Intel Burn Test, New Stress Test Program

TS00007kel
post Aug 14 2008, 11:57 AM, updated 18y ago

397 posts

Supposedly much better as 8 mins of this = 40 hrs of Prime95 and up to 22C hotter!
Plan to try it tonight once i get home. wink.gif

Source

This post has been edited by 00007kel: Aug 14 2008, 12:01 PM
nimrod2
post Aug 14 2008, 12:06 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

lolz not scared it fries your proc ah?

sweat.gif

ktek
post Aug 14 2008, 12:08 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

lol for myself prime/stress prime stable is good enough.
this one is REAL BURN~ sweat.gif
TS00007kel
post Aug 14 2008, 12:10 PM

397 posts

haha, well at least it guarantees near absolute stability.. tongue.gif

But yeah i'm kinda worried abt the frying part myself tongue.gif
lichyetan
post Aug 14 2008, 12:59 PM

2,295 posts

just tested... stress my proc really alot... need add vcore to pass 6 round of test...

here is the SS:

compare to Prime test : sweat.gif

temps taken using everest core temp... -10c for the core temp for real temp readings for 45nm proc(Q9550)...
its really burning sweat.gif even watercooling also reaching its limit on a hot noon...

but i think its suitable for 24/7 since i guess no software could stress the proc more than prime95, so wouldnt stress the proc like this software does... tongue.gif

tis software good for those lazy to run primetest for 12 hours + ppl... just like me laugh.gif
fesick
post Aug 14 2008, 01:49 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

tis will save cost n time..

cyloh
post Aug 14 2008, 04:38 PM

894 posts

Many thanks for the news TS. U have saved me dozens of 12hr prime sessions now. smile.gif
TS00007kel
post Aug 14 2008, 07:53 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Aug 14 2008, 01:49 PM)
tis will save cost n time..
yup seriously, 12hr prime95 really can suck electricity bills cool2.gif

QUOTE(cyloh @ Aug 14 2008, 04:38 PM)
Many thanks for the news TS. U have saved me dozens of 12hr prime sessions now. smile.gif
blush.gif
glad to serve.... notworthy.gif

Passed the test, but my temps hitting up to 89C!!!!!!! sweat.gif sweat.gif
clocked down a little, can boil water d....
really gila this tool, as prime95 max only hovered below 80C...

This post has been edited by 00007kel: Aug 14 2008, 08:52 PM

ahsiah
post Aug 14 2008, 08:36 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

I used this utility to stress my system. I am not sure is it reliable or not. Please comment so that we can trust this utility for future oc checking tool.
lichyetan
post Aug 14 2008, 08:52 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Aug 14 2008, 08:36 PM)
I used this utility to stress my system. I am not sure is it reliable or not. Please comment so that we can trust this utility for future oc checking tool.
i primed my proc 8 hours + b4 stress with this software... guess wat ? my pc straight away fail the test and bsod... up one notch of vcore in the bios... well stable then, passed 15 loop tests.... i think its sufficient enough....
a1098113
post Aug 14 2008, 08:59 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

is this the same as the intel TAT ?
Kenneth85
post Aug 14 2008, 09:00 PM

208 posts

lol, i'm sure it will burn my air cooled proc... lol
SUSjoe_star
post Aug 14 2008, 09:06 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Strangely im not seeing an increase in temp at 3ghz on stock volts. Temps are the same as prime95. Perhaps it makes a diff at higher clocks.
tkh_1001
post Aug 14 2008, 10:41 PM

2,547 posts

this software sent my pc to AUTO RESTART within 3 minutes doh.gif

damn stressful.....i don think i can use this software unless i have good cooling sweat.gif

but then i like it cos it can utilise 4gb thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Aug 14 2008, 10:42 PM
SUSjoe_star
post Aug 14 2008, 10:59 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

3.4ghz bios vcore 1.6v - Linpack

3.4ghz bios vcore 1.6v - Orthos

Note, the slightly lower vcore in orthos is due to vdroop, which fluctuates thruout. It was the same for both applications.

So....it doesnt seem to help add much heat to duallies(pentium dual cores to be precise) I guess, though yea....it gives a very quick stability result thumbup.gif

Btw, is this usable with AMD procs?
TS00007kel
post Aug 15 2008, 12:07 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Aug 14 2008, 10:59 PM)

Btw, is this usable with AMD procs?
errr, the Linpack is written by Intel for Intel i believe.... but if the stress codes are generic enough it may work... any AMD user care to try?

but there's a possibility it wont stress as well since it isn't Intel architecture (since this was built specificallly for that)? then again don't quote me on this... jz a speculation tongue.gif

calling to AMD OCers to take up the challenge! rclxm9.gif
AMDAthlon
post Aug 15 2008, 12:52 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Hmm i will try it.
It doesnt work..I guess
i open the program,after few settings it crashed doh.gif
Using Vista thou

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Aug 15 2008, 01:05 PM
lichyetan
post Aug 15 2008, 01:34 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Aug 15 2008, 12:52 PM)
Hmm i will try it.
It doesnt work..I guess
i open the program,after few settings it crashed doh.gif
Using Vista thou
try disable the error checking if the program can start, cause i also facing crashing problem sometimes when running with error checking = yes.... from wat i know, the error checking feature are just implemented this version, hence i guess its not perfect stable yet...

if error checking off, try compare the residual (norm) value, if its all same, then its stable....
BFGWong
post Aug 15 2008, 06:02 PM

時代革命
1,998 posts

Excellent stuff! thumbup.gif

I can see my core temps go up 5C over the normal (running BOINC 24/7), and finally don't have to do the old stability test of running Prime95 in the morning, go back from work in the evening to find system crashed and dunno the timing etc etc, not to mention the lost of shrubberies. For overclockers with limited time, this is really excellent stuff...

Now, cant wait to go back and see how hot those notebook C2 cpus goes when taking this *evil laugh*

fesick
post Aug 15 2008, 07:07 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

written by intel for intel..?
maybe this what they use on lab
wan_d7
post Aug 15 2008, 10:14 PM

182 posts

scary leh..haha if my system not stable will the program tell the error or it just BSOD?
ahsiah
post Aug 15 2008, 10:25 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(wan_d7 @ Aug 15 2008, 10:14 PM)
scary leh..haha if my system not stable will the program tell the error or it just BSOD?
After running the program, I realized I got to raise my cpu voltage much higher.
TS00007kel
post Aug 15 2008, 11:15 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Aug 15 2008, 07:07 PM)
written by intel for intel..?
maybe this what they use on lab
this is indeed what they use for quality control check before releasing the processors for sale icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(wan_d7 @ Aug 15 2008, 10:14 PM)
if its minor error then the program will mention... a major one it may cause it to BSOD haha.. sweat.gif
match7274
post Aug 16 2008, 07:09 PM

132 posts

huhu..this was good stuff !! thanks to TS thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

3.6ghz 24/7
max temp @ 66'c with passed 5test rclxm9.gif
not bad for air cooled with xigmatek1283 tongue.gif

cheerz rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by match7274: Aug 16 2008, 07:11 PM
SUSjoe_star
post Aug 16 2008, 09:51 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Yup.........confirmed not working for AMD. Sigh.....when will AMD come out with smth like this sad.gif
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Aug 16 2008, 10:18 PM

336 posts

Thanks TS for good stuff... my more than 12 hours prime stable has been beaten by this software less than 2 minute... very recommended software... save our time and money
sniper69
post Aug 17 2008, 02:24 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

i got this error doh.gif mellow.gif

lichyetan
post Aug 17 2008, 04:42 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Aug 17 2008, 02:24 PM)
i got this error doh.gif mellow.gif

try enable some pagefile... i also facing this trouble w/o a pagefile...
sniper69
post Aug 17 2008, 05:35 PM

7,173 posts

ok done, but i got another error forced to kill the program doh.gif

at last, i just test on 1/2 memory tested doh.gif sad.gif why aaa?
lichyetan
post Aug 17 2008, 05:43 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Aug 17 2008, 05:35 PM)

ermmm... not sure... but i read some posts over xtremesystems tht mentioning 1/2 memory test are useless... it didnt spot an error for a 3 hour prime error setup, and while the max memory test are useful... mayb 1/2 memory only can ensure cpu stability and not memeory... dunno tht guy over there running which prime though...
sniper69
post Aug 17 2008, 05:45 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Aug 17 2008, 05:43 PM)
ermmm... not sure... but i read some posts over xtremesystems tht mentioning 1/2 memory test are useless... it didnt spot an error for a 3 hour prime error setup, and while the max memory test are useful... mayb 1/2 memory only can ensure cpu stability and not memeory... dunno tht guy over there running which prime though...
yeap, it's useless, but that's what i can run for now sad.gif, i can't set it on maximum stress i don't know why though doh.gif shakehead.gif
SUSjoe_star
post Aug 17 2008, 07:21 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

I wudnt say its useless. Even the lowest setting proved some of my 1 hr prime stable tests wrong.
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Aug 22 2008, 04:30 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Aug 17 2008, 05:35 PM)

U mean u got pop up message to close the program, U using vista? Maybe the overclocking stability is the cause, I'm also like this at 1st, but after I change the overclocking setting @ default, it run fine. After that I need to raise the vcore and fsb voltage 2 to 3 level more for the same frequencies I used b4

This post has been edited by aLWAYStHEsAME: Aug 27 2008, 10:24 AM
tkh_1001
post Aug 23 2008, 12:45 PM

2,547 posts

damn...this burn test is crazy...

i manage to pass 7 hours prime 95 small fft under 3.3ghz with my q9450 but it only pass two test when running this intel burn test doh.gif
fesick
post Aug 23 2008, 10:05 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

ye larr..ady got his q9450,dont pretend to have q6600 ler..hihi
anyway,i did try stress again today,after use new setting..cant resist the temp lor..only when i change to Wc maybe.

toughnut
post Aug 24 2008, 12:45 AM

3,239 posts

this software rocks. definitely more stressful than prime95. here's SS of 20 loops of IBT goodness biggrin.gif

tkh_1001
post Aug 24 2008, 02:43 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Aug 23 2008, 10:05 PM)
ye larr..ady got his q9450,dont pretend to have q6600 ler..hihi
anyway,i did try stress again today,after use new setting..cant resist the temp lor..only when i change to Wc maybe.
weh, u did on e8400 oso very hot ar?

QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 24 2008, 12:45 AM)
this software rocks. definitely more stressful than prime95. here's SS of 20 loops of IBT goodness biggrin.gif

IBT champion la u thumbup.gif

but i kesian ur proc sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Aug 24 2008, 02:44 AM
fesick
post Aug 24 2008, 08:38 AM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

ya weh, its very2 hot

tkh_1001
post Aug 26 2008, 11:18 PM

2,547 posts

guys...latest update...

this intel burn test really rules....

i can pass OCCT 1 hour but still failed again when running 5 loops...

in the 5 loops i only pass one test doh.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Aug 26 2008, 11:18 PM
cyloh
post Aug 26 2008, 11:38 PM

894 posts

One thing to keep in mind with this tool.

I have passed 10 loops alot then only to find out i fail 1~3 tests using 20 loops. Best to keep it to 20 loops. With that... it'll take u roughly 20~25mins to find out you're "rock solid heart touching" stable or not tongue.gif
tech_frix
post Aug 26 2008, 11:41 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Aug 24 2008, 08:38 AM)
ya weh, its very2 hot
hot ka like dat??
i thought it was normal... rolleyes.gif
SUSjoe_star
post Aug 26 2008, 11:52 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Something I noticed, not sure if it affects everyone or not. But running applications or surfing in the background while running the test can actually cause it to show errors. Anyone else experience this?
hilmiangah
post Aug 27 2008, 12:26 AM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

i do and i think u cant run maximum stress test with 4gb of ram.
it always crash on me...
cyloh
post Aug 27 2008, 01:00 AM

894 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Aug 26 2008, 11:52 PM)
Something I noticed, not sure if it affects everyone or not. But running applications or surfing in the background while running the test can actually cause it to show errors. Anyone else experience this?
Yeah i noticed that too. I think your oc still not stable enough that way.
I did some experiments myself......

Scenario 1.
Ran 20 loops and leave it be. Passed.

Scenario 2.
Ran 20 loops and watch a movie.... BSOD!!!!

Scenario 3.
Tweaked memory abit... ran 20 loops plus a movie to go along. Passed rclxm9.gif
Cyclone87
post Aug 27 2008, 08:07 AM

1,254 posts

I have run my PC 40 loops and 60 loops of maximum stress before i go sleep this two days.All success , but then my pc is not stable. It hang occasionally. Even Othros give me random error after 3 hours, but IBT didnt give me any error even the temp is higher by 15C+.

This post has been edited by Cyclone87: Aug 27 2008, 08:07 AM
SUSjoe_star
post Aug 27 2008, 01:03 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(cyloh @ Aug 27 2008, 01:00 AM)
Yeah i noticed that too. I think your oc still not stable enough that way.
I did some experiments myself......

Scenario 1.
Ran 20 loops and leave it be. Passed.

Scenario 2.
Ran 20 loops and watch a movie.... BSOD!!!!

Scenario 3.
Tweaked memory abit... ran 20 loops plus a movie to go along. Passed  rclxm9.gif
Hmm....I've never experienced crashes or BSODS at all actually, just unmatched residuals. So makes me wonder if running programs while stressing somehow inteferes with the calculations and causes this hmm.gif Bcoz the voltages that i tested at had infact pass 1-2 hours of orthos, though that itself is not a confirm sign of stability i know

This post has been edited by joe_star: Aug 27 2008, 05:15 PM
hilmiangah
post Aug 27 2008, 02:41 PM

5,602 posts

well if my oc is not stable its either restart or give me unmatched residual.
TS00007kel
post Aug 27 2008, 10:20 PM

397 posts

wah so keng meh multi-task testing... even Intel themselves don't do that.. blink.gif
in fact, i doubt any normal intensive usage can reach the level of this stress test, let alone multi tasking it... sweat.gif

well you can try what this guy did... insane fella
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=198833

This post has been edited by 00007kel: Aug 27 2008, 10:25 PM
manutd #1 fan
post Aug 28 2008, 10:52 AM

124 posts

Hi all,
noobs here.
Here's my tries on IBT using X3320 & P45-DS3 mobo.

@3GHZ (400x7.5)
20 tests passed with flying colours. rclxm9.gif

@3.375 (450x7.5)
5 tests passed. thumbup.gif

but,
20 tests failed. all the norm value not equal. cry.gif

Seems to hit the FSB wall coz when i increase fsb to 455, BSOD when test with IBT. 460 can't even boot. cry.gif cry.gif

All settings beside FSB is auto, DRAM timing, DRAM divider, Vcore auto.
i'm not sure becoz of the mobo or the RAM. I'm using OCZ DDR2 6400 SLI 2 GB kit.

Will it be different if i use DDR2 8500 RAM?
any specific settings that i need to change?

I want to use at least 3.5GHz though @3GHz is happy already.
OC4/3
post Aug 28 2008, 11:41 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(manutd #1 fan @ Aug 28 2008, 10:52 AM)
Hi all,
noobs here.
Here's my tries on IBT using X3320 & P45-DS3 mobo.

@3GHZ (400x7.5)
20 tests passed with flying colours. rclxm9.gif

@3.375 (450x7.5)
5 tests passed. thumbup.gif

but,
20 tests failed. all the norm value not equal. cry.gif

Seems to hit the FSB wall coz when i increase fsb to 455, BSOD when test with IBT. 460 can't even boot. cry.gif cry.gif

All settings beside FSB is auto, DRAM timing, DRAM divider, Vcore auto.
i'm not sure becoz of the mobo or the RAM. I'm using OCZ DDR2 6400 SLI 2 GB kit.

Will it be different if i use DDR2 8500 RAM?
any specific settings that i need to change?

I want to use at least 3.5GHz though @3GHz is happy already.
Try increase VTT or also known as FSB Termination Voltage.
manutd #1 fan
post Aug 28 2008, 12:07 PM

124 posts

@OC4/3:
will try tonight.
i think i have seen it below the vcore setting inside the bios.
thanks! thumbup.gif

do i have to set the ram divider to 1:1?
what about the timing? default timing for my ram is 4-4-4-15 if im not mistaken. but i leave it all on auto. maybe need to tweak manually.

Added on August 29, 2008, 10:21 amwohooo...
finally 450MHz stable. well, at least stable for 20 tests on IBT. rclxm9.gif
but have to increase vcore to 1.4v & ram voltage to 2.04v
temp reached the BIG 8 already. cry.gif
anyway, which one can we trust the most? core temp or real temp?
got different reading from this two.

450MHz x 7.5 (3375 MHz) - IBT 20 tests passed! icon_rolleyes.gif

still can't passed ibt test above 450. first test failed already. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by manutd #1 fan: Aug 29 2008, 10:21 AM
suppaman
post Aug 29 2008, 01:45 PM

299 posts

Congrats bro
tesla_rage
post Aug 29 2008, 03:15 PM

Gundam 00
1,357 posts

I am in the office right now, and I noticed this thread.

Surprisingly, this tool even runs on Ubuntu (via Wine) biggrin.gif

fesick
post Aug 29 2008, 08:32 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Aug 26 2008, 11:41 PM)
hot ka like dat??
i thought it was normal... rolleyes.gif
hot weh..if i use prime only till 57c max
serez
post Aug 30 2008, 10:33 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

oh.. too hot ka? sweat.gif
is it applicable on mobile proc eg t7500? i just want to test what is maximum temp i could get w/o overclock bcoz i plan to run folding on my laptop.. but if so hot.. then i dont dare to do it lor sweat.gif
hilmiangah
post Aug 31 2008, 01:12 AM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Aug 30 2008, 10:33 PM)
oh.. too hot ka? sweat.gif
is it applicable on mobile proc eg t7500? i just want to test what is maximum temp i could get w/o overclock bcoz i plan to run folding on my laptop.. but if so hot.. then i dont dare to do it lor sweat.gif
sure u can.
ahsiah
post Aug 31 2008, 10:54 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Aug 27 2008, 12:26 AM)
i do and i think u cant run maximum stress test with 4gb of ram.
it always crash on me...
I got this problem too. Do you guys got this problem as well?

I am not sure this is normal or not.
tkh_1001
post Aug 31 2008, 01:37 PM

2,547 posts

i am stressing using 4gb of ram too...

n so far no problem yet...but i only stress for 5 loops nia notworthy.gif
hilmiangah
post Aug 31 2008, 02:06 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Aug 31 2008, 10:54 AM)
I got this problem too. Do you guys got this problem as well?

I am not sure this is normal or not.
i know what cause it.
windows 32 bit....
it cant detect the full capacity of the ram.on my system it can only detect 3.25gb..
fesick
post Aug 31 2008, 04:55 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Aug 31 2008, 01:37 PM)
i am stressing using 4gb of ram too...

n so far no problem yet...but i only stress for 5 loops nia notworthy.gif
me too,but i try 9 loops but fail.. biggrin.gif
xpresside
post Sep 1 2008, 04:15 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Aug 31 2008, 04:55 PM)
me too,but i try 9 loops but fail..  biggrin.gif
i tried 10loops, 9/10 pass 1 fail doh.gif
ahsiah
post Sep 2 2008, 11:27 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Aug 31 2008, 02:06 PM)
i know what cause it.
windows 32 bit....
it cant detect the full capacity of the ram.on my system it can only detect 3.25gb..
@hilmiangah,

so, you means it is due to the IntelBurnTest failed to detect the correct RAM in Windows XP and cause the failure. In Windows Vista SP1, it is fine?
hilmiangah
post Sep 2 2008, 02:59 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Sep 2 2008, 11:27 AM)
@hilmiangah,

so, you means it is due to the IntelBurnTest failed to detect the correct RAM in Windows XP and cause the failure. In Windows Vista SP1, it is fine?
it can only detect the 4gb of memory if u are running a 64 bit version of windows.
doesnt matter if it xp or vista.
ahsiah
post Sep 2 2008, 08:49 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 2 2008, 02:59 PM)
it can only detect the 4gb of memory if u are running a 64 bit version of windows.
doesnt matter if it xp or vista.
So, in my system, I got 4gb and if I want to run Intel Burn Test. What I can do? Please advice.
hilmiangah
post Sep 3 2008, 01:03 AM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Sep 2 2008, 08:49 PM)
So, in my system, I got 4gb and if I want to run Intel Burn Test. What I can do? Please advice.
well how much does ur windows detect ur ram???
ahsiah
post Sep 3 2008, 08:29 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 3 2008, 01:03 AM)
well how much does ur windows detect ur ram???
Windows XP detect my system as 3072MB RAM and Intel Burn Test detect my system as 2594MB. Please refer to screen shot below.

This post has been edited by ahsiah: Sep 3 2008, 08:48 PM
fesick
post Sep 3 2008, 08:56 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Sep 1 2008, 04:15 PM)
i tried 10loops, 9/10 pass 1 fail  doh.gif
haha..same with me..try i try 9 loop the rest can pass but 1 fail

hilmiangah
post Sep 3 2008, 09:14 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Sep 3 2008, 08:29 PM)
Windows XP detect my system as 3072MB RAM and Intel Burn Test detect my system as 2594MB. Please refer to screen shot below.

well try entering custom value on the ibt.
select no.4 and enter either one of those ram value and see if u can run it.
im sorry but im no expert in this im just try to help you out.
ahsiah
post Sep 3 2008, 10:35 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 3 2008, 09:14 PM)
well try entering custom value on the ibt.
select no.4 and enter either one of those ram value and see if u can run it.
im sorry but im no expert in this im just try to help you out.
I didn't see a option 4 to key in Custom Value. Please help.
hilmiangah
post Sep 3 2008, 11:01 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Sep 3 2008, 10:35 PM)
I didn't see a option 4 to key in Custom Value. Please help.
what i mean is customize stress level.
try put in either one of ur ram value that u post earlier.
see whether u can run it.
ahsiah
post Sep 4 2008, 09:27 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 3 2008, 11:01 PM)
what i mean is customize stress level.
try put in either one of ur ram value that u post earlier.
see whether u can run it.
You mean I should take out 2 slot of RAM and make it as 2GB of RAM for running IBT?
8tvt
post Sep 8 2008, 12:58 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

get this version 1.6..
http://downloads.guru3d.com/IntelBurnTest-...nload-2047.html
SlayerXT
post Sep 8 2008, 01:29 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

This helps saving lots of time and money. TQ thread starter.
ahsiah
post Sep 8 2008, 03:45 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

All Sifu, who know what is the change log for version 1.6 with previous version?
fesick
post Sep 8 2008, 04:21 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

Added updated 32-bit and 64-bit Intel® Linpack binaries from Intel®

when u dload inside got changelog file mah
hilmiangah
post Sep 8 2008, 05:43 PM

5,602 posts

yep but what does it exactly mean????
fesick
post Sep 8 2008, 06:20 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

mm..?its a computer file encoded in binary form for processing purposes
just correct me for those who think that i wrong

hilmiangah
post Sep 8 2008, 06:56 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Sep 8 2008, 06:20 PM)
mm..?its a computer file encoded in binary form for processing purposes
just correct me for those who think that i wrong
how to correct you bcoz i dont think many people here know what that mean anyways.
Alienwarez
post Sep 8 2008, 07:15 PM

Protégé
546 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Sep 3 2008, 08:29 PM)
same wit me.... i cannot full stress my cpu.Intel burn test software will got error...only can 1/2 stress.... shakehead.gif
8tvt
post Sep 9 2008, 11:19 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(Alienwarez @ Sep 8 2008, 07:15 PM)
same wit me.... i cannot full stress my cpu.Intel burn test software will got error...only can 1/2 stress.... shakehead.gif
mean the voltage supply is not right..
Alienwarez
post Sep 9 2008, 01:26 PM

Protégé
546 posts

not got bsod..my windows stable after run OCCT...the problem is Intel burn test software will get error if want full strees.need close the the software...

maybe the problem occured i use 4gb ram....
hilmiangah
post Sep 9 2008, 01:30 PM

5,602 posts

try up ur vcore a bit.
i read that someone use the same proc like mine (e2180) and oc it too 3.2 on 1.345 vcore ran orthos 24 hours straight pass and ran ibt for 3 minutes his rig bsod.after up his vcore to over 1.4 only then got no error or bsod.
8tvt
post Sep 9 2008, 01:30 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i also using 4gb.. i use other stress tools also.. cannot reach 80C after 5minutes.. this one stress more..
hilmiangah
post Sep 9 2008, 01:32 PM

5,602 posts

yep.
its that damn stressful.
coolkwc
post Sep 10 2008, 11:00 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

I using E2160 on Gigabtye 965P-DS3 mobo and OC to 3.3ghz @ 1.55Vcore, 0.2V for FSB and MCH.... sweat.gif 1.45Vcore fail after 4-5 cycle, 1.5V fail after 1.5-2hours, only 1.55 pass 97 out of 100n cycle... sweat.gif
zubai
post Sep 10 2008, 11:52 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(Alienwarez @ Sep 9 2008, 01:26 PM)
not got bsod..my windows stable after run OCCT...the problem is Intel burn test software will get error if want full strees.need close the the software...

maybe the problem occured i use 4gb ram....
Same here, also using 4gb ram. The software crashed after entering the '5 or more is recommended'. Using vista x64.
hilmiangah
post Sep 10 2008, 12:08 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 10 2008, 11:00 AM)
I using E2160 on Gigabtye 965P-DS3 mobo and OC to 3.3ghz @ 1.55Vcore, 0.2V for FSB and MCH.... sweat.gif 1.45Vcore fail after 4-5 cycle, 1.5V fail after 1.5-2hours, only 1.55 pass 97 out of 100n cycle... sweat.gif
damn.i never tried more than 10 cycle.but i only oc my 2180 to 3.2@1.425.
zubai
post Sep 10 2008, 08:04 PM

347 posts

Manage to get the software working. I failed 3 out of 5 tests sweat.gif . Looks like 5 times is enough for me.
fesick
post Sep 10 2008, 11:05 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

recmended cycle is more than 5..
try atleast 6 la.. tongue.gif
8tvt
post Sep 11 2008, 09:16 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i still using the old version.. but suddenly cannot run? and it report my ram not enough? weird..

as some time will show ram avail 1816, 2806, 2108 what ever...

orthos is ok.. will try new version later..
coolkwc
post Sep 11 2008, 09:50 AM

3,112 posts

yesterday just try add more voltage to 1.55675Vcore, now passed 100 out of 100 flex.gif thumbup.gif

anyway, the temp of Orthos test 5C higher than using Intelburn test, so it claimed 22C higher than competitive software not exist actually...

BTW, my core temp = 66C (IntelBurn), 71C(Orthos)

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Sep 11 2008, 10:23 AM
zubai
post Sep 11 2008, 10:38 AM

347 posts

I'll go more than 5 times after I passed all 5 tests tongue.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 11 2008, 12:09 PM

5,602 posts

for me 10 cycle is enough.
and yes orthos does run hotter than ibt.
zubai
post Sep 12 2008, 03:05 PM

347 posts

Looks like the temp vary from user to user. My ibt temp is 15C hotter than occt, jumping to 67C (c2d 3.25 ghz 1.45 vcore) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zubai: Sep 12 2008, 03:06 PM
coolkwc
post Sep 12 2008, 04:02 PM

3,112 posts

We talk about Orthos, not OCCT...OCCT can't full load my proc even single core...
boon.fong
post Sep 12 2008, 04:05 PM

199 posts

hi guys, how come my occt temp is about 15c higher than real temp. is it correct?
coolkwc
post Sep 12 2008, 04:10 PM

3,112 posts

trust your realtemp and coretemp rather than the reading from OCCT...
hilmiangah
post Sep 12 2008, 05:20 PM

5,602 posts

yes i cant run occt bcoz after a few minutes it said that my proc temp is too hot.

i have a new problem with ibt.it seems that i cant run it anymore with 3gb of ram.wonder why and who have the same prob as me....
Alienwarez
post Sep 12 2008, 06:58 PM

Protégé
546 posts

same problem with me?refer my post before..post#81
hilmiangah
post Sep 12 2008, 08:06 PM

5,602 posts

u even have the same proc at the same oc setting.
but i dont mind bcoz i only add more ram not change the oc setting so i take it as i dont need to stresstest it again.
fenzodahl512
post Sep 12 2008, 09:48 PM

1,089 posts

This is pass right? biggrin.gif

hilmiangah
post Sep 12 2008, 09:51 PM

5,602 posts

yep that is a pass but why 8????
is it because when u try 10 the 9th pass fail rite.....
and what cooler did u use??
fenzodahl512
post Sep 12 2008, 09:53 PM

1,089 posts

nope.. Because that's the first time I test.. I just read they say 5 or higher, so I just press 8... I'll try 10 round after this..

Cooler? Thermaltake one.. The BigTyphoon,,

By the way, how many round you recommend?

This post has been edited by fenzodahl512: Sep 12 2008, 09:54 PM
hilmiangah
post Sep 12 2008, 11:34 PM

5,602 posts

at least 10 but someone here done a 100 pass but failed 2 of them i think.
8tvt
post Sep 13 2008, 12:56 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

why the ram report wrongly?
now i can't use this utility.. weird..
fenzodahl512
post Sep 13 2008, 04:45 AM

1,089 posts

Hoooraaayyyy.... I passed 50 roundsss rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
bokbeng
post Sep 13 2008, 08:22 AM

132 posts

just a question,
by using this this software, can we just ignore others like orthos and prime95?
8tvt
post Sep 13 2008, 09:57 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(bokbeng @ Sep 13 2008, 08:22 AM)
just a question,
by using this this software, can we just ignore others like orthos and prime95?
as u wish..
hilmiangah
post Sep 13 2008, 03:49 PM

5,602 posts

but like me i cant use this prog anymore cost im using more than 2gb of ram.
fesick
post Sep 13 2008, 07:17 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

why need more than 50 cycle test?not to argue here but
this program known to abridge the duration of the test
8 mins of this = 40 hrs of Prime95 < source given
so how long it takes to complete 50 cycle?use wisely
fenzodahl512
post Sep 13 2008, 08:33 PM

1,089 posts

No la fesick.. I did 8 pass and hilmiangah said that "why 8?.. you fail the 9 and 10 round rite?" I'm a bit pissed off with the accusation.. And somewhere hilmiangah said that he never tried more than 10 cycles.. Why does he think I want to fake my result and only do 8 rounds? Why does he think that I'll passed only 8 rounds? mad.gif

So, I want to try 50 rounds.. want to try 100 rounds too but I want to use the computer, don't want to stress too long.. Have lots of other works to do.. Just to confirm myself whether my system is really good or not tongue.gif

And I passed 50 rounds rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

About how long it takes, I don't know.. I start around 1.40 am something and when I woke up around 4.45 an I realized it finish already.. So plus-minus three hours lorr..
coolkwc
post Sep 13 2008, 10:31 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(fenzodahl512 @ Sep 13 2008, 08:33 PM)
No la fesick.. I did 8 pass and hilmiangah said that "why 8?.. you fail the 9 and 10 round rite?" I'm a bit pissed off with the accusation.. And somewhere hilmiangah said that he never tried more than 10 cycles.. Why does he think I want to fake my result and only do 8 rounds? Why does he think that I'll passed only 8 rounds?  mad.gif

So, I want to try 50 rounds.. want to try 100 rounds too but I want to use the computer, don't want to stress too long.. Have lots of other works to do.. Just to confirm myself whether my system is really good or not tongue.gif

And I passed 50 rounds  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

About how long it takes, I don't know.. I start around 1.40 am something and when I woke up around 4.45 an I realized it finish already.. So plus-minus three hours lorr..
you over react la bro, i think he was not meant that...because ppl normally will assumed 'round' number such as XX0 rather than some 'odd' no...

Picture worth thousand words... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Sep 13 2008, 11:28 PM
hilmiangah
post Sep 13 2008, 10:58 PM

5,602 posts

sorry la bro.i didn't mean it like that yet you do it anyways so i salute you for that notworthy.gif

and to coolkwc
goddamn that is brave....
coolkwc
post Sep 13 2008, 11:08 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 13 2008, 10:58 PM)

sorry la bro.i didn't mean it like that yet you do it anyways so i salute you for that    notworthy.gif   

and to coolkwc
goddamn that is brave....
Brave?Lol....in terms of heat generated, Orthos 5'C higher than IntelBurn...maybe post Orthos @24hour... laugh.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 13 2008, 11:11 PM

5,602 posts

not the heat but the test is harder than of orthos i think.
how long to finish that.
coolkwc
post Sep 13 2008, 11:17 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 13 2008, 11:11 PM)
not the heat but the test is harder than of orthos i think.
how long to finish that.
24318s = 24318/60/60 = 6.755 = 6 + 0.755*60 =6 hours 45 minutes 18s... tongue.gif:

Actually i did it 3 times adi, first two passed 97 and 95 respectively, after adding 'appropriate' voltage to 'cook' the proc, it finally passed 100% laugh.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 13 2008, 11:20 PM

5,602 posts

thats what i meant.
IBT need more vcore than orthos.orthos is hotter but ibt require more vcore.
fenzodahl512
post Sep 14 2008, 12:26 AM

1,089 posts

coolkwc.. you're right.. hilmiangah, apology for being over reacted.. notworthy.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 14 2008, 12:32 AM

5,602 posts

np la.
and does someone here with 3gb of ram can run IBT??
fesick
post Sep 14 2008, 01:01 AM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

QUOTE(fenzodahl512 @ Sep 13 2008, 08:33 PM)
No la fesick.. I did 8 pass and hilmiangah said that "why 8?.. you fail the 9 and 10 round rite?" I'm a bit pissed off with the accusation.. And somewhere hilmiangah said that he never tried more than 10 cycles.. Why does he think I want to fake my result and only do 8 rounds? Why does he think that I'll passed only 8 rounds?  mad.gif

And I passed 50 rounds  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

oh,no wonder
my bad miss read previous post icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 14 2008, 12:32 AM)
np la.
eh what happen eh?last time on my 4gb also face this
then it just run fine after i reinstall my windows cuz i just happen to format my pc

8tvt
post Sep 14 2008, 01:04 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 14 2008, 12:32 AM)
np la.
i ran it using 4gb last time but now cannot..
hilmiangah
post Sep 14 2008, 01:12 AM

5,602 posts

ya la same like me but last time i only use 2gb but after i upgrade it to 4gb i cant run it anymore.keep getting windows 'this program has stop working'
Alienwarez
post Sep 14 2008, 01:24 AM

Protégé
546 posts

i think,i only face this problem...any solution guys?
matyrze
post Sep 14 2008, 04:48 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

im using e8400 with 4GB of ram..my ibt test failed even when i set the test to run 8 rounds..i tot that my system is not stable for the test, although orthos and prime tests show otherwise..
hilmiangah
post Sep 14 2008, 03:10 PM

5,602 posts

does it failed or it wont run at all???
fesick
post Sep 14 2008, 08:53 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

magic?take out the ram and reinstall..
then try again
8tvt
post Sep 14 2008, 10:35 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 14 2008, 03:10 PM)
kekeke... sure it's different things...
1-if can run and not stable for sure the setting is not right
2-can't even execute <-- this my current case..

weird ler last time why can.. leave it la.. lazy to unplug my ram.. sweat.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 14 2008, 11:15 PM

5,602 posts

well i have the problem like 8tvt.
and i only can run it if i take out 2gb of my ram and run the program using only 2gb.
matyrze
post Sep 15 2008, 12:49 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 14 2008, 03:10 PM)
it can start..but it failed after several rounds sad.gif sad.gif

but actually about my ibt result test..i still run my settting 24/7..and so far so good thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by matyrze: Sep 15 2008, 12:51 AM
hilmiangah
post Sep 15 2008, 01:45 AM

5,602 posts

in my opinion u can still run that oc setting even if its failed IBT.try others like orthos or prime u can still pass it.
matyrze
post Sep 15 2008, 02:04 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 15 2008, 01:45 AM)
in my opinion u can still run that oc setting even if its failed IBT.try others like orthos or prime u can still pass it.
yes my setting can pass orthos prime and occt tests for over 1 and a half hour..that why i take my ibt test result with a pinch of salt smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

but i do sometimes get jealous when people post their screenshots showing that their oc settings pass the ibt test tongue.gif tongue.gif
hilmiangah
post Sep 15 2008, 02:43 AM

5,602 posts

just add more vcore when running ibt then lower it back down for normal usage.
coolkwc
post Sep 15 2008, 02:55 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 15 2008, 02:04 AM)
yes my setting can pass orthos prime and occt tests for over 1 and a half hour..that why i take my ibt test result with a pinch of salt smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif

but i do sometimes get jealous when people post their screenshots showing that their oc settings pass the ibt test tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Orthos and OCCT at only 1 and a half hour? i lol at you...at least 12 hours la...

Added on September 15, 2008, 2:59 am
QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 15 2008, 02:43 AM)
just add more vcore when running ibt then lower it back down for normal usage.
for me i will apply the setting which pass the IBT on my daily usage...i want maximum stability, not use if only want to pass the test...i do a lot of logic simulation, i don't want to end up with BSOD or wrong results....

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Sep 15 2008, 03:03 AM
matyrze
post Sep 15 2008, 03:29 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 15 2008, 02:55 AM)
Orthos and OCCT at only 1 and a half hour? i lol at you...at least 12 hours la...

well..although i can see even some ocers do the tests over a day, i cant see valid reason to run test for at least 12 hours..if i never use my pc for 12 hours continuously, why should i run the test that long?

mind to tell me why the test should be run for at least 12 hours? hmm.gif hmm.gif
coolkwc
post Sep 15 2008, 07:31 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 15 2008, 03:29 AM)
well..although i can see even some ocers do the tests over a day, i cant see valid reason to run test for at least 12 hours..if i never use my pc for 12 hours continuously, why should i run the test that long?

mind to tell me why the test should be run for at least 12 hours? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
maybe based on this

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 15 2008, 12:49 AM)
it can start..but it failed after several rounds sad.gif  sad.gif

but actually about my ibt result test..i still run my settting 24/7..and so far so good thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
doh.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Sep 15 2008, 07:31 AM
memkingdom
post Sep 15 2008, 07:39 AM

529 posts

As myself still prefer those stress test working in DOS mode, it is more clear environment for testing purpose
coolkwc
post Sep 15 2008, 11:03 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(memkingdom @ Sep 15 2008, 07:39 AM)
As myself still prefer those stress test working in DOS mode, it is more clear environment for testing purpose
but we need to realize that our working environment is 'dirty' windows mode, it means you need to face program interrupt, priority during stress test, DOS only run that particular program which didn't reflect to our actual environment..
xpresside
post Sep 15 2008, 05:18 PM

1,982 posts

not like most of us use fold to load our pcs 24/7
matyrze
post Sep 15 2008, 08:18 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 15 2008, 07:31 AM)
maybe based on this
doh.gif
tongue.gif tongue.gif maybe 'daily use' is more appropriate..i never turn on my pc on 24/7, or else my electricity bill will shoot up sweat.gif sweat.gif

but my assumption is right, no?
ne0cz
post Sep 16 2008, 08:41 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

I idle at 50 with my Presshot. Man, I dont dare to do it. Stock cooler...yikes
Dreamworks
post Sep 17 2008, 01:23 AM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Just completed my run of IBT, passed 100/100 rclxm9.gif It sure took longer than I expected, so long that I got tired of waiting and used the comp while waiting for the test to complete even though everything lags like hell sweat.gif

Load temps were not much different compared to Prime95, ORTHOS and OCCT, I got an average of 68*C to 69*C for both cores... So I guess the extra 22*C higher load temp claim is a bit exaggerated tongue.gif

CPU : Intel Pentium E2140
CPU Clockspeed : 3160Mhz
RAM Model : Kingston ValueRam DDR2-667
RAM Speed : DDR2-948, 5-6-5-15-2T

CPU Idle Temp: 45*C
CPU Load Temp w/IBT: 68*C - 69*C
Ambient Temp: 29*C

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dro
post Sep 17 2008, 01:10 PM

N00B1E5
558 posts

what is the suggested loop count for dual cores procs?
i think if we can standardized this, we'l haven an excellent benchmarking tool
lloyd1030
post Sep 27 2008, 11:02 PM

272 posts

can we stress dual core processor with this tool ?
i try several times but it just failed after i started the test.
it say my residual(norm) is not equal,what does it mean ?

This post has been edited by lloyd1030: Sep 28 2008, 11:05 AM
fesick
post Sep 29 2008, 08:28 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

latest IBT is 1.7
source
now compatible with AMD processor

This post has been edited by fesick: Sep 29 2008, 08:31 PM
syahirax
post Sep 30 2008, 05:31 AM

anomie!
562 posts

this is awesome.Gonna have this a try then.
-pWs-
post Oct 4 2008, 09:33 PM

8,545 posts

LinX :: -- A GUI based on IBT. thumbup.gif
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=201670

Credits to Dua|ist

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Oct 4 2008, 09:46 PM
tkh_1001
post Oct 5 2008, 03:54 AM

2,547 posts

thanks alot for that bro notworthy.gif

trying later brows.gif

aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 8 2008, 05:26 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(lloyd1030 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:02 PM)
can we stress dual core processor with this tool ?
i try several times but it just failed after i started the test.
it say my residual(norm) is not equal,what does it mean ?
I think no problem for stressing dual core, just look at the residual norm and compare with each loops, if all equal its mean u passed the ibt test smile.gif
decarusz
post Oct 9 2008, 02:53 AM

225 posts

want ask something...is this statement true?..

the more u stress the faster it dies ?
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 9 2008, 10:02 AM

336 posts

it's true but not that easy, even human can get heart attack if strees to much laugh.gif
hilmiangah
post Oct 9 2008, 11:41 AM

5,602 posts

about the claim that this program is will make ur proc hotter than Orthos or Prime i think its true coz my overclock e7200@3.6ghz@1.435v will reach up to 80'c on each core while using orthos it only reach around 60'c on each core.
Silverfire
post Oct 9 2008, 02:36 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

But is it really working to prove stability? Burning too much is not good too doh.gif

This post has been edited by Silverfire: Oct 9 2008, 02:36 PM
tech_frix
post Oct 9 2008, 03:47 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

AFAIK, it stress well and my temp is not high like that summore...
49-52c full load on X3320 3.15ghz with 1.192 vcore and 4 4 4 12 2.05vdimm...
pass 25 loops...
tkh_1001
post Oct 9 2008, 06:05 PM

2,547 posts

i just stress 5-10 max loops for stability test cos i will feel heart pain tongue.gif laugh.gif

there is no need to stress so much anyways to prove absolute stability unless u wana F@H....

actaully, rather than using this software for stability test, i wud prefer using prime95 or OCCT cos its less hot n yet can do the stability job well...

if u pass OCCT 1 hour, normally it wont be a problem at all for normal use already thumbup.gif
tech_frix
post Oct 9 2008, 06:14 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

but others stress test need to spend more time...
IBT less than half an hour...
syahirax
post Oct 10 2008, 08:56 AM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Oct 9 2008, 06:05 PM)
i just stress 5-10 max loops for stability test cos i will feel heart pain tongue.gif laugh.gif

there is no need to stress so much anyways to prove absolute stability unless u wana F@H....

actaully, rather than using this software for stability test, i wud prefer using prime95 or OCCT cos its less hot n yet can do the stability job well...

if u pass OCCT 1 hour, normally it wont be a problem at all for normal use already thumbup.gif
ive tried once too and i think i could feel the same.very2 heart pain.haha.alternatively im using prime 95 instead.it takes longer but at least the temp doesnt worry me too much.
tech_frix
post Oct 10 2008, 09:02 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

IMHO, ORTHOS better than prime...
before using IBT, i love using ORTHOS....
cscheat
post Oct 10 2008, 09:09 AM

V.V.I.P member
1,262 posts

save electricity too ! smile.gif
8tvt
post Oct 10 2008, 10:54 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

new version solve the 2gb ram problem?
_707027_
post Oct 10 2008, 12:30 PM

1,104 posts

when the 1st time i tried IBT,for 5 loops,
jus passed 1 loop only sweat.gif then increase the vcore,test it for 5 loops,
successfully.
then try 10 loops,succesfully.
i am new to this OC stuffs,after that 10 loops feel satisfy biggrin.gif
yeah the temperature when IBT is sweat.gif
gonna try for more loops later.
really,this test saves a lot of time.

-pWs-
post Oct 10 2008, 12:34 PM

8,545 posts

I found out that the temp is the same w IBT & Folding@Home SMP client. smile.gif

-pWs-
Dickong
post Oct 11 2008, 08:21 PM

1,689 posts

I loop 5 times IBT n always fail, only pass 1 time, but my occt n prime 95 never fail n my gaiming for few hours also never fail. My question is how to justified which test is more stable n which is more suitable
hilmiangah
post Oct 11 2008, 08:24 PM

5,602 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 11 2008, 08:21 PM)
I loop 5 times IBT n always fail, only pass 1 time, but my occt n prime 95 never fail n my gaiming for few hours also never fail. My question is how to justified which test is more stable n which is more suitable
well IBT does need more vcore to pass while prime95 need less.
maybe that explain why u failed the test.
post Oct 11 2008, 08:27 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 10 2008, 01:34 PM)
I found out that the temp is the same w IBT & Folding@Home SMP client. smile.gif

-pWs-
24/7 for 1 month+ F@H > few minutes of test tongue.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Oct 11 2008, 08:27 PM
tkh_1001
post Oct 12 2008, 02:42 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Oct 11 2008, 08:21 PM)
same case here...... i can OCCT pass 1 hours but only passes one loop of IBT....

if u are not doing F@H, OCCT 1 hour cant fail u on normal usage...

cos imho ibt very stressful.... n there is no need to torture ur proc to that level if absolute rock solid stability is not ur need......
seanlimys
post Oct 12 2008, 09:15 AM

2,751 posts

i failed 1 test out of 5 tests...so how can i make my system stable?
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 12 2008, 10:13 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Oct 11 2008, 08:27 PM)
24/7 for 1 month+  F@H > few minutes of test  tongue.gif
but it will cost u more electricity bill too laugh.gif
-pWs-
post Oct 12 2008, 12:58 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Oct 12 2008, 10:13 AM)
but it will cost u more electricity bill too laugh.gif
F@Home is a very meaningful activities bro.
Electricity will be nth if you compare w the purpose of Folding. wub.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

-pWs-

This post has been edited by -pWs-: Oct 12 2008, 02:06 PM
_707027_
post Oct 12 2008, 02:05 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ Oct 12 2008, 09:15 AM)
i failed 1 test out of 5 tests...so how can i make my system stable?
try increasing ur cpu vcore.
OC4/3
post Oct 12 2008, 04:07 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Oct 12 2008, 02:42 AM)
same case here...... i can OCCT pass 1 hours but only passes one loop of IBT....

cos imho ibt very stressful.... n there is no need to torture ur proc to that level if absolute rock solid stability is not ur need......
Not really lah............My system Small FFT stable 7hours also will reboot when open 1LOT episode 2 from hdd sweat.gif
Next time burn thing with slower speed lah laugh.gif
tkh_1001
post Oct 12 2008, 07:40 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Oct 12 2008, 04:07 PM)
Not really lah............My system Small FFT stable 7hours also will reboot when open 1LOT episode 2 from hdd sweat.gif
Next time burn thing with slower speed lah laugh.gif
then it shud be something else causing the problem instead of the proc tongue.gif

n ur OS got problem rite? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Oct 12 2008, 07:40 PM
CoolZeero
post Oct 12 2008, 09:27 PM

153 posts

i have tried this porogram its not that good bcaz it will not use the proc. 100% like the prime95
tech3910
post Oct 12 2008, 09:46 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(CoolZeero @ Oct 12 2008, 10:27 PM)
i have tried this porogram its not that good bcaz it will not use the proc. 100% like the prime95
Intel Burn Test is the champion of all CPU.memory stability test.

btw, the latest IBT works wit AMD processor as well.
OC4/3
post Oct 12 2008, 10:13 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Oct 12 2008, 07:40 PM)
then it shud be something else causing the problem instead of the proc tongue.gif

n ur OS got problem rite?  tongue.gif

Your file got issue lah laugh.gif
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 13 2008, 01:31 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(CoolZeero @ Oct 12 2008, 09:27 PM)
IBT not used 100% proc blink.gif .. u sure the software is running or not laugh.gif
seanlimys
post Oct 13 2008, 09:00 AM

2,751 posts

lol..no wonder my mouse no hang hang when ibting..
_707027_
post Oct 13 2008, 02:09 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(CoolZeero @ Oct 12 2008, 09:27 PM)
are u sure bro?
i opened my cpu usage when IBT, it is totally 100% smile.gif
tech3910
post Oct 13 2008, 03:14 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(_707027_ @ Oct 13 2008, 03:09 PM)
are u sure bro?
i opened my cpu usage when IBT, it is totally 100%  smile.gif
wit prime95, @ least i can do stuff like surf internet or watch movie wen i run the test.

wit IBT, totally hang (slow like hell) even if try 2 open simple application..................just sit there & wait 10 - 15 minutes................+_+
syahirax
post Oct 13 2008, 10:39 PM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Oct 12 2008, 02:42 AM)

okay,i was wondering does normal usage like doing 3d,photoshopping etc for example wont fail too if just running OCCT or prime/orthos for few hours?
tech3910
post Oct 13 2008, 11:40 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Oct 13 2008, 11:39 PM)
okay,i was wondering does normal usage like doing 3d,photoshopping etc  for example wont fail too if just running OCCT or prime/orthos for few hours?
last time i OC ~3.2 @ stock vcore.
i taught it was stable, pass prime95 & nvr had issues wit games.
until i use IBT.........cant pass 5 loops.......=_=
aLWAYStHEsAME
post Oct 14 2008, 05:04 PM

336 posts

syahirax, ibt is the best, why not give it a try brows.gif ... I think, a few minute stressing with higher temperature is better than stressing with lower temperature but take a hours or days smile.gif ... what u guyz think?
seanlimys
post Oct 14 2008, 05:44 PM

2,751 posts

quite true..let the proc keep stressing

_707027_
post Oct 14 2008, 06:24 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Oct 14 2008, 05:04 PM)
syahirax, ibt is the best, why not give it a try brows.gif ... I think, a few minute stressing with higher temperature is better than stressing with lower temperature but take a hours or days smile.gif ... what u guyz think?
few minutes stress test with high temperature for me icon_rolleyes.gif
syahirax
post Oct 15 2008, 01:08 AM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(aLWAYStHEsAME @ Oct 14 2008, 05:04 PM)
i will put that in my mind.Thanks a lot.

Okay ive tried with 1/2 stressing,the temp is around 73C and i passed 5 loops.Now running at 10 loops.I cant run at maximum stress because the program will immediately crash.is it because im using windows 32 bit?(as im using 4 gb kit)

This post has been edited by syahirax: Oct 15 2008, 01:27 AM
hilmiangah
post Oct 15 2008, 01:37 AM

5,602 posts

try get the linX.its the gui version of this program.
syahirax
post Oct 15 2008, 01:38 AM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Oct 15 2008, 01:37 AM)
try get the linX.its the gui version of this program.
thanks,will give it a try
seanlimys
post Oct 15 2008, 08:10 AM

2,751 posts

wah..got gui version sumore ad ar?
syahirax
post Oct 15 2008, 08:50 AM

anomie!
562 posts

ive tried and it works.biggrin.gif and nice user interface too
celciuz
post Oct 15 2008, 12:05 PM

14,033 posts

How many runs to you guys usually use to verify it to be CPU stable?

And memory used?
hilmiangah
post Oct 15 2008, 12:56 PM

5,602 posts

well i use 4gb ram on a 32bit os.......

i use 1860mb is the max i can set.more and i cant run the program.
and i always use 10 loop.
syahirax
post Oct 15 2008, 01:20 PM

anomie!
562 posts

me too.i tried using maximum stress(full memory) but normally the program will crash.So basically i use half memory,and 8-10 loops which is okay i suppose.

celciuz
post Oct 15 2008, 02:58 PM

14,033 posts

I can set about 2048, a bit more actually before the program actually tells me there isn't enough memory. Different story on my x64 though.

Manage to run 400x9 on 1.225v for 10 runs. But the temperature was showing 73 max on both cores at tjmax=100. ._. Seems like I'll need the CCF soon.
syahirax
post Oct 15 2008, 04:45 PM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 15 2008, 02:58 PM)
I can set about 2048, a bit more actually before the program actually tells me there isn't enough memory. Different story on my x64 though.

Manage to run 400x9 on 1.225v for 10 runs. But the temperature was showing 73 max on both cores at tjmax=100. ._. Seems like I'll need the CCF soon.
ive tried runing at 3.7 1.435 vcore and the temp jumps up until 82C. sweat.gif
hilmiangah
post Oct 15 2008, 05:50 PM

5,602 posts

even with a lapped ultra 120 shocking.gif
syahirax
post Oct 15 2008, 05:52 PM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Oct 15 2008, 05:50 PM)
even with a lapped ultra 120 shocking.gif
yes,lapped ultra and lapped processor.i guess my lapping job is worse.(althought slightly minimal difference like 1C-2C)
seanlimys
post Oct 15 2008, 08:08 PM

2,751 posts

crazy temp achieved..haha
celciuz
post Oct 15 2008, 08:46 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Oct 15 2008, 04:45 PM)
ive tried runing at 3.7 1.435 vcore and the temp jumps up until 82C. sweat.gif
Different la bro, yours is C2Q, mine's a C2D much easier to OC. Still on stock fans ~_~. 2 cores = lesser than 4 cores producing heat ma.
seanlimys
post Oct 15 2008, 10:52 PM

2,751 posts

lol..c2q 6600 really hot...hot and sexy
syahirax
post Oct 16 2008, 02:48 AM

anomie!
562 posts

more like hot and spicy i guess.lol
tech_frix
post Oct 16 2008, 06:47 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

normal la high temp for Quad...
mine 3.19 pun can up to 51c-55c...
if higher sure can reach ur temp...
syahirax
post Oct 16 2008, 01:07 PM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 16 2008, 06:47 AM)
normal la high temp for Quad...
mine 3.19 pun can up to 51c-55c...
if higher sure can reach ur temp...
i thought 45nm have lower temp(idle or load).anyway 51C idle or load?
tech_frix
post Oct 16 2008, 05:28 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

51c on load..with IBT ofcos...
happy with it...
low vcore summore...
seanlimys
post Oct 18 2008, 08:31 AM

2,751 posts

nice gem u got there...
lichyetan
post Oct 19 2008, 09:33 AM

2,295 posts

u all stress test using IBT on 64 bit or 32 bit windows ? i hearrd 64 bit can stress more and generate more heat... not sure though... tongue.gif
_707027_
post Oct 19 2008, 11:23 AM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Oct 19 2008, 09:33 AM)
u all stress test using IBT on 64 bit or 32 bit windows ? i hearrd 64 bit can stress more and generate more heat... not sure though... tongue.gif
even on 32bit i think the heat produced is more than enuff.. laugh.gif
Izwan898
post Oct 19 2008, 01:35 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

Woah with IBT my temps went to 80C!!
celciuz
post Oct 19 2008, 09:17 PM

14,033 posts

I tested my system with IBT 64-bit.

400*9, 60C max on both cores sweat.gif
coolkwc
post Oct 20 2008, 11:23 AM

3,112 posts

shit, my IBT suddenly can't execute anymore, prompt error message..
Izwan898
post Oct 20 2008, 11:28 AM

MrNastey
937 posts

Is it safe to run this IBT over n over again?
coolkwc
post Oct 20 2008, 12:07 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Oct 20 2008, 11:28 AM)
Is it safe to run this IBT over n over again?
why not? but better do it at once la, do 100 loop sekaligus....if can pass 100 loops why need to test over and over again?
_707027_
post Oct 20 2008, 12:34 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 20 2008, 12:07 PM)
why not? but better do it at once la, do 100 loop sekaligus....if can pass 100 loops why need to test over and over again?
yup.agreed.do it all at once.
100 loops,but it will take time longer than expected.
celciuz
post Oct 20 2008, 01:04 PM

14,033 posts

100loops took quite sometime on my PC. I think was more than 8 hours. Overnight wake up still running :S. Then again, it depends on how much RAM you allocate for testing. Those with 8GB memory system, tongue.gif gonna take hell of a time.
tech3910
post Oct 20 2008, 01:06 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Oct 20 2008, 12:23 PM)
shit, my IBT suddenly can't execute anymore, prompt error message..
try dun set max stress.
dunno y in my xp, if i set anything > 2200 memory, error will pop out.
QUOTE(_707027_ @ Oct 20 2008, 01:34 PM)
yup.agreed.do it all at once.
100 loops,but it will take time longer than expected.
i think ur processor will fry 1st....... laugh.gif

i think my processor already done 100 or close to 100 loops, but in different occasion not @ 1 shot.
4gb memory le, teks quite sum time 2 to 1 loop.
celciuz
post Oct 20 2008, 01:08 PM

14,033 posts

Less than 8 hours don't worry tongue.gif. Your C2Q definitely faster than mine.
-pWs-
post Oct 20 2008, 01:59 PM

8,545 posts

Anyone tested LinX from Dua|ist
Is it same stress as IBT?

Please feedback. Thanks notworthy.gifnotworthy.gif

-pWs-
cstkl1
post Oct 20 2008, 02:23 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 20 2008, 01:06 PM)
try dun set max stress.
dunno y in my xp, if i set anything > 2200 memory, error will pop out.

i think ur processor will fry 1st....... laugh.gif

i think my processor already done 100 or close to 100 loops, but in different occasion not @ 1 shot.
4gb memory le, teks quite sum time 2 to 1 loop.
run ibt in diagnostic mode dude..

also for those who are having ibt fail... on max mem..
ure background programs are interfering

go to run in start
type msconfig.
select diagnostic mode.. apply.. press ok
and restart ure comp..
and test away...

so far tested up to 200 loops on 4gb.. took around 16 hours.

i find this is the basic

mem instability ... u will find in 15 loops... not enough vdimm.. just a rough initial purposes.
vcore instability .... u will find in 20 loops.. not enough vcore
wrong gtl.. u will find in 30-40 loops
nb instability.... IBT is not very good at this but for initial perpuposes.. 10 loops
mem subtiming instability ... 20-30 loops...
this is based on 4gb..
if ure going to do 2gb.. times 2 of the loops above... roughly...

usually if u pass 50 loops.. after that really no difference...
if all the errors has been corrected properly before

vtt voltage is easy.. if it boots into windows.. and no issue ( try running ccleaner gutmann 35 pass) then its the correct vtt..

cheers ppl.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 20 2008, 02:24 PM
Izwan898
post Oct 20 2008, 05:43 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

I set my shutdown temps in BIOS as 65C...so when the first time I ran this test, it totally shut my cpu off...the question is, I already passed orthos and occt for 8 hours...should I run this test juz to be sure?

I cannot run this IBT...it will give an error message... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Izwan898: Oct 20 2008, 07:55 PM
cstkl1
post Oct 21 2008, 12:02 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Oct 20 2008, 05:43 PM)
I set my shutdown temps in BIOS as 65C...so when the first time I ran this test, it totally shut my cpu off...the question is, I already passed orthos and occt for 8 hours...should I run this test juz to be sure?

dude if u can run games without issue..
and also install vista 64 for example without any issue..
then ure comp is fine.

this is for hardcore.. super stable...

thats all..

OC4/3
post Oct 21 2008, 12:20 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Oct 20 2008, 05:43 PM)

As long as your rig don't freeze or random reboot on day to day,it is stable enough wink.gif
Izwan898
post Oct 22 2008, 04:01 AM

MrNastey
937 posts

But the weird thing is sometimes it gives out BSOD with a message "Page Fault In Non Paged Area"...
yemz88
post Oct 23 2008, 02:45 AM

189 posts

damn... my intelburn test attacked by trojan horse downloader virus... i deleted the files & download new one... but, after i extract it, still same.. my avg internet security anti virus said trojan horse downloader virus.... now, i can't test with this software... cry.gif

any suggetion.. ( sorry.. a bit off from topic.. hehe... )

This post has been edited by yemz88: Oct 23 2008, 02:47 AM
MakNok
post Oct 31 2008, 02:15 PM

5,713 posts

ok my experience

E6750
Gigabyte P35-DS3 Bios F4
Xtreem RAM 800Mhz 2GB...4-4-4-10
Cooler:CoolIT Eliminator/High Speed Fan Setting
Cooler MAster power supply 600Waat

CPUz show RAM setting at 5-5-5-16...(maybe auto setting)

My experiment show that i need to increase my VCore voltage for higher overclocking everytime but temp will increase as well.

Now
3.44Ghz stable using 10loops but temp almost 70C

but my Vcore now setting at 1.45V
Bad chip i guess or i just a luosy overclocker.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by MakNok: Oct 31 2008, 02:17 PM

0.1053sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:15 PM