MY LL casing mod :), Case Painting done!!

TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 12:11 AM, updated 18y ago

4,631 posts

Hi guys, i will start post some project of mine here.

My casing from front and back:

Inside (going to do something there soon):

Top view :

Superb job from Ianho

Side panel:

Another awesome job from Ianho

Love the mirror shine

Thats all for now 1st...all my hardware is in my cm690 now. Hehe...

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 21 2008, 05:55 PM
ocz
post Aug 16 2008, 12:19 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

I thought you gonna mod it by yourself. brows.gif
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 12:28 AM

4,631 posts

nono...definitely not the cut part.....

but spray, WC setup and others i will do myself, with some guidance...hehe
moomoojojo
post Aug 16 2008, 12:35 AM

331 posts

how much do u spend??
mfcm
post Aug 16 2008, 01:35 AM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(moomoojojo @ Aug 16 2008, 12:35 AM)
how much do u spend??
hahaha if the cost u ask then u'll shock later tongue.gif but worth to the finishin job done by ian rclxms.gif
chyu89
post Aug 16 2008, 01:51 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

He definitely got some tips from ian dy.
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 01:54 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Aug 16 2008, 01:35 AM)
hahaha if the cost u ask then u'll shock later tongue.gif but worth to the finishin job done by ian rclxms.gif
Ianho cut the panel and top nia....paint ar, will try myself lo...hehe

hope i won't screw whole thing up :S
moomoojojo
post Aug 16 2008, 03:45 AM

331 posts

i know the price is ehem2..dats why i just wan to know..haha
vedder1979
post Aug 16 2008, 10:25 AM

168 posts

1 question thou, Uncle Ianho is still doing ok ka?...he's been rather quiet
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 01:13 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(vedder1979 @ Aug 16 2008, 10:25 AM)
1 question thou, Uncle Ianho is still doing ok ka?...he's been rather quiet
yes he is ok smile.gif

Added on August 16, 2008, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(moomoojojo @ Aug 16 2008, 03:45 AM)
i know the price is ehem2..dats why i just wan to know..haha
no comment and won't answer tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 16 2008, 01:14 PM
hypermax
post Aug 16 2008, 02:23 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Aug 16 2008, 01:51 AM)
He definitely got some tips from ian dy.
From what i have read in the Dispute thread, i dun think any tip is given, tongue.gif
bokbeng
post Aug 16 2008, 07:25 PM

132 posts

adoi.. when can i start mine.. got no time la....
anyway, gud luck there, bro
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 10:30 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(bokbeng @ Aug 16 2008, 07:25 PM)
adoi.. when can i start mine.. got no time la....
anyway, gud luck there, bro

BTW, some little update today

ocz
post Aug 16 2008, 10:48 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

How many layers did you use to paint?
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 10:50 PM

4,631 posts

the casing itself is 2 layers nia at the momment

other part that i can take out is 3 layers, but still got down part haven paint

ocz
post Aug 16 2008, 11:01 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 16 2008, 10:50 PM)
the casing itself is 2 layers nia at the momment

other part that i can take out is 3 layers, but still got down part haven paint
5 layers overall is enough.Apply a quality clear coat to prevent the paint from fading and scratch.
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 11:15 PM

4,631 posts

ahh...i am thinking around that too....

er...where to buy clear coat ar? ><

ace hardware? or any hardware shop? got any particular brand recommend ar? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 16 2008, 11:16 PM
wen9x88
post Aug 16 2008, 11:26 PM

2,933 posts

how much u pay for Ianho Side panel
btw wat which lian li u using?
how much u bought?
and where?
because i din see lowyat there got sell lian-li case....

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Aug 16 2008, 11:27 PM
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 11:35 PM

4,631 posts

Side panel is rm185

its Lian Li PC A20B at ATE, ard rm1k

and lowyat got sell LL case, you need to really find it nia
renesisx
post Aug 16 2008, 11:44 PM

[ K C G ]
959 posts

yup..ate is a local distro for lian li case..the shop is located at 2nd floor but a bit hidden.. laugh.gif
as for the clear coat, usually im using samurai brand in my mod..u can easily get it at hardware shops..

This post has been edited by renesisx: Aug 16 2008, 11:45 PM
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 16 2008, 11:52 PM

4,631 posts

samurai brand huh? okok...2morow i go check it out tongue.gif
ocz
post Aug 16 2008, 11:53 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 16 2008, 11:15 PM)
ahh...i am thinking around that too....

er...where to buy clear coat ar? ><

ace hardware? or any hardware shop? got any particular brand recommend ar? tongue.gif
I used gun paint for clear mix with pearl (sparkling) RM70 per litre.
autocolor brand.

if bottle paint for clear coating i am not really sure what brand is good.
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 12:21 AM

4,631 posts

ahhh i seee....heeh okok smile.gif
ynneb25
post Aug 17 2008, 01:09 AM

Does ur eye hurt? :P
708 posts

Sam Sam Sam.....so impatient tongue.gif *tsk* *tsk* *tsk*

Give Uncle Ian more time....modding consumes time...spray job also take half a day for a noob job sweat.gif

Anyway, back to the worklog....if i were u, i would have just paid Uncle Ian to do everything....professional job ma... thumbup.gif

IF, you are as noob as me, i'll probably screw up the paint job
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 01:27 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ynneb25 @ Aug 17 2008, 01:09 AM)
Sam Sam Sam.....so impatient tongue.gif *tsk* *tsk* *tsk*

Give Uncle Ian more time....modding consumes time...spray job also take half a day for a noob job  sweat.gif

Anyway, back to the worklog....if i were u, i would have just paid Uncle Ian to do everything....professional job ma... thumbup.gif

IF, you are as noob as me, i'll probably screw up the paint job
lol benny...

haha....i lazy to explain uncle ho things d la.

but well, he din do for me lead me to learn something, at least i do it myself smile.gif
really more satisfaction....haha

now still don't know how noob it is yet tongue.gif
hehe....
ocz
post Aug 17 2008, 01:34 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 16 2008, 11:52 PM)
samurai brand huh? okok...2morow i go check it out tongue.gif
samurai is a good paint brand and good quality.I refer to the color paint only,as for clear,go for other options as i mentioned before. thumbup.gif
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 04:08 AM

2,933 posts

why u don take this and put it at your side panel?
i think it will cheaper than RM185,this thing so nice.

This post has been edited by wen9x88: Aug 17 2008, 04:08 AM
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 11:16 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Aug 17 2008, 04:08 AM)
why u don take this and put it at your side panel?
i think it will cheaper than RM185,this thing so nice.
cant see your "this thing" >.<
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 11:17 AM

2,933 posts

opss....i mean this
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=766197&hl=
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 12:22 PM

4,631 posts

thats just the ACRYLIC PANEL.

how you gone fix to the side panel if it was not cut?
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 12:35 PM

2,933 posts

hmm..how to explain?
his side panel is cut by ianho,then why not take this ACRYLIC PANEL and ask ianho cut ??
now he side panel is using normal,
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 12:41 PM

4,631 posts

ooo....no la.
the RM185 is include the cutting job

means at 1st my side panel is all aluminium, cant see through one
then i sent to ianho to cut it.
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 12:44 PM

2,933 posts

RM185 is include the cutting job and the mirror right ?

TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 12:46 PM

4,631 posts

yea...correct

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 17 2008, 12:47 PM
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 12:51 PM

2,933 posts

the RM185 is cut and the mirror.
then why u don just take the mirror money buy the ACRYLIC PANEL?

TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 12:54 PM

4,631 posts

ooo....i don't know how much ianho charge for just the acrylic, but i think price almost same only gua

and i don't really like the UV one also, the clear one seems the same as mine lol

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 17 2008, 12:55 PM
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 12:56 PM

2,933 posts

ask ianho cut for u lo.
but it's too late,because the finish the cutting job.
btw i think the ACRYLIC PANEL is very cool.
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 01:00 PM

4,631 posts

haha....if you like the UV one, of coz its cool lo

but i like simple one ma tongue.gif
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 01:05 PM

2,933 posts

oic...different people,different taste.
u are so lucky because ianho cut for u.
i find him many times,but he don reply.
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 01:26 PM

4,631 posts

ooo thanks an3rgy

btw, guys, wana ask ar, after spraying the case to enough coat i want, how long i need to wait before i spray the clear coat?

and do i nid to use a wet cloth to wipe the case 1st before i spray the clear coat?
and how many layers of clear coat i need? >.<
ynneb25
post Aug 17 2008, 02:24 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 17 2008, 01:26 PM)
ooo thanks an3rgy
btw, guys, wana ask ar, after spraying the case to enough coat i want, how long i need to wait before i spray the clear coat?

and do i nid to use a wet cloth to wipe the case 1st before i spray the clear coat?
and how many layers of clear coat i need? >.<
to do a proper paint job, i would recommend u to pick Uncle Ian's brain...coz u might screw the paint job up and in the end waste more $$....
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 03:15 PM

4,631 posts

no need every single thing also need to ask ianho gua....i am sure there are many DIY and good modder here smile.gif
wen9x88
post Aug 17 2008, 04:06 PM

2,933 posts

really ?
i cant find a forumer good in DIY
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 17 2008, 06:08 PM

4,631 posts

ianho, doom,mcfm and a few is all forumer, they all DIY smile.gif
SeaMonster
post Aug 17 2008, 06:16 PM

2,056 posts

ocz ?

Or You Try PM Either 1 Of Them Lo smile.gif

This post has been edited by SeaMonster: Aug 17 2008, 06:16 PM
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 21 2008, 05:54 PM

4,631 posts

Guys, i already done all the painting of the case, now its time to fix it back all ,eheheh

Back:

Inside:

and now the side panel is on back too:

I really regret spraying the last coat of clear coat sad.gif
should not have done it, and leave it with matt black instead...

anyway, this is the 1st time i do it, won't say its a good job, but still am satisfy with it, heeh
and this weekend is time to put back all my hardware into it....wooot!!!

PS: some new stuff also arrive few days ago from the states, really can't wait to have a look on it (the stuff still at my friend place)
ocz
post Aug 21 2008, 05:58 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Dude,your clear coat is not level (even).
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 21 2008, 06:35 PM

4,631 posts

yea...i know, clear coat very hard to spray, but IMO no clear coat better then got lol

I gona respray it liao, hehe, more see more bo song tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 21 2008, 07:22 PM
wen9x88
post Aug 21 2008, 08:22 PM

2,933 posts

haihz....wasted.
full allu go spray?

TSsamlee860407
post Aug 21 2008, 09:13 PM

4,631 posts

yes, full alu

ynneb25
post Aug 21 2008, 10:22 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 21 2008, 09:13 PM)
yes, full alu
see....told u to pick ppl's (modder's) brain first b4 spraying....learn their techniques and then u won't have to waste time respraying... whistling.gif
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 21 2008, 10:27 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ynneb25 @ Aug 21 2008, 10:22 PM)
see....told u to pick ppl's (modder's) brain first b4 spraying....learn their techniques and then u won't have to waste time respraying... whistling.gif
blush.gif

i don't knw the clear coat i buy give this effect sad.gif

but nvm la, learn from mistake, i still love my matt black paint before i apply clear coat , so tomorrow will go buy and paint it brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 21 2008, 10:48 PM
wen9x88
post Aug 21 2008, 11:43 PM

2,933 posts

actually i m not asking is that casing allu anot.
i mean why u take full allu case go to spray...
normally spray is for coolermaster because coolermaster not full allu.
btw i just think that is waste and that case no need to spray also looks cool
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 21 2008, 11:46 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Aug 21 2008, 11:43 PM)
actually i m not asking is that casing allu anot.
i mean why u take full allu case go to spray...
normally spray is for coolermaster because coolermaster not full allu.
btw i just think that is waste and that case no need to spray also looks cool
a person's meat is another's poison
you should heard that gua smile.gif

btw, am not a fan of alu color, i buy LL coz its light, and the design tongue.gif
and black can make invisible wire ,haha

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Aug 21 2008, 11:51 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 22 2008, 11:00 PM

4,809 posts

bro i think you should sand it down to 1500Grit and respray.
looks very uneven leh sad.gif

but maybe its the flash.
try to take without flash
TSsamlee860407
post Aug 22 2008, 11:04 PM

4,631 posts

the mobo is unven i know tongue.gif

being respray now d....hehe
ocz
post Aug 23 2008, 01:44 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Aug 21 2008, 10:27 PM)
blush.gif

i don't knw the clear coat i buy give this effect sad.gif

but nvm la, learn from mistake, i still love my matt black paint before i apply clear coat , so tomorrow will go buy and paint it brows.gif  brows.gif
Dude,never ever use a can clear coat.Its strongly recommended to use a gun paint for clear coat. smile.gif
The cheapest clear coat normally costs around RM80.

TSsamlee860407
post Aug 23 2008, 07:11 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Aug 23 2008, 01:44 AM)
Dude,never ever use a can clear coat.Its strongly recommended to use a gun paint for clear coat. smile.gif
The cheapest clear coat normally costs around RM80.
Lol, no wonder tongue.gif
pedas126
post Oct 12 2008, 05:15 AM

91 posts

how much u cut the window plus the arcylic panel?
ghorok
post Oct 29 2008, 12:36 AM

174 posts

@samlee860407
eh bro, how's ur job? done already? mind to share with us? brows.gif

@pedas126
u don't wanna know i guess tongue.gif
Zangetsu
post Oct 29 2008, 04:32 AM

123 posts

hohohoho thx god i got baca this worklog....now im not going to spray the case with clear coat smile.gif....but if im not spray the clear coat the paint its easy to scratch when im installing the hardware and the stuff inside the case rite?
ahmeduk88
post Oct 29 2008, 07:44 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Zangetsu @ Oct 29 2008, 04:32 AM)
hohohoho thx god i got baca this worklog....now im not going to spray the case with clear coat smile.gif....but if im not spray the clear coat the paint its easy to scratch when im installing the hardware and the stuff inside the case rite?
yup. thats why humanity came up with a clear coat. well, it also makes your case shine after spraying it with clear coat.. nice!!
lightonokira
post Dec 16 2008, 03:54 AM

788 posts

Clear coat makes the surface shiny pls rmmber

Added on December 16, 2008, 3:56 amthere are matte type clearspray also

but hard to find le in malaysia

pls inform if any1 knew

This post has been edited by lightonokira: Dec 16 2008, 03:56 AM
reiben05
post Mar 12 2010, 10:45 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

hmm the reason i thought the clear coat end up like this is because matte black + normal clear = fail.. need special clear coat for matte..

am i correct??.. normal colour would look better with clear coat??

btw sorry for posting in an old thread.. just curious on the results sweat.gif
BuckRoger
post Mar 16 2010, 05:02 PM

Sakit Perut
903 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Mar 12 2010, 10:45 PM)
hmm the reason i thought the clear coat end up like this is because matte black + normal clear = fail.. need special clear coat for matte..

am i correct??.. normal colour would look better with clear coat??

btw sorry for posting in an old thread.. just curious on the results sweat.gif
IMO, not really.. smile.gif, matte black has a rough surface, u need to sand it flat before apply clear coat.
Eg. spraying a clearcoat on a rough surface like sand paper it'll never gonna end shining like mirror, some parts will reflect the light & some not.
So, ur finish will not gonna be mirror finish smile.gif. unless u apply a very thick clear coat & sand it flat.. its not a good idea smile.gif.

Susaiput
post Mar 16 2010, 10:32 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(BuckRoger @ Mar 16 2010, 05:02 PM)
IMO, not really.. smile.gif, matte black has a rough surface, u need to sand it flat before apply clear coat.
Eg. spraying a clearcoat on a rough surface like sand paper it'll never gonna end shining like mirror, some parts will reflect the light & some not.
So, ur finish will not gonna be mirror finish smile.gif. unless u apply a very thick clear coat & sand it flat.. its not a good idea smile.gif.
but then it would look like a flat black colour right?it will shine almost just like a gloss black...i noe cuz ive done both on my case...dats y a lot of money spend just on paint...huhuhuhuhuhu...

but 1 thing i did that seem to keep the matte black effect while maintaining a scratch resistant surface much like a normal clear coat...is a very2 thin clear coat...i did mine with just 2 layers...n so far i dont see any chipped off paint...

0.0273sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:00 AM