Will it spoil the PS3 if use it to watch DVD?, Plan to use PS3 as DVD & Blu-Ray player

DEz012
post Aug 21 2008, 11:10 AM

574 posts

My PS2 been reading ahem games for 7 years still ok but funny thing is having problem reading Audio CD ori or not ori & most ahem dvd movies that are poor quality made, maybe due to less reading cd has cause such problems.
gundamalpha
post Aug 21 2008, 11:40 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

It's not a myth, it's fact that playing any kind of discs will eventually wear out the lens. However don't be too skeptical on playing DVDs or BDs on your PS3, it's designed to play those for reasonable amount of time. But it's true that the lens will be stressed if playing badly burned discs, so try to avoid that. And don't left the lens rest too much (for like months) since it would actually deteriorate the motor and the lens as well.
rx330
post Aug 21 2008, 02:21 PM

11,811 posts

funny thing is tat, i stress out my lense, but my BIL doesnt, but his lense failed aredi.... weird...
rendezvous_pc
post May 25 2009, 08:23 PM

45 posts

so how about playin pirated blu rays??

my fren want sell me 1.2k for 40gb ps3. extra 3-4games.
can buy ah?
nate_nightroad
post May 25 2009, 08:25 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(rendezvous_pc @ May 25 2009, 08:23 PM)
so how about playin pirated blu rays??

my fren want sell me 1.2k for 40gb ps3. extra 3-4games.
can buy ah?
no pirated blu ray la bro...those pirated blu ray is actually dvd....

nice deal btw...
msn83235502
post May 25 2009, 08:33 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

hahaha...buy a dvd player lah.. murah je.

Added on May 25, 2009, 8:34 pm
QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ May 25 2009, 08:25 PM)

nice deal btw...
actually there is... yeah..it's real blu-ray disc.

This post has been edited by msn83235502: May 25 2009, 08:34 PM
rendezvous_pc
post May 25 2009, 08:49 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ May 25 2009, 08:25 PM)

nice deal btw...
wat its dvd? i tot its writen blue ray.. kanasai
Killer Tomato
post May 26 2009, 12:19 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(rendezvous_pc @ May 25 2009, 08:49 PM)
wat its dvd? i tot its writen blue ray.. kanasai
If u mean the RM70 blue ray disc, I think thats true la, but 25 GB only.
Wangsa Maju got 1 shop selling this disc brows.gif
amduser
post May 26 2009, 12:28 AM

5,542 posts

if RM70 for a jack sparrow, better top up another RM20 for a original one, quality ensure
msn83235502
post May 26 2009, 01:09 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 26 2009, 12:28 AM)
if RM70 for a jack sparrow, better top up another RM20 for a original one, quality ensure
yeah..penang sell around rm60.. but not worth it..topup 20-30, can get original... summore got extra bdlive or extra bd.
aaron_15ryderz
post May 26 2009, 09:30 AM

276 posts

but what if there's ps3 pirated games that have the content of the original one which around RM 60-RM70, for sure it benefit other's gamers...
gundamalpha
post May 26 2009, 11:33 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ May 26 2009, 09:30 AM)
but what if there's ps3 pirated games that have the content of the original one which around RM 60-RM70, for sure it benefit other's gamers...
I see..
liquidator_13
post May 26 2009, 12:25 PM

in PJ, they sellin the BDR movies for RM48... n regardin the topic, its true wear n tear happens but from wat i know, it ll happen faster if its used to play pirated dvds n this not only applies to PS3, even normal players will haf the same prob if used for playin pirated dvds for an extended period of time

This post has been edited by liquidator_13: May 26 2009, 12:29 PM
aaron_15ryderz
post May 26 2009, 12:34 PM

276 posts

imagine ps3 new game only for RM 48..for sure i buy it....woots...
msn83235502
post May 26 2009, 12:56 PM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

QUOTE(liquidator_13 @ May 26 2009, 12:25 PM)
in PJ, they sellin the BDR movies for RM48... n regardin the topic, its true wear n tear happens but from wat i know, it ll happen faster if its used to play pirated dvds n this not only applies to PS3, even normal players will haf the same prob if used for playin pirated dvds for an extended period of time
wow.. my player already near 3 yrs..no problem so far. never play original dvd. ph34r.gif usually divx burn myself with fastest speed possible.
thurtin
post May 26 2009, 01:25 PM

277 posts

it's a bloody myth that playing dvds with your console will wear out your lens! i have no idea which smart alec started this but its just so ridiculous.

think about it logically. the consoles are equipped with optical disc drives. OPTICAL disc drive! they are designed (and have underwent rigourous R&D and testing) to read optical discs, be it dvds or game discs.

if it cannot even withstand regular consumer usage, can you imagine the hordes of angry consumers ready to sue the ass off console makers, especially in the US or Europe? it is illegal in most western countries for manufacturers to advertise a feature about a certain product but it doesnt work as advertised.

but of course, all electronic or electrical stuff have a finite lifespan. they cant last forever. sometimes, if you are really unlucky, you get a bad product right out of the box. and then they are bad discs that make the lens work harder, shortening the lifespan.

but under normal usage, the average console optical drive should last you until the console is obsolete, regardless if you are using to play games or watch dvds.

amduser
post May 26 2009, 09:07 PM

5,542 posts

benefit to gamers are just on the surface, imagine everyone buying pirated games, who else want to make games for gamers to play if everyone also buy pirated? use your brain and think before you buy it, i dont see benefits at all, imagine the disc you buy are not working after you bring back home and trying to play, then you have to go back and change for a new one, waste time and money, better buy an original one, as i said, quality ensure, you even have a game manual inside.

PS3 is not just a gaming console, it is a multi purpose console, it can do many other things other than playing games, it is also meant for playing DVD and VCD.
Sey
post May 26 2009, 09:19 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(aaron_15ryderz @ May 26 2009, 12:34 PM)
imagine ps3 new game only for RM 48..for sure i buy it....woots...
Lol , how ignorant and self centered.
febreze2xxx
post May 26 2009, 10:24 PM

421 posts

Taken from a website that noted the secret of ps3. rolleyes.gif

Note that the lens in the Blu-ray drive went through various evolutions as newer PS3 models were released. Many of the initial 40GB models (CECHG) used a cheaper version of Blu-ray lens, which had a high failure rate, requiring replacement.

KEM-400AAAThe original with single lens (includes mount).CECHA-CECHE
KES-400AAASingle lens using cheaper parts.CECHG
KEM-410ACAThere are two lens, one for CD/DVD, and another one for Blu-ray (includes mount).CECHH
KES-410ACAThere are two lens, one for CD/DVD, and another one for Blu-ray.CECHH

So newer model does not really to worry about wear and tear because reading uncle jack's dvd cause it has separate lens to read them. nod.gif
nwk
post May 27 2009, 12:45 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Sey @ May 26 2009, 09:19 PM)
Lol , how ignorant and self centered.
you left out, uneducated and pathethic.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0183sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:39 PM