10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

entryman
post Sep 28 2008, 10:19 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(pekies @ Sep 28 2008, 01:43 PM)
sorry i dont have a full list of clubs and societies.. just head to SA building for a flea market of clubs and societies on 6~8th oct.
job scope includes writing meeting minute (usually less than a page or two), reading and and replying SA Ents official emails.. well basically monitoring the paperwork in and out of the organizing committee. But it doesnt end there.. hahha like for previous secretary, he led an organizing committee for the event Ms and Mr Nottingham, because he wants to and he is capable of.
Cool.. if that's all, I'm up for it ! XD

I'm not worried about the difficulty of tasks at hand though, what I was thinking of was actually the load of work coz I wanna take part in the committee of other societies too. As much as I would love to, I can't possibly be at 2 places at once rite? haha

Added on September 28, 2008, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Sep 28 2008, 12:35 PM)
Everyone is eligible to take part, but depending on availability and whether your course is offered in either campuses. Ningbo has more slots while UK is lesser, especially the business school.

Generally you need to meet a result requirement and they will filter from there. Filtering is done by the international campuses, not the local one.
Is FAM available in both campuses?

QUOTE(pekies @ Sep 28 2008, 09:58 PM)
yeah haha.
Nice to meet you
=)
u look both fun & funny in your pics.. no wonder u are the entertainment officer.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(entryman @ Sep 28 2008, 10:19 PM)
Cool.. if that's all, I'm up for it ! XD

I'm not worried about the difficulty of tasks at hand though, what I was thinking of was actually the load of work coz I wanna take part in the committee of other societies too. As much as I would love to, I can't possibly be at 2 places at once rite? haha
I shall submit my resume soon.. if no one disputes it..? anyone? tongue.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by entryman: Sep 28 2008, 11:38 PM
entryman
post Sep 29 2008, 12:55 AM

2,179 posts

Possible to apply to both? in preferential order though.
entryman
post Sep 29 2008, 08:48 AM

2,179 posts

Sure.. Sprucing up my CV now.. as I'm only in foundation I can't help but notice it's not solid at all.. haha. I mean as compared to a first year student's.

Added on September 29, 2008, 8:50 amHuh really arh.. No longer able to transfer?!
Yea I somehow feel sad too..........

Anyway, with an optimistic point of view, Ningbo is just as good smile.gif

This post has been edited by entryman: Sep 29 2008, 08:55 AM
entryman
post Sep 29 2008, 01:47 PM

2,179 posts

Great! I wish to go. haha

And u know what was the first comment I got from my parent?
US is a dangerous place..

tongue.gif chances of going down by a few percent already, haha. but anyway it is good exposure and i don't foresee any severe hindrances..
entryman
post Sep 29 2008, 09:17 PM

2,179 posts

Okiez I have just sent in my resume for the sa ent job smile.gif

Rm200k? Wow that's a big sum. Any hiccups faced before?

Bout d USA work & travel program, more info is available on campus rite?
entryman
post Oct 1 2008, 10:06 AM

2,179 posts

You should ask people from the industry itself, for their personal opinions
entryman
post Oct 1 2008, 07:48 PM

2,179 posts

Veteran engineers will say: Never do engineering..! Do business is best, especially accounting and finance or something similar. You'll get good pay in no time.

Added on October 1, 2008, 7:49 pmHmm.. it's confusing. haha

This post has been edited by entryman: Oct 1 2008, 07:49 PM
entryman
post Oct 2 2008, 02:02 PM

2,179 posts

Regarding the application for a post with the SA Entertainment Team,

Yesterday I sent an email to kasaento@examil.nottingham.edu.my

This morning, which is about 27 hours later, i received the following email from the server:

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification

THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY.

YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE.

Delivery to the following recipient has been delayed:

kasaento@exmail.nottingham.edu.my

Message will be retried for 2 more day(s)

Technical details of temporary failure:
DNS Error: Domain name not found

unsure.gif Hmm, seems like it didn't go through..any advice?
entryman
post Oct 4 2008, 04:56 PM

2,179 posts

Just received an email this afternoon : FAILED PERMANENTLY!

shakehead.gif 4 days, or more accurately 84 hours, server still down.. lol
entryman
post Oct 4 2008, 10:12 PM

2,179 posts

Lol who's more reliable then..?
Google Mail or UNMC mail.. tongue.gif
Next time u should include: send a CC copy to xxx.. haha
entryman
post Oct 5 2008, 08:25 AM

2,179 posts

won't go into much details as above members did.
but one significant factor why it appeals to employers is this.

Scenario 1: MNC
A Monash graduate working at a somewhat superior level at a leading MNC commented: You can clearly see that local grads, e.g. those from UM are highly immature compared to their foreign grad peers, e.g. Monash etc. This can be clearly seen in how they react to situations, interpersonal skills, work efficiency etc.

Although the above does not apply to everyone, it does give a general idea on why employers decide to hire from UNMC.

Scenario 2: A large M'sian Berhad Co.

A fresh grad of ACCA, which is the most recognized accounting qualification, applied for a job. There were 2 other local degree holders applying at the same time. The 3 of them got their jobs and worked together in the same department.

What happened? The ACCA holder was dumped with much more workload than the other 2, because it was clear to the manager that the other 2 so called Degree Holders, are not competent enough to complete the tasks at hand.

The ACCA holder even got promoted in a short period of time. This baffled, or angered the other 2 workers, which made them think: What is this, bias? What is she? Acca? That's not even considered a Degree! How can she be promoted and not me?

The above clearly demonstrates how incompetent some local university degree holders can be. And that's not all, their mentality is wrong too.

Scenario 3: Comment from an Interviewer

Was hiring recently and conducted some interviews. There was this local university grad, and when the interviewer asked a question in English, the interviewee responded in Bahasa Malaysia. In the interviewer's mind, he/she must have been thinking:"Oh my god, Failed!"

Not trying to be a judgemental person from the above statements, but it gives me a valid reason to choose UNMC instead of many other local institutions.
entryman
post Oct 11 2008, 07:27 AM

2,179 posts

Monash dropped from 43 to 47..

In arwu ranking nottingham dropped from 81 to 82..
While monash can be found in the top 200+ zone..? hmm
entryman
post Oct 17 2008, 09:28 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(evanesence117 @ Oct 17 2008, 01:27 AM)
Yup I was at the ACE Ice Breaking, it was fun..... Should play dodgeball more often!!!
Yea, it was very fun! rclxms.gif

But the scoring system was a little screwed I guess.. But it's ok lah we all had fun anyway!

Which group were you in? I was in group 7
entryman
post Oct 17 2008, 10:06 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Oct 17 2008, 09:33 AM)
I see, can give a little more feedback on the scoring system? Cause I'm in the ACE Commitee and I would like to improve the upcoming dodgeball competition.

Let me know.
Umm.. first of all, as evanesence117 said, almost none of us knew how the scoring system worked. Thus there is lack of team strategy, direction, motivation etc.

Secondly, I think there might be glitches. As I heard of comments such as:"didn't we lose that round? how come we're still in and the other group's marks have been deducted? lol.."

Personally, my team played 5 games. We won a total of 3 games (which included the 5th game), but we're out after that last game which we won. Wondered why..

But it didn't really matter to most though, coz everyone had fun smile.gif

-edited some spelling mistakes-

This post has been edited by entryman: Oct 17 2008, 10:07 PM
entryman
post Oct 18 2008, 06:16 PM

2,179 posts

If, in the event of winning, there's less than 3 people on the court?

E.g. 1 person = +1 ?

Hmm yea it really did clear up much confusion.

Maybe you can post up a ranking list too after the games

Added on October 19, 2008, 7:28 pmI wish to get a prepaid line for on-campus use, as my current line is close to unusable in terms of coverage.

Any recommendation guys? I heard Celcom's coverage is very trusty?
Whereas Maxis's signal strength (overall okay) can be quite low at some spots.

As for DiGi, although their postpaid plans are very cheap, it is currently a provider that's not to be used on-campus until they upgrade the coverage.

This post has been edited by entryman: Oct 19 2008, 07:38 PM
entryman
post Oct 21 2008, 12:04 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(Xp3rT @ Oct 20 2008, 04:27 PM)
how much the tui fee of BA Finance, Accounting and Management?
According to their brochure/website,

it is RM25000 X 3 years = RM75000
entryman
post Oct 31 2008, 04:09 PM

2,179 posts

Anyone here went for last night's Halloween Bash??
entryman
post Nov 11 2008, 12:22 AM

2,179 posts

seriously i've been at uni since april this year..
and i only had SA food twice. and Admin bldg food once.
Both sucks (cleanliness, quality and price).. and i've been anti uni food since then.
(nickname for SA food: if you want to get diarrhoea, by all means go.) (nickname for Admin bldg food: pay MORE to get diarrhoea)
Oh yea and the mini mart at SA too, their pricing is INCREDIBLY SKY-HIGH.

Well .. I've heard quite a number of good comments about the food at SA now.. smile.gif I shall try it someday, after gathering enough courage tongue.gif

This post has been edited by entryman: Nov 11 2008, 12:25 AM
entryman
post Nov 15 2008, 09:40 PM

2,179 posts

hi anyone know the login for athens?
i got it but doesnt seem to work.
maybe i'm not doing the right way.haha
entryman
post Nov 16 2008, 10:07 AM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Nov 16 2008, 03:24 AM)
Custom registered accounts can be accessed anywhere in this world.
oh okay that means before registering myself, i can't login with the uni id and pw as provided, except from the uni itself. after registering, i may use my own id anywhere?

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0532sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:47 AM