58 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Intel Q9xxx and Xeon 33x0 Family, Show the rest what Intel Quadies can do!

campsol2k
post Aug 27 2009, 01:15 PM

1,214 posts

Nice OC.. Now u can enjoy fast n stable computer.... also u need watch out your temps esp the CPU...
btw... i suspect my RAM got problem... supposely it doesn't need vmem that high to stabilise it @ 566MHzX2... hmm.gif
will update u guys later...

UPDATE:
As i suspected.. one of my RAM sticks failed.... doh.gif
and i believe it failed not because of i ramped it at 2.3V... because i never ran it beyond 2.3V before and just ran/stressed it for few hours recently...
I suspected it when i started to ramp the vmem at 2.14V and stressed it 4 couple of hours (3~4 hours) during my 1st overclocking attempt at 4GHz.
I reverted back to stock before attempting 2nd overclocking. In between 1st OC attempt n 2nd OC attempt... i encountered minor crashes for 2~3 times or maybe more(specifically windows internet explorer or explorer)..oh ok... i thought it might be some kind of application glitches because at that time i was installing ACDSee .. and think the application could be the problem.... Now it is proven that the RAM failed because of mild overvolting from recommended voltage.... fyi, recommended voltage for my RAM sticks is 2.1V @ 4-4-4-12@800MHz...

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Aug 27 2009, 09:04 PM
kilowatt
post Aug 27 2009, 08:34 PM

AysNdj
717 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Aug 27 2009, 01:15 PM)

Nice OC.. Now u can enjoy fast n stable computer.... also u need watch out your temps esp the CPU...
btw... i suspect my RAM got problem... supposely it doesn't need vmem that high to stabilise it @ 566MHzX2...  hmm.gif
will update u guys later...

UPDATE:
As i suspected.. one of my RAM sticks failed....  doh.gif
and i believe it failed not because of i ramped the it at 2.3V... because i never run it beyond 2.3V before and just ran/stressed it for few hours recently...
I suspected when i started to ramp vmem at 2.14V and stress it couple of hours (3~4 hours) during my 1st overclocking attempt at 4GHz.
I reverted back to stock before attempting 2nd overclocking. In between 1st OC attempt n OC 2nd attempt... i encountered minor crashes for 2~3 times or maybe more(specifically windows internet explorer or explorer)..oh ok... i thought it might some kind of application glitches because at that time i was installing ACDSee .. and think the application could be the problem....  Now it is proven that the RAM failed because of mild overvolt from recommended voltage.... fyi, recommended voltage for my RAM sticks is 2.1V @ 4-4-4-12@800MHz...
yeah!~ rclxm9.gif ....thx bro...yup will always keep the cpu temp...

but ouch cry.gif ...ram failed ka...nevamind i believe u can get new stick ram & get back to OC!...

yeah!...btw ya i just put my ram voltage max on 2.2...will not go more than that...
campsol2k
post Aug 27 2009, 10:24 PM

1,214 posts

Fortunately, some broken RAM sticks could be revived..

For ppl who interested.. they can view here.... http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...t=205009&page=6

I'm trying to revive the RAM stick using freezing technique... already in the freezer n waiting for miracle... hopefully it will work for my RAM... brows.gif

@kilowatt
Put a decent cooling fan for your RAM if u want to run at 2.2V 24/7....

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Aug 28 2009, 01:33 AM
kilowatt
post Aug 28 2009, 04:43 PM

AysNdj
717 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Aug 27 2009, 10:24 PM)
Fortunately, some broken RAM sticks could be revived..

For ppl who interested.. they can view here.... http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...t=205009&page=6

I'm trying to revive the RAM stick using freezing technique... already in the freezer n waiting for miracle... hopefully it will work for my RAM...  brows.gif

@kilowatt
Put a decent cooling fan for your RAM if u want to run at 2.2V 24/7....
hehehe wokey brO!...btw im using dominator trifan cooler biggrin.gif...hows ur ram working oredi? hmm.gif

-----------------------------------

update:

i have lowered my vcore down to 1.35v & it remain the same & superb stable!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by kilowatt: Aug 28 2009, 11:05 PM
campsol2k
post Aug 29 2009, 12:10 AM

1,214 posts

QUOTE(kilowatt @ Aug 28 2009, 04:43 PM)
hehehe wokey brO!...btw im using dominator trifan cooler biggrin.gif...hows ur ram working oredi?  hmm.gif

-----------------------------------

update:

i have lowered my vcore down to 1.35v & it remain the same & superb stable!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
I'm waiting for 24~30 hours ... then will test the ram out.. will update later....

For your final stability test... if u have time...
boot your windows into diagnostic mode... run > type msconfig > under general tab > select diagnostic mode > reboot...
test another run prime95 custom FFT 4096K for 1~2 hours or more if u want to (the longer the better...)... same settings as b4 but set the memory to use = 4096MB to max out memory used by prime95...
u don't need to run prime95 small FFT if u already passed IBT...

u can try to lower down your vmem another few notches... better.. and of course need to run another stability(Prime95 large FFT{4096K}) test for each change....
Include an IBT/LinX in your next screenies showing that your CPU is stable @4GHz....

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Aug 29 2009, 01:34 AM
KTS
post Aug 29 2009, 10:33 PM

80 posts

Hye guys...
I want oc my Q9400, however I dont know how to oc it...
so i need guide and info to oc my computer...

here is my rig spec:

Q9400
Asus P5QL-PRO
4 gigs Corsair XMS 2 8500CS

Kriss
post Aug 30 2009, 04:17 PM

35 posts

Anyone here using DFI P35 Blood iron . . ?

My Q9450 cant get above 440 FSB .

Vcore - 1.55
VTT - 1.36
VPLL - 1.55
Vsb - 1.95
Vnb - 1.46
Vclockgen( Wth is this ? ) - 3.55 default.

All GTL at 0.67x

I get tips from other forum to up my VTT and VNB if i want to get higher clock . But why my board got Vclockgen and Vsb ? What value is optimum ?
campsol2k
post Aug 31 2009, 05:37 AM

1,214 posts

Hint: Try different lower fsb/ram ratio.. ie 5:6 , 3:4 , etc... try again...
Vcore - 1.55.. your vcore is too much... 45nm quad @ 3.5GHz doesn't need that much...
VTT - 1.36
VPLL - 1.55
Vsb - 1.95... u don't need that much... up one notch is enough...
Vnb - 1.46... too much vnb...
don't forget to increase your vdimm/vmem when u change the fsb/ram ratio...

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Aug 31 2009, 05:45 AM
reiben05
post Aug 31 2009, 02:32 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(Kriss @ Aug 30 2009, 04:17 PM)

Vcore - 1.55
VTT - 1.36
VPLL - 1.55
Vsb - 1.95
Vnb - 1.46

All GTL at 0.67x

I get tips from other forum to up my VTT and VNB if i want to get higher clock . But why my board got Vclockgen and Vsb ? What value is optimum ?
probably its at its limits.. Q9400/Q9450 dont oc pretty well and have an fsb wall around 450..
Vcore is pretty high.. SB is way too high.. u are gonna kill ur mobo with it.. i'd set the SB to default..
best gamble is for u to change to a better mobo =/.. P45 maybe
kilowatt
post Sep 3 2009, 12:35 AM

AysNdj
717 posts

Vcore - 1.55
VTT - 1.36
VPLL - 1.55
Vsb - 1.95
Vnb - 1.46

All GTL at 0.67x

yup wut campsol2k and reiben05 said is true...hmm hmm.gif i dont know about Q9400 can go for 400++ fsb or not but Q9450 definitely can go higher...ur SB & NB voltage dont need that much..my last Q9450 C1 can OC'ed to 465*8@3.72ghz stable 24/7 & my NB is 1.3v....

im using asus p45 mobo..maybe u should go for p45 mobo & try for higer FSB...P45-UD3P look nice drool.gif lol...or why dont u try 1st googling about Q9450 oc with ur mobo brows.gif ...

This post has been edited by kilowatt: Sep 3 2009, 12:37 AM
yimingwuzere
post Sep 3 2009, 06:04 PM

990 posts

Vcore - 1.55
VTT - 1.36
VPLL - 1.55
Vsb - 1.95
Vnb - 1.46

All GTL at 0.67x

vcore is too high.

I think it's a P35 limitation. Most P35 boards have a FSB wall of 450 for quads.
-pWs-
post Sep 3 2009, 08:50 PM

8,545 posts

Agreed w/ bro yimingwuzere. smile.gif

-pWs-
capriodimitri
post Sep 26 2009, 01:16 PM

138 posts

Hi guys, I am running Q9550, E0. Just got this last week. I was wondering, I have set Vcore 1.2V and pumped up to 3.3Ghz. Is 1.2V consider as stock voltage and mere 3.3Ghz is safe to be used?
kilowatt
post Sep 26 2009, 06:11 PM

AysNdj
717 posts

QUOTE(capriodimitri @ Sep 26 2009, 01:16 PM)
Hi guys, I am running Q9550, E0. Just got this last week. I was wondering, I have set Vcore 1.2V and pumped up to 3.3Ghz. Is 1.2V consider as stock voltage and mere 3.3Ghz is safe to be used?
as the proc stable running..it good to go 24/7...

try Prime95, OCCT or others to test the stability nod.gif
iloveemilia
post Sep 28 2009, 01:19 AM

can anyone can give recommed setting for my spec which same proc with Kriss
proc Q9450 2.66
ram team extream dark 1066 2X2GB
motherboard ASUS P5QC (p45)
cuz i still nood in overclocking

8tvt
post Oct 21 2009, 09:06 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

anyone with asus board.. specifically the pq5 deluxe..
care to share the bios settings to oc..
tq
salimbest83
post Oct 21 2009, 11:42 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

anyone have exp wif asus p5k se /epu

got problem to OC my q9550 eo
stock voltage 1.12-1.16v.. not sure..

the problem is this mobo cant oc my q9550 past 380 fsb..( so ive got less than 3.3Ghz)

voltage drop too much idle 1.36v but once load OCCT its drop to 1.24-1.26v

any option to counter this drop

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:42 amset in bios around 1.357v

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:43 amall voltage and timing leave to auto..
just set the voltage manually.

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Oct 21 2009, 11:43 AM
8tvt
post Oct 21 2009, 12:01 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

got the LLC option? enable it if any...
salimbest83
post Oct 21 2009, 12:31 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

emm..
i think ASUS bios dun have that..
but have GTL and something clock overcharge (dunt remember what its name)??
will try check after work..
coz really want to clock higher la..
since tested my ram can handle till 840MHz( 420)
8tvt
post Oct 21 2009, 01:05 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

u can look here..
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardw...-review-14.html

got some prob with the voltage etc.. donno ur mobo include or not..

but mine must take serious action upon it..

the LLC will stablize ur vdrop/vdroop so should enable it..

58 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:28 PM