Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

lapaq
post Aug 21 2008, 06:22 PM

255 posts

Blame Streamyx...I've been using Tversity and also TwonkyMedia (both are media server)...and no disconnect pun...

Guess it depends on your wireless connection strength and also streamyx kot...

p/: I'm using Streamyx but wired, not wireless even though my router have wireless cos wireless is too unstable and the speed is too low especially when playing 1080p video streaming from my PC...
lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 06:28 PM

255 posts

Try this,

Video output thru HDMI...connected to your TV....

Audio, output thru optical cable...connected to your Home theater...

PS3 settings put bitstream rather than decode to PCM as only 2 channel of PCM can go over optical.

To hear 5.1 DD or DTS sounds, the home theater needs to be be set to Line in, or AUX in (you get the idea)...

This settings means LCD TV will have no sounds but the sounds coming out of Home theater straight from PS£ optical cable..

Hope this clarifies

lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 06:49 PM

255 posts

1. You need a big enough USB HDD to hold the data temporarily....Say we name it HDD temp...

2. connect hdd temp to usb..use the back-up feature in system settings....this will transfer all data in the old hdd to hdd temp

3. once the long process of transferring data to hdd temp finish..... cabut the usb hdd temp....shut down the ps3 and take out the old hdd and replace it with your new 320 GB hdd.

4. Once the ps3 restarted...it will ask you to format the hdd...do it...then, once finish...plug in the hdd temp.

5. Choose restore backup in the system settings...the long process starts again but this time all data will be copied to your newly installed 320 GB hdd...

6. Once finished..everything is just like before including you messages and friends list and also your MP3 and Movies and games and gamesaves and game data...

Hope the above helps

lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 08:02 PM

255 posts

There are two common ways to get 5.1 DD or DTS...either thru optical cable or HDMI...

May I know what kind of audio input connector you have at the back of your HT (home theater)?

usualy there are

1. stereo (composit) connector - Red and White round connector...
2. Optical (kinda square with a little round bump)
3. Coaxial (Round - but rarely got behind a HT unless very expensive ones)
4. HDMI (if you have this and don't know how to use it then you might as well give it to me...hehehe)

do you have the model of your HT? maybe I can do a search on the net and advise you properly...

Aside to ravemaster....

my pleasure...but don't thank me yet...try first....hehehe

This post has been edited by lapaq: Aug 22 2008, 08:05 PM
lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 08:37 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Aug 22 2008, 08:17 PM)
well according to the manual,

COAXIAL 75 OHM FM JACK,
AM TERMINAL,
SAT/CABLE (AUDIO IN R/L) JACKS,
TV (AUDIO R/L) JACKS,
VIDEO OUT JACK,
COMPONENT VIDEO OUT JACKS,
DMPORT (DIGITAL MEDIA PORT) JACK,
HDMI OUT JACK.

the model is: dz777k

http://www.sony-asia.com/product/dav-dz777
This is what I got from the website...

AMPLIFIER
S-Master Yes Audio Line IN/OUT (Analogue) 2 / – Audio Line IN/OUT (Optical) 1 / – Audio Line IN/OUT (Coaxial) 1 / – Audio Input (Front, mini) 1 Video Signal IN/OUT (Composite) – / 1 Video Signal IN/OUT (Component) – / 1 Video Signal OUT (HDMI) Yes (1080p) USB 1 Headphone Jack (3.5mm / 6.3 mm) 3.5 mm D.C.A.C (Auto Calibration) Yes Bass Boost Function (Dynamic Bass on RM) Yes Night Mode (Normal/Plus) Normal Portable Audio Enhancer Normal Dolby Pro Logic/Dolby Pro Logic II – / Yes Dolby Digital Yes DTS Yes Multi Stereo (Link) Yes A/V Sync (Lip Sync) Yes Speaker Formation Yes (low) Timer (REC/PLAY/SLEEP) Yes (– / – / Yes) S-AIR Ready Yes BRAVIA Sync Yes DIGITAL MEDIA PORT

See the bold thingy...that means you do have optical in AND out for your HT....so you should but an optical cable and connect it directly from your ps3 to your HT...

push the function button on the remote till you hear the sound from the ps3....(I think it corresponds to [TV])

attached is the picture of the optical port ffrom the back view. I've highlighted the port

This post has been edited by lapaq: Aug 22 2008, 08:43 PM

lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 09:01 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Aug 22 2008, 08:45 PM)
no way... behind my HT system, the TV section where the optical in is in the picture is not on my home theater.. some thing is wrong.. is there no other way at all? i cant believe it.. even in the manual the TV section isnt there at all.. but the picture is a 100% match to my HT system though..

and i've tried changing the input signal of my HT to TV, the sound from my ps3 is there, but its not dolby 5.1 or DTS..

wooops, i think i must have gave you the wrong website.. try this from sony MALAYSIA:

http://www.sony.com.my/product/dav-dz777k
AAAALLLLLLMMMMMAAAAKKKKKK....

Nemind noobies blunder can be excused..Muahahaha...Orait..lemme download the manual and check first...see you in 5 mins

lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 09:07 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Aug 22 2008, 09:02 PM)
haha.. thanks alot for the help!
Sorry to say there's absolutely no way to send 5.1 DD or DTS sounds from PS3 to your HT. it can decode DD or DTS from DVD Movies but not from another device...

If the store that you bought this have return policy...got and return it and go buy another model that have optical input....Sorry marksman..this time your marked shot missed the target by a long one... doh.gif
lapaq
post Aug 22 2008, 10:02 PM

255 posts

Nope...DVI is for video only...

I'm really sorry to tell you this but it's the truth...Unless it's something that I don't know of..but I'm 100% sure there's nothing you can do....to output 5.1 DD or DTS to this HT...

In fact I'm very much shocked SONY sell this model since my 5 years old SONY DAV-S500 do have optical in and can decode both DD and DTS.

If the kedai you bought this from can accept trade in...go and replace it with another model ... or just sell it thru the forums and get another model...but this time do research first....

Sorry if I sound rude or make you feel bad or anything like that...but I'm telling you the truth and even though I'm a big fan of SONY...I'm now pretty much ANGRY at SONY for selling this model and it's for 1799 summore...
lapaq
post Aug 23 2008, 11:41 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Aug 23 2008, 10:28 AM)
yeah well i bought it from a sony style shop or something like that.. its a official sony shop la. but whats your opinion on this:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/se...mH4CjCmmVCjCmmV
Try check with the shop if there's a return policy..

The converter that you show...only works with digital coaxial and optical...both of which your model don't have...and the usage if you only have one of the two connectors (Coax and/or optical)....So again sorry as as far as I know..there's no way for you to hook up your ps3 and the HT and get 5.1 DD or DTS...

You need to either have Coax (then u need the device above) or optical input or HDMI...of which all three you don't have...

lapaq
post Aug 23 2008, 02:41 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(themarksman @ Aug 23 2008, 02:29 PM)
arghh.. then i better just forget about it.. thanks for your help anyway!
Again sorry for the bad news...I know your feeling..I also kena last time before I got to know about all this...after that..I learn about all this and now can say become semi-knowledgable already...hehehe...at least the kedai people kenot con me laaa..
lapaq
post Aug 28 2008, 11:46 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Aug 28 2008, 11:19 AM)
Sorry for a stupid question here, "ONLINE" is it necessary for PS3 gaming?
How if i never download those game add-on?
Since we all know online got more fun but i really faint with my connection problem (Maxis Wireless Broadband)...
It's not really a must but it can really improved the experience many many fold...

you would benefit from a lot of things aside from the normal multiplayer gaming..like:

1) Game like Motorstorm, they give free updates that not only help to patch bugs also give new features like rumble and new game modes (Time Trial)
2) Game like Burnout...also gives free updates that add TONS of new game modes and new vehicles and also new challenges...So rugi if don't update the game.
3) Trophies patch like Uncharted and Super Stardust HD

To make long story short...even though you connection crappy...just leave it on and download whatever patch they give so it could help to improve teh gameplay experience...
lapaq
post Sep 5 2008, 02:51 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(allen96713 @ Sep 5 2008, 12:52 AM)
1 question to ask..
do you all find any video playlist software to play all video ?
Nope....no such playlist...only for music...You have to manually stop and play the next video
lapaq
post Sep 6 2008, 10:57 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Sep 5 2008, 10:22 PM)
Question 1: Let's say i'm registered under UK's address and I play Top Spin 3 online. Will Players from Malaysia or Asia able to join in my game?

Question 2: I found out that bluetooth headset is only for "voice input", means mic function. Sound still need to come from the TV or sound output. Is this really the case?? And is it the same even if I use USB headset?

Hmmm.. very disappointed if it's true wink.gif
1) most games are on worldwide server...means any region can play together..but certain games are region specific...like in Mercenaries (based on net reports).

2) You can set the output of the sound of other people talking can be set either thru the headset of thru the TV...go into settings...to set them up
lapaq
post Sep 12 2008, 06:24 AM

255 posts

me put it diagonally!
lapaq
post Nov 2 2008, 01:44 PM

255 posts

Guys...now that I got LBP..and planning to have the first level dedicated to my daughter of 1 yr old...any idea if HK/MY released Playstation Eye will work on my US console?
lapaq
post Nov 2 2008, 02:21 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 2 2008, 02:14 PM)
Hardwares have always been region-free and will always stay region free according to Sony.

So yes it'll work.
Thanks Ben..always knew we could count on you... Appreciate it very much
lapaq
post Jan 13 2009, 04:47 PM

255 posts

Yup...Ms Vor is correct,

I bought my second PS3 and even the back-up created can't be reinstalled into the new PS3....only the songs, videos, accounts and the savegames for each acounts.

Things that are gone:

1. Game Data
2. downloaded games.
3. Demos.
4. Messages received from other in the accounts.

dunno if I missed anything tho...
lapaq
post Jan 13 2009, 05:08 PM

255 posts

You can play any blu-ray that is of the same region as your PS3 (Asia is region A) and also those that are Region Free.

0.0527sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:15 PM