Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

K-End
post Aug 19 2008, 04:11 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(dimenxion @ Aug 19 2008, 04:09 PM)
i'm using HDMI-HDMI cable. bought at RM40. it works fine for me. sound is good, picture is nice. smile.gif
now.. my question
if i play PS3 games while i'm downloading (i.e: trailer) in ps3. will it do background download? or it will stop?
it will stop if you access the game online mode(Metal Gear Online for example)...if not, it will do background download
K-End
post Aug 21 2008, 09:07 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Aug 21 2008, 09:02 AM)
okay..just a new info

If you guys having problem with PSN connection (always DC, dl very long bla bla), go to network settings and disable your media sever. I tried it last nite and I dc less that before..a lot less! laugh.gif
what if we already disable but still DC alot?

i know, we are screwed laugh.gif
K-End
post Sep 22 2008, 02:22 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 22 2008, 02:08 PM)

No PS3 games as of yet has native 1080p as its res.
except for the coming Wipeout HD, 1080P with 60 frame-per-second
K-End
post Sep 24 2008, 10:08 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(abulabu @ Sep 24 2008, 02:58 AM)
so it means if i wan send my ps3 60 gb sg set to sonymy...under SonySG warranty...which i registerd thru the website...cannot be used meh??? vmad.gif ...it seems i have 2 pay la then.. mad.gif

it's more worse than that. they wont accept your PS3 eventho you willing to give them RM 1 million for repair

K-End
post Sep 24 2008, 02:03 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 24 2008, 11:47 AM)
me me im working at sony msia. u give me 1million i will entertain you no prob!! hahaha
can...no problem, i'll give you 1 million RUPIAH

laugh.gif laugh.gif
K-End
post Sep 27 2008, 07:38 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(earthdome @ Sep 27 2008, 05:56 AM)
last time i remembered, the download stopped (turn to pending) when i was playing game and automatically continue after quitting the game
actually..it will stop if you access the online feature of the said games. If you just play offline, the download still continue in the background
K-End
post Oct 13 2008, 09:07 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 13 2008, 12:46 AM)

I already called that stupid TM to come and fix it but its already been more than a week and they have not showed up yet. I suggest you do the same as well too.
i suggest you use Yus style when dealing with TMnet,

F*** them on the line..use alot of vulgar word laugh.gif

harsh but effective
K-End
post Oct 14 2008, 11:28 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

i cant help but to laugh laugh.gif

why?...i keep my mouth shut for now tongue.gif

as for malaysian bundle:

1 DS3 controller...price is around RM 1400-1500 if im not mistaken.

This post has been edited by K-End: Oct 14 2008, 11:29 AM
K-End
post Oct 15 2008, 05:01 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 15 2008, 04:59 PM)
sorry typo there should be composite. to be honest i cannot diff these two words. paiseh
next time, check your spelling before you laugh & press the submit button

tongue.gif
K-End
post Oct 15 2008, 05:53 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(shadow_gouken @ Oct 15 2008, 05:48 PM)
Hello,
  I think of install 320gb HDD, can PS3 support that size?  hmm.gif
500gb also can..but need to reformat it in a special way before can be use tongue.gif
K-End
post Oct 16 2008, 01:41 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 16 2008, 12:36 PM)
It sez there is no store for this region.
finally, the answer i've been waiting since yesterday

thanks for the heads up
K-End
post Oct 16 2008, 04:00 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(lopak @ Oct 16 2008, 03:22 PM)
fyi fat32=32gig on any hdd......more than 32gig cannot be formatted into fat32.
there's a third party software that enable you to format more then 32g into FAT32.

swissknife if im not mistaken

Added on October 16, 2008, 4:01 pm
QUOTE(laowai @ Oct 16 2008, 03:58 PM)
FAT32 is for windows98 and NT
XP = NTFS
actually, NT is the first OS using NTFS nod.gif

This post has been edited by K-End: Oct 16 2008, 04:01 PM
K-End
post Oct 27 2008, 12:41 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Oct 27 2008, 12:27 AM)
just bought a ps3 from sony style jb......
bad service from them....

and the quality of the cable bundle SUCZ lol....

i think hav to get myself a hdmi cable....
get a Component or HDMI cable instead..unless you're planning to play on CRT tv tongue.gif
K-End
post Nov 6 2008, 12:03 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 6 2008, 10:29 AM)
No it won't. But it will give you higher probability of opening up office in MSC hubs, which MUST have fast broadband.
and that why my friends who worked at an office at MSC hubs TORRENT the movies.

yep..not direct download...TORRENT.

heck...nearly everybody in his office TORRENT movie from net
K-End
post Nov 6 2008, 12:31 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 6 2008, 12:05 PM)
Because it's almost impossible to torrent it at home? smile.gif
no..because they got super high speed compare to Home broadband.

and nobody will question them

This post has been edited by K-End: Nov 6 2008, 12:32 PM
K-End
post Nov 6 2008, 04:11 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Nov 6 2008, 01:35 PM)
torrent = bittorrent..
to download stuff smile.gif

hope the torrent they mention same as mine..
dont bother to explain..they know, just 'pretending' they dont know tongue.gif

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 6 2008, 01:36 PM)

wow! nearly everybody? I can imagine their boss' face "muka berasap" when downloading e-mail is slow.... hahahaha
Their boss?...their boss also torrenting from his pc.

QUOTE(mcline_007 @ Nov 6 2008, 01:56 PM)
Torrent

A torrent can have two meanings. The first meaning is when you download/share a file via the bittorrent protocol, that file is called a torrent.

A torrent is also a small file that when used with a bittorrent client, tells the client how to find the and download the software it corresponds to.  whistling.gif
You forgot another thing.

Torrent:
The special ability for Water based Pokemon to owned Fire-based Pokemon real fast in a duel

K-End
post Nov 14 2008, 11:55 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(huh @ Nov 14 2008, 11:44 AM)
I've been trying to add funds to my wallet by credit card for the US Playstation Store but can't seem to get it to work.

I randomly entered a US address when creating my account.

And now I an error message saying my credit card details are invalid.

Anyone got a solution to this?
I wanna get the Poker game and it's not available in the Singapore store.
unless you got a US Credit Card that registered under a US address, then dont bother trying

US PSN only accept US Credit Card that was registered under US Address.

the only solution?...get the PSN prepaid card from ebay
K-End
post Nov 14 2008, 12:13 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Nov 14 2008, 12:07 PM)
I've been using my local credit card for my US PSN, using an address of a hotel in Houston since last year. The last successful transaction was on October 6. In fact, never failed to do any transaction.

What I'm saying, you can still try your luck to register. I also don't know why there are some who can, while some can't. nod.gif
yeah..i also based on luck.. Im lucky because my Entropay was linked to my US PSn before they start banning that card from US PSN.

same case with AmBank NexG prepaid Mastercard.. some user manage to use it for US PSN...but most of it failed

IMO, the NexG prepaid card is wayyyy more flexible..Topup as many as you want using local ATM machine...Entropay now has a minimum USD20 to topup the card....now including the 4.95% topup charge
K-End
post Nov 14 2008, 12:24 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 14 2008, 12:21 PM)
You can't get the output in CRT TV if your PS3 game and the PS3 system is different.

E.g. Playing GTAIV R2 version(PAL) on NTSC PS3 using 480p resolution.
yup..the only way to counter this is:

1) Play on HDTV (720p or higher)

2) If you planning to play on CRT & your PS3 is NTSC set(Japan & US), Buy R1 or R3 region game...Region 2 is a No no for you
K-End
post Nov 14 2008, 03:22 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(japboy @ Nov 14 2008, 02:31 PM)
is ps3 MY set NTSC?? then i juz need to buy the R3 region la..thanks..
the PS3 MY is actually taken from asian set(HK & SG). It stated NTSC-J but it SDTV resolution is 572i compare to US & Japan set (480i).

I already tested GTA4 R2 at my US set & my cousin Japan set on CRT TV..both set cannot play GTA4 on CRT under the 480i resolution

well...we're using the UK standard when it come to TV & electrical plug

This post has been edited by K-End: Nov 14 2008, 03:37 PM

0.0342sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:33 AM