GPS vs. V-kool
TSholahe
Aug 13 2008, 05:16 PM, updated 18y ago
I just bought a GPS-Bay E668, and having very poor signal. The support centre suggests that it's due to my V-kool tinting. 1) Any good suggestion how I can overcome this problem? I read through some forum and some commented that their GPS system can still work with V-kool? 2) Some suggested to cut a small hole at the V-kool tinting, any suggestion which will be the best location to do so? I will not be mounting the GPS in the car, will only bring it out as and when I need to use the device. 3) Another option is to buy the external antenna, anyone knows how much does the external antenna for GPS-Bay E668 cost? How is it being fixed? Just plug into the additional port on the GPS device? If so, isn't it still "within" the car and the satellite signal blocked by V-kool?
Appreciate any experience sharing, suggestions and how best I can overcome my problem without spending too much.....
WoodStock
Aug 13 2008, 05:20 PM
take your gps ask your friend to drive a car without v-cool to fetch you.. then you see how is the performance without v-cool lo..
Naka7a
Aug 13 2008, 05:20 PM
huh? wrong section i guess
maxximus
Aug 13 2008, 06:34 PM

QUOTE(holahe @ Aug 13 2008, 05:16 PM) I just bought a GPS-Bay E668, and having very poor signal. The support centre suggests that it's due to my V-kool tinting. 1) Any good suggestion how I can overcome this problem? I read through some forum and some commented that their GPS system can still work with V-kool? 2) Some suggested to cut a small hole at the V-kool tinting, any suggestion which will be the best location to do so? I will not be mounting the GPS in the car, will only bring it out as and when I need to use the device. 3) Another option is to buy the external antenna, anyone knows how much does the external antenna for GPS-Bay E668 cost? How is it being fixed? Just plug into the additional port on the GPS device? If so, isn't it still "within" the car and the satellite signal blocked by V-kool? Appreciate any experience sharing, suggestions and how best I can overcome my problem without spending too much..... As I know, V-Kool Elite is not GPS friendly. Hence your GPS signal will be very very weak inside the car. I would suggest u to use the re-radiating GPS antenna. Visit Malsingmaps to find out more Here is the link for further info about re-radiating antennaHope it helps This post has been edited by maxximus: Aug 13 2008, 06:47 PM
SUSpokokpals
Aug 13 2008, 06:42 PM

the forumers over at mypdacafe has come to the conclusion, that if u really want a good signal without mods, without spending money, without doing drastic, put your windows down. 1 window down is pretty sufficient.
aliftaufiq
Aug 13 2008, 08:33 PM
I'm using vkool on my car and my GPS reception(nokia 6110 navigator) still good..Around 4 bar
imperialrealcs
Aug 13 2008, 08:38 PM
i would say it depends on what chipset it is using.. last time i use podo gps receiver and the line keep on disconnects with my tint (not vkool) then i use holux and sirfIII chipset gps, damn cantik
liewss80
Aug 13 2008, 08:44 PM
I'v sold GPS product to many Car Owner with V-kool tinting. So far none complaint... it depends on your GPS device. V-kool could slightly affect your signal, but it wont block it out..... Jst maybe takes longer time to lock onto satellite positioning
atih007
Aug 13 2008, 11:58 PM
dun think it's v-kool fault. perhaps ur car insulated? try open the window a bit. see how.
makaveli
Aug 14 2008, 07:28 PM
V-cool the best man ~
termignoni
Aug 15 2008, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(liewss80 @ Aug 13 2008, 08:44 PM) I'v sold GPS product to many Car Owner with V-kool tinting. So far none complaint... it depends on your GPS device. V-kool could slightly affect your signal, but it wont block it out..... Jst maybe takes longer time to lock onto satellite positioning i agree with u.. but if u have A-GPS, then locking wouldn't take that long..
gavinchong
Feb 19 2009, 01:54 AM

1)V-Cool indeed blocks your signal I have a Kenwood DNX7320 with gps + Garmin203 NO PROBLEM at all 2)Dont cut small hole.. Try other gps brands with your car OR try ur gps with other car 3)External antenna is a waste of money (cauz dont think got improvement or ppl might steal it if u put outside + its expensive)
adriankhoo153
Feb 20 2009, 09:18 AM
I am using GPS Bay 3033 and my car tinted with Vkool Elite. Fixing GPS position is rather slow but once it's fixed, then no more pb liau. Most of the place 4 bar.
When fixing position, just unwind ur window nia and hold ur gps slightly near the window to get a quicker fix.
eddyann
Feb 20 2009, 12:49 PM
i'm using vkool gold dust. the gps has slower locking time compare to non tinted.
Boy96
Jul 29 2010, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 13 2008, 08:38 PM) i would say it depends on what chipset it is using.. last time i use podo gps receiver and the line keep on disconnects with my tint (not vkool) then i use holux and sirfIII chipset gps, damn cantik my phone (HTC P3300) has SirfIII in it, I got full bar GPS signal outside, then I go inside car with v-Kool, LOST Satellite reception...
amad108
Jul 30 2010, 02:00 PM
so v-kool sure interrupt the signal of GPS ler.. that sad.. how much the cost of additional antenna for the GPS?
Boy96
Jul 31 2010, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(amad108 @ Jul 30 2010, 02:00 PM) so v-kool sure interrupt the signal of GPS ler.. that sad.. how much the cost of additional antenna for the GPS? u need to put re radiate antenna. if u put additional antenna inside your car, you still cant get GPS signal cause the V-Kool block... re radiating antenna dont cause much i think..
sfautotrading
Aug 2 2010, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jul 29 2010, 08:59 PM) my phone (HTC P3300) has SirfIII in it, I got full bar GPS signal outside, then I go inside car with v-Kool, LOST Satellite reception... Bro can I know if SirfIII will be available for htc legend? Have been searching for software for android 2.1 but uto find it.
cloudhenri
Oct 27 2010, 04:29 PM
GPS Bay is well known to have bad satellite reception.
My garmin asus m10 (handphone) has no problem ...
westlife
Jan 23 2011, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(atih007 @ Aug 13 2008, 11:58 PM) dun think it's v-kool fault. perhaps ur car insulated? try open the window a bit. see how. v-ku cannot make it la.... contain metal inside, if u want to use GPS or smart-tag all cmi
bushyboy105
Apr 21 2014, 09:43 PM
i am having v-kool elite. and ya, it freaking destroy ur gps. have tried several phones. even iphone 5s and note 3.
all cacat-ed when in my v-kool elite installed car.