14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

GOT iPHONE 3G. Just Share ur experience., Maxis, Digi, uMobile, Celcom etc.

rx330
post Sep 1 2008, 12:43 PM

11,808 posts

why so troublesome?
i tot no need setting one?
i just plug in can liao thumbup.gif
i lap iphone wub.gif
harmeet15
post Sep 1 2008, 01:55 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

ya lor...
i put my maxis sim...the phones says tat da sim is sending a msg...must be da settings i tink..

auto down settings....
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 1 2008, 01:56 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

this is a thread to shw off tongue.gif
zero_infinite
post Sep 1 2008, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(qtee @ Sep 1 2008, 12:00 PM)
hi zero_infinite,
Make sure you have a 3G simcard first.

I understand that Maxis need to reactivate again whenever you change the sim to a new 3G phone.

If not mistaken, is just key in *136# for 3G activation and send.
Hope this works for Iphone also.

Added on September 1, 2008, 12:02 pmHi every tai kor tai che,
Is anyone know that if there is any unlock 3G Iphone from Japan?

I've browsed through the thread, seems like the US unlocked phone really work. Is USD599, rite?
Thanks qtee,
FYI, i already got a 3G sim, since it is a new ones. I just bought it for my second no... Already key-in *136# for activation as well...

Actually, i can get the 3G signal in place. But i just wonder why everytime i turn on/off the 3G enable setting, the popup with 'Network Lost' will appear. Then i just need to choose 'Dismiss' for the popup, and everything will be ok.

Anyway, i think the popup appear because everytime i switch the 3G on/off, then the phone will search for new coverage. Unfortunately, my place got a bad signal for maxis and maxis 3g also. So maybe at first the phone cannot detect the signal. That's why the popup appear.

raycol97,
i just found out that the password is wap not 0123... 0123 is for sim card pin number... Correct me if i'm wrong...
qtee
post Sep 1 2008, 04:04 PM

73 posts

zero_infinite,
Ignore in case you already know =P

If there is no 3G coverage, there's no use to force to select 3G in the phone.

Whenever no 3G coverage, usually will default select back to 2G.
(because 2G coverage is better than 3G for maxis network)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

anyhow, i got a question... a bit blur here unsure.gif
I've fren working in US now and she was telling me there are unlocked IPHONE which cost usd599...

but I read from the previous thread, that recommended not to get the US Iphone... do you guys mean that the IPHONE you bought (which is usd599) still requesting the unlock method before can use it?

stringfellow
post Sep 1 2008, 04:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I think what she meant is not "unlocked" iPhone, they are "no commitment" iPhones. These are available without contract, you can purchase them, and use prepaid plans on them, basically you can buy them off shelf without them Apple Geniuses forcing you to sign up for a plan.

The iPhone is still, however, LOCKED to AT&T.
qtee
post Sep 1 2008, 04:45 PM

73 posts

stringfellow,
So you mean that I still need some genius to help to unlock it when it shipped to Malaysia?
ohmy.gif

I tot finally I can get one... but eventually....cry.gif

Added on September 1, 2008, 4:48 pmOne more question, I heard that the receiver for 3G iphone is not that sensitive.... anyone haved encountered this problem?

for eg, other phone user receiving is good, but 3G Iphone might not receiving clearly or it dropped to 2G or you cannot receive call.

This post has been edited by qtee: Sep 1 2008, 04:48 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 1 2008, 04:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(qtee @ Sep 1 2008, 04:45 PM)
stringfellow,
So you mean that I still need some genius to help to unlock it when it shipped to Malaysia?
ohmy.gif 

I tot finally I can get one... but eventually....cry.gif

Added on September 1, 2008, 4:48 pmOne more question, I heard that the receiver for 3G iphone is not that sensitive.... anyone haved encountered this problem?

for eg, other phone user receiving is good, but 3G Iphone might not receiving clearly or it dropped to 2G or you cannot receive call.
No. The Genius I meant was the Apple technical staffs, they call them Apple Geniuses. All US iPhone 3Gs are locked to AT&T, even when you buy them without commitment ,a.k.a prepaid. They expect you to tie in your iPhone puchase with one of their plans, it is just that the prepaid plan is not as tightly controlling as the postpaid plans they have.

The Infineon 3G receiver chip is new and untested, and Apple is working to improve its reception. In Malaysia, if you just want to make a phone call, disable the 3G, and it will drop to normal GSM, and your signal bar will improve. Using it in tandem with 3G is where it is less appealing at the moment, since the signal strength drops to 1 or 2 bar, depending on area. This is not conclusive, as I have got instances where I get full bars on 3G while I was having my dinner at Chili's KLCC.
rx330
post Sep 1 2008, 05:00 PM

11,808 posts

i got full 3g bars for maxis as well, no issues here
only probelm is i can get it to push mobileme
stringfellow
post Sep 1 2008, 05:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Aiks? Mine works fine, the push and fetch. Try setting it to manual and see if it initiates the push/fetch. Mine was updated instantly, just like advertised.

Of course, last time, it was a different story. I've had cases where my contacts inside the iPhone, after being pushed from MobileMe, lost all its numbers, only left names! But Apple fixed MobileMe since then, and it had been working fine since. *touchwood*

I've even tried the photo-upload straight to MobileMe, with options to publish them straight away on a gallery, which you can set it as public or private. Works like a charm.
rx330
post Sep 1 2008, 05:31 PM

11,808 posts

i think mine have to set it to fetch
push is almost instance rite? cos my wife send me a few emails yesterday, tak dapt pun in the iphone, have to go in mobile me only it starts to fetch itself

ya, the photo upload, shiokalingam, but provided you aredi have a folder setup
my BIL mobileme account has no folder in the phto gallery, hence in iphone pictures, there is option to upload to mobileme, after creating the folder online, the option to upload to mobileme, ada aredi..

He was so impressed by it thumbup.gif
any idea how the iphone can access to the gallery wihtout having to go to safari to view it? or its not possible?
stringfellow
post Sep 1 2008, 05:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Putting in www.me.com on the URL on the iPhone will come to a page where it tells you to access using a computer. It seems that you cannot access MobileMe other than on a computer, not an iPhone.
rx330
post Sep 1 2008, 05:43 PM

11,808 posts

hmmmm.... guess the only easiest way to view photos would be at gallery.me.com/membername
save it as a favorite on the iphone then
stringfellow
post Sep 1 2008, 05:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That only allows photo galleries. I'm rather keen to see if I could access files I've uploaded into my iDisk in MobileMe. Anyway we are diverging waaaaaayy away from the topic at hand. But still, probably relevant since MobileMe is part and parcel of the experience in Firmware 2.0.

rx330
post Sep 1 2008, 06:03 PM

11,808 posts

still on track mar kekekekke
its good, but can be improved more thumbup.gif

edited

This post has been edited by rx330: Sep 1 2008, 07:48 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 1 2008, 06:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://gallery.me.com/stringfellow#100451/photo

Disney Fantillusion NightTime Parade. This was while I was in Paris last week. rclxms.gif
rx330
post Sep 1 2008, 07:54 PM

11,808 posts

bro nice one biggrin.gif
i remove my link, can see my name one tongue.gif alamak
icebrew
post Sep 2 2008, 05:21 PM

69 posts

This Network Lost issue is becoming a pain for me. Most of the time it drops from 3G to GPRS, what to do Celcom got no EDGE or at least I dont think they have. Funny sometimes I do see E coming out on my previous phone. Do we really have to wait for firmware 2.1, this is irratating especially when you want to use safari it doesnt work. I have tried both having APN with celcom3g and blank. Same result. Any Ideas?
CooLeRthings
post Sep 3 2008, 08:55 AM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

sien...
i still stuck at US but i cant get the blardy iphone 3g....
coz of that farktard ATT...

if i can manage to get the iphone 3g 16 GB white @ USD 499... is it worth give it a shot? since is much cheaper than lotsa places
Corvinux
post Sep 3 2008, 08:57 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Sep 3 2008, 08:55 AM)
sien...
i still stuck at US but i cant get the  blardy iphone 3g....
coz of that farktard ATT...

if i can manage to get the iphone 3g 16 GB white @ USD 499... is it worth give it a shot? since is much cheaper than lotsa places
well if its unlocked version then should be ok..if its not then no need smile.gif

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:31 PM