DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

ongbs
post Aug 28 2008, 09:02 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 28 2008, 08:41 PM)
Hi jazzy939, the shop show me the sample of the 12v regulator kit just same like what you post in the picture. Is is using 1000uf 12V by the way can I change it to 10000uf 25v. Will it too much?

Added on August 28, 2008, 8:42 pmHi xtorm do you have any picture for the smps 4.5amp?
bro, I may help you to get ELNA 2x8200uF 56V for audio, like in my pics one smile.gif
It is used one but good working condition.

With my player in PAUSE mode my speakers are DEAD silent tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 28 2008, 09:05 PM

Attached image(s)
TSxtorm
post Aug 28 2008, 10:51 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

wahlau keep showing offlah u tongue.gif

sick at home edi, fever....not hifi fever but on the bed fever...hahaha

eh jazzy busy with his thing i guess...hehe

Y.C. see you tomolo tongue.gif

woot!! this post clock me 2388!! nice...very nice...wont post till tomolo hahahaha

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 28 2008, 10:52 PM
ongbs
post Aug 28 2008, 10:57 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 28 2008, 10:51 PM)
wahlau keep showing offlah u tongue.gif

sick at home edi, fever....not hifi fever but on the bed fever...hahaha

eh jazzy busy with his thing i guess...hehe

Y.C. see you tomolo tongue.gif

woot!! this post clock me 2388!! nice...very nice...wont post till tomolo hahahaha
I didn't show off you won't get fever mah tongue.gif
Then tomolo M.C and test yr t-amp kaw-kaw at home? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 12:53 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

hi mysghooi,
Sorry for the late reply, just got back home tongue.gif
Make sure the regulator can take the current from your transformer.. should be at least 2A, 3A preferably.
Instead of replacing the 1000uF, why not install it at the output of the regulator as a reservoir capacitor? It would certainly enhance the voltage/current output.. wink.gif See attached diagram, the cap C is the reservoir capacitor. If you wanna replace the 1000uF I don't see any issues with it.. biggrin.gif

The 4.5A SMPS is mine. You wanna see the pix? tongue.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 28 2008, 08:41 PM)
Hi jazzy939, the shop show me the sample of the 12v regulator kit just same like what you post in the picture. Is is using 1000uf 12V by the way can I change it to 10000uf 25v. Will it too much?

Added on August 28, 2008, 8:42 pmHi xtorm do you have any picture for the smps 4.5amp?

Added on August 29, 2008, 12:59 ammysghooi,
I think its too much ler! ohmy.gif
I'm using a 25W only.. 40W would be the max.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 28 2008, 08:37 PM)
Hi, jazzy939 how many soldering pen is good for soldering this T-amp? I have 60w is it too much?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 29 2008, 12:59 AM

gabanyayaya
post Aug 29 2008, 01:02 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 29 2008, 01:53 AM)
hi mysghooi,
Sorry for the late reply, just got back home tongue.gif
Make sure the regulator can take the current from your transformer.. should be at least 2A, 3A preferably.
Instead of replacing the 1000uF, why not install it at the output of the regulator as a reservoir capacitor? It would certainly enhance the voltage/current output..  wink.gif See attached diagram, the cap C is the reservoir capacitor. If you wanna replace the 1000uF I don't see any issues with it.. biggrin.gif
The 4.5A SMPS is mine. You wanna see the pix? tongue.gif

Added on August 29, 2008, 12:59 ammysghooi,
I think its too much ler!  ohmy.gif
I'm using a 25W only.. 40W would be the max..  tongue.gif
jazzy...is possible for you to draw me a simple diagram if power supply for the t-amp?

jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 01:11 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
This T-Amp fortunately is notreally choosy about the type of power supplies..
See attached pic. This as simple as it gets.. Simple Full Wave Rectifier.

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 29 2008, 01:02 AM)
jazzy...is possible for you to draw me a simple diagram if power supply for the t-amp?

Attached image(s)
gabanyayaya
post Aug 29 2008, 01:20 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 29 2008, 02:11 AM)
gabanyayaya,
This T-Amp fortunately is notreally choosy about the type of power supplies..
See attached pic. This as simple as it gets.. Simple Full Wave Rectifier.
nice...! thanks jazzy....where's the value ??????

before that look here......

is this right?????

btw...implementing SMPS....how's does it look like????? same like above....???? man i'm so slow here from you guys..... doh.gif shakehead.gif

jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 01:27 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Value? Use 'some' value capacitor(electrolytic), observe the polarity and WV(working voltage, more is OK but NOT less). This smoothing/or reservoir capacitor to reduce the DC ripple. The bigger the value, the less the ripple, therefore the better! biggrin.gif Bigger=expensive tongue.gif

Your diagram is correct. The rectifier can be in the form of diode(1/2 wave) or 4 diodes/bridge rectifier for FULL wave rectification. It can also be a regulator board/circuit.

SMPS is a different ball game altogether.. too complex to DIY but not impossible biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 29 2008, 01:20 AM)
nice...! thanks jazzy....where's the value ??????
before that look here......

is this right?????

btw...implementing SMPS....how's does it look like????? same like above....???? man i'm so slow here from you guys..... doh.gif  shakehead.gif
gabanyayaya
post Aug 29 2008, 01:33 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 29 2008, 02:27 AM)
Value? Use 'some' value capacitor(electrolytic), observe the polarity and WV(working voltage, more is OK but NOT less). This smoothing/or reservoir capacitor to reduce the DC ripple. The bigger the value, the less the ripple, therefore the better! biggrin.gif Bigger=expensive tongue.gif

Your diagram is correct. The rectifier can be in the form of diode(1/2 wave) or 4 diodes/bridge rectifier for FULL wave rectification. It can also be a regulator board/circuit.

SMPS is a different ball game altogether.. too complex to DIY but not impossible biggrin.gif
Allritey then....i think i'm "fully aware" about the rectifier based on the earlier posting....

is that why u buy SMPS board....??? easy solution....i gues you amp must be complicated......can't wait to see them. I just have to see it jazzy...then I'll know.....

btw I' listening to Sheffield Labs's Creme De La Creme album.....very musically......hope can test this at your amp....
jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 01:37 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
this a block diagram of a SMPS.

gabanyayaya
post Aug 29 2008, 01:45 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 29 2008, 02:37 AM)
gabanyayaya,
this a block diagram of a SMPS.
yes i see......more filter along the voltage path......i heard SMPS is better than usual linear supply....will study it that.....it getting late...thanks bro.....need some rest

btw do you have this album......??? i'll bring it to you later to test if you like

jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 01:46 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Earlier I thought of taking the linear PSU way.. after counting the costs of making a good one versus a ready made SMPS one, since we're always keeping to the 'best value for money' approach, the SMPS wins hands down. The costly part of a linear PSU is the tranny.. we're not even using the toroid tranny! tongue.gif ON top of that, the T-Amp isknown to perform better with SMPS wink.gif

My T-Amps are configured as a Power Amp. I am using two T-Amps boards for bi-amping purposes. The SMPS will supply the two boards.
I also have connections for external PSU/Battery choices... 3 different power supply! brows.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 29 2008, 01:33 AM)
Allritey then....i think i'm "fully aware" about the rectifier based on the earlier posting....

is that why u buy SMPS board....??? easy solution....i gues you amp must be complicated......can't wait to see them. I just have to see it jazzy...then I'll know.....

btw I' listening to Sheffield Labs's Creme De La Creme album.....very musically......hope can test this at your amp....

Added on August 29, 2008, 1:50 amLate? No lah.. it's early friday morning! laugh.gif

NO, I'm afraid to don't have that album tongue.gif Wahh very young Mr. Watanabe! biggrin.gif
Great bring it along the next time! wink.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 29 2008, 01:45 AM)
yes  i see......more filter along the voltage path......i heard SMPS is better than usual linear supply....will study it that.....it getting late...thanks bro.....need some rest
btw do you have this album......??? i'll bring it to you later to test if you like

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 29 2008, 02:01 AM
gabanyayaya
post Aug 29 2008, 01:56 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

will do.....

ok....good nite bro......

PS: it's friday night....men should not stay up this far......hehehe tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Y.C.
post Aug 29 2008, 01:59 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

xtorm and jazzy,

I re-looked at prices of capacitors dielectric at RS Compo and Farnell again and I sort of decided to go for Vishay BC Components 2222370 series (Belgium made) instead of Wima MKS2 (Germany made) because of price factor. Just Vishay caps are much cheaper and made in PRC.

As I don’t have any knowledge how Vishay polyester caps would sound, I goggled for some general idea and found this: "…… as observed with Mundorf caps before, Vishay poly caps have a sense of weight and texture behind the notes, especially in the midrange that keeps music interesting and captivating over longer-term listening. …"

Are both of you comfortable with my choice ? Costs / person =
- 0.1uF 63V 10% capacitance tolerance, 1.17 x 10 = RM11.70
(qty ordered to be multiple of 10, so each of us need to take 10)
- 0.47uF 63V 10% capacitance tolerance, 2.64 x 20 / 3 = RM16.20 (6pcs) / RM18.30 (7pcs)

Total of RM27.90 / RM30.00 per person, tentative delivery time by next Thursday as Farnell stocks are in UK. Agreeable by all ?

Jazzy,

I PMed you and xtorm prices of Wima MKS2 today. xtorm claimed he didn’t receive the 1st time; if you did kindly ignore them as the 0.1uF caps are with capacitance tolerance of 20% and as for 0.47uF caps from RS Compo, we need to wait between 5 - 8 working days for stocks to arrive from UK too and both the prices have yet to factor in the extra pcs we need to absorb due to qty ordered in multiple of 5.

xtorm,

ok, I’ll see you later today. I found Vishay BC Components 20K ohm resistors at Farnell at RM0.42 each so you need not bring the Multicomp resistors along with you.

jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 02:14 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Y.C.,
Thank you for the effort. I appreciate it very much! rclxms.gif
I am agreeable to the proposed buy. thumbup.gif

I have heard and read about Vishay parts.. It's time to sample and experience them first hand! brows.gif
BTW, your PM did arrived but I did not read it until just now! blush.gif My apology.

Y.C.,
While you're at it, can you include me for the Vishay's 20K resistors too? Might as well go ALL the way laugh.gif

Ooopss. its two in the morning! Time to hit the sack. G'nite all! tongue.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 29 2008, 01:59 AM)
xtorm and jazzy,

Are both of you comfortable with my choice ?  Costs / person =
- 0.1uF 63V 10% capacitance tolerance, 1.17 x 10 = RM11.70
(qty ordered to be multiple of 10, so each of us need to take 10)
- 0.47uF 63V 10% capacitance tolerance, 2.64 x 20 / 3 = RM16.20 (6pcs) / RM18.30 (7pcs)

Total of RM27.90 / RM30.00 per person, tentative delivery time by next Thursday as Farnell stocks are in UK. Agreeable by all ?
Jazzy,

I PMed you and xtorm prices of Wima MKS2 today. xtorm claimed he didn’t receive the 1st time; if you did kindly ignore them as the 0.1uF caps are with capacitance tolerance of 20% and as for 0.47uF caps from RS Compo, we need to wait between 5 - 8 working days for stocks to arrive from UK too and both the prices have yet to factor in the extra pcs we need to absorb due to qty ordered in multiple of 5.
xtorm,

ok, I’ll see you later today. I found Vishay BC Components 20K ohm resistors at Farnell at RM0.42 each so you need not bring the Multicomp resistors along with you.
Y.C.
post Aug 29 2008, 02:18 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 29 2008, 02:14 AM)
Y.C.,
While you're at it, can you include me for the Vishay's 20K resistors too? Might as well go ALL the way  laugh.gif

jazzy,

Will do that. Actually I'm replacing all resistors specified with Vishay BC Components at a total cost of RM14.38. tongue.gif

Good night all.

jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 02:24 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Thanks Y.C.!
G'nite y'all! tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 29 2008, 08:44 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

hehe...so many "early birds" smile.gif
Will update my T-amp test again later with 13V 2.1A SMPS tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 09:11 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ongbs,
"early birds" catch the best 'worms'? laugh.gif

Will look forward with your report! I will also report on my spanking new 12V 4.2A SMPS biggrin.gif
Gonna see if there would be difference between the 2.5A and 4.5 versions.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 29 2008, 08:44 AM)
hehe...so many "early birds" smile.gif
Will update my T-amp test again later with 13V 2.1A SMPS tongue.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 29 2008, 09:16 AM
jazzy939
post Aug 29 2008, 09:23 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

mysghooi,
Since you asked for the SMPS pictures; here it is! biggrin.gif