University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

blindbox
post Dec 27 2008, 01:23 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Anyone registering for the January intake? I am biggrin.gif . Already got the offer later, anxiously waiting for February 2nd.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Dec 27 2008, 01:25 PM
blindbox
post Dec 29 2008, 12:52 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(entryman @ Dec 28 2008, 09:08 AM)
Fees wise, you can say it's cheaper if compared to Monash, which is the other foreign uni to settle in West Malaysia.

And holding a degree from Nottingham is a highly regarded qualification in the workplace, perhaps a lil more of an edge than Monash, (unsure, someone answer to this pls). The courses are on par with standards set by the main UK campus, and all degrees conferred are identical to those of the main campus, therefore, rest assured you are receiving a genuine UK education from one of the best universities in the world.

And of course, the fees ARE really worth it. You get good facilities to support your learning experience here, e.g. a well equipped library as well as plenty of computer workstations with 24 hours internet access.

Besides, there's also good sports facilities, and a Student Association that provides help and support, as well as organizes activities all year long that enriches your life on campus. Clubs and Societies are quite active here, therefore you get a good chance to develop your leadership/management/special skills in an international setting (the student body comprises of 73 nationalities).

The living cost, I shall let the others answer, as I don't live on campus. I have a comment to add, the previous caterer was a big let down, charging astronomical prices for "inedible" food. But now, it has taken a big leap from being "lousy" to "GOOD". Prices now are reasonable, and food quality is of a certain acceptable standard, featuring a wide range of selection from chinese to indian to western (there's even ramlee burger and kebab for those who fancy it  nod.gif ).
The living costs are expensive if you ask me. RM 300 a month for a room (which is the price for a semester on other universities). If you're going to study here, you better let it be worth it. For me, I'm going to have to share a house, which would be more expensive, as I didn't book any room earlier(plus, I'm starting in February, with only a handful of other students). At least with a house, I can subscribe to whatever broadband I like tongue.gif .

I'm studying under MARA loan. What sucks was the lack of accomodation support. In return they give extra pocket money. However, I personally prefer better accomodation support(why can't they just let the students choose?), as I do prefer living with my fellow Malay or at least Muslim (no racism intended here, please, it's just preference, why I would prefer that way, you think about it icon_rolleyes.gif ).

A part of it to blame would be the university itself. They could've put a questionnaire regarding your preferences. Universities overseas does this (well, at least University of Leicester, where my sister is studying).

For now, I asked my senior(4 years my senior, his final year now, same course as I will be taking too hehe.) to ask all his contacts for a vacant slot in a house whistling.gif .

So, no one else on LYN coming in on February(January Intake) I presume(or at least those who visits this forum)?

This post has been edited by blindbox: Dec 29 2008, 12:54 AM
blindbox
post Jan 16 2009, 11:52 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(raymones89 @ Jan 10 2009, 01:52 PM)
Do we really need to find someone to fill up the reference form to apply into UON?

It was stated there that they are unable to process the application without the reference.
Hmm... all I did was write everything that's needed, then include my results, recommendation letter, etc. Then afterwards they tell me I got accepted on conditional offer. After I get my final results, I sent it to them and got an unconditional offer.

jarodr9:Mid of jan... why don't you try? Western style universities are pretty flexible. Registration starts at February(even if it is Jan intake) so you might make it.
blindbox
post Jan 17 2009, 10:34 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Jan 17 2009, 09:13 PM)
eh i read that the admission to engineering school requires at least a BBB or ABC .. which equivalent to 12 points from A-Levels..
but in applying with appeal will it be linient abit?
lets say i get 10 points in worst case scenario
You need a CGPA worth a B grade to get in. That's what they told me(when I receive the conditional offer letter).

Try first lah... if you don't try, then it's too late already. 2 weeks left you know sweat.gif

0.0577sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:39 PM