University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

crazy142857
post Apr 30 2009, 01:17 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(evilprincess89 @ Apr 30 2009, 12:21 AM)
my batch... hmmm... i would say... you wan hot... there's hot tongue.gif ... you wan quiet... there's quiet ones as well blush.gif ... and you wan wild.. yup... some are wild  biggrin.gif
i always thought the guy in our class is very little... never realised that we have more guys in our class compared to our seniors... =) ratio most probably is 1 to 6...

p/s : the 3rd batch girls are really hot and pweety!  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Ratio 1:6? .. First batch i know had a ratio of about 1:20 to 1:17 lol. That's about 2to3 guys in the class only.

crazy142857
post Apr 30 2009, 01:28 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 30 2009, 01:19 AM)
Walau, why is there so detailed information about the girls in Pharmacy?

Will we get particulars about the specific girls after this thread develop more and more?

BTW, why don't we see NUBS students here? A potential NUBS student is calling for help leh.
Sry, can't help much about NUBS, but I do know yr3 students and also PhD students too.

I can help with Mechanical Engineering Students. But I heard there's a lot of new lecturers now. You can still ask me regarding the lecturers too, coz I still do keep in contact with them.

The best lecturer (that's still lecturing in UNMC) in Mechanical School, imo, is Dr. Ng B.K. Any comments about him? Is anyone of you in his class? thermodynamics, fluid dynamics, internal combustion engine (ICE), etc..?
crazy142857
post Apr 30 2009, 02:54 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 30 2009, 01:49 AM)
Oh, haven't had the chance to take his lecture yet as I am from the January intake - will only do my Thermo 1 during the coming semester.

For now, I feel Dr Woo and Dr Cheah (who are so far the two lecturers from the M3 Department that I attend classes of) are excellent lecturers. Dr Woo, though, speaks a bit too fast sometimes. LOL..

I believe these two lecturers have been in UNMC for some time, right?
Yup, Woo & Cheah are two of the few pioneers for M3 in UNMC.

Dr Woo's worst class is Machine Dynamics (because hardly anybody understands it). He is slow, but very knowledgeable in his field. The only problem is the communication with him. So you might need to ask him and explain ur questions to him a few times too (most times), before he gets what you're really asking. Other than that, he's helpful (unlike one good but unhelpful lecturer, who just got transferred to China campus last year).

Dr Cheah, don't play a fool with him. Although he tend to make very lame jokes at times, but don't take him lightly. He is the only few lecturer who has a salary of 5digits. And he worked with M.I.5 (James Bond is MI6 la) in UK previously. Don't play-play. He's very particular with formats of students' report. All your report (assignment/lab report, etc), has to follow his format exactly. Example, fonts is Arial, size 12, double spacing, etc. If you submit your report in the wrong format, if he's not on his cloud 9 that day, u probably will get marks reduction.

Those 2 lecturers are ones of the best in UNMC. Wait till you get to Yr2, where you'll have to attend classes taught by the worst lecturers. Enjoy your yr1. btw, have you done ur presentation for professional studies?

For those who are thinking of doing the mobility in ur yr2, just because you think the lecturers in UK are better, then you're wrong. Not that UNMC is better, but comparing UK campus and UNMC, some is better there, some here. But if you got $$, then go UK for the experience lor.
crazy142857
post Apr 30 2009, 08:38 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 30 2009, 01:18 PM)
Professional Studies will be in my Summer semester.

I am surprised that you said the UNMC has not much difference with the UK campus. Can you explain more?
So, given Nottingham in UK is quite an 'okay' university, so can I expect (but not generalise) that universities that are performing lower than Nottingham in the rankings is worse than UNMC?
I mean of course the facilities and campus in UK is much better than UNMC, but they are some lecturers in UNMC which are better than Uk's. Not many, but got. There's a 'theory' I heard which became the reasons for some, to do the mobility in UK. The 'theory' is, that (generally) the students in UNMC are smarter than those from UK. The exam board (diff campus diff board) will monitor the performance rate of the student, and decides to pull up/down the marks of the students depending on how well all the students do for the subject. Meaning if you're an average guy with average marks here in UNMC, you'll have better marks in UK, because UK student don't score as well as UNMC, you'll be given better marks in UK.

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Apr 30 2009, 03:24 PM)
Got some question. How hard is it to study Pharmacy? If like only get B in Chemistry STPM, can anyone pass the exam?
Pharmacy is unlike other courses. For example Mechanical Engineering, our marking is about 80% exam based, 20% report. For Pharmacy, you got lots of lab, and exams in the middle of the semester, which adds up most of your final marks already. For Pharmacy yr1 2nd sem (if i'm not wrong), you only have 2papers for finals, coz the rest are either lab based or taken during the semester already. For Pharmacy, you need to do well all the time and keep doing revision, imo, unlike engineering, we can study only last few weeks of the sem tongue.gif

This post has been edited by crazy142857: Apr 30 2009, 08:43 PM
crazy142857
post Apr 30 2009, 10:27 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 30 2009, 10:03 PM)
damn, saw a pretty girl from foundation of business. too bad, im from foundation of engineering...
aikzzz, rarely see a girl in my class, im going to be gay soon, LOL
Wow, so fast, in foundation already you found a target. hehe laugh.gif

Foundation of Engineering would have more girls right? Since later can choose M3, E&E, Chem, or BioTech right?
crazy142857
post Apr 30 2009, 11:15 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Apr 30 2009, 11:10 PM)
Don't worry la my friend.
When it comes, it comes.
Don't make it happen, let it happen!
true, unless you're the one who's influencing many potential female students to come/run away. lol.

Who went for the Annual Dinner on the 4th April 2009?
crazy142857
post May 13 2009, 08:31 PM

45 posts

All the best for ur exams eXp! Long time didn't drop by ur house dy.
crazy142857
post May 25 2009, 12:16 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 23 2009, 05:48 PM)
hmm.. there r some lecturers who really cannot teach i can say..

i've been stuck with a lecturer for 2 semesters..

1st year 2nd sem, i was taught by him.. he gave out courseworks, n he make it sound so hard, like very complicated n so on and continue his big talk..

then we submit the 1st set of results 1st before sending in the remaining part for the next due date.. then after that he release his so call "correct answer" and all of us wrong..

it is juz easy mass balance onli and i created an excel file for the ease of all my frens to check their answer by typing in their values (each value is diff for each student)..

so i check my excel file and found nth wrong.. one of my fren approach him and corrected him.. he release another set claiming it is correct.. but yet stil differs from our answer.. again and again we correct him until at last he got the same answers with mine (us).. it took him 4 tries to get a correct 1 while we onli did it once..

fine.. i tot it is ok since we are almost finish off his module. we also filled in the form and rated him BADLY.. cz he is lansi, arrogant, big talk and hamsap.. he wears formally but do not have a belt.. sometimes his shirt came out and look so untidy.. GOT ONE TIME HE DIN ZIP HIS PANTS SOMEMORE.. WTF..

ok fine.. then the next sem we hav his class again.. WTF.. and he continue with his big talk and arrogant style with his super "fluent" english.. he claimed he came back studying from UK but i find his English is not as "high-rated" as his education background..

furthermore.. most of his notes and pictures are from wiki and last time he warned us not to get reference from wiki.. wtf.. he threated us saying his exams will be super hard n no past year questions will be repeated but end up being a big joke.. i scored 80+ for this module and i seriously doubt his education standard..

even thou we complained and bad-rated him, he is still teaching around.. so.. i dunno wat to say ady..
Who's the lecturer? I know of some lecturers in Uni that we and our seniors has been complaining since the first batch of Mechanical in UNMC, yet even now they are still here teaching in UNMC.

Some of the worst lecturer don't even know how to use a calculator!! He used the calculator to find the value of an equation (with only plus, minus, multiply and divide). He's answer not the same as ours, he said our answer wrong, he's right. What the..!!

Another lecturer, his exam questions will goes like this: 'which of the following is not polymer: (a) apple (b)... ©... (d)... '
walau, he set like primary school standard, then his paper got rejected by UK board, so he's forced to use UK paper. In exam, nobody can do, coz UK paper came out what he didn't teach. GG.
crazy142857
post May 25 2009, 01:41 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 25 2009, 12:54 AM)
it's better for me not to disclose his name here.. who knows he might lurk around LYN??  blink.gif  blink.gif
PM me his name.

0.0481sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:21 PM