Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

wu ming
post Apr 2 2009, 08:33 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Apr 1 2009, 09:21 PM)
Args... sad to hear about that. Btw, mind to tell how long you have been working in SG?

Been almost 1/2 year now. smile.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 1 2009, 09:23 PM)
Bad luck, mate. Where do you work and how extensive is the retrenchment exercise? (if you don't mind telling us, of course).

Working in a hardware company in Boon Lay area. They are beginning to sort out workers. Last week a lady in my department was laid off. This week my turn. laugh.gif

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Apr 1 2009, 09:51 PM)
wuming,

sorry to hear that but, look at it as an opportunity to seek for greener pasture.

wanna join our gathering this weekend?

Yea, actually no future working in this company and I do not really like the boss here.

Should be no problem for the gathering but please do not treat me as an outcast. sad.gif

wu ming
post Apr 7 2009, 03:28 PM

1,143 posts

Comrades, today is my last day working in Singapork. sweat.gif

Will be returning homeland for a while.

I wish everybody will kaya-raya working here. Earn many-many dollar. If possible buy car, hdb or even better, get PR!! rclxms.gif
wu ming
post Apr 8 2009, 07:54 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(eggBoy @ Apr 7 2009, 05:46 PM)
good luck wu ming, great to meet u up the other day. hope you enjoy and fast fast get high pay job soon

No problem. Same to you too. wink.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 7 2009, 05:58 PM)
Good luck.

Thanks for the support seantang! blush.gif

QUOTE(smartalec @ Apr 7 2009, 06:31 PM)
Good luck wu ming!

see you soon

Thanks. O'rly? See me soon? Pay you a visit if I have another oppourtunity here.

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Apr 7 2009, 08:49 PM)
Good luck and all the best.

Owh, thanks for the support. smile.gif

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Apr 7 2009, 09:58 PM)
time to rest a bit n get ready for the next battle good luck bro

Yea, actually need a break. Take this time for me to relax for a while.

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Apr 7 2009, 10:13 PM)
all the best to u dude. we'll be waiting u back for some 'herbal tea'.  laugh.gif

Thanks. Owh, for the herbal tea, do not need to wait. Just go enjoice. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(tuckparadise @ Apr 8 2009, 04:02 AM)
then why some people choose to stay in SIN?

Some choose this due to various reasons. Mainly due to convenience. It is very hectic traveling thru and flow the customs especially if the working time is not odd hours.

wu ming
post May 2 2009, 12:04 AM

1,143 posts

You guys must be back for the holidays.

Hey I will be coming to Singaporke for an interview. Ada siapa boleh tumpangkan me for a night? tongue.gif
wu ming
post May 6 2009, 09:46 AM

1,143 posts

Hi everybody, I will be coming to Singaporke this Friday for an interview. smile.gif

Wish me luck that I can succeed. rclxm9.gif

I would also like to kaya-raya earning S$ like the rest of you. thumbup.gif

Anyways, may I know the salary range of IT field? Previously I was underpaid as I do not know the expected salary. sad.gif
wu ming
post May 7 2009, 07:04 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ May 6 2009, 09:47 AM)
so lucky of u
mind to share which company is hiring malaysians?

I am not lucky. It takes courage to apply for work in Singapore without any help.

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 6 2009, 09:56 AM)
so u wil be here over the weekend or what ? good luck for the interview.  biggrin.gif

I will come in like a SWAT team. Will bla as soon the interview is conducted.

QUOTE(topmankl @ May 6 2009, 10:06 AM)
Good luck at your interview. smile.gif

By the way how you plan to travel to Sg and back? Just for others to reference.

Also mind sharing what position is that, and your experience? Been trying to get info on Sg IT job market but to no avail...

Traveling by bus.

It's an IT job related to my studies. Do not give up.

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 6 2009, 10:12 AM)
Depends on how many years of exp and in what line you previously doing and what your upcoming job scope would be.

According to a mag i read on average salary for IT personnel in singapore, a freshie like network admin will earn around 2200-3500.

If you got technical certs like CCNA, oracle cert, MCP and are a certified network engineer, system anaylst, you can command on average 3k-5k. Managerial role around 6k-10k.

The most i've heard is if your IT manager at the management level, you can command upto 120k, a month but i heard they want master for that kind of role, or twin degree in both IT and management.
Thanks. At least I have a rough idea. Previously, I was underpaid S$1600 only. Everday ikat perut.

wu ming
post May 8 2009, 11:11 PM

1,143 posts

Good news! Chrisky will have a new partner for buttseck beer.

So easy to get a job in Singaporke. I do not even follow the traditional way of going there to stay while job hunting. tongue.gif

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 7 2009, 01:52 PM)
How much is your rent? A fren of mine earn 1600 still ok, Just that not much in savings but can survive. If ikat perut means only eating at fastfood a few times a week, then better stop eating unhealthy food.

Previously my rent is S$400.00. It's ok. I still had enough to eat and manage to save a lot. sweat.gif

Alamak, I need a place to stay in the east side. Anybody got offer? If not, tidur MRT station sajalah. doh.gif

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 8 2009, 10:15 PM)
whas ur location ?  biggrin.gif

buttseck laugh.gif

Guess that it is back to working life in Singaporke. What to do, kena cari makan. sad.gif
wu ming
post May 9 2009, 12:24 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 9 2009, 12:21 AM)
My bro has en empty room at pasir ris, u interested?

Hm, please let me know the details. hmm.gif

wu ming
post May 10 2009, 11:40 AM

1,143 posts

Going to Singaporke again. Go maut Malaccan food khau-khau. drool.gif It will be some time before I come back again. sad.gif

QUOTE(washabushi @ May 9 2009, 01:19 AM)
if got car i wil ldrive down to johor to hunt for food
i dont mind driving futher n spent more money on good food~

Come, lets travel to Johore and rent a car there.

QUOTE(SPS @ May 9 2009, 09:53 AM)
JB more entertaining than Singapore?  Yea, only if you are a mat rempit or a thug intending to rob and rape defenseless women.

When go Johore you literal need to dress up like a thug. Janganlah dress up smart-smart. Mengundang bahaya tu.

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 9 2009, 06:40 PM)
yo guys, Fer aka washa n i will go hav a drink at town later, anyone who hav nothing better to do other than wasting ur life at home, come join us lol.

dont worry we're not going for herbal tea.  tongue.gif

Buttseck laugh.gif

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 9 2009, 10:57 PM)
right now Fer is blur-ing for finding his way back home ROFLMAO.  laugh.gif  doh.gif

Serious buttseck. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by wu ming: May 10 2009, 11:50 AM
wu ming
post May 10 2009, 11:50 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ May 10 2009, 10:21 PM)
Iszit possible for Malaysian guy to tackle Singaporean girl??? cool2.gif

DO NO WANT
wu ming
post May 19 2009, 09:24 AM

1,143 posts

I am going to make the work permit again tomorrow but unfortunately I have lost the picture which I took there last time. sad.gif

Must I re-spend another S$6.00 to take another picture which they will only scan? (money wasted) vmad.gif

Do they keep records on my previous picture so that I do not need to waste money for another photograph? hmm.gif
wu ming
post May 19 2009, 05:30 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ May 19 2009, 09:24 AM)
I am going to make the work permit again tomorrow but unfortunately I have lost the picture which I took there last time. sad.gif

Must I re-spend another S$6.00 to take another picture which they will only scan? (money wasted) vmad.gif

Do they keep records on my previous picture so that I do not need to waste money for another photograph? hmm.gif

Nobody can help me? cry.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0490sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:31 PM