged version of our stock 660cc/850cc engine...while L5 iz a newer engine wif 4 piston 16v engine...L2 iz 3 piston 12v...our 660cc/850cc engine oni has 8v...modding a carbie engine iz nt ez n nt feasible in a long run...
L512_armada
post Aug 23 2008, 01:11 AM

268 posts

better put L2 or L5...
TSekiddie
post Aug 23 2008, 01:17 AM

810 posts

hahaaa! as expected... alot will be asking me to dump in L2/L5 into my engine bay...

modding a carby is really that hard meH?? hehe... that's why i'm asking some ideas among all de fast and furiouster in here... hehe...

wink.gif

tommi88
post Aug 23 2008, 01:22 AM

275 posts

totally agree wif L512_armada....even myself i dun bother modding da carbie engine...i dun gain much even i dump alot of money into it...itz wiser 2 dump in a L2/L5 engine...

not hard but u dun gain much horsepower even after u hav done alot of modifications into da carbie engine...itz a total waste of money if u change higher lift of cams n crank pulleys n yada yada...u wun gain any horsepower but instead u will lose power n worse come 2 worse a bad drivability...if doin stage 1 modifications will b fine..coz stage 1 mods iz improving drivability n increasing abit performance....
TSekiddie
post Aug 23 2008, 01:26 AM

810 posts

thx tommi... what would be the stage 1 mods like?

wink.gif

tommi88
post Aug 23 2008, 01:29 AM

275 posts

ermmmm...like i mention juz nw...UFO type air filter,plug cable,spark plug,voltage stabilizer,bttr exhaust system...wt else...grounding cable...slightly bigger rims...lowered spring...all thiz will help in performance n driability...as long dun go over da sky modifications like swapping into 15 inch rims...2 inch piping exhaust system..
Intrigue
post Aug 23 2008, 01:34 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,917 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Aug 23 2008, 01:17 AM)
hahaaa! as expected... alot will be asking me to dump in L2/L5 into my engine bay...

modding a carby is really that hard meH?? hehe... that's why i'm asking some ideas among all de fast and furiouster in here... hehe...

wink.gif
modding it is one thing but is it worth to mod it on the kancil 660cc
ceo684
post Aug 23 2008, 01:37 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

That's why ultimately just going for L2 conversion is value for money brows.gif
tommi88
post Aug 23 2008, 01:37 AM

275 posts

well..every has their own thinking....alot of ppl will disagree wif modding a kancil bcoz itz a small car n nt stable n yada yada yada....sumtimes itz da passion dat u hav on a car makes u feel dat da money dat u spend on da modding iz worth every penny u spend on it...
SUSathlonxp
post Aug 23 2008, 02:05 AM

1,067 posts

why do you want to waste time and money and effort on the outdated 6v carb engine? unsure.gif

i say save more money and change car
TSekiddie
post Aug 23 2008, 04:11 PM

810 posts

cannot be no one here mods their carby engine kuar... anyone?

wink.gif

sukatra_aicaca
post Aug 31 2008, 08:29 PM

Forever Alone
1,180 posts

get the mira 660 engine...better than kancil 850 engine nod.gif
memkingdom
post Sep 1 2008, 12:38 AM

529 posts

QUOTE(sukatra_aicaca @ Aug 31 2008, 08:29 PM)
get the mira 660 engine...better than kancil 850 engine nod.gif
Yup agree with this, you can buy a cheap cheap kancil then mod it with mira full set engine
GRexer
post Sep 2 2008, 12:36 PM

3,815 posts

And I thought I was the only person crazy enough to want to mod the carby Kancil of mine. As I'm giving myself some time before investing in a JB-JL 4-speed automatic.

I'm driving a '96 spec 3-speed automatic 660cc Kancil. Most of the mods I'm doing is per DIY basis and kept to a cheapest possible rate as doing too expensive a mod would defeat the purpose of trying to improve the stock engine, as more expensive mods would be put in "transplant to JB-JL trust funds" laugh.gif

What I've done to boost slight response to the car is as per following:

- a short length(mine was 20cm terminal to terminal) of 4-gauge pure copper grounding cable from the battery's negative terminal to the grounding spot of the headlight wiring on the side of the fender
Less headlight dimming at night, this is subjective, but very noticable improvement in terms of air-cond compression switching on and off, the transistion is less noticable. Of course, this might be due to the fact my car is already 12-years-old and the stock cable might have oxidised hence the improvements felt

- a short length(mine was 80cm terminal to terminal) of 8-gauge pure copper grounding cable from the battery's negative terminal to the ignition distributor
Improved spark and better throttle response

- a direct 8-ga cable from the output from the alternator to the battery positive terminal.
Improved electricity flow in the whole car's electrical system thus putting less drag on the engine

- Tighten the throttle cable to the tightest possible position without the engine noticably increasing it's idling rpm(done with air-cond off)
Improved throttle response as the cable no longer has slack and responds directly from whatever input it receives from your right foot, i'm somehow still trying to find out how to fully tune the carby as I don't even know where the knobs for a/f ratio and idling are! laugh.gif

- Port-matching the exhaust manifold using the exhaust gasket as template. This can be done easily if you have the right tools and a place to DIY, and while you are at it, polish the exhaust ports as well.
Better scavenging effect from the exhaust(improve exhaust flow rate) as the stock exhaust manifold and exhaust ports have really bad matching, well, factory cast parts usually are anyway

- Change to a CDI ignition system either from the Japanese EF-CL engine or the local Kancil 850 engine, this only applies to the 660cc models.
Better throttle response, also good to replace old worn out contact points on the stock 660 engines

- Side gapped spark plugs with Bosch Super cables(the red coloured ones, can be bought for less than RM50)
Better spark and improved firing, better throttle response

All the above can be done with a budget of at most RM250 and definitely there'll be an increase in overall response of the engine, somehow, these seemingly simple mods does a great deal on smaller engines.

There are other things I'm planning to do on the cheap or whenever I have the time but I guess i'll only mention them when I'm done as I don't want to mislead people, later do already no difference I kena screwed laugh.gif

Which includes:
- Adding another spring to the throttle pulley on the carby
- Thinning of the butterfly inside the carby
- Adding swirls into the intake ports by using a NPT pipe machine
- Reduced size of the stock downpipe to increase low end torque

This post has been edited by GRexer: Sep 2 2008, 12:42 PM
EyraYus
post Sep 2 2008, 12:40 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,151 posts

I can sell you a K&N oped pod filter for kancil at only RM60, you can get the air ram at any acc. shop laugh.gif
GRexer
post Sep 2 2008, 12:59 PM

3,815 posts

Hm.. talking about filters, I would really avoid using an open pod on stock Kancils, best is to use a decent stock replacement air filter(Maybe something from Bosch) or best would be a drop-in replacement performance air filter, AFAIK K&N has unfortunately discontinued sales of the unit, so I'm currently sticking wif using the stock unit replaced every 15,000kms.

The it's modded with the Mira turbo engine, then an open pod would do good.
icp
post Sep 2 2008, 02:30 PM

478 posts

very nice there bro..

im trying to improve my old 2002 850 kancil..
somehow i find it consume more petrol than usual..

got any comments on that?
kicksense
post Sep 2 2008, 03:22 PM

285 posts

when u mod ur carb eng, like change UFO airfilter n exhaust system, sure more fuel consump. Changing sparkplug, put earth-grounding n volt stabilizer, will make ur car smooth n better (fuel consmp doesnt changed). Change to 13' rims n lowered abit. Sure u can clock better speed at the corner.

But for me, 660/850 carb kancil eng r not worth to mod. Plz dont waste ur money. Just go for L2 or L5 as this eng are not very exp. Around 3k should already in ur bay.
GRexer
post Sep 2 2008, 05:36 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(icp @ Sep 2 2008, 02:30 PM)
im trying to improve my old 2002 850 kancil..
somehow i find it consume more petrol than usual..

got any comments on that?
A few things u can do is check your plugs(how long it's never been changed, normal copper plugs are good for around 15,000km, u can change them after that, i would recommend normal copper plugs as at least you won't feel hesistant to change them when due instead of those expensive plugs, think the normal copper plugs costs like RM16 a pack of 4)

Change your petrol filter, if your air filter hadn't been changed for a long time, change it as well.

Also get a good can of carb cleaner(i'm using CRC CLEAN-R-CARB, very effective, you can also use WD-40 but it disolves the dirt slower, the carb cleaner just needs a few spray and it's done) , remove your whole air filter assembly(the whole thing, u need a number 10 spanar or t-wrench to complete the job) and see if there's any dirt clogged around the carby's "mouth", you should see only metal inside the mouth, anything else that appears blackish should be dirt.

Here's a timeline for things needed to be changed regularly that most people usually neglect
- Plugs: 15,000km
- Air Filter 15,000km
- Petrol Filter 20,000km

If you don't travel much and won't reach that kind of mileage within a year's travel, change them after a year anyway, all these don't really cost much, air filter is only RM8 from Bosch, plugs are RM16 for 4 pieces, petrol filter is RM5, it does help in some way to keep the engine in tip top condition.

QUOTE(kicksense @ Sep 2 2008, 03:22 PM)
when u mod ur carb eng, like change UFO airfilter n exhaust system, sure more fuel consump. Changing sparkplug, put earth-grounding n volt stabilizer, will make ur car smooth n better (fuel consmp doesnt changed). Change to 13' rims n lowered abit. Sure u can clock better speed at the corner.

But for me, 660/850 carb kancil eng r not worth to mod. Plz dont waste ur money. Just go for L2 or L5 as this eng are not very exp. Around 3k should already in ur bay.
There's no point in using "UFO air filter" on the stock engine, stock air filter changed regularly would be good enough. Like I had mentioned, if the mod isn't too hard/expensive to do, it's worth to increase the response, of course if we are talking about modding fees touching RM1k and above, probably not worth it.

One thing I regret in doing is to change to 165/60R13 for my Kancil, it seemed to increased too much of a contact patch(no doubt handling is better) but the increased contact patch increases drag and increased the fuel consumption, probably the better idea is to get 155/65R13 as it will remain the same contact patch as the 12" tyres which is 155/70R12, i'm pretty sure it wasn't the increased weight of the 13" wheels as I have weighted both the stock 12" wheels and 13" wheels and they weigh the same as I'm using original Sparco NS-2 wheels, thus lighter in weight than most locally made 13" wheels.

This post has been edited by GRexer: Sep 2 2008, 05:40 PM
TSekiddie
post Sep 2 2008, 07:34 PM

810 posts

grexer... very good write-up there... nice! ya... i don need major heavy mods on the carby engine but a simple mod which yet is cheap can do alil' wonder is just nice...

i know about changing air-filter and exhaust will sure kill it's fc badly... but i don't wanna do that... i just want a simple mod... seeing someone haf the interest to do so... why not mod it to be a smoother ride?

i just wanna make it a better fun car to drive around... hehe... from your write-up... grounding makes a bigger impact on a smoother engine performance ha? good... will try... buying market's grounding cable wit electronic does it works better? pivot vs and etc? hehe...

okie... i think i wanna go look for a can of CRC Clean-R-Carb d... hehe... so, just shoot it into the carb's mouth ha?

wink.gif

GRexer
post Sep 2 2008, 11:19 PM

3,815 posts

Yes, it seems grounding makes a bigger impact on a smoother engine for this small little ride. Hm... I have yet to test any voltage stabilizers as it might cost too much(Pivot is around RM150 for the original one if not mistaken), unless someone is kind enough to lend me his unit for a test drive for like a week for evaluation purposes.

Not really sure about grounding cable with electronic, any brand or model? Maybe can google abit about it.

Yes, just shoot the CRC into the carb's mouth, but need to remove the whole air filter assembly(including the bottom piece) to have "full view" of the mouth, easier to do. the CRC is around RM20/bottle, quite a big bottle can use to clean throttle bodies also.

BTW, how come back to carby Kancil? Thought u had the Mira turbo? tongue.gif
kicksense
post Sep 2 2008, 11:44 PM

285 posts

nice feedback Grexer... good job.
TSekiddie
post Sep 3 2008, 07:45 AM

810 posts

hehe... had another carby kancil now to fiddle with... tot just wanna remain stock but itchy hand... still must find something to play wif it and had no experience on modding a carby... that's why i'm asking...

most of all (as expected) would ask me to save the time and drop-in a L2/L5 in my bay... well, i dont want to do so... it's a carby engine and it's still an engine... just wanna squeeve the juice out of it... hehe... i've also driven a 850 n/a tat can trail a L2... i know the power limitation is there but it had it's power too... end of the day, tat 850 transplanted to L2 after taking a spin on my ride... hahaaa!

btw, i don plan to touch the internals... will let it be stock...

so, let's mod a carby! hahaaa!

wink.gif

GRexer
post Sep 3 2008, 12:04 PM

3,815 posts

Well... of course a lot would say drop-in a L2/L5, it's really the cheap way to horsepower, but if want to make the car more responsive there's still a few things that can be done laugh.gif

The 850 engine is quite decent in it's own sense actually, if mine is the 850 version i'll probably just do a few simple mods and stick with the engine than transplanting, a lot easier for maintainence.

Supposedly there 12v Mira engine (EF-HL) has a dual throat carburettor which the secondary throat opens based on vacumm signal, but it's not plug and play on our stock Kancil's carby intake manifold, have to change the whole "top set"(cylinder head, intake manifold, carby, and I think also the exhaust manifold), which end up pretty expensive, RM400 for the engine kosong, installation and refreshing the set also comes up to RM700 but it's a noticable difference for the 850 engines.

Maybe you want to drive over to Fred(fstrader in ZeroToHundred) to check if he can work some of his magic on the stock Kancil carb? That fella carby sifu la.. biggrin.gif
kcgboyz
post Nov 22 2010, 11:33 AM

630 posts

it means that air ram like this http://www.mudah.my/Kancil+Air+Intake+Pipe...ose-7599662.htm is not good for FC and pickup?
TeddyBear00
post Jul 4 2012, 10:42 AM

sorry if I pop up suddenly to ask noob question....is EF-CL 660 suitable to be turbocharged?
simon3041
post Jul 4 2012, 12:29 PM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Sep 2 2008, 12:36 PM)

nice tutorial thr....

0.0250sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:03 PM