vtt more than 1.4 really will kill the processor?
This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 1 2008, 09:22 PM
Intel Q9xxx and Xeon 33x0 Family, Show the rest what Intel Quadies can do!
Dec 1 2008, 09:20 PM
1,991 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Seri Kembangan |
Dec 2 2008, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Dec 1 2008, 10:38 PM) O... Nice stuff with stock vcore lol, not sure the vnb for quad, so simply pump to 1.5v lor.. pwm too hot??Added on December 2, 2008, 12:07 am QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Dec 1 2008, 10:59 PM) try to make it lower than 1.4v lo... read at anandtech got the VTT article.... i pump to 1.35v only, dont dare go higher coz read the article before..btw, u got this chip from zerohour? this is not from zerohour, not money to grab that time This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 2 2008, 12:07 AM |
Dec 2 2008, 01:31 AM
Dec 2 2008, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Dec 2 2008, 09:09 AM) okay guys.. the vcore look like abit too high my 2nd day got my hand of this Quadie 9550.. no time to test and playing with bios.. just 1)change pci/pcie freq to 37.6 (burn my ex graphic card coz forgot about this setting) 2) set mem divider to 1:1 3) just try fsb 400..than 433 and lastly stop at this 443.9FSB other setting just leave to auto.. and guess what.. the bios just crank up the voltage to 1.520 volt o load.. and temp as show by OCCT go as high as 85C.. core temp show 76C. so which one show the actual value for the temp.. pls enlighten me ps: yeap.. i know i need another cooler for sure.. |
Dec 2 2008, 04:13 PM
@metsatsu
can u share out your bios setting? thx alot |
Dec 2 2008, 05:55 PM
Dec 2 2008, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Dec 2 2008, 06:56 PM) actually imho OC settings cant really be shared tho cos each chip has different potential and the hardware pairing is also kinda different.... yea, but just for references as vnb and vtt voltage will be similar i guess all that can be done is just share information on how to get stability imho... the rest have to try out and experiment urself liao Added on December 2, 2008, 7:46 pm QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 2 2008, 07:39 PM) my setting in bios is as so: thx so much bro Vcore = 1.3375v FSB voltage = 1.3v (if default is 1.2v can't remember MCH voltage = 1.6v (if default is 1.5v can't remember also) PCIE voltage = +0.10v dunno what value and why wanna increase it, but just doing it for the sake of it. PCIE frequency = 101mhz FSB:DRAM ratio = 1:1 ram timing = 4-4-4-15 DDR2 voltage = 2.05v Loadline caliberation control = auto 436 x 8.5 = 3700mhz the rest i didn't touch but as tkh bro said, each mobo are different from another. this values which i used on my Gigabyte X38-DS5 can only be used as reference for other ppl. hope it helps in some way. and for those who think i can improve and correct. please share with me yah. btw, do u think my psu enough juice for my rig?? with q9450 Added on December 2, 2008, 7:46 pm QUOTE(hengmy @ Dec 2 2008, 07:44 PM) yea, but just for references as vnb and vtt voltage will be similar i guess This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 2 2008, 07:46 PMAdded on December 2, 2008, 7:46 pm thx so much bro btw, do u all think my psu enough juice for my rig?? with q9450 |
Dec 2 2008, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Dec 2 2008, 07:58 PM) actually different mobo, proc chip potential and ram settings will need different Vnb and Vtt.... regarding ur psu, i think its still ok ok cukup makan ba QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 2 2008, 08:09 PM) I like to play safe. and i seriously believe that a better PSU will enable higher oc for certain components (i can be wrong, but i'm just saying this based on my past experience). 460w should be just enough i guess, but if u plan to oc hard out on your new proc. u better look for around 500w+ yea, i feel the psu need to change also, 12v only 384w but lack of $$ now.. i think gonna use this as 24/7 first before i get a better psu This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 2 2008, 08:45 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 4 2008, 10:42 PM
finally get 3.5ghz 10 loops pass on IBT after tuning on the gtl ref
dfi x48 lt is really tricky for quad overclocking anyone using these board pls share me the gtl ref for quad at 450fsb and higher, thx alot ![]() |
Dec 5 2008, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 5 2008, 08:16 PM) after done some research for few days, this is the outcome i found.compared to gigabyte and asus, these board are easily boot up a quad core at 450fsb or more without tweaking in gtl ref, as for dfi x48 lt and ut version, if dont touch on gtl ref, u cant boot into window at all at 450fsb. after 400 fsb, gtl ref need to change to make it stable... or maybe i am wrong, just my psu not enuf juice |
Dec 5 2008, 09:50 PM
by increasing the vcore would not help at all to boot into window. from 1.1xv to 1.3v. after that i search online and ask around, then found that gtl is the key, after tweaking by referring to anandtech guide and try and error, finally can boot into window at 450x8 1.168v
but i guess my psu will not able to handle it since it come out sound like to ask me change psu |
Dec 9 2008, 08:21 PM
-wrong section-
Added on December 13, 2008, 12:57 amfinally clock my q9450 to 4ghz ![]() This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 13 2008, 12:57 AM |
Dec 26 2008, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(huzai @ Dec 26 2008, 05:40 PM) Q9400 user reporting in(am I the only one using Q9400 in here? how much vtt u set? do u change the cpu ref and nb ref? or leave it auto?managed to OC till 440FSB, vcore 1.280v IBT passed mobo : dfi lt x48 t2r screenshot.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Dec 26 2008, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(huzai @ Dec 26 2008, 07:51 PM) here is my setting before i tried can stable at 1.31vtt » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I get great help from clunk's forum, also the template i use were from his website BTW, i ran OCCT before and I failed lol I'll try up the vtt and gtl later This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 26 2008, 08:02 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Dec 26 2008, 08:07 PM
Dec 26 2008, 09:44 PM
haha, i also tried go into 450fsb before, can ibt pass 5 loop, but freeze cant take SS.
the mobo not limit at 440, but u need to tweak the GTL refs... |
Dec 26 2008, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(huzai @ Dec 26 2008, 09:50 PM) can go to 450fsb actually,but need alot of vcore, i rather keep vcore below 1.3 and vtt below 1.3 lol i use 63% for the gtl ref, 67% is for 65nm i guess.btw, about GTL refs, which guide that you follow? or you got your own calculation? lol Clunk's GTL guide for LT-UT X48 were 67% of VTT http://www.clunk.org.uk/forums/hardware/32....html#post12436 And i calculated for GTL 1/2, GTL 0/3, NB GTL myself and i got this formula lol GTL 1/2 = (Real VTT * 67%) / 0.00724 GTL 0/3 = (Real VTT * 67%) / 0.0078 NB GTL = (Real VTT * 67%) / 0.0097 but you have to 'genapkan' those numbers to 3 digits lol dunno my calculation is right or not, pls advice thanks the dfi bios setting use number instead of the 0.00xx like other mobo use, so even can calculate also hard to determine in the number? btw i tried clunk before but not allow me to get stable setting, but using 63% can get more stable setting |
Dec 26 2008, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 26 2008, 10:43 PM) Bro hengmy. Mind to share ur bios setting? Though i know p45 has a higher fsb oc limit compare x38. But just wanna know, did u tweak anything else that enable u to oc higher other than up'ing all the voltages? i have ady share before, mayb that thread hard to capture eye here is the template for q9450 500 fsb stable on GA-EP45-UD3P » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Dec 27 2008, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 26 2008, 11:54 PM) Cool thx alot! But too bad now in outstation. And using gprs to surf lyn. Will give my bios another tweak when i get back home. But i think in ur case, u got a good chip and good mobo combo. but yours is ady in 3.75ghz, 4ghz should not be a problem, coz your got +0.5 multiplier but as far as i seen, this board clock the 45nm quad the best |
Dec 27 2008, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(huzai @ Dec 27 2008, 03:16 AM) its not that hard actually to calculate hmm, 0.877 is what thing ? lets say 1.35v vtt = 1.310v (real) so for GTL 1/2 (1.310 * 67%) / 0.00724 0.8777 / 0.00724 = 121.229xxxx genapkan = 120 dunno right or not hehe btw, i have found the clunk graph is not real, they seen like provide wrong real vtt value. anantech provide correct real vtt value for dfi x48, however i have tried but still not work for quad Added on December 27, 2008, 11:51 am QUOTE(metsatsu @ Dec 27 2008, 01:00 AM) Nah. The problem with x38 is that it has a rather low fsb oc limit. If u google gigabyte x38 tomshardware, u will find that its conclusion of the gigabyte x38 isnt very good so the fsb limit on where for a quad on x38? This post has been edited by hengmy: Dec 27 2008, 11:52 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0391sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:45 PM |