gosh guys are obsessed with yi laine. tsk. bad.
: D
~ Scorpion ~ V2, Any newbies or owner pls post here.
Aug 14 2008, 02:19 AM
367 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
gosh guys are obsessed with yi laine. tsk. bad.
: D |
Aug 14 2008, 06:03 PM
Anyone aside from Rafiq who has more than 1 species, do share your pictures and experience.
Aug 15 2008, 12:45 AM
Do you have a male adult Jacksoni TAGGY!?
Aug 15 2008, 01:53 AM
Aug 16 2008, 03:17 AM
Aug 24 2008, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Aug 24 2008, 01:37 AM) Hmm tat time i still dunno hw to differentiate between AFS and AES yet Definitely a Heterometrus Sp. and not a Pandinus Imperator.Bt 1 thing for sure its 100% nt AFS as their shape and color are different Nt sure if its still there.... Will help u look around if im there again |
Aug 24 2008, 06:12 PM
The scorpion hobby in Malaysia is so pathetic, so unlike our tarantula-keeping scene.
This post has been edited by liette`: Aug 24 2008, 06:13 PM |
Aug 24 2008, 11:28 PM
Well, the unavailability of species is one factor. Importing is possible and yes, I've done it with a few good men here but it sucks when there are so few people interested in the hobby as opposed to tarantula keeping. It gets a lil boring sometimes when the hobby revolves only around a few people.
I like scorpions very much but it would be an extreme plus point for the scene to bloom like the tarantula scene(not that it's amazing but still, better). We need more serious hobbyists, people who are willing to spend an extra buck to get something from abroad which is presumably unavailable in the local market. Of course, if you can't afford it then I don't blame you. In short, we need more passionate scorpion enthusiasts. PASSION. Expand the community. |
Aug 25 2008, 12:29 AM
About the subject on deadly scorpions, it's really not a cause for concern. There are more non-medically significant species than deadly ones. Besides, a real enthusiast would know better than to handle a highly venomous specimen such as the A. Australis. Only idiots would do so. ;p
Aug 25 2008, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Aug 25 2008, 12:32 AM) Agree with tat, i dun even handle my adult H.Spinifer Exactly. It really really annoys me when I see retards who post statements like that. At least be a little sensible and f***in do some research before warning people when they clearly don't know shit.Bt there are alot of ppl who think H.Spinifer can kill ppl The other forum tat i post, i receive negative reply, almost all also ask whether they can kill o nt or warn me and say they can kill me I see this all the time, retards with their lala-zai language going,'got poison one ooo??? can cut off the tail one o? better lu.' It's not like they're interested in the hobby. They're merely asking for the fun of it. Our country is really a leading country in terms of the population of retards. Damn sad. IMO, less retards and more scorpions would do much better. Don't ya all agree? This post has been edited by liette`: Aug 25 2008, 01:18 AM |
Aug 25 2008, 02:02 AM
Well, as of the current information we have on our local species, I don't think there are any medically significant ones but they might be some species yet to be discovered so yeah, not enough sources to support that claim.
TAG, Scutilus pleaseeee. |
Aug 25 2008, 02:16 AM
Yeah, an AFS primary weapon would be its pedipalps(pincers), they rarely use their telsons(stingers) as a defense mechanism. Even if they do sting on rare occasions, it's nothing to worry about, unless you have some sorta allergy then I'm sorry. ;p
Aug 25 2008, 02:50 AM
Slow growing I agree. But my point was, the tarantula scene is already flourishing while our scorpion scene is not. Abroad, in USA namely, both scorpions and tarantulas have almost equal attention(albeit the tarantula still getting the upper-hand) whereas our country, it's only tarantulas.
I would beg to differ on the subject of breeding. IMO, breeding scorpions are easier than tarantulas. Scorpions make good mothers as opposed to tarantulas as the risk of having the female chomp up the male is close to nil. The absence of the need to care for an egg sac is another factor. The problem is, like you said, nobody would want to spend RM80 on an adult scorpion but seriously, if nobody starts, the hobby would never expand. I personally have spent USD60 for a pair of Jacksoni specimens. Besides, CB scorpions are easy to come-by nowadays. What's lacking is the passion. Price and availability are just excuses. |
Aug 25 2008, 04:59 PM
Actually, it's more easier to keep scorpions communally than tarantulas. There are quite a large number of species of scorpions which are actually communal. However, like you said, it depends largely on the species given but generally, scorpions are definitely much more communal than tarantulas.
Kar, I agree on your stance about the subjectivity of the term 'passion'. Indeed, you don't have to have all the species in the world to prove how passionate you are. You can merely keep one species, study them thoroughly and yes, you're passionate. But c'mon, in our country, how many keepers actually have that kinda passion? They do not even have the initiative to source for other species, let alone be passionate about conservation and etc. On the subject of 'not having to get many other species to expand the hobby', well, I'll give you a simple comparison. What if the tarantula scene only has the, say, Brachypelma Smithi available? I doubt the hobby would become what is it now. What I'm trying to say is, yes, there are many other ways to expand the hobby but given the mindset of the majority of us humans, more variety equates to a more interesting hobby. On a side-note, most people who get the AFS are not exactly interested in the hobby. It's more like 'zomgwtfbbq that huge black scorpion is so cool, having one would be a status symbol' and etc. and by all means, having such people in the community does nothing to expand the hobby. Expand in terms of quantity but never in quality and I'm pretty sure that quality > quantity in terms of hobbyists. People also dig the AFS because of its size but they rarely give a shit bout the smaller species due to it being less 'cooler-looking' so yeah. Last but not least, why are the other lesser genus/species in our country such as Lychas and Liocheles less popular even amongst serious hobbyist locally? As TAG stated in one of his earlier posts, a Lychas Scutilus would fetch USD25 in the states so why would local breeders bother about selling them to us locals? Greed has prevented the hobby from growing. Period. I never said that we have lesser choices in our own country, but the availability in the market is pathetic, due to...greed. p/s : TAG deserves a thumbs-up for helping us with the availability of the Lychas Scutilus. Liocheles maybe? This post has been edited by liette`: Aug 25 2008, 06:30 PM |
Aug 25 2008, 06:26 PM
Aug 25 2008, 09:08 PM
Rofl, we're all still far from being ducks, Dennis. Ducklings at best.
H. Arizonesis would be a great starter desert scorpion but I doubt you'd find any locally. |
Aug 25 2008, 09:51 PM
If I recall correctly, the yellow fat tail scorpions are actually the A. Amoreuxi which is a very well known medically significant scorpion.
Aug 25 2008, 10:09 PM
Vaejovis, try this.
Aug 29 2008, 06:37 PM
Aug 29 2008, 08:02 PM
I guess I misunderstood your post. Was thinking u missed the before and after photos since the mites in the 'before' photo are beneath the scorpion, though not literally under the exoskeleton. Was thinkin that it was a language error by Kar. heh.
| Change to: | 0.0551sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:11 PM |