6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

Batusai
post Aug 19 2009, 01:26 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(lolhahahalol @ Aug 18 2009, 09:45 PM)
hey i received the same offer too...maybe we are staying together...
IMO.. i think twin share room are the best.. provided if u get good roommates.. cos twin share u get a hall.. which can accommodate ppl.. u wont get bored.. compared to single rooms.. everything is in ur room..
Batusai
post Aug 20 2009, 05:49 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

whos coming over for the open day this sat 22nd august?? i might be ur guide.. hehee..
Batusai
post Aug 22 2009, 07:39 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

lolz.. u post on owa classifieds free de ah??
Batusai
post Aug 26 2009, 06:07 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

hahaa.. enrolment fever going on adi.. thread gonna grow liao lu..

well.. it seems like the pizza hut and KFC near tesco is gonna open soon.. and maybe there will be delivery service soon?
Batusai
post Aug 27 2009, 12:12 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Aug 26 2009, 11:18 PM)
wah looks like no entertainment life studying at nottingham =((
hahaa.. basically.. nothing u can do during ur free time besides playing game or going to the sports complex..

u have to bring everything u need i guess.. including bed sheet and pillows.. toilet rolls.. etc.. everything.. hahaa.. its like ur living in a jungle..

Added on August 27, 2009, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(tps18489 @ Aug 27 2009, 11:33 AM)
Still nothing about it so far even after a year later. That's sad. Actually, I was thinking of getting a free copy of Windows 7. Guess there is not much hope. sad.gif
get RC versions? lolz.. windows 7 not stable yet ler.. not recommended for usage right now i guess..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Aug 27 2009, 12:13 PM
Batusai
post Aug 27 2009, 03:50 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(roxxor @ Aug 27 2009, 03:45 PM)
i hav a question here. who do u ask to certify ur spm cert and LAN subject cert? this is for the exemption for the LAN subjects
SPM cert ur principal can do that. and LAN subject.. the DEAN of the place u studied?? the LAN subject is exempted when u have taken them already.. if from SPM oni.. u wont be exempted.. and LAN subject sucks..
Batusai
post Aug 28 2009, 10:21 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(eugene90 @ Aug 27 2009, 07:30 PM)
> to be frank i have been to kl only trice in my life time, but 9 times to singapore in 3 years. both kl and sg are highly urbanised if compare to tawau, sabah... so i wasn't worry when i heard of notingham is actually located in kl, assuming that facilities are superb cause university in singapore has mcdonald, subway, coffee beans, 4 canteens, convenient store, popular bookstore... you name it, they have it...

but what i get to known is that not even a single fast food restaurant on campus, and few km away from tesco, i was like stunned all in the sudden...

what even worst is when i google earth the location of notingham campus, (coordinate is given here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_of...alaysia_Campus) it apears to be in the middle of oil palm plantation... cry! do you know how many sleepless i have?!

> no walking distance mrt station nearby right? haix... cry... cannot afford high tuition fee abroad baru go kl, mana tahu, saya telah pergi suatu tempat yang ulu-ulu yang perlu bazir $$ beli kereta...
sounds like u nvr enjoy nottingham at all.. wonder why are u still here.. if u are still here i mean..

u might wanna opt for other uni where u can go to town everyday and waste time there..

i personally like nottingham becos of it environment.. its really a study environment for me.. the place is nice and cooling..

and u think living KL is fun.. its not at all..

so many crime cases etc etc..

2 of my frenz got pickpocketed in ktm.. woot... im starting to feel tat kl sucks..
Batusai
post Aug 30 2009, 04:03 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

saturday.. those whole server shut down.. whole nottingham no line lor.. owa also down i guess.. they are trying to do some upgrades with the server thingy.. connect with UK server i heard..

Added on August 30, 2009, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(eugene90 @ Aug 29 2009, 10:43 PM)
is it necessary to bring printer and scanner?
erm.. u can bring if u want to.. if ur a hardcore printer.. sure u nid i guess. alot of ppl use up their credit adi.. u can bring anything u want.. and for scanner.. there are 2 scanners in each computer room.. if im not wrong..

for ur previous question.. the place here. i'd say quite boring.. yeah.. but its a study haven.. u wont get distracted lar.. tats y.. it has a purpose to be built so far away.. u want equivalent level.. monash? in town enjoy till u dont sleep lor..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Aug 30 2009, 04:05 PM
Batusai
post Sep 7 2009, 05:48 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(xxmyidolxx @ Sep 7 2009, 01:36 AM)
hi guys,

I am an international student and i will be joining unmc's BA FAM course this september.

1st of all, anyone have photos of Tioman hall's rooms to share with me smile.gif?

Anyone enrolling for the same course, let me know who you guys are  cool2.gif
Cheers,
psl

PS: i didnt create a LYN account for posting here XD primarily looking for hardware. And i would need some help about this too tongue.gif!
what room will you be staying in? have you booked yours?
Batusai
post Sep 8 2009, 03:50 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(lolhahahalol @ Sep 7 2009, 03:53 PM)
I'm going on the 21st September and any idea where is the Pioneer office ?
im not sure where is the main office.. but the payment office and maintenance office is in tioman hall and langkawi hall respectively.. its just infront of the hall entrance.. for checking in, just go to the office and tell them ur gonna check in. they'll have the info.
Batusai
post Sep 8 2009, 08:47 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(bubblebluez @ Sep 8 2009, 04:20 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new here.  smile.gif

I will be joining this month to study pharmacy. However, I still can't find any accommodations yet, on/off campus.

Really need help. sad.gif anybody got rooms to spare?

I'm female,19 and friendly. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Cheers and thank you.  rclxms.gif
-deleted-

This post has been edited by Batusai: Sep 9 2009, 09:34 AM
Batusai
post Sep 9 2009, 09:33 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Sep 8 2009, 10:56 PM)
Batusai,

I know you are trying to be good, but I am not sure if it's appropriate to just disclose the email sent to us. Those emails, as far as I am concerned, are not owned by the users, but the service provider, which is Nottingham.
oh.. sorry im not aware of this.. i thought the classifieds is just for everyone.. well.. i guess i better not repeat the mistake again. thanks for concern
Batusai
post Sep 9 2009, 10:44 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(Kathy9 @ Sep 9 2009, 08:46 PM)
campus got fridge o not?
yeap.. there are kitchen places in the front and the end of the halls. and there are refrigerator available.. but its public for everyone's use..
Batusai
post Sep 10 2009, 08:35 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(hojun @ Sep 10 2009, 05:51 PM)
just wondering how long would the orientation for new intake would be? Is it fun? =)
basically there is no so called orientation week i think..

only the induction programme by the uni.. where u listen to speech and intros from lecturers and the dean..

orientation activites will be made by the Students Association.. the the activites are most likely be on the first week eg ice breaking night, pool party, etc
Batusai
post Sep 11 2009, 10:24 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(woody rooney @ Sep 11 2009, 12:06 AM)
hello all forumers,i'm new here..dis question is especially to those who had successfully obtain and paid for d on-campus accommodation..seniors,if you have any comment,please do comment..how much did u guys paid(incl. deposit)?i have been told to pay a full month rental (september 2009)..i first thought tht i only need to pay half a month?so i do need some guidance here?and have they tell u guys tht d price has increased (rm 25 for each type of room)?thanks in advance...sorry if i'm disturbing...
firstly.. i dont qualify myself as a senior.. hahaa..

for the first time.. i paid through banking in.. they have the bank in details for u in the accommodation form..

the half month rental thing.. i think u have to call pioneer itself.. and the payment for the first time includes the deposit. the payment varies with the type of room..

and yeap.. starting from september.. the rental will be increased by rm25... aikz.. i hate that too.. but no choice..

Added on September 11, 2009, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(NewStudent @ Sep 11 2009, 06:34 PM)
Thank you "malaiseazn" for ur great response. Really appreciate it :-)

I had one more question regarding Foundation. When someone passes Foundation (Engineering) do they automatically get admission in Undergrad, if yes then are there some restriction on which field you can choose.

What is the requirement to pass Foundation (Engineering)

Thanks,
pass all subjects?? passing mark is 40%

This post has been edited by Batusai: Sep 11 2009, 11:09 PM
Batusai
post Sep 12 2009, 12:10 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 11 2009, 11:41 PM)
Wow..The rental really increased??Hmm..I didnt get informed..

Anymore first year engineering students here in this upcoming september?
yea.. starting sept.. aik.. rm25..

i think quite alot ba.. lolz..
Batusai
post Sep 12 2009, 09:46 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 12 2009, 12:17 AM)
hmm..less than 10%..i duno..but quite an amount also..deng..duno wat to say..never inform us also..

hmm..i still got credit in my foundation account..any way to cash out or can bring forward?or batusai,u willing to help me?
lolz.. i dont think it can be transfered.. it will be just 'missing'.. hahaa.. u let me finish up the credit lor.. lolz.. but dunno if they already clear up adi anot..

Added on September 12, 2009, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Sep 12 2009, 02:04 PM)
Yup, rental has an increase of RM25 per month effective from Sept 09.
Wonder who is willing to pay RM410 for a twin share now...
LOL..
That's expensive!
yea.. its darn stupidd.... duh... 410... damn lar..

Added on September 12, 2009, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(NewStudent @ Sep 12 2009, 12:26 AM)
A quick question....has anyone seen Pangkor Hall room no.I4C48.
That the room they assigned me.
Any information regarding this room will be a great help.
Thanks,
hmm.. basically.. ur room will be on the 4th floor.. the top floor.. pangkor hall is the 4th furthest hall... wing C and room number 48..

Added on September 12, 2009, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 12 2009, 02:22 PM)
sweat.gif @@..then my single room costs about RM 465 per month.Wow..Using this amount of money can rent a whole house at BSS.Wondering what the management is thinking.Really gain a lot of profit from us.Wonder got any way to earn $$ at school?
yeah agree.. really hate pioneer now.. serious leechers.. aikz.. and the uni... i guess.. wanna make profit.. give private management.. and now 2 management.. more profits..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Sep 12 2009, 09:49 PM
Batusai
post Sep 13 2009, 03:40 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Sep 13 2009, 01:56 AM)
But TTS is nowhere cheaper than on-campus if you are talking about TTS5 and Edu Square. TTS2 is cheaper but also, not that good, looks older and more isolated.
not even the private houses which are for rent?? some of the classifieds i've seen there offering quite good price..
Batusai
post Sep 13 2009, 06:15 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(malaiseazn @ Sep 13 2009, 07:12 AM)
Most private houses tend to have a 12 month contract and rent that exclude other bills (electricity tend to hover around RM400-700 based on one house) whereas in campus people tend to pay for 9 months inclusive. So its expensive in terms of cumulative rent, but not monthly rent.

It is viable to afford a private house if you can find around 5-7 other people, if the house is around RM1800-2200 with ac for 12 month contract, which could break even with in-campus total rent of 2008.
TTS5 is the closest, you can Google map it.

Since there's many private owner renting their houses. Some owners are willing to negotiate to provide better accommodation  (ie, you can ask for heated water, replacement of old furniture, add washing machine and table), but don't ask too much like for Persian rugs and LCD TV.
I'm not sure if there's any good houses at TTS5 left.

And there's no streamyx but Maxis wired 1mbps in TTS5.
coools. thanks for the facts. i'll have to think twice i guess.. well.. staying in campus is good in some way.. electricity is unlimited.. lolzz
Batusai
post Sep 17 2009, 04:49 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(lolhahahalol @ Sep 17 2009, 10:50 AM)
Lol still need to pay for the in order to get connected to internet...I thought there would be a free wifi connection
free wifi at all the academic buildings and SA.. none in accommodation halls and sports complex..

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0286sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:59 PM