Klasse Auto Detailing Centre, A perfectionist choice

Andy214
post Aug 19 2008, 09:14 AM

3,308 posts

Silly Quick Question:
2 Days means we have to leave the car there right?

Other question:
For 1 day, how is the waiting room and services available?

Andy214
post Aug 19 2008, 11:11 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Aug 19 2008, 10:04 AM)
Nothing much to shout about. The name is great but the location and the condition of the shop gives the wrong image. It doesn't look good and I definitely will not go there. Waiting room? Well, there's mamak next door. Go wait there. For those looking for the shop, concentrate on looking for an air con repair shop, that's the name it has on the shop. One member of the forum brought this shop up and I'm always on the hunt to look for car detailing centers. So I went to check it out and I was quite disappointed. I didn't even drive my car in after looking at the shop and so far none can provide the services like that one I go to.
My friend recommend this place too, from his result, I think it was OK, but maybe the place and condition isn't good.

Anyway, I prefer Hypercoat (Meguiars), but I haven't been to the PJ branch before. The Subang one, I'm not sure if there's any waiting room, and outside is all factory, no place to go? After detailing, would our cars be at risk driving around the factory? But from their picture results, it's really good.

Another place is Carnauba AutoSPA, their waiting room and everything else looks great from their website, haven't been there tough. My friend recommends there, still deciding which one to go for my 1st profesional detailing tongue.gif
Currently all DIY, but without Rotary, it's hard/nearly impossible to remove those swirl marks, especially water marks.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Aug 19 2008, 11:12 AM
Andy214
post Aug 19 2008, 04:01 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Aug 19 2008, 03:03 PM)
I've been to both that you mentioned. Hypercoat's PJ branch is known as Ardy's Detailing. Nice showroom with show office but still not as good as Autospa's. The only good thing about Hypercoat is that you can buy your own Meguiars product and leave it in a locker there for future use when you return.

I've had a few issues with Autospa before, complained all the way to the big boss and now they all remember me by name when I walk in. It still feels great to be greeted by name, it has a very personal touch and that is the one thing that keeps me going back. After the complain, I believe they've marked my car for extra careful detailing and every wash now is spotless and doubled checked by their supervisor before handing the car over. At least they respond to complains well and improve. Now they've up their standard again and it's packed like sardines on weekends again.
Thanks! Good to hear they're improve up their standard again.
When it's packed, must be more careful in case the workers slacks off.

You mentioned Meguiar's not as good as Autospa, in terms of? Service of Workmanship/Detailing skills/attention to detail?

From the website, Autospa seems to have profesional place and nice waiting rooms and services.

Thanks~

Added on August 19, 2008, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(asmly14 @ Aug 19 2008, 03:12 PM)
Perhaps if you can give me a very darn good discount... I don't mind to send over my car for polish and wax. My car is just out from workshop, the condition is.... freaking dirty and scretched.
QUOTE(lilseoul @ Aug 19 2008, 03:31 PM)
But the best option is always going down to our shop and letting the staff check whats needed to be done, and price it for u. We are still in our promotion rate.
I can quote you for the job u want done  smile.gif

PM me for further inquiries.
asmly14,

I think you can try if you don't mind the place and waiting room, my friend went there before and recommends me too. The price I would say cheaper than those profesional centre; what you lose is the environment and services.
The work is not bad I would say looking at my friend's car and they would recommend you what to be done and they also let you choose the type of product and brand while explaining what it do.

I guess another option for those who are more on budget.

For those profesional centre, like Meguiar's & Autospa, go when they're having promotion, it's cheaper but might be packed.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Aug 19 2008, 04:10 PM
Andy214
post Aug 19 2008, 06:04 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Aug 19 2008, 05:26 PM)
I have a deep coloured car and for Hypercoat to use synthetic wax on my car was all wrong. Yeah, water beaded off but that's about it. I lost the deep shine that only carnauba waxes can give and next trip was back to Autospa. They should have known better than to use synthetic wax on a deep coloured car.
Hmm... wonder what's wrong with them? hmm.gif
From their Gallery and forums, theirs works on deep coloured car was fantastic!

By the way, talking about carnauba waxes, I notice my car easily gets dust sticking to it. I ask them they told me carnauba attracts dust. I also read it could be due to buffing method which produces static charge.
It's sad to see dust sticking to your car next day or moments after you've wax your car....
And, I hate most is when it rains moments after or next day, there'll be dust water spots, just annoying.

By the way, how long does you clay your car after you've clayed?
I parked under the sun mostly, and waxed about twice a week, but I notice the surface will be contaminated after about 1 months plus.

Which product you go for at Autospa? Zymol or Meguiars?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Aug 19 2008, 06:06 PM
Andy214
post Aug 20 2008, 09:30 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Aug 19 2008, 08:53 PM)
Wax twice a week or twice a month? You should not need to wax twice a week or even twice a month. If your car's finish does not reach the level you want, you are either using the wrong products or that your car's paint is not good enough to produce the finish that you want.

Haven't you noticed on their site that their dark coloured cars are shining? You don't want a shining dark coloured car. You don't want it to look like you have just sprayed plastic on it. You want the 'blackhole' effect, where it almost absorbs light instead of reflecting back. That is what you will get with carnauba wax and the plastic look you get with the synthetic waxes.

It's not necessary to clay all the time if you use a pre-wax treatment paint cleaner before each wax. Claying is only really necessary if the paint is really gritty, which should not be if it is maintained properly.
Sorry, hehe, I wax twice a month, usually, most of the time (used to do it every week). I wash once a week, unless it gets dirty and I have some extra time to spare on weekdays. On non waxing days, I just apply those quick detailer.
The reason I apply it twice a month is cause I park outside under the hot sun most of the time, and to my knowledge, wax only last about 1 month, but what about our climate and the where you park?
Plus, I understand that there is a "melting" point (was it?) for wax, I'm not sure how hot our sun can get nowadays, I only know it's super duper hot nowadays.

Anyhow, for me, I "feel" the wax isn't really there anymore or at least not so much protection anymore. If there is "droppings" on the first few days after you've waxed, you could easily remove them with microber cloth.
But... after 1 week or so (maybe even less depend on the weather), I find the droppings will stick pretty hard to the surface of the car, sometimes leaving stains, vmad.gif

Hm... as for shining, I not sure how to describe, but I always want to get those deep gloss WET look and very smooth, but never get to achieve those with DIY, got no Rotary and/or the skills to do it.

Yea, what I meant by claying is that, after about a month plus, I notice the surface is gritty, I can feel the surface is rough and has lotsa dots feeling. It's very noticeable "feel" when you apply wax and also buffing off. Plus, the shine/gloss level will be different.
I read that claying is usually done around 3 months once, but mine is only 1 months. Is it normal, or is it because of where I park and our climate and country's condition?
Or was it the product was not good "enough" to prevent those? hmm.gif

Added on August 20, 2008, 9:35 am
QUOTE(slk @ Aug 19 2008, 08:23 PM)
The dust problem is from our dirty environment smile.gif. You can avoid it if you park your car inside a covered garage and do not drive out the car. I do face the same problem too. After just 2 hours buffing off my sealant, the car was covered with a little bit of dust. Just learn to live with it but if you can't, the safest way to remove dust is to rewash the car.
I'll normally clay when the paint surface feels gritty/abit rough. It depends on where the car is being park/travel.

Added on August 19, 2008, 8:30 pm

Hypercoat is the official importer/distributor of Meguiar's products for Malaysia.

Ardy's detailing is the first and only in malaysia. is an authorised Meguiar's detailing center endorsed by Meguiar's USA.
slk,

Thanks! No choice, my office area is all open air car park. cry.gif
Unless I bring my own car cover, but later dunno what will happen la whistling.gif

For the dust problem, it's hard for us to do "layering", even sometimes, while I was buffing off (I buff off the roof first), while I was buffing off other portion of the car, I notice dust, feathers, or somethings land and rest on my the roof already... rclxub.gif

I find the paint surface gets gritty/a bit rough quite fast and easy... rclxub.gif
Lazy to clay, but if don't clay, waxing will be hard and result won't be good... and when you touch, it's not nice. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Aug 20 2008, 09:35 AM
Andy214
post Aug 20 2008, 11:33 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Aug 20 2008, 10:06 AM)
Andy,
My car is parked outside everyday too, from my apartment to the office, and yes the product will make a big difference. My wax will last about 2-3 months when I use the highest quality wax from Zymol in Autospa. Their cheaper one would last only about 1 month. Also you need to wash your car using wax safe shampoo. Most carwash center uses snow wash which is very strong and will clean out the wax in one wash. In your car, I don't think it's the product or user issue. It could be your clear coat not giving you the shine that you want. Clear coat quality differs from car to car and if you can't replicate the shine from another just even if you use the same product, then the problems lies at the clear coat itself.

Here are some questions to ponder about. We have so many Protons and Peroduas on the road but have you seen any that really shines? I don't it's because they don't take care but there is really nothing they can do short of a respray. Haven't you noticed that Protons and Peroduas which has been resprayed with non-Proton colours looks great?

I've know friends and members here who wax twice a month and yet it does not have the showroom shine. It's not the product or user but the clear coat that does not shine.
sleepwalker,

Thanks for your information. Will try and check out the Zymol products.

I'm currently using Meguiar's NXT Shampoo, used to use the Gold Class Shampoo, but was told it contains conditioner which attracts dust? So recommended to switch to NXT.

As for Shine, I think it's there but I want the deep gloss WET look that glows an smooth, something like this:
http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3281

The black car looks sooo clean, smooth, wet, deep gloss. Don't know how to describe.
Mine's not black, it's diablo red, a deep dark red. For the some area, I'm able to achieve deeper wet gloss look (rear lower bumper), probably cause cause it's less exposed and much less swirls?

Anyway, will try those profesional centre and see if I can get the result I wanted. Mine has lots of swirl marks and especially water marks. Just can't remove them with ROB or hand with different types of products, probably will need the Rotary.

Yes, you're right about the clear coat quality, I think mine isn't good. Plus, I can see sort of pixels thingy if observe carefully. hmm.gif
I also tried on my parent's black Sentra, can't achieve anywhere near those gloss/shine that I want, even worst than my car eventough it's a black car. hmm.gif

Andy214
post Aug 21 2008, 09:32 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Aug 20 2008, 05:26 PM)
Most car covers available in malaysia are PVC based and they may induce scratches/marring while covering/removing the cover smile.gif
As I've mention earlier, the best way to remove dust is to rewash the car with a good shampoo. Then you can start your layering process.
I have a car which is exposed 24/7. Dirt will get embedded more and quickly on that car. So I usually clay(when surface feels gritty) and then use a wax/greaser remover before applying my sealant to ensure maximum bonding between the paintwork and the sealant.
slk,

Thanks for your information.

Hehe, lazy to re-wash car, then wipe dry, only apply 2nd layer. sweat.gif Tired, and lots of time needed, hehe
But once in a while it's ok la. icon_rolleyes.gif

Your wax remover is paint cleaners?

0.0234sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:11 PM