Discussion what footy magazines do u guys read?, just for LULZ

TSlongamwai
post Aug 19 2008, 12:02 AM, updated 17y ago

140 posts

for me i read Four four two cos its affordable and its content and articles are nice..how bout u guys?
jackdante22
post Aug 19 2008, 12:10 AM

694 posts

Match, Goal, Shoot were my fav but rite now the price already increased so just read 442, The League & Wisel (BM).
enemyofgod
post Aug 19 2008, 12:20 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Liverpool FC Magazine
solstice818
post Aug 19 2008, 12:26 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Goal, 442 and playboy tongue.gif
Belphegor
post Aug 19 2008, 12:48 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Don't really see how LUL, but I don't read mags about football. I read online. whistling.gif
miketee
post Aug 19 2008, 01:12 AM

483 posts

4-4-2... shoot... but that was over 10 years back while still in sec. school. Love the style of humour and how they make fun of the footballers.
jason18689
post Aug 19 2008, 01:37 AM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

i pick Four Four Two also....
i guess its the most purchased ones, so i just stick wif it.
redscorpion
post Aug 19 2008, 02:18 AM

2,106 posts

the mags are quite pricey for me therefore i prefer reading online whistling.gif
Hevrn
post Aug 19 2008, 09:13 AM

4,017 posts

Used to read magazines like Match and Shoot way back (when they were around 7 bucks). Nowadays, they're too blardy expensive so I resort to reading footie related articles online.
slyyoung
post Aug 19 2008, 09:36 AM

'sup.
1,154 posts

Four Four Two Malaysia edition is pretty decent, but if you wanna expand your footy knowledge, mags like Four Four Two UK and Champions (UCL) are the best.

ps: Price for those two also 'best'
doggyjames
post Aug 19 2008, 09:47 AM

175 posts

I watch soccernet.com and thesun.co.uk nowadays...no time for magazines prefer something that i cna read on the computer screen during work lol
tr|n|ty
post Aug 19 2008, 10:06 AM

kuukuukuu
787 posts

www.soccernet.com is the best cos' it's free , most of these magazines dont come cheap.
TSlongamwai
post Aug 19 2008, 10:19 AM

140 posts

ohh...match now 18.50...man united mag 21.50...liverpool 29.90!!??malaysia edition 442 oso quite nice ler..10 bux
schmeichel7
post Aug 19 2008, 10:22 AM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

FourFourTwo since 2006 and Inside United since 1995 (it was only RM7.50 back then). Never missed an issue for both, will buy them every early month (first week of the month). FourFourTwo comes out a bit late compared to Inside United.

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Aug 19 2008, 10:22 AM
Duke Red
post Aug 19 2008, 10:42 AM

6,112 posts

FourFourTwo has the best content, especially the UK edition but you end up paying through the roof for that one. I used to buy Shoot and Match when they were going for like 5 bucks, look how much they cost now.

I still prefer books over magazines though.
TSlongamwai
post Aug 19 2008, 10:57 AM

140 posts

wow bro schmikes still buying inside united?! wow..*salutes*
ervinliew86
post Aug 19 2008, 11:12 AM

Ibra Kadabra!
2,338 posts

FFT. It's cheaper than any mags out there. Arsenal Mag cost like Rm29.90 here in Kuching! FFT can get around Rm11. EPL used to be very nice till they made the mag thinner. So FFT still consider one of the best in the country. smile.gif
TSlongamwai
post Aug 19 2008, 11:15 AM

140 posts

EPL not really nice larr..articles too dull...
schmeichel7
post Aug 19 2008, 12:14 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 19 2008, 10:42 AM)
FourFourTwo has the best content, especially the UK edition but you end up paying through the roof for that one. I used to buy Shoot and Match when they were going for like 5 bucks, look how much they cost now.

I still prefer books over magazines though.
Yeah mate.. same case here.. Shoot and Match were also super cheap back in those days.. Were RM5.50 if not mistaken.

Then suddenly thanks to the economy crisis in 1998, the exchange rate rocketed.. not only jerseys became expensive suddenly (back in those days, jerseys were RM169.90 and RM199.90 for umbro kits) but these mags as well..

I used to buy shoot and match because of the catalogue sections.. Hehehe.. where they will show replica kits and boots.. that was the best part for me and was the starting point for me to become addicted to buy jerseys.. I like the adverts as well.. dunno how many people here will remember this, but when Reebok first won the deal to sponsor Liverpool kits way back in 1996, their advert was called 'Red Alert' and a special advert was promoted by Reebok. The idea was called 'How to obtain a free Liverpool jersey', where you have to train hard, get yourself spotted by Liverpool scouts, train at Melwood, join Liverpool reserves and then win your first Liverpool jersey. Nice advert.

Thank God there is a Malaysian version of FourFourTwo. The contents are not so different compared to the UK version.. that's the best thing to happen since Match and Shoot are now super expensive..

emperor^10
post Aug 19 2008, 12:16 PM

---ManUtd Forever---
1,159 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Aug 19 2008, 12:14 PM)
Yeah mate.. same case here.. Shoot and Match were also super cheap back in those days.. Were RM5.50 if not mistaken.

Then suddenly thanks to the economy crisis in 1998, the exchange rate rocketed.. not only jerseys became expensive suddenly (back in those days, jerseys were RM169.90 and RM199.90 for umbro kits) but these mags as well..

I used to buy shoot and match because of the catalogue sections.. Hehehe.. where they will show replica kits and boots.. that was the best part for me and was the starting point for me to become addicted to buy jerseys.. I like the adverts as well.. dunno how many people here will remember this, but when Reebok first won the deal to sponsor Liverpool kits way back in 1996, their advert was called 'Red Alert' and a special advert was promoted by Reebok. The idea was called 'How to obtain a free Liverpool jersey', where you have to train hard, get yourself spotted by Liverpool scouts, train at Melwood, join Liverpool reserves and then win your first Liverpool jersey. Nice advert.

Thank God there is a Malaysian version of FourFourTwo. The contents are not so different compared to the UK version.. that's the best thing to happen since Match and Shoot are now super expensive..
I bought it when it was Rm4.50... sweat.gif
aw13
post Aug 19 2008, 12:21 PM

Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
3,111 posts

FFT and World Soccer, and also Chelsea FC mag. All do not come cheap, but if I were to choose based on value for money, I would go for WS. In-depth analysis, behind-the-scenes reporting, not a lot of the footy media-friendly mumbo-jumbo in other mags.
Duke Red
post Aug 19 2008, 12:24 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Aug 19 2008, 12:14 PM)

I got them for the free posters but also because they provided easy reading back then. Was too young to digest any heavy material at the time or rather I didn't cultivate the habit. Used to read Roy of the Rovers as well smile.gif There was also a series of books featuring fictional players like Charlie "Iron" Bar, Fred Rimmy, "Hedgehog" Jones, etc. Can't remember what it was called.
aw13
post Aug 19 2008, 12:28 PM

3,111 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Aug 19 2008, 12:24 PM)
I got them for the free posters but also because they provided easy reading back then. Was too young to digest any heavy material at the time or rather I didn't cultivate the habit. Used to read Roy of the Rovers as well smile.gif There was also a series of books featuring fictional players like Charlie "Iron" Bar, Fred Rimmy, "Hedgehog" Jones, etc. Can't remember what it was called.
Yea I remember that, small little books/comics depicting footy stories, that was ace! size a bit like Commando, IINM...
blinky
post Aug 19 2008, 12:28 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Four Four Two, Malaysia and UK edition. Along with HWM, PC.com, Mobile World, FHM, Newman, Malaysian Tattler, Asian Auto, Top Gear, Haven, The Address and KLUE.

God knows how much I spend on magazines per month.
Duke Red
post Aug 19 2008, 12:33 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Aug 19 2008, 12:28 PM)
Yea I remember that, small little books/comics depicting footy stories, that was ace!  size a bit like Commando, IINM...
Yup that's the one. There were a few other series' as well like the one with the two footballers that knew one another, but while one was a down to earth hard man type players, they other was a fancy schmansy type prima dona.
sinoffire
post Aug 19 2008, 12:57 PM

3,557 posts

inside united only....planning to subscribe on a yearly basis tho. schmikey, any official webbie for subscription??
schmeichel7
post Aug 19 2008, 01:02 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Aug 19 2008, 12:57 PM)
inside united only....planning to subscribe on a yearly basis tho. schmikey, any official webbie for subscription??
Nope. You can subscribe direct to them but it costs a fortune. Better buy them manually from the popular bookstalls that you can find in shopping centers (can't recall the name.. brown colour theme.. MPH doesn't sell Inside United unfortunately..)
sinoffire
post Aug 19 2008, 01:16 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Aug 19 2008, 01:02 PM)
Nope. You can subscribe direct to them but it costs a fortune. Better buy them manually from the popular bookstalls that you can find in shopping centers (can't recall the name.. brown colour theme.. MPH doesn't sell Inside United unfortunately..)
aint shopping alot. dun hv book stalls near my house. hence the online method, doorstep delivery. but thks for the heads up schmikey.
schmeichel7
post Aug 19 2008, 01:36 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Not only I am a jersey collector but I am also a Inside United magazine collector as well.. Here are some photos of the Manchester United/United/Inside United magazines that I collect since 1995:

Some of my United magazines that are without it's front cover:

The magazine evolved from being known as Manchester United to United and know it's known as Inside United.. Previously it was just RM7.50 but now it's RM21.90 (just last year it was only RM19.90.. damn..)

Lots of my magazines were lost when I moved from Ipoh to Subang Jaya. My parents as well moved from Ipoh to their hometown in Batu Pahat so some of my old magazines such as my old United magazines and all of my old Shoot/Match magazines were thrown away thanks to my parents.. sigh... hehe..

So these are the remaining United magazines that I manage to salvage..

There was a time, where there was a 'baby' magazine from the producers of the United magazine known as 'Glory Glory Man United':

'Glory Glory Man United' was merely published as United's poster magazine... so there would be loads of posters to use up...

Hence I used to decorate my bedroom in Ipoh with loads of United posters thanks to Glory Glory Man United and Manchester United magazines:

Since 2006, I've also started to collect FourFourTwo magazines because they were cheap (used to be RM9 only.. now it's RM10):

These are the latest versions of Inside United and FourFourTwo magazines for August 2008:

I like reading magazines and books and what I love to read is always about football and about the club that I love since I knew what football is. It's a good hobby (besides than collecting jerseys) because of the knowledge you gain and you can improve your english as well..

I used to read Arena Bolasepak as well.. but honestly, to tell you the truth.. the contents are not 100% good. They sometimes print wrong info and wrong photos.. what a shame though..

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Aug 19 2008, 07:22 PM
TSlongamwai
post Aug 19 2008, 06:44 PM

140 posts

wow...if i got that much inside united mags i'll go crazy lol....the only 1 i have the same amount with u is the FFT 1's...cost me a fortune though 10 bux a month...still student here lol sry bout the spoilers thingy lol

This post has been edited by longamwai: Aug 19 2008, 08:06 PM
sinoffire
post Aug 19 2008, 07:15 PM

3,557 posts

oi, can u 2 put it under spoiler tag ar?? damn big la pics.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
schmeichel7
post Aug 19 2008, 07:23 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

Done.. sorry mate!
skystrike
post Aug 19 2008, 09:15 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

the sun newspaper....at football section....at kl...its free...
Ken
post Aug 20 2008, 08:52 AM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

i found out those local football magazines are a waste of money ...

better read online .... like http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story...ab4pos1&cc=4716

alabais
post Aug 20 2008, 08:58 AM

1,027 posts

I normally go online to read the stories. Haven't really bought magazines to read football news cause the prices seems a bit steep these days. Browsing around for news is pretty sufficient. Else I'll tune in to previews of BPL for some updates on what is happening with the club.

icon_rolleyes.gif

TSlongamwai
post Aug 20 2008, 05:27 PM

140 posts

aiya...anyone saw shoot! MAGAZINE nowadays?? it seems that it has dissapeared now lol
schmeichel7
post Aug 20 2008, 05:37 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(longamwai @ Aug 20 2008, 05:27 PM)
aiya...anyone saw shoot! MAGAZINE nowadays?? it seems that it has dissapeared now lol
They are still available... you can find them at MPH or Kinokuniya.

There is a shop in BB plaza, on level 4 (if not mistaken) on the same level with the surau there. Selling 2nd hand magazines.. I saw some Shoot and Match magazines there..
TSlongamwai
post Aug 20 2008, 08:05 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Aug 20 2008, 05:37 PM)
They are still available... you can find them at MPH or Kinokuniya.

There is a shop in BB plaza, on level 4 (if not mistaken) on the same level with the surau there. Selling 2nd hand magazines.. I saw some Shoot and Match magazines there..
new ones??how much are they
penew
post Aug 20 2008, 08:45 PM

393 posts

CalcioItalia
sinoffire
post Aug 20 2008, 08:48 PM

3,557 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Aug 19 2008, 09:15 PM)
the sun newspaper....at football section....at kl...its free...
QUOTE(Ken @ Aug 20 2008, 08:52 AM)
i found out those local football magazines are a waste of money ...

better read online .... like http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story...ab4pos1&cc=4716
QUOTE(alabais @ Aug 20 2008, 08:58 AM)
I normally go online to read the stories. Haven't really bought magazines to read football news cause the prices seems a bit steep these days. Browsing around for news is pretty sufficient. Else I'll tune in to previews of BPL for some updates on what is happening with the club.

icon_rolleyes.gif
fair enuff, but there're stuff inside those magazines that u won't get it anywhere....be it online. call me bias or wateva, most of the articles in Inside Utd are original, which i can't find it anywhere else..be it online. (Or mayb my online sources aren't as vast as u lots)...
matyrze
post Aug 20 2008, 09:55 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

I read ALL..except malay language magz..the reason: i found that their contents is not so good, and after i found that Wisel magazine once wrote "Juninho Pernambucano played at 'Boro before he went to Olympique Lyonnais " (they'd mistaken him with juninho paulista i think sweat.gif ), i never ever think of touching any malay footie magz again..

I read all, and i read them all for free at MPH Midvalley or Kinokuniya KLCC biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif just open their plastic cover and i'll seat at the bench reading the magz for hours..no money to buy them..well, i sometimes bought FFT, but most of the times, i prefer HWM than footie magz biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSlongamwai
post Aug 21 2008, 08:13 PM

140 posts

wa...u so semangat open plastic cover...the staff saw he diao u lor
bigboy
post Aug 25 2008, 02:00 PM

265 posts

til now dun buy the soccer mag, just read at internet... but if big tournament like euro or world cup,then i buy... if u have buy malay mag like wisel and arena bola sepak, there is a lot of typing error and sometimes wrong news oso,aiyoo doh.gif doh.gif
caballero206
post Aug 25 2008, 02:18 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(bigboy @ Aug 25 2008, 02:00 PM)
til now dun buy the soccer mag, just read at internet... but if big tournament like euro or world cup,then i buy... if u have buy malay mag like wisel and arena bola sepak, there is a lot of typing error and sometimes wrong news oso,aiyoo  doh.gif  doh.gif
Agree with you. I remember a few years ago during World Cup season, their news about Holland team was a total crap. Since when Jan Klass Huntelaar play alongside Nistelrooy at Manchester United..?? doh.gif
bigboy
post Aug 25 2008, 03:56 PM

265 posts

haha.. thats y laa.. is not that we dun support local mag cool2.gif even the big poster oso have typing error, haha... how the QC do their job ehh...

TSlongamwai
post Aug 25 2008, 05:23 PM

140 posts

wad is QC
verx
post Aug 25 2008, 05:27 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

If you ask me I think that if you can access this forums, you shouldn't even be bothered buying magazines. There are quality articles (sometimes even better) to be found online.
bigboy
post Aug 31 2008, 01:22 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(longamwai @ Aug 25 2008, 05:23 PM)
wad is QC
QC=QUALITY CHECK @ inspection in production
QUOTE(verx @ Aug 25 2008, 05:27 PM)
If you ask me I think that if you can access this forums, you shouldn't even be bothered buying magazines. There are quality articles (sometimes even better) to be found online.
yup, agree... i just buy mag just to get a poster smile.gif

TSlongamwai
post Aug 31 2008, 01:30 AM

140 posts

...walao just for posters??
bigboy
post Sep 8 2008, 10:49 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(longamwai @ Aug 31 2008, 01:30 AM)
...walao just for posters??
if the poster is my favourite team@player lorr.. if not, no reason to buy sweat.gif
CorLuka
post Sep 8 2008, 11:35 AM

81 posts

four four two magazine..kinda love it now laugh.gif
nimrod2
post Sep 12 2008, 11:29 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(CorLuka @ Sep 8 2008, 11:35 AM)
four four two magazine..kinda love it now laugh.gif
how much is retail?

last time when i was small, i used to read ManUtds mag, shoot, and also goal! if i remember the names right. anyway its been a long time since i've bought any footy mags.
kenito_9
post Oct 2 2008, 09:58 PM

hey guys and gals, im new here in this forum, so hello to everyone.... smile.gif

I just wanna ask, is FourFourTwo Malaysian edition magazine still running? how come it never came to KK anymore, since the January 2008 issue... cry.gif That was the last time i saw it on the newsstands... before that i used to buy it since the first local issue... If its still available, how do i get it??

thanks in advance!
nkloong08
post Oct 4 2008, 08:27 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(bigboy @ Sep 8 2008, 10:49 AM)
if the poster is my favourite team@player lorr.. if not, no reason to buy  sweat.gif
same here.hahaha biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
nimrod2
post Oct 9 2008, 12:44 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(kenito_9 @ Oct 2 2008, 09:58 PM)
hey guys and gals, im new here in this forum, so hello to everyone....  smile.gif

I just wanna ask, is FourFourTwo Malaysian edition magazine still running? how come it never came to KK anymore, since the January 2008 issue...  cry.gif  That was the last time i saw it on the newsstands... before that i used to buy it since the first local issue... If its still available, how do i get it??

thanks in advance!
welcome dude biggrin.gif
what fan are u?

not sure about the kk thing though. from subang here blush.gif
Duke Red
post Oct 9 2008, 12:47 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 12 2008, 11:29 AM)
how much is retail?
It's about RM 10 unless I'm mistaken.
Vagine
post Oct 9 2008, 01:37 PM

472 posts

rm10.. better read somewhere in forums. more accurate and got response + we can give out our ideas etc..
rayz1031
post Oct 9 2008, 01:44 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Aug 25 2008, 05:27 PM)
I agree with this one, every news and article update in every respective thread give better quality and accurate information. I used to buy Manchester United official magazine, but stopped it due to the magazine stall and book shop around my place din't sell it anymore, in a bright side, i save my money tongue.gif A lot of good article can be found online so i don't bother buying any magazine now..

schmeichel7
post Oct 9 2008, 01:48 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(Vagine @ Oct 9 2008, 01:37 PM)
rm10.. better read somewhere in forums. more accurate and got response + we can give out our ideas etc..
No.. sometimes there are many interesting stories that are shared and found only in magazines like FourFourTwo.

FourFourTwo is a very good magazine. Generally it is not 100% biased towards any team and displays many useful information such as football book reviews, one to one interviews with greats such as Eusebio, Gerd Muller, Platini etc.. Reviews such as fierce derbies at Italy, England, France, Spain etc.. Articles such as successful and unsuccessful english player imports and my personal favourite in FourFourTwo will be the last page in the magazine, which is a Dream Team selection (11 players with substitutes and manager) by various players.

RM10 is peanuts actually. The real price of the UK version FourFourTwo magazine is sold RM39++ (can't remember) and both actually contain the same contents and article. Only difference is in terms of adverts and there is some extra article on local scene football. I use to read Inside United magazines only but now I've stuck to FourFourTwo as well. Never missed buying it every month.

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Oct 9 2008, 01:44 PM)
I agree with this one, every news and article update in every respective thread give better quality  and accurate information. I used to buy Manchester United official magazine, but stopped it due to the magazine stall and book shop around my place din't sell it anymore, in a bright side, i save my money  tongue.gif A lot of good article can be found online so i don't bother buying any magazine now..
There are some stories that you might not find in forums..

I read few months ago about Zinedine Zidane's son. His name is Enzo. Now is playing in Real Madrid's youth team. Wears number 10 like his dad, can do the roulette skill like his dad and he looks like his dad (with hair of course). Or the sad story of Justin Fashanu, the brother of John Fashanu (ex-Wimbledon and Villa player). Justin's story was brought up on the issue of gay footballers. He was the only footballer who dare to admit he was gay and later was treated badly and got depressed and committed suicide. I don't think these kind of stories appear easily in many forums..

It's my personal opinion though.. Since I am reading a lot and surfing a lot in many various forums and I find that there are some articles/stories that might not be told in forums..

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Oct 9 2008, 01:52 PM
Vagine
post Oct 9 2008, 02:43 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Oct 9 2008, 01:48 PM)
No.. sometimes there are many interesting stories that are shared and found only in magazines like FourFourTwo.

FourFourTwo is a very good magazine. Generally it is not 100% biased towards any team and displays many useful information such as football book reviews, one to one interviews with greats such as Eusebio, Gerd Muller, Platini etc.. Reviews such as fierce derbies at Italy, England, France, Spain etc.. Articles such as successful and unsuccessful english player imports and my personal favourite in FourFourTwo will be the last page in the magazine, which is a Dream Team selection (11 players with substitutes and manager) by various players.

RM10 is peanuts actually. The real price of the UK version FourFourTwo magazine is sold RM39++ (can't remember) and both actually contain the same contents and article. Only difference is in terms of adverts and there is some extra article on local scene football. I use to read Inside United magazines only but now I've stuck to FourFourTwo as well. Never missed buying it every month.
There are some stories that you might not find in forums..

I read few months ago about Zinedine Zidane's son. His name is Enzo. Now is playing in Real Madrid's youth team. Wears number 10 like his dad, can do the roulette skill like his dad and he looks like his dad (with hair of course). Or the sad story of Justin Fashanu, the brother of John Fashanu (ex-Wimbledon and Villa player). Justin's story was brought up on the issue of gay footballers. He was the only footballer who dare to admit he was gay and later was treated badly and got depressed and committed suicide. I don't think these kind of stories appear easily in many forums..

It's my personal opinion though.. Since I am reading a lot and surfing a lot in many various forums and I find that there are some articles/stories that might not be told in forums..
isit>?? ok now id pay rm10 for a good magz. m not paying d rm39 tho,, when we can find same things in d forum. i pretty much likes d interview more in a football magz,
post Oct 9 2008, 02:44 PM

Sometimes have to remember its not just about the text only.
Magazines could provide better photography for your eyes too. Which hardly can find in forums maybe. Well, there will be no right or wrong anyway.
Vagine
post Oct 9 2008, 03:22 PM

472 posts

ah actually, yeah. but a magz that cost rm39+= wonder if any of u do buy it..
schmeichel7
post Oct 9 2008, 03:34 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(Vagine @ Oct 9 2008, 03:22 PM)
Then buy the Malaysian version la.. RM10 only what. Same contents you get.
Vagine
post Oct 9 2008, 03:35 PM

472 posts

sure will buy malaysian edition. collectible as well. better than cleos:p
schmeichel7
post Oct 9 2008, 03:41 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(Vagine @ Oct 9 2008, 03:35 PM)
sure will buy malaysian edition. collectible as well. better than cleos:p
Hahaha.. You mean Cleo? My wife used to suscribe to Cleo a lot.. I used to always read the Q&A on sex section first. Hahahaha..

This post has been edited by schmeichel7: Oct 9 2008, 03:41 PM
Duke Red
post Oct 9 2008, 04:31 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Oct 9 2008, 01:48 PM)

RM10 is peanuts actually. The real price of the UK version FourFourTwo magazine is sold RM39++ (can't remember) and both actually contain the same contents and article.
I have to agree with you. FourFourTwo is my personal favourite as well and at RM 10 you get to read stories you wont' find online. The thing about online information is that you don't know it's there unless something prompts you to look for it. Let's face it, most people don't even bother to read essential information on the club and I think it's a stretch to think they'll look for general information and articles.
aw13
post Oct 9 2008, 05:24 PM

3,111 posts

Yup 442 deserves a mention as well, quality for the price of RM10. and some other interesting lesser-known facts as well, compiled from all over the world!
mancy
post Oct 9 2008, 10:11 PM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(Vagine @ Oct 9 2008, 03:22 PM)
just read it for free la at borders, mph, etc...

SowYau
post Oct 9 2008, 10:31 PM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

i read CHAMPIONS, a bi-monthly official magazine for UEFA champions league. The content are serious if compare to others like Shoot! and Match and dare i say FFT.

i would to know whether here in M'sia got magazine focus on Liverpool FC? becos i can't seems to find it anywhere.
enemyofgod
post Oct 10 2008, 06:26 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Read nothing..internet mags are adorable.. lol.. just kidding
mancy
post Oct 10 2008, 06:55 AM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(SowYau @ Oct 9 2008, 10:31 PM)
i read CHAMPIONS, a bi-monthly official magazine for UEFA champions league. The content are serious if compare to others like Shoot! and Match and dare i say FFT.

i would to know whether here in M'sia got magazine focus on Liverpool FC? becos i can't seems to find it anywhere.
LFC mag u can check at local mamak mag shop. but the mag usually late a few issue so i still prefer internet...
SowYau
post Oct 10 2008, 10:08 AM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Oct 10 2008, 06:55 AM)
LFC mag u can check at local mamak mag shop. but the mag usually late a few issue so i still prefer internet...
what is the exact name of the mag? i bought a few before, it's like....errrr less than 30 pages am i rite?
HangPC2
post Oct 10 2008, 11:45 AM

408 posts

The Best Malay footy magazines

Dunia Sukan

user posted imageuser posted image

Sources : http://www.photoblog.com/adamiqbal

This post has been edited by HangPC2: Oct 10 2008, 11:47 AM
mancy
post Oct 11 2008, 03:28 AM

B A M B A
644 posts

QUOTE(SowYau @ Oct 10 2008, 10:08 AM)
what is the exact name of the mag? i bought a few before, it's like....errrr less than 30 pages am i rite?
yeah that one & name of the mag is liverpool i think... never bough any as long as i still got internet

Added on October 11, 2008, 3:29 am
QUOTE(HangPC2 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:45 AM)
The Best Malay footy magazines
Dunia Sukan
user posted imageuser posted image
Sources : http://www.photoblog.com/adamiqbal
'bolasepak' also ok

This post has been edited by mancy: Oct 11 2008, 03:29 AM
azrinarizz
post Oct 12 2008, 05:31 PM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

Four four two Uk version
Normally my dad will get it free from Uk
The boss send it to him
Dont know why laugh.gif laugh.gif
enemyofgod
post Oct 17 2008, 08:47 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Anything left not read anyone?
Duke Red
post Oct 17 2008, 04:29 PM

6,112 posts

Just picked up a copy for FourFourTwo and I'm on page 13 now when I came across this:

"My personality impedes me from appearing in the best magazines".
- Carlos Tevez believes that it's his homely character, not his Tasmanian Devil face that's hindering his career as a centrefold.

Well I find it rather funny.

skystrike
post Oct 17 2008, 05:05 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Oct 17 2008, 04:29 PM)
Just picked up a copy for FourFourTwo and I'm on page 13 now when I came across this:
Well I find it rather funny.
maybe he is so shy.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
TSlongamwai
post Feb 21 2009, 01:03 PM

140 posts

Four FOur two UK edition looks thicker because of it's ads behind only lolx...got some XXX ads somemore hahahaha
Ken
post Feb 21 2009, 01:07 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

lol ... why buy since can read from teamtlk, soccernet and skysports ...
TSlongamwai
post Apr 8 2009, 04:18 PM

140 posts

read this month's FFT about South American Football...its a special issue...awesome stuff in it!! GO GET URE COPY NOW!! 10 ringgit only minus the XXX ads from the 39 ringgit Uk version
Duke Red
post Apr 8 2009, 04:32 PM

6,112 posts

Speaking of reading material I just bought a book the other day from Borders on football firms around the world. If you think the hooligans in England are bad, you haven't seen anything yet. Pick up a copy and you'll see why. It's warfare man. Problem is at RM 111, it's quite pricey.

Attached image(s)
matyrze
post Apr 8 2009, 06:33 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Mind to share some highlights of the book bro??

Its too expensive for me. Maybe I'll buy it if I manage to sell off my Biostar I45 mobo tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on April 8, 2009, 6:36 pmEh, why should I buy it? Always had great times reading for free at Borders. They got some comfortable chairs there tongue.gif

This post has been edited by matyrze: Apr 8 2009, 06:36 PM
Duke Red
post Apr 8 2009, 08:39 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Apr 8 2009, 06:33 PM)
Mind to share some highlights of the book bro??

Its too expensive for me. Maybe I'll buy it if I manage to sell off my Biostar I45 mobo  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Added on April 8, 2009, 6:36 pmEh, why should I buy it? Always had great times reading for free at Borders. They got some comfortable chairs there tongue.gif
Problem is this book comes wrapped so I doubt they'd allow you to unwrap it smile.gif

Ok here goes:

It's about these two guys that go around to visit some of the toughest and meanest football firms in the world. You know how Milwall is a notorious place to visit? Well they aren't anything compared to these guys who are seriously mental. They meet with leaders/members of these firms who take them to matches and give them insights into how they prepare for fights with rival fans etc. I just read one on the Bad Boy Blues of Dinamo Zagreb. Even the clubs players are not spared. During a game they lost, 50 of the firms members paid a 'visit' to the players during training. Cars were thrashed and punches were thrown. They stripped the players of their jerseys and shorts and told them they could only have them back if they showed some heart on the pitch. Needless to say they played better in the coming games.

In a sense they also cover the world's most violent confrontation between fans. They travel to areas such as The Balkans, Poland, Turkey, Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Holland and Russia to sneak a peak and the world's toughest football crews. It's quite enlightening really. Some even join the army to get training and access to guns so they can start wars with rival fans.

I've just started reading it so there's not much more I can say at this point.

Everdying
post Apr 8 2009, 10:15 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

there is also a movie called 'football factory', certain local friendly dvd sellers have them tongue.gif
Duke Red
post Apr 9 2009, 10:53 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 8 2009, 10:15 PM)
there is also a movie called 'football factory', certain local friendly dvd sellers have them tongue.gif
Yes I've heard to that as well. Looking to pick it up.

I think footy fans in Malaysia should have a read and gain some insight into what passion really means. Some seem to think it's about staying up to watch games and that history and tradition doesn't matter. Well I can tell you that the Gravediggers from Serbia's Partizan Belgrade will have a thing or two to say about that smile.gif

Added on June 29, 2009, 2:04 pmThink it's about time to revive this thread. For those who read football literature, you can find the following books in Amcorp Mall for the following prices:

1) Pele's Biography - RM 19.90.
2) Stuart Pearce's Bio - RM 9.90.
3) Gazza's Bio - RM 9.90.

Bought Psycho's one last night. I also saw Bio's for Geoff Hurst, Ashley Cole and Peter Crouch.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 29 2009, 02:04 PM

0.0445sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:57 PM