post Aug 23 2008, 10:35 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

hi guys, any hamster type to recommend for newbie? So many types around...lol
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 23 2008, 04:19 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I went out and got myself a Winter Normal hamster. Didn't quite like the color on the Syrian hamster...Robovski was nice but they're very quick on their feet...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 24 2008, 07:31 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

anyone here using Habitrail cage? I hear the quality of the cage is bad for its price. And some other things like the tower doesn't have proper ventilation?

What cages do you guys use? I'm just using a plastic container now...lol
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 24 2008, 10:50 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 24 2008, 07:37 PM)
Well habitrail tanks are not good for syrians. Could be use as temporary tanks though. Currently there are people who use 2 feet guppy tanks, storage boxes, glass aquariums, etc... What kind of hamsters do you have?
I have a Winter Normal hamster...whatever that means...coz I can't find them online.
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 24 2008, 11:24 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(bytefreezer @ Aug 24 2008, 11:11 PM)
I'm using a habitrail playground for 2 of my robos now, so far not much problematic except the cage comes with extra iron for my robos. tongue.gif They always like to climb up and chew on those metal bars... now i use some 1.5inches width plastic card to block them from climbing up.

But for habitrail mini, IMO, i think it's not very practical. First of all, the mushroom water bottle... and the hanging wheel... etc... You ask me run on a hanging wheel, i also die lo, dun mention bout hamster. tongue.gif
what's wrong with running on a hanging wheel?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 25 2008, 09:39 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Aug 24 2008, 11:35 PM)
Mine seems like doesn't drink AT ALL doh.gif
same here. The water don't seem to reduce at all.

QUOTE(Jamien @ Aug 25 2008, 02:04 AM)
sorry guys, was busy. Anyway, roche's heat was sooooo smelly... Like petrol leak or something la.
what's a heat? Number 2s?

anyone here use those bath sands? I see a few different ones...lemon, strawberry etc. How to use them? Together with the 'toilet + scoup' thing?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 25 2008, 01:49 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

toilet sand and bathing sand different?
what if I dun bath the hamster at all?

btw, what food you guys give your hamsters? I bought a small 300g pack of Habitrail staple food. She doesn't seem to like the thing that look like a wooden stick in the staple food mix. Sometimes I feed her some carrots too. Its really hard to see if I'm feeding her enough...or too much...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 25 2008, 03:16 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 25 2008, 02:06 PM)
I don't mean to shoot at you but did you even read this thread? Nezu did reply on what the differences between the 2 and the reply is on top of this page. Please read from the first page. You can also read the previous v9.

Read that you have winter white hamsters. If you don't sand bath then the fur will be oily and the hamster will look uncomfortable and miserable. It's like you not bathing at all. How would you feel with all that sweat, dirt, dust, oil, etc on you?

Habitrail staple food is cheap low quality food. You should get Prestige Hamster or Harry Hamster. You can also try nezu's smoothie which is made from veges and fruits for a balance diet for the hamster. Carrots alone are not enough.

You can put 1-2 teaspoons of dry food a day. Fresh food will depends as it is different from one to another hamster. But do try to get nezu's smoothie as the results are really good.
actually I know but I asked again because those two lines don't mean anything to me...a newbie.

you don't know how hard it was just getting any information on these hamsters. When I got the hamster at Ikano, I asked what food they eat (he answered oats), how often or how much to feed (he doesn't know), and other things like differences between species, etc...I got no useful answer from him or anyone else nearby.

btw, someone just told me that mine's Winter Sapphire...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 25 2008, 07:02 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I do conduct my own research...if I know what to type lar tongue.gif
tomorrow will be visiting Pet Shack to get some stuffs and Harry Hamster food. Right now I only fear my hamster doesn't like that food. The habitrail food I give her right now...she only likes to eat the walnut. Besides that and the carrot, I don't think she's eating anything else. Its hard to see with the 'living room' being so messy still tongue.gif building a playhouse for her tonight to organize things a little
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 25 2008, 08:44 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

yea, that's what I'm doing.
anyway...something weird has happened. She started forming the habit of sleeping outside her box today. And she slept 3 times since I got back 3 hours ago. Didn't see this much sleeping past 2 days...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 25 2008, 11:27 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

guys...Winter White, Winter Normal, Winter dwarf....they're all the same rite? Wikipedia just put them under one name...Winter White Russian Dward Hamster. Identified by the one strip of dark fur on their back rite?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 26 2008, 02:56 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

so did you train your hamster to not sleep in the sand?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 26 2008, 07:55 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

how do you stop them from fighting each other?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 26 2008, 08:32 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

wow...separate them for life?
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 26 2008, 08:43 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

oh darn it...I bought another two to keep the one I have company...and I think the elder one is bullying the younger ones. The younger ones and turning and screaming...but I don't see the elder one biting or hitting at all. Can't tell what's going on rclxub.gif thankfully now they're all sleeping...I can rest a bit sweat.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 26 2008, 09:03 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

yea, being frightened sounds like it. Guess they're not fighting...yet...have to keep an eye out for this in the future.

ANd yep...I have Winter White dwarfs.
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 27 2008, 09:19 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

lol...they don't eat boiled eggs? I thought they do...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 27 2008, 09:57 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

ic...
hey, you guys were talking about some bath sand brands earlier...how about ALEX brand? The one that comes in Lemon, Lavender, Rose, Apple, etc...
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 27 2008, 12:05 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Aug 27 2008, 11:19 AM)
i think delikate sandbath will b good.. ppl do use oth brands and so far no complaint bout it..
got pic of this Delikate sand bath?

QUOTE(bytefreezer @ Aug 27 2008, 11:52 AM)

Added on August 27, 2008, 11:56 am
To me, i prefer the natural bath sand without any smell. Maybe the sand smell gud to human but not to the small one, and i think it'll confuse their sense of smelling also.
ALEX brand dun have natural bath...all their types have smell
Aeon_Clock
post Aug 27 2008, 02:05 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

ehh...I visited pet shack yesterday but they only had the Alex and some japanese brand toilet sand...out of stock perhaps.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:29 PM