Georgia-Russia conflict predicted in game, can you tell which one

TSsonicboom90
post Aug 21 2008, 10:25 AM, updated 18y ago

Recent news coverage of the worrying ground war between Russia and Georgia could well leave gamers with a sense of deja vu.

The South Ossetia war, which began on August 7, bears a close resemblance to events portrayed in the 2001 Xbox and Playstation 2 game "Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon," the first level of which takes place against the backdrop of a struggle between Georgian rebel forces and the legitimate Georgian government in the South Ossetian region.

Ghost Recon's plot follows these skirmishes with a full-scale Russian invasion of the region, a subsequent evacuation of US forces, and ultimately the fall of the Georgian government. Ghost Recon almost got the timescale right, too: the game's imaginary events begin in April 2008, just a few months before the real war kicked off
rclxub.gif this is very freaky because alot of what tom clancy write comes true,(first splinter cell)and may come true(ghost recon two).have you ever noticed something that happened in a game as deja vu

Added on August 21, 2008, 10:52 amlook at the prediction date of war april 2008 n the real war date august 2008 its crazy

This post has been edited by sonicboom90: Aug 21 2008, 10:52 AM
hikaru_x
post Aug 21 2008, 03:06 PM

161 posts

a tragic case of life imitating art...
SUSadli
post Aug 21 2008, 03:09 PM

33 posts

i thot cod 4. no ar?
dark lenanza
post Aug 21 2008, 04:10 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

lol
i tot the PM or russian was queen of locust??
no arr??
TSsonicboom90
post Aug 21 2008, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Aug 21 2008, 04:10 PM)
lol
i tot the PM or russian was queen of locust??
no arr??
in real life marcus fenix and his gang would be consider obese,thats y they dont wear helmet
latios507
post Aug 21 2008, 11:10 PM

123 posts

Still talking about politics? Mmm
mambo
post Aug 22 2008, 09:59 AM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

basicly ya.. there is few event that happen in game that do happen in real life.. hahaha just read the paper few week ago... thai youngster hijack the cab and kill the driver.. that happen in GTA... hahaha may be a total coincidence or tom clancy can see the future.... beter go see him and ask what no. gonna come out from 4d...
TSsonicboom90
post Aug 22 2008, 11:55 AM

i'm not surprised by the fact that there's war between georgia n russia there has always been friction between the two,but the fact that he got the date almost right is i don't know give me a word
xxboxx
post Aug 22 2008, 11:46 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

If Ghost Recon's uncanny trend continues, we can expect the South Ossetia conflict to culminate in a dramatic assault on Red Square and the Kremlin by NATO troops -- spearheaded by an elite US special forces team under the control of a pimply fourteen-year-old with a joy pad. laugh.gif
TSsonicboom90
post Aug 23 2008, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Aug 22 2008, 11:46 PM)
If Ghost Recon's uncanny trend continues, we can expect the South Ossetia conflict to culminate in a dramatic assault on Red Square and the Kremlin by NATO troops -- spearheaded by an elite US special forces team under the control of a pimply fourteen-year-old with a joy pad. laugh.gif
so you read the news too cool sweat.gif
defaultname365
post Aug 23 2008, 09:26 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Wow... what if those dudes played Ghost Recon and were like "I think this is possible. Let's do it ! "

Eisenmeteor
post Aug 24 2008, 01:26 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Like 20th century boys..whoa..
Automatic Kalashnikov
post Aug 26 2008, 02:22 PM

46 posts

HOLY SHEEEEET!

Tom clancy's End War.

Full fledged WW3 man.
will that come true too?
i say it will.
wanna bet with me?
winner gets to be belanja-ed teh tarik
Roland San
post Aug 26 2008, 03:58 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(Automatic Kalashnikov @ Aug 26 2008, 02:22 PM)
HOLY SHEEEEET!

Tom clancy's End War.

Full fledged WW3 man.
will that come true too?
i say it will.
wanna bet with me?
twenty-twelve.
TSsonicboom90
post Aug 27 2008, 01:20 PM

Automatic Kalashnikov
post Aug 27 2008, 02:40 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Aug 26 2008, 03:58 PM)
twenty-twelve.
21 12 2012
xxboxx
post Aug 27 2008, 06:24 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Automatic Kalashnikov @ Aug 26 2008, 02:22 PM)
HOLY SHEEEEET!

Tom clancy's End War.

Full fledged WW3 man.
will that come true too?
i say it will.
wanna bet with me?

i accept your bet, but on condition that malaysia also in the war. then i'll belanja your teh tarik, if there's any mamak left. laugh.gif
Automatic Kalashnikov
post Aug 27 2008, 08:28 PM

46 posts

If Anwar becomes PM, then US will set up air base in Malaysia.
China and Russia surely attack wan!
plus we are Commonwealth, if the Brits get invaded then we are in.

0.0208sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:03 AM