16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Movies Green Lantern | live-action on DC Comics superhero, 17/6/2011 | Green Lantern 2 writer hired

TSCalvin871989
post Apr 11 2010, 04:25 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

this:

http://fanartexhibit.wordpress.com/2009/07...-lantern-still/

Fan Art: Ryan Reynolds as The Green Lantern

or this ?

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Pon...e/news/?a=16864

Is this the Green Lantern Movie Costume?

What to you think ComicBookMovie fans? Though Jason says this piece of artwork itself wasn't submitted to the studio, a similar one could very well have. Either way, it's still nice to see another concept piece for the film. Would you be happy with this style of uniform if Ryan Reynolds were to wear it in Martin Campbell's Green Lantern?
TSCalvin871989
post Apr 12 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.slashfilm.com/2010/04/11/exclus...st-entirely-cg/

Exclusive: Green Lantern’s Suit Will Be CG

Everyone is curious to see what Ryan Reynolds will look like in costume in the big screen adaptation of DC Comics’ Green Lantern. Production started earlier this month in New Orleans, and while the first set photos have begun to hit the web — don’t expect to see Reynolds in the green suit. Not today, not next week, not next month, not ever. So don’t expect to see any leaked shots of Reynolds in the actual suit until Warner Bros makes the official full reveal.

Why not?

Well, because there isn’t a suit.

No suit?

That’s right. No suit. When I was first told this info, I didn’t believe it. I actually didn’t even consider it as a real possibility. But the information I’m about to reveal has since been backed up by two other independent sources. I stand by this information 150% — this is legit. I risk my reputation on it. Ready for it? Okay…

The suit that Ryan wears on set is a grey tracking motion/performance capture suit with led lights. I’ve heard that Ryan Reynolds has been joking on set that Warner Bros is going to make him into a Na’vi when the final cut is released. His joke, not mine. The Green Lantern suit you will see in the final film will be almost entirely created using computers.

That’s right — Green Lantern’s suit will be mostly CG!

Wait, stop…

I said STOP. Comic book fanatics should not freak out just yet…

My source within Warner Bros assures me that the suit will look cool. Don’t let the words “Computer generated” scare you.

I must first remind you that Ngila Dickson, the costumer designer on the film has won an Academy Award for a little film called The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. Maybe you’ve seen it before? Don’t let her Xena: Warrior Princess roots scare you, she worked on the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Last Samurai (another film which earned her an Oscar nomination), The Illusionist, Blood Diamond and The International. She has an impressive IMDB page, for sure.

Ngila was tasked with trying to find a way to do something that stands apart from all of the other superheroes spandex suit designs we’ve seen in the past. Honestly, isn’t the look becoming overused?

Remember, the Green Lantern suit is something that should look alien — it needs to seem other worldly. It encompasses any creature that wears the ring, and Hal Jordan is the first human to ever wear the suit. This was a chance for Dickson to do something different. You also have to consider that Hal changes into the suit multiple times in mid scene, and the cg also allows him to do this.

I’ve heard that when the cg is complete, the suit will look like a manifestation of his power. And while I couldn’t confirm this, I’ve heard that DC’s Chief Creative Officer Geoff Johns has seen the designs and given them his blessing.

The suit is lined with white LEDs, which I initially thought might be used to give a practical glow (kind of like how Billy Crudup wore blue LEDs to give the actors around Dr. Manhattan a blue glow in Watchmen), but I’ve since been told might just be for mo-cap tracking purposes.

Here is some other information I’ve learned about the production:

- That leaked set photo of the silver ship is indeed Abin Sur’s crashed spaceship
- Temura Morrison looks legit as Abin Sur, although his head isn’t as elongated as in the concept art photos leaked awhile back.
- Peter Sarsgaard’s makeup tests with the enlarged head look cool. He has wild hair, kind of like Jason Lee in “My Name is Earl” and, of course, the kind of traditional Hector Hammond stache.
- I’m told that Reynolds is awesome in the role. He’s knocking it out of the park so far.
- The screenplay that leaked online is a very old draft. I’ve been told that the villains have changed a bit and that the rewritten script is supposedly way better in the end.

firedauz
post Jun 5 2010, 08:29 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Sauce: http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles...ntern-promo-art
First Look at Green Lantern Promo Art
"Anyone Can Be Chosen"

Scoopers 'JokerLedger' and 'dnno1' provided us with this first look at promo artwork for Warner Bros. Pictures' Green Lantern, as well as a promo image from Warner Bros. Consumer Products featuring their heroes in comic form with Green Latnern center stage. The images come from License! Global which is gearing up for their big licensing show in Las Vegas next week.

Green Lantern, directed by Martin Campbell (GoldenEye, Casino Royale), stars Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively, Peter Sarsgaard, Tim Robbins, Mark Strong, Taika Waititi, Temuera Morrison, Angela Bassett, Jay O. Sanders and Jon Tenney. Warner Bros. will release the anticipated film in 3D and 2D theaters on June 17, 2011.

I seriously can't wait for this movie to come out next year rclxm9.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 5 2010, 11:47 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

REYNOLDS FOR PRESIDENT!
V3nz
post Jun 6 2010, 02:17 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

now only i know Ryan as Green Lantern...

but what about his character about Deadpool? hmm.gif

he should just represent one hero man sweat.gif

and Deapool and Green Lantern seems to be showing at the same year doh.gif
Klesk
post Jun 6 2010, 09:31 AM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 6 2010, 02:17 AM)
now only i know Ryan as Green Lantern...

but what about his character about Deadpool? hmm.gif

he should just represent one hero man sweat.gif

and Deapool and Green Lantern seems to be showing at the same year doh.gif
Green Lantern's DC and Deadpool's Marvel mang... sweat.gif
peinsama
post Jun 6 2010, 02:26 PM

Au fait
725 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Jun 6 2010, 09:31 AM)
Imagine if there is marvel vs dc superheroes movie coming soon
Kyoyagami
post Jun 6 2010, 11:48 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

First things first,

Superman Vs. Batman.
n00b13
post Jun 7 2010, 01:09 AM

364 posts

"Anyone can be chosen"?

Whoever wrote that line obviously knows jack shit about GL. rolleyes.gif

V3nz
post Jun 7 2010, 01:43 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Jun 6 2010, 09:31 AM)
i know lah

but i also know many people that dun understand movie business one

will get confuse when the see him as Green lantern and Deadpool all together

they'll like "eh,isn't him Deadpool meh?ceh!suddenly become green lantern"

you know what i mean? hmm.gif
azxel
post Jun 7 2010, 10:49 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 6 2010, 11:48 PM)
First things first,

Superman Vs. Batman.
Hmm.. No thanks... I honestly think that won't really be interesting at all.
Besides, Superman movies usually make Supes kinda lame...
Kyoyagami
post Jun 7 2010, 02:30 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jun 7 2010, 10:49 AM)
That, sadly, I agree. Just remembering watching I Am Legend that had that logo in the movie. It was a WB movie right?
n00b13
post Jun 8 2010, 01:31 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 7 2010, 01:43 AM)
i know lah

but i also know many people that dun understand movie business one

will get confuse when the see him as Green lantern and Deadpool all together

they'll like "eh,isn't him Deadpool meh?ceh!suddenly become green lantern"

you know what i mean? hmm.gif
Deadpool never takes off his mask mah. biggrin.gif

V3nz
post Jun 8 2010, 01:58 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 8 2010, 01:31 AM)
Deadpool never takes off his mask mah.  biggrin.gif
haha,hope that they did good on his costume

the x-men deadpool look like freak... sweat.gif

although i'm not a comic fans but i love deadpool style wub.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 8 2010, 09:41 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I think Ryan may have an issue with the mask. But to Deadpool, the mask is very important to him. Touch it and you'll lose your hands.

For green lantern, not an issue I guess, but he better be able to have that eye patch thingy on his head. Not sure what its called. tongue.gif
bug_vengeance
post Jun 8 2010, 09:48 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jun 7 2010, 10:49 AM)
true
the last time i enjoy watching superman,was back then when i was a kid
heheh
n00b13
post Jun 9 2010, 12:35 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 8 2010, 09:41 AM)
I think Ryan may have an issue with the mask. But to Deadpool, the mask is very important to him. Touch it and you'll lose your hands.
Reynolds is a fan of the Deadpool comics, so I think he'll be willing to be faithful.

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 8 2010, 09:41 AM)
For green lantern, not an issue I guess, but he better be able to have that eye patch thingy on his head. Not sure what its called. tongue.gif
It's called a mask. biggrin.gif

Kyoyagami
post Jun 9 2010, 12:39 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Mask also ah? tongue.gif My bad! haha.
TSCalvin871989
post Jun 10 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.heatvisionblog.com/2010/06/warn...-exclusive.html

Warners hires writers for 'Green Lantern 2'

“Green Lantern” is a year away from release, but Warner Bros. already is starting development on a sequel.

The studio has hired Greg Berlanti, Michael Green and Marc Guggenheim, all of whom worked on the “Lantern” screenplay, to write a treatment for the second installment.

The trio has also been tapped to pen the treatment for the silver-screen incarnation of “The Flash.”

Under the deal, they would then go on to write the screenplay for one of the two projects, though which one has not been determined.

“Lantern” is shooting in New Orleans under the direction of Martin Campbell with Ryan Reynolds starring as the emerald ring-wielding DC Comics superhero who is part of an intergalactic police force known as the Green Lantern Corps.

Development on a second installment this far out from a movie’s release date is rare, signaling the studio’s confidence in what it sees so far.

It also appears to be the first moves the studio is making under its newly configured relationship with DC.

In September, DC was reorganized to bring it closer to Warners, with Diane Nelson named president of newly created DC Entertainment. In February, artist Jim Lee and executive editor Dan DiDio were named publishers of DC Comics. Star writer Geoff Johns was appointed chief creative officer of DCE, with the aim of bridging the comics and filmed entertainment sides.

With new Batman and Superman films in the writing stages and “Lantern” filming, the team thought “Flash” was the next logical hero to tackle. 

Development on a feature version of the scarlet speedster has gone through several false starts over the years, but the character is close to Johns’ heart. The writer recently brought back to prominence one version of the character not seen since the mid-1980s and is working on a relaunch of the series.

Kyoyagami
post Jun 11 2010, 12:39 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

kasi tunjuk trailer dulu lah. cannot tahan my fave actor edy. tongue.gif

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:42 AM