iPhone 3G: GPS review
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 04:43 PM
sorry for the bump of this thread, just want to make things more clear for me. is the google map pre-intalled on iphone covered the whole world? if it's not, so can i download part of the map like how nokia map does? the above conversation seems like talking about the satellite view of google map which i heard need access to the internet (via 3G/EDGE) all the time right? the normal plain view need internet access or not? thanks in advance ya...
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 04:58 PM
ah so if i need to browse map where the place haven't loaded yet offline but don't have any network access, or simply use just GPS without GPRS assistant to pinpoint me at a place i never been to before, impossible? i asked this cause e.g. i go to other countries with my iphone but with no roaming, and the place no wifi, so the GPS is useless already?  Added on September 12, 2008, 5:02 pmanyway i found this article, looks like the google map still need EDGE/3G to access even not using GPS... http://weblogs.redeyechicago.com/iphoneblo...ou-know-ho.htmlThis post has been edited by little ice: Sep 12 2008, 05:02 PM
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 05:34 PM
thanks strings and seaedge for the information! i've found this one so if i want to use it as offline map. http://www.touchpodium.com/2008/04/13/view...aps-offline-01/so i guess gotta sign up the maxis unlimited 3G service for RM99 a month after all.
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 05:38 PM
yeah that's the link i posted above. i think best if there's 3rd party GPS application develop a version for iphone so can use the garmin way.
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 12 2008, 08:11 PM) alamak.... have to JB the phone ar? i've read that JB the phone will not void warranty, so why not?  ...in fact there's no warranty for iphone in m'sia.
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 08:25 PM
for the warranty i mean in malaysia la. read again?  if singapore unit then ok la, not too far away to claim warranty.
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 12 2008, 08:27 PM) @ little ice both of ours are from the kiasuland. rx330 is in JB (johor bharu) la. he can even crawl over to the causeway to claim his warranty. Added on September 12, 2008, 8:29 pmafter JB, can still update software (the usual external software method la) good for you 2! maybe i'd also get a kiasu unit also la if i cannot wait any longer...
little ice
Sep 12 2008, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(Shock @ Sep 12 2008, 09:02 PM) Put it this way. Iphone have GPS SYSTEM but Don't have map like garmin(not sure the name) and others navigation. Iphone used GOOGLE map as map Which is equivalents to MapKing/others. So u are paying the Kb for google maps dl from 3G, edge,gprs. thanks! but since iphone has been jailbroken so hopefully someone can intergrate the offline google map thing with the preinstalled google map. cause not everyone has the luxury data services globally so GPS is especially useful for travelling, so if there'll ever be an application to make the pre-installed google map save the loaded maps (or simply able to install pre-loaded map) that'll be perfect already. ...just my imagination.  as for currect state i think it's fine for me, at least with offline map can browse virtual map and can search street names + places like restaurant/tourist spots/transport etc. This post has been edited by little ice: Sep 12 2008, 10:33 PM
little ice
Sep 13 2008, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(Shock @ Sep 13 2008, 05:12 PM) You can use offline maps, but gonna take some work to do it. u need to save google maps as cache and transfer it though SSH, and also make sure don't accidentally deleted from iphone >.< QUOTE(munky @ Sep 13 2008, 06:02 PM) Lets say there's an offline map for iPhone 3G like Nokia Maps, then we dont need to use the 3G/EDGE/GPRS/WIFI anymore, is that correct ? yup that's what i'm curious too, Shock do you know if the offline maps can use with the GPS/cell tower triangle positioning as well, without switching on GPRS/EDGE/3G/WIFI?