Competition WCG 08 Suxx.., WCG MALAYSIA

CityLife
post Aug 28 2008, 11:17 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(GaRyF @ Aug 28 2008, 08:30 PM)
2. Spectators : Noneed so many screens la... It's better dont do any live broadcast except stage ... And the layout of the area is square as well as limited space, it's hard to have spectators area...

I find that u R limiting the potential of spectators in WCG.

People are thinking of advancement,..... making WCG grand and big....

.... and yet u r making it small.......

Come on... Game on....

Added on August 28, 2008, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(GaRyF @ Aug 28 2008, 08:30 PM)

3. Time Schedule : The head marshals are trying to separate some ranked players as avoiding them to meet in the early rounds.

U mean "ranked players" cannot meet each other in early rounds??

This post has been edited by CityLife: Aug 28 2008, 11:21 PM
ken0777
post Aug 29 2008, 05:37 AM

536 posts

aiyak... i kena tembak.. LOL! well i have a suggestion... basically... heard it from my fren la... LOL... u know who you are... ^^

in2 must/should hire gamers, ex-gamers, and retired gamers which are well verse in the game which are competing. Only gamers will understand gamers. if leave to a bunch of mass-comm/business graduates who works in in2...matilah...alot of stuff they are kinda noob in it... they should get more part time or recruit more gamers, ex-gamers, and retired gamers be their consultant and adviser in handling gaming event and so be the marshall... not the sebarang jadi pun boleh...

coz alot of marshalls are noobs in marshaling games. like fifa... only 1 chap which i recognize and which i have respect and faith in handling the fifa marshaling... (u know who u are...kudos to u) the rest... haprak!!!

pretty sure this goes with the other games as well... lol...thats my 2 cents on this matter... *i can't help myself in sayin what you told me tat day* hehe
- D i a b l o -
post Aug 29 2008, 08:00 AM

123 posts

its okay really if they want to marshall,humans can learn how to adapt.its just that you gotta learn as a marshall on how to referee the respective game,thats all we're asking.

no need ex gamer all also nevermind,if get means bonus if not means make sure the one doing it can do it properly
Soul-X
post Aug 29 2008, 11:27 AM

183 posts

i kinda agree with ken0777... Because if new marshal go learn... Need to learn alot of things leh... And most of the things are based on exprerinced more than the game itself...
strife_personified
post Aug 29 2008, 12:18 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

but generally the marshalls should be given training specific to the games they are to be refereeing i guess. like they should be told about bugs/hacks that are possible, and what to do if that occurs, those kinds of things. perhaps get someone to demo the bug/hack for them tongue.gif that way you only really need to find one good gamer to help, the rest can be n00bs to be molded and shaped.
ken0777
post Aug 29 2008, 12:32 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Soul-X @ Aug 29 2008, 11:27 AM)
i kinda agree with ken0777... Because if new marshal go learn... Need to learn alot of things leh... And most of the things are based on exprerinced more than the game itself...
What i tried to imply was not only marshaling... but also in organizing the whole event... organizers need to get ppl who are well versed in gaming to help them. ie. gives valuable advice, perspective, approaches and also diff angle in tackling a gaming event. how can you satisfy a customer if you dun understand them. if i complaint about my samsung handphone... only another similar samsung user will understand coz he has used it to. imagine u call a customer feedback centre on hp notebook computer and that tech support fella dun know nuts about their product. sure gg... if this gaming community wants to evolve, every ppl, organizers, and gamer like wise have to work together. coz now all i see is certain gamers, marshals and organizers are giving holier than thou attitude and pointing fingers here and there. cut the negative perception, make love not war... work together...*remember... the 1 finger u point, there's always 3 more fingers pointing back at ya*
CityLife
post Aug 29 2008, 01:10 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(ken0777 @ Aug 29 2008, 05:37 AM)
in2 must/should hire gamers, ex-gamers, and retired gamers which are well verse in the game which are competing. Only gamers will understand gamers. if leave to a bunch of mass-comm/business graduates who works in in2...matilah...alot of stuff they are kinda noob in it... they should get more part time or recruit more gamers, ex-gamers, and retired gamers be their consultant and adviser in handling gaming event and so be the marshall... not the sebarang jadi pun boleh...

The problem is that they might not only organize game events but also other non-gaming events.

Hiring gamers as their permanent employee just for organizing a game event might not be economically sound.

Do we have any alternative professional game event organizer?

Added on August 29, 2008, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(ken0777 @ Aug 29 2008, 12:32 PM)
What i tried to imply was not only marshaling... but also in organizing the whole event... organizers need to get ppl who are well versed in gaming to help them. ie. gives valuable advice, perspective, approaches and also diff angle in tackling a gaming event. how can you satisfy a customer if you dun understand them. if i complaint about my samsung handphone... only another similar samsung user will understand coz he has used it to. imagine u call a customer feedback centre on hp notebook computer and that tech support fella dun know nuts about their product. sure gg... if this gaming community wants to evolve, every ppl, organizers, and gamer like wise have to work together. coz now all i see is certain gamers, marshals and organizers are giving holier than thou attitude and pointing fingers here and there. cut the negative perception, make love not war... work together...*remember... the 1 finger u point, there's always 3 more fingers pointing back at ya*
Well said.

This post has been edited by CityLife: Aug 29 2008, 01:12 PM
Gendz
post Aug 29 2008, 02:28 PM

Heyz kennee..i guess its not easy to find fifa marshalls these days i guess..most of dem are involve in the competitions.If there are experience ones around,im sure in2 would have hire them 1st compare to those new ones=). For some of the fifa gamers that has retired, they do not intend to come back to help out marshalling anymore as they are bz. For those new marshalls, i think they did went to do research on the gameplay,rule and the bugs before the competition start, not that bad i guess..theres not much conflict this year in fifa also=).
ken0777
post Aug 29 2008, 03:29 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Gendz @ Aug 29 2008, 02:28 PM)
Heyz kennee..i guess its not easy to find fifa marshalls these days i guess..most of dem are involve in the competitions.If there are experience ones around,im sure in2 would have hire them 1st compare to those new ones=). For some of the fifa gamers that has retired, they do not intend to come back to help out marshalling anymore as they are bz. For those new marshalls, i think they did went to do research on the gameplay,rule and the bugs before the competition start, not that bad i guess..theres not much conflict this year in fifa also=).
No one says its easy... it's a challenge to the organizers... hence come my statement where gamers and organizers have to work together hand in hand to make a gaming event successful...

For FIFA, in our LYN FIFA league, there are many players who are not competing in major tournaments but just as casual gamers... their email contacts of all the active FIFA players in Malaysia who are currently active are at their fingertips... For FIFA you can actually email them asking if there are joinin, if not it's no harm in asking them to be a marshal for major tournaments. They in return get paid, have fun... did organizers did that? Most players in LYN league are very well versed in FIFA R&R and etc.

I know some of those ex-gamers are abit busy but if organizers can fork out abit more incentive for them to help out... i'm pretty sure they might reconsider. *LOL, by sayin this... alot of those in2 staff can 'gg'... imagine a new in2 staff compared to an experience gamer who knows ins and out of gaming scene...and in handling gaming events... can't compare ler...*

This post has been edited by ken0777: Aug 29 2008, 03:38 PM
- D i a b l o -
post Aug 29 2008, 04:41 PM

123 posts

yea true also.with proper package for experienced gamer turn-to-marshall.alot of people would join and help.eg . me.hahahaha
Soul-X
post Aug 29 2008, 06:03 PM

183 posts

Aiya they dun care gamers one la, they want $$ only ma...

Thats why malaysia will be malaysia... sigh
Invince_Z
post Aug 29 2008, 08:01 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

QUOTE(CityLife @ Aug 29 2008, 01:10 PM)
The problem is that they might not only organize game events but also other non-gaming events.

Hiring gamers as their permanent employee just for organizing a game event might not be economically sound.

Do we have any alternative professional game event organizer?
Added on August 29, 2008, 1:12 pm
Well said.

nor permanent employee la bro, it's part-timer only ma. what so hard to do that? in2 also open registration on wcg team other than gamers joining for gaming.

rclxms.gif next year all gamers x participating as gamer should try their luck, register for wcg team!!! rclxms.gif
NecrosavaNt
post Aug 29 2008, 08:07 PM

29 posts

i hear that marshals do alot of labor work and gets underpaid.
ken0777
post Aug 29 2008, 08:43 PM

536 posts

hahahaha... aiyo... necro... ur signature still dun wan to change? gives me stomach ache laughin everytime i see tat...
accelerator7
post Aug 29 2008, 08:44 PM

RBxA13x
629 posts

Haha it's weird that the fella who started this thread didn't post any feedbacks already and instead the same other people are posting all the time doh.gif

I think it's better to make a list of what are needed to improve for the next event. You guys post so many karangan here i doubt they will read one by one and remember each of the suggestions. Compile a full list of what were negative during WCG08 and what new ways to improve WCG09 and email to them. Whether they will read or delete the email, it's up to them. Let's focus on WGT08 at the moment! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by accelerator7: Aug 29 2008, 08:44 PM
Invince_Z
post Aug 29 2008, 09:48 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

MonRae: 3 post....lol laugh.gif

top 10 poster.
01. ken0777 : 25
02. technophile : 22
03. linkinstreet : 22
04. - D i a b l o - : 19
05. Invince_Z : 17
06. NecrosavaNt : 17
07. Soul-X : 14
08. strife_personified : 10
09. CityLife : 9
10. guardioo : 8

crazytazz
post Aug 29 2008, 09:56 PM

^the fallen devil^
1,909 posts

edit post; refer below.

This post has been edited by crazytazz: Aug 29 2008, 09:57 PM
moon*
post Aug 29 2008, 09:57 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

its called wcg spirit bro!! ;

during the interview; u are actually told n confirmed on ur pay cheque n roles b4 even starting smile.gif

there is no reason y to say under paid when u already know the amount; u knw how tough its gonna be; n u still chose to take up marshal or crew;

end of the day u r expected to bring out wats best of WCG.

i once was from the team; b4 the team was jst a marshal; me n my frens knew the amount n still we gave it ALL WE HAD.
we tried to make it possible for everyone. gamers usually have NO IDEA whats behind the scene; all the hard work;
me n my frens even stayed back after the hall was closed to clear up; pack up; MOVE the items. alot of stuff wei.

end of the day; its all team n spirit work. smile.gif

cannot explain to u until u actually go behind the scene n go thru everything smile.gif

all the best to WCG thumbup.gif

ehm.. since i m here posting dy; wanna give a kudos to my mate whom we've been thru hell, but end of the day; we enjoyed our team work; n had all the crazy moments back den laugh.gif

hope i didnt miss anyone sweat.gif ; if i did sorry la haha; bad memory; but i m sure u know i know laugh.gif
kev da man, rhodri, yuik,ron,gary,khengkhim,bac,peter,kaiwei,alkt,ck, lol.. damn i know i left out alot; suddenly cannot remember the name laugh.gif

This post has been edited by moon*: Aug 29 2008, 10:10 PM
CityLife
post Aug 30 2008, 01:38 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(moon* @ Aug 29 2008, 09:57 PM)
end of the day u r expected to bring out wats best of WCG.

i once was from the team; b4 the team was jst a marshal; me n my frens knew the amount n still we gave it ALL WE HAD.
we tried to make it possible for everyone. gamers usually have NO IDEA whats behind the scene; all the hard work;
me n my frens even stayed back after the hall was closed to clear up; pack up; MOVE the items. alot of stuff wei.

Nobody would doubt that the hard work behind that. rclxms.gif

In this particular forum, the forumers are trying to point out that
good planning with gamers-spectators-centred concept must also be implemented wisely.

Then, u and ur friends or friends' friends hard work would bear the fruit of praises.

(Not every candidate who study hard scored well in the exam,
need to study correctly and efficiently as well in order to achieve good result)

Working hard (eg. sacrifice of time and sweat) without an efficiently holistic game plan, and ....

at the end of the day when u do not receive the expected recognition of what u have expected sweat.gif

naturally, u would feel down sad.gif and have the thought that why these gamers, spectators and forumers still
have so much to complain despite my hard work.
Always remember at the end of the day, ur main aim is to win the hearts of ur gamers, spectators and sponsors, ... and ..
not just to ensure the physical setup are in order.

(Just as in the series of Apprentice and The Firm, although Work Hard is still needed, but not all the team that work hard
won the challenge of the day. Those teams that won have lateral thinking and know their target-audience or judges' heart desires well enough to win)

Conclusion : Think Smart and Work Hard! icon_rolleyes.gif
(or Work Hard & Work Smart)

This post has been edited by CityLife: Aug 30 2008, 02:06 AM
adiputra
post Aug 30 2008, 01:53 AM

455 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Aug 19 2008, 01:47 AM)
yeah, and i dun get the whole thing happening on fridays man. first no respect for Muslim that's goin to prayers. then it's the school kids ponteng sekolah.

my bro had to skip school to get his tag. aiyo.

can't they have a special counter on saturday whole day for ppl to get their tags from? it's mind boggling u know.
yeap, i have to agree with u on that! ...

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0256sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:54 PM