[attachmentid=7439148]
Not bad. Cheapest I bought was RM220.
andrekua2
post Sep 12 2016, 08:20 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Aug 20 2016, 03:07 PM)
Hi guys, I planned for 5 blade ceiling fans replacement for my living room and dining room, the ceiling height about 11-12 feet.

Good air flow is my main priority. Does the yuragi over hype? Or Bayu good enough for standard usage? Appreciate if anyone can suggest to good ceiling fan which value for money. smile.gif
Yuragi just sound quieter. It also has 5 speed which allow more adjustment. At full speed, there will be little difference in output I think.

The thing with Yuragi is that the plastic blades won't bend during installation and cleaning. Just have to look after those Bayu blades.
andrekua2
post Sep 12 2016, 08:25 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(rocktank @ Jul 17 2016, 03:22 PM)
The 2nd one, I think is older model
Change the capacitor inside the fan board. Very easy diy.
andrekua2
post Sep 12 2016, 08:38 AM

13,467 posts

Last week took some time to dismantle my 7 years old Yuragi 4 blades because it has worn out bearings. Took me a while to figure out how to dismantle the whole thing. In the end, it was quite worthwhile because only cost me RM16 to replace 2 bearings. Don't even need to buy the 3 leg cramp that was shown previously by a fellow forumer. Going to do the same with my Bayu 5 fan.
andrekua2
post Dec 10 2019, 08:26 AM

13,467 posts

I think Panasonic remote fan quality has been improved compared to last time.

Let me count the number of fans I had to maintained... for both mine and parents house.

2x new yuragi 5 blades (2015)
1x old yuragi 4 blades (2008)
3x old bayu 4 (2015)
3x old bayu 5 (2015)
2x new bayu 5 (2017)

So far, I find that the older version really problematic. Change capacitor almost once a year. The most problematic was the old Bayu5 and Yuragi 4 blades. 6months after capacitor change would still give a lot of sound and speed issue. I already took both of them out because too lazy to maintain. Before that, I even took the time to change the bearing which works like charm for few months before it also start to hum.

The most surprising is the 2x new bayu5. The new one has this rounded cover versus the old one with a sharper edge. I already used it for 2years+ and no issue at all. The old version would have start giving issue around 1.5years or so. It was so good that I even had 2 spares because it was cheap previously (bought for <RM200). I also had a Sharp 5 blades (bought out of curiosity and also mistaken for KDK for whatever reason) with reverse function which I had not had time to install to try.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 10 2019, 08:28 AM
andrekua2
post Nov 6 2021, 10:13 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 24 2021, 12:55 AM)
I just decommissioned a 1997 era old Deka and replaced with Sensa 4. KDK, worth every sen.

U want to buy over my headache (windless Bayu 4 runtime less than 1 week) at half price  brows.gif ?
Windless bayu4? Hmm... how much are you going to sell BTW?

Fans are so expensive nowadays... I still have 1 or 2 units of Bayu 5 bought few years ago... around RM220.
andrekua2
post Dec 5 2022, 11:12 PM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 17 2022, 09:26 AM)
I bougbt 5 kdk regulator fan 5 years ago and only 1 encountered noise currently.

Early this year, I bought 2 Pana Nami fan, no issues so far.

My other 2 Pana 5 blades fan (forgot the model) since 10 years ago starting to show some sign on and off. Time to upgrade.
Actually Panasonic also change the board design and now more lasting. Previous model with flat cover, guarantee every year need to change capacitor. Even Nami not spared.

Later model with round cover had a much better board design and also they change the main 1.8J capacitor to a much beefier capacitor. After I got rid of all my old bayu 5 and replaced it with new Bayu 5, no capacitor problem for years. I still do keep some capacitor to maintain a couple of older bayu and nami fans in my parent's house.
andrekua2
post Dec 6 2022, 05:19 PM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Dec 6 2022, 01:19 PM)
i am the unlucky one.
bought a few 15 years ago... the most expensive one ( last time call Furagi....) been making noise
change capacitor liao ok for a while, but now seems back again
Yuragi

I also had one. Ditched it already. My parent's house still have 2 5blades yuragi.
andrekua2
post Mar 7 2023, 09:15 PM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 6 2023, 11:02 AM)
oh how bad is it ya? is it due to the low wind issue? and which model you get to replace it?

coz i've been using my bayu 4 for more than 15 years, so far working fine except need to change the pcb a couple of times. but it's an old model though so maybe the new ones are not so reliable anymore?

If you're using the old bayu, then you should change to the newer bayu. I got fed up replacing the capacitor and changed to the newer design with round cover. Haven't need to change the capacitor even after 4 years.

This is how the old bayu looks like.
andrekua2
post Mar 7 2023, 09:24 PM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 7 2023, 04:59 PM)
I removed the cover of my KDK ceiling fan (K14y9) and the humming at speed 2 and 3 is gone. So it must be this fan cover that is making the buzzing noise. What can I do to dampen the sound ?i tried to put in some sponge tape but I can't put back the cover...
There's basically 2 types of sound.

One is humming... Like mmmm, mmmm, mmmm which usually is a sign of failing capacitor and fan also spin slower.

Another is like scratching sound when the blades aren't screwed in tightly or properly. When turned on, one or more blades are rubbing against the bottom cover.
andrekua2
post Mar 8 2023, 01:08 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 7 2023, 09:42 PM)
It's a buzzing sound like. "hummmmmmmmmmmm" - I think it's the cover against the spinning fan blades.

I untightened the screws from the cover that is hiding the capacitor. So it doesn't touch the capacitor itself. Then I put the cover back and so far no sound at speed 2 and speed 3 has a very slight hum.
Most likely capacitor liao... is the biggest capacitor (1.8J) brown or black?
andrekua2
post Mar 8 2023, 10:57 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Mar 8 2023, 09:09 AM)
got this model (grey color), move slow and humming.. replaced all caps, running speed ok.. but still got the humming... knock it few times still hum.. i guess its the motor itself..  sad.gif
Yeah, this is most problematic model. I got tired of replacing the capacitors and moved it out to the balcony to dry my laundry. Also wont be bothered with the sound. I replaced it with a Sharp PJC176W which has been working like a charm for 3 or 4 years. A bit regret didnt bought extra when it was on sale for RM299 back then. The wind is definitely stronger than Bayu as well.

Right now the only few fans that I kept replacing capacitors are mostly at my parents house. Those old design Yuragi 5 blades, couples of old Bayu 4. Since I kept repairing them, they didnt see the need to replace them. Like you mentioned, sometimes I still get humming after replacing capacitors. I attributes them to the poor quality or even fake caps in the market. If the humming is very subtle, I would leave it. I would replaced another capacitor if its too loud even though I just soldered it.
andrekua2
post Mar 10 2023, 12:40 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 9 2023, 09:45 PM)
so when the cover touches the pcb it makes noise?
I dont think so. I think the bad or failing capacitor make the motor hum. If you had a same type fan, you can take out the good board and try on this fan.

I think the cover somehow just echo the hum and make it more noticeable.
andrekua2
post Mar 11 2023, 01:38 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(KuroWanko @ Mar 11 2023, 12:16 AM)
Hi Sifus. Need help for my ceiling fan.

My ceiling fan not working when I switch on the button, it moves few inches then stopped.

Tried to change its speed but still not working, turn off and turn on again wont work.

Lucky thing is it does not trip my whole house.

I may sound stupid by asking this, but what shall I check whether it is the ceiling fan problem or wiring problem?

Shall I get a wireman or chargeman to help me check if the checking procedures are too complex for me to handle?
Corrected:

Old fan? Most likely capacitor failure. If those old 3 blades with speed dial on the wall., the capacitor is located at the fan's motor cover (not the one near the ceiling). You should be able to find a rectangular shaped capacitor after unscrew the cover and take it apart.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Mar 12 2023, 01:18 AM
andrekua2
post Mar 12 2023, 12:40 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(KuroWanko @ Mar 11 2023, 08:39 PM)
Yes, exactly with 3 blades and 5-speed dial on wall. So now what I need to do is to dismantle the fan from ceiling and check the capacitor?
First of all, my memory is failing me thus apologize for sharing the wrong info on the location of the capacitor. My fan is a kdk.

1. No need to dismantle the fan from the ceiling.
2. There should be this cover on top of the fan motor (not the top cover which touch the ceiling to hide the life and neutral cable). Unscrew both screws and you should be able to take it apart. You will find a black capacitor.
3. Unscrew the capacitor or try to take a picture of the capacitor spec. There should be some writing on the sides which specified the capacitance. Then go find a replacement in those electrical repair shop or jalan pasar.
4. Screw it back on like how the original were connected. Certain model may require cutting and reconnecting cable. (Take some pictures before dismantle)

Remember to buy those wire cable connector for easier reconnection later. Some capacitor had an extended part to screw in to the fan but some don't.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Mar 12 2023, 12:55 AM

andrekua2
post Jun 23 2023, 11:13 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(getalong6165 @ Jun 23 2023, 11:01 AM)
Didnt have the capacity to troubleshoot, so i gave a nearby electrical repair shop a call.

Mentioned that after change capacitor nor bypass the regulator the fan also won't work / spin. He mentioned cannot be fix and most likely motor is burn after getting lighting strike or short circuit etc. Told him am staying in condo, he said doesn't matter.

Just brush me off by saying not worth to fix, just replace it whole  blush.gif
Actually if those 3 blades with regulator, if no capacitor to try, can just bypass the capacitor (cut off the capacitor and connect both wires end together) and then spin the fan manually using a broom. If kept going means is capacitor rosak since it is the only thing you removed from the circuit. Capacitor is just there to start the fan spinning.
andrekua2
post Dec 7 2023, 12:10 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Dec 6 2023, 10:22 PM)
Just finished home renovation and some of the fans were installed by me. This is the first time having a mixed bag of brand due to the area size. Used to only Panasonic and KDK but now also have Alpha and Deka. The quality of these Alpha and Deka is just miles below Panasonic and KDK. From the structure, electronics, piping, wires, nuts and screws (a lot of kecik miao bolts and nuts), packaging and even the manual. If I have the choice, I would just stay away from them. Price is also not that far from Panasonic and KDK.
I think every brand also have good and bad.

Those Alkova by Alpha is decent... just a bit pricey
andrekua2
post Dec 9 2023, 12:47 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Dec 8 2023, 10:20 PM)
My brother bought KDK same time with me. His kaput already and was always complaining no wind even at speed 3. It’s true many “trusted” brands are not as good as what they were used to.
Actually you just need to change the capacitors. I have to say build quality on the motor is still top notch but they have resort to lower quality capacitor from China or even MY.
andrekua2
post Dec 10 2023, 12:19 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(nauticat99 @ Dec 9 2023, 09:16 PM)
Came across this bladeless wall fan. Looks nice and quite practical for a small room. But price not cheap though, around rm400+
How to clean though?
andrekua2
post Sep 4 2024, 11:41 AM

13,467 posts

QUOTE(wch05 @ Jul 19 2024, 11:02 AM)
does fan with Yuragi feature really make a difference today ? or depends on preference ? i demo it in mall and feel a bit strange not sure if use it long hour then it will make a difference ?
Yuragi is kinda useless... fast and slow alternating, like wind... but if you are hot, you want the fan at full blast. I would say the usage is very case specific like some rare people I met that had difficulty being blown by wind directly.

If you ask me, I would rather have the yuragi works differently aka blowing fast for a minute then slow between 30-60seconds... right now they are alternating every few seconds. I find it rather useless because it took few seconds to ramp up the speed from slow to fast and then less than 3seconds already slow again.

There is a new type out there now that has a temp to control the fan speed automatically... I think this might be more useful...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1130sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:34 AM