Travel Pulau Kapas, Anyone been here, is it worth going?

TShouse
post Aug 13 2008, 06:44 PM, updated 18y ago

115 posts

Guys,

ANyone been to Pulau Kapas before? How is it there?

Is it clean? Is the water clear? Beautiful?

Worth it to go?
SUSpokokpals
post Aug 13 2008, 07:12 PM

152 posts

no its not worth going. no its not beautiful and no its not paradise. check out pulau tenggol instead. there's a thread about that in here.

water is clear ! beachfront houses are available and that is one place off marang jetty that i will not set foot into again. its soon to be a development area like tioman coz kapas is very near the jetty and easily accesible.

This post has been edited by pokokpals: Aug 13 2008, 07:19 PM
Gamatatsu0207
post Aug 13 2008, 07:43 PM

373 posts

Yes I've been there around end of June 08 before...

Me & frens stayed at Kapas Island Resort...the nearest resort from jeti...

The place is...ok lor....greeny-crystal-clear water....variety of beautiful fish...but all along the beaches u can see dead coral stone lying there...dunno....might be they are dying (?).....or the effect from the global warming around the globe...as what I heard...other pulau...redang, tioman also hv the same prob....dunno laa...juz guessing....

The food quite ok too....depends on resort's food preparation....might be differ from each other....

Can do snorkeling, canoeing, jungle-trekking, beach ball etc.....

The night at Pulau Kapas is quite unlively.....don't expect it will be like in Tioman or Redang (I mean got pub or club at nite)....but...if for relaxing...it is very nice place....can see twingkling star at nite...feel the night wind so cold...last time I nearly slept bout nearly half an hour at beach bench...suddenly my fren woke me up....hehehe....so damn peaceful!!! rclxms.gif

Juz try wink.gif http://www.kapas.com.my/

Samurai
post Aug 13 2008, 10:23 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(house @ Aug 13 2008, 06:44 PM)
Guys,

ANyone been to Pulau Kapas before? How is it there?

Is it clean? Is the water clear? Beautiful?

Worth it to go?
Small island....clean ,water clear and is beautifiul.. If you have time for kayaks..you can go to gemia Island..just 10 minute from kapas..there you see turtle baby at Gemia Island Resort.

For 2 day 1 Night at Kapas Island Resort is RM145 per person per package for triple sharing.Room with Fan + Meals and 1 x Snorkeling trip .The most cheapest package.. brows.gif

From Marang Jetty to Kapas Island jetty..only 15 minute by speed boat .

Not so much coral and small fish compare Tenggol Island.

Not recommended to go...but if you try..its ok. For me...the best islands in Terengganu...

1 . Tenggol Island ( Snorkeling + Diving ) Today,just come back from Tenggol...wow..superb!!

2. Redang Island ( Snorkeling + Diving )

3. Perhentian Island ( Snorkeling + Diving )

areankim
post Sep 17 2008, 11:02 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

wa.. i'm gonna go there next week....

but what u guys says are like... it's not a nice place at all

i will drive there... parking wise how?
determinism
post Sep 17 2008, 01:29 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 17 2008, 11:02 AM)

you can just park you car right in fornt of the jetty with some pay i guess
the will be people watch you car,
so no worries even bmw parked there

i like going to kapas island,
other then because it is cheap , i love to snorkel at Kapas
there are abundant of clowns fish at the cause between kapas n gem island
but beware of sea-urchin
you can see both hard and soft coral there and lots of coral fish
if you dare try swim to the middle and you might see the shark or even turtle
the best time to snorkel is between 10am to noon where the sun is right on top of you and sky is blue
the sea bed is seriouly colorful with enough sunlight penetrating the water.

normally if i go to kapas, i will stay at the light house, the end resort to the souht of the island.
it is near to the light house on top of the hill. i know the guy who run the place. for a record ive been to kapas for more then 3 times.
and kapas has never disappoint me.

Samurai
post Sep 17 2008, 03:44 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 17 2008, 11:02 AM)

Car Parking is RM10.00 per day..its open parking smile.gif
areankim
post Sep 19 2008, 07:34 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

thnx for the input guys..

i'm driving from KL anyone from KL to kapas before? can give sum guide? altou i have GPS... but kenot 100% relay on that ... heheheh

i'm staying at Duta Resort.. heard that it's not so good.

food wise? where shud i have with my family? i have around 10-14 ppl.
determinism
post Sep 19 2008, 10:50 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Sep 19 2008, 07:34 PM)
thnx for the input guys..

i'm driving from KL anyone from KL to kapas before? can give sum guide? altou i have GPS... but kenot 100% relay on that ... heheheh

i'm staying at Duta Resort.. heard that it's not so good.

food wise? where shud i have with my family? i have around 10-14 ppl.
from LPT you can just follow the signboard to Cherating, once you pass Cherating just head straight and you will go tru a sea side road. Nice scenery with kampung area and a sea view on ur right.

don’t make any turn from that road, just follow that road straight, no left or right turn, you will pass chukai, kerteh (can see the oil refinery on ur right) and dungun. then you will reach Marang.

after the bridge you will see the marang police station on ur left, straight ahead there is a big mosque on ur right. further up there is a traffic light, turn right straight to the end then right again until you see a small mosque.

in front of the mosque is the parking lot facing a row of travel agent counter. the jettey to kapas is just next to the parking space. you would not miss it.

food wise - you can either have ur meal at duta or go to makcik gemuk or any resort there, lot of choice. no worries on that

Added on September 19, 2008, 10:54 pmfor futher information on the route just go to ---> http://maps.google.com/

having a GPS is not really helpful if you do not know how to read map icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by determinism: Sep 19 2008, 10:54 PM
areankim
post Sep 22 2008, 11:32 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

using my gps, it stated 329km from my home to marang jetty.

i will start my journey early morning(midnite)

anywhere to suggest? i was thinking to board boat at 1pm, spend some time at kuala terengganu that is around 20-30km away from marang

any suggestion where to go?
Samurai
post Sep 22 2008, 12:18 PM

70 posts

If you want something buy souvenir like batik,Sutera ,keropok ..you can go to Pasar Payang.

Keropok Lekor...in Losong very famous place but for me their keropok less fish compare Shop 008 at Kulut Marang...on the way to Marang..about 15 minute to Marang Jetty.

determinism
post Sep 22 2008, 03:55 PM

320 posts

samurai:
u really from the terengganu islands?
cool dude

is the Shop 008 the name for the shop?

areankim:
there a quite a numbers of shop selling good keropok around marang too.

going up to KT first seems to be a good idea, but dont buy the wet keropok yet. later it get cooked inside your car tongue.gif
Samurai
post Sep 22 2008, 04:10 PM

70 posts

I staying in Kuala Terengganu..my office in Kuala Besut jetty..

Yess.. Gerai 008 ( kelulut ,Marang ) among the best taste keropok lekor
areankim
post Sep 22 2008, 04:12 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(determinism @ Sep 22 2008, 03:55 PM)
samurai:
u really from the terengganu islands?
cool dude

is the Shop 008 the name for the shop?

areankim:
there a quite a numbers of shop selling good keropok around marang too.

going up to KT first seems to be a good idea, but dont buy the wet keropok yet. later it get cooked inside your car tongue.gif
well... a quick search i was able to get a few intresting place around KT.

dun worry wont buy those jst yet.

i estimated myself to be around KT before 9am. hehehe reach ealier = relax = less sleep!
determinism
post Sep 23 2008, 11:32 AM

320 posts

yeah, drive slow and steady yeah
better late then sorry

anyway, when you hit the road along the sea site after cherating
stop a while and just spend few minutes to enoy the scenery
worth of doing it.
areankim
post Sep 23 2008, 12:51 PM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(determinism @ Sep 23 2008, 11:32 AM)
yeah, drive slow and steady yeah
better late then sorry

anyway, when you hit the road along the sea site after cherating
stop a while and just spend few minutes to enoy the scenery
worth of doing it.
haha wonder if i will be able to see anything since... i drive in the dark.. probably reach there gam gam morning! thumbup.gif

shud i go KT 1st before kapas? or KT after kapas
Samurai
post Sep 23 2008, 02:50 PM

70 posts

what i can suggest is..better you come to KT town early morning around 9.00am ,traffic will busy after that...due Hari Raya next week a lots people coming to shopping.
areankim
post Sep 24 2008, 11:37 AM

"Live Life Cool"
3,705 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Sep 23 2008, 02:50 PM)
what i can suggest is..better you come to KT town early morning around 9.00am ,traffic will busy after that...due Hari Raya next week a lots people coming to shopping.
ooo thnx for the suggestion! biggrin.gif

i will start my journey at 2am.. i guess gonna reach there around 8-9 gua.... drive slow slow ma.. cos the police ops started today....

i guess i go there also see see only la.. kenot buy stuff.... biggrin.gif

where else i can go? snap pic.... sweat.gif

Added on September 24, 2008, 2:20 pmpulau kapas got internet connection ar?

This post has been edited by areankim: Sep 24 2008, 02:20 PM
Samurai
post Sep 24 2008, 06:52 PM

70 posts

I not sure about internet connection but Perhentian and Redang ..yess they have a CC..but maybe expensive..

This post has been edited by Samurai: Sep 24 2008, 06:53 PM

0.0173sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:14 AM