134 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

jazzy939
post Aug 26 2008, 03:24 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

These are the acceptable binding posts as mentioned earlier... Just a guide... wink.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Attached image(s)
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 03:26 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 03:05 PM)
The more the merrier mahhh tongue.gif

I have tried silver/silver plated cables.. generally they sounded 'bright' but NOT metallic.. good to use to tune your bass heavy system.. some people like it because of the enhanced 'details'... biggrin.gif Then again, this is all system dependant.. not to mention your ears and listening preferences.. tongue.gif

Too much 'details' make me fatigue easily...

I thought it's 13.2VDC?
13.8 smile.gif go try it...hahaha
hmm silver plated, the QED is quite famous, i like wide open sound biggrin.gif btw just diy my coaxial interconnect, man they sound too much better then my red white rca cable...haha, those coaxial are free biggrin.gif, my rockford rm200 rca cable are no match for them

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 26 2008, 03:06 PM)
What? Today still no news of arrival of second shipment of T-amps?  mad.gif

Just pulling your legs, not to worry as we'll wait patiently.  tongue.gif

The President of TAFC not attending our first gathering? Mana boleh?

Since many of us have yet to receive our T-amps by now let alone hear it sing nor perform any mods, what say all if we postphone the TAFC get-together till after Hari Raya as it is important for Jazzy to be around will the listening session be meaningful.

xtorm, I don't think the T-amp could drive my SF Concerto Home loudspeakers.
haiya bro, i wish to collect money also mah vmad.gif
biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif

bcos of olympic lah, everything are slow there....

Added on August 26, 2008, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 03:12 PM)
mad.gif <-- saying, "where's my T-Amp" over and over and over again! Hahahaha laugh.gif

I am also waiting patiently for my second sets.. wink.gif

Yar lorrr.. no President, no gath!  laugh.gif

I agree to that! We'll postponed this until suitable time as this will give our members time to receive their T-Amps, modify/experiment to their heart content! Properly burn in before settling down with the FINAL version of their T-Amp! biggrin.gif

Eh? I need to be around also?  hmm.gif
ofcos you need to be...hahaha

ongbs too if he is free

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 03:29 PM
Y.C.
post Aug 26 2008, 03:29 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 03:12 PM)
Eh? I need to be around also?  hmm.gif
Ya lor, The presence of our TAFC advisor/moderator/T-amp sifu is surely missed if he is not around ! biggrin.gif

I must say the business acumen of our president is so sharp that he is going after Ijan just after one comment from the latter. He needs also try to convince Gabanyayaya to get one as our friend is unsure of T-amp or Gainclone amp at present moment although I think he is more game to build the latter amp.

TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 03:32 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

hahhaa....i would say, price vs value, still t-amp...hahaha

man jazzy your t-amp are clocking so fast
jazzy939
post Aug 26 2008, 03:53 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
so far I have not gone to clipping levels just yet! wink.gif All this while just playing jazz/slow numbers.. Just wait till I take out some ROCK numbers.. maybe I need to go 13VOLTS!!! tongue.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 26 2008, 03:26 PM)
13.8 smile.gif go try it...hahaha
hmm silver plated, the QED is quite famous, i like wide open sound biggrin.gif btw just diy my coaxial interconnect, man they sound too much better then my red white rca cable...haha, those coaxial are free biggrin.gif, my rockford rm200 rca cable are no match for them

I can be free.. wink.gif Noproblemo... tongue.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 3:29 pm
ofcos you need to be...hahaha
ongbs too if he is free
Ooops.. I am ALL that? ohmy.gif What I do here is nothing lah Y.C., just for fun as an electronic hobbyist and audio/music lover.. just sharing the experience and some knowledge.. tongue.gif

Yup. I think gabanyayaya is bent on the GC, the T-Amp performance is throwing off his 'sanity'.. hahahaha laugh.gif

xtorm, if you can get gabanyayaya and ijan to join us, you have my notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 26 2008, 03:29 PM)
Ya lor, The presence of our TAFC advisor/moderator/T-amp sifu is surely missed if he is not around !  biggrin.gif

I must say the business acumen of our president is so sharp that he is going after Ijan just after one comment from the latter. He needs also try to convince Gabanyayaya to get one as our friend is unsure of T-amp or Gainclone amp at present moment although I think he is more game to build the latter amp.
YES! rclxm9.gif I have gone more than 40 hours as of yesterday! .. sweeeeet music whistling.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 26 2008, 03:32 PM)
hahhaa....i would say, price vs value, still t-amp...hahaha

man jazzy your t-amp are clocking so fast
Y.C.
post Aug 26 2008, 03:54 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

xtorm,

Does the T-amp come with any accompanying circuit diagram or sheet stating specification of capacitors, resistors and inductors used on the board?

How do you tell the resistors are 20k ohm?

Where do you buy those yellow-coloured polypylene capacitors for use as input caps?

TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 04:09 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

the diagram is at my 1st post

the yellow cap comes with the amp.

haha jazzy, i hope too then we have more sifu here...kakaka

rm55 cant misslah, hmm ongbs is poisoning me with money tht day we yamchar...hahahha, he say im selling too cheap tongue.gif

but like i say for the fun of all! lets enjoy music and boycut evil marketing...kakakka

btw sifu pcwork coming soon....till now only wana pickup his board rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 04:11 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 26 2008, 04:18 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Those yellow caps that came with the T-Amp is 1uF in value and a smaller (in size) connected in parallel with the yellow cap is an electrolytic 1uF polarised. Wonder why it install in such a manner?

thank you xtorm for making this board value for money! thumbup.gif the enjoyment that we had certainly money can't buy biggrin.gif

pcwork terribly busy with study and re-cabling as usual.. wink.gif
Y.C.
post Aug 26 2008, 04:37 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

xtorm,

I've seen your first posting many times but missed out the pdf attachment, found it now. Thanks

What I meant on the yellow-coloured capacitor is, where did you buy the M-cap 50V 2.2uF caps?

TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 04:47 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

mundorf cap, i think octave have them, i found them while seaching tro my father's stuff, good stuff biggrin.gif they are 250v i think...

eh only now i notice got so many downloads edi...considering the user herelah...hahaha

This post has been edited by xtorm: Aug 26 2008, 04:53 PM
jazzy939
post Aug 26 2008, 05:30 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
if you read the evaluation board document, it is clearly stated that "12V power supply (not to exceed 13.2V)"
Exceeding this can damage the chip. It is on page 2 under 'Introduction' tongue.gif

I guess you're running on 2.2uF now eh?

TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 05:53 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

haha been runing 2.2uf for mids since the begining, 1uf for high

yea, but th eboard is good till 16v, im using it in my car, some times showing 14v smile.gif

no worries
jazzy939
post Aug 26 2008, 06:17 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

xtorm,
the car nominal voltage is usually around 13.5VDC.
I guess it is safe to go that high then! We'll see if there would be any difference sonically.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 26 2008, 08:15 PM
gabanyayaya
post Aug 26 2008, 07:47 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Aug 26 2008, 05:37 PM)
xtorm,

I've seen your first posting many times but missed out the pdf attachment, found it now. Thanks

What I meant on the yellow-coloured capacitor is, where did you buy the M-cap 50V 2.2uF caps?
Y.C... just to tell you I'm still in the middle between Tripath and GClone path la....so I'm still in the process of evaluating here bro....to be part of T-amp Klan or not it depends once I listen during the gathering nanti la bro....maybe I'll be listening to jazzy 'raw' and unfinished setup first (if he's generous to allow me to be the guess tongue.gif )..... Then you'll know that I'll be the xtorm's next customer..... biggrin.gif

by the way are you planning to obtain the M-cap???? I heard Madisound got all kinda boutique caps with reasonable price but quite pricey for the delivery.....do you think you want to have a group order for lower shipping cost????
ongbs
post Aug 26 2008, 07:50 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

jazzy, my SMPS is 12V 4A smile.gif
With sufficient power caps >10,000uF I believe 2A will be good enough.

Mine with 8200uF even blasting till clipping the current draw from SMPS hardly exceed 1.5A! tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Aug 26 2008, 08:22 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya,
of course la you can listen to mine.. remember what happened the last time when you listened to something at my place? tongue.gif
Surely for 55 bucks.. it's worth the gamble.. I did, and absolutely no regrets! laugh.gif

Sounds like a great idea! Anyone for M-cap? BTW, whats the price like?

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 26 2008, 07:47 PM)
Y.C... just to tell you I'm still in the middle between Tripath and GClone path la....so I'm still in the process of evaluating here bro....to be part of T-amp Klan or not it depends once I listen during the gathering nanti la bro....maybe I'll be listening to jazzy 'raw' and unfinished setup first (if he's generous to allow me to be the guess  tongue.gif  )..... Then you'll know that I'll be the xtorm's next customer..... biggrin.gif

by the way are you planning to obtain the M-cap???? I heard Madisound got all kinda boutique caps with reasonable price but quite pricey for the delivery.....do you think you want to have a group order for lower shipping cost????
Bro ongbs,
Thats heavy artillary! biggrin.gif
1.5A max eh? Okay good info! Need to rethink about the SMPS usage for my 2nd. board.. wink.gif
Earlier I was using a 2.5A one.. I guess that should suffice eh?wink.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 26 2008, 07:50 PM)
jazzy, my SMPS is 12V 4A smile.gif
With sufficient power caps >10,000uF I believe 2A will be good enough.

Mine with 8200uF even blasting till clipping the current draw from SMPS hardly exceed 1.5A! tongue.gif
ijan
post Aug 26 2008, 08:35 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 12:00 AM)
ijan,
I was wondering when you're gonna drop in! biggrin.gif

No, its RM55 for a stereo setthumbup.gif
Holy chromoly!! Any more kaa? Xtorm, im going to ur sales thread right now! biggrin.gif

But by any chance ada extra ka? Want to replace internal amp in my edifier speaker.
ongbs
post Aug 26 2008, 08:44 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 26 2008, 08:22 PM)

Bro ongbs,
Thats heavy artillary! biggrin.gif
1.5A max eh? Okay good info! Need to rethink about the SMPS usage for my 2nd. board.. wink.gif
Earlier I was using a 2.5A one.. I guess that should suffice eh?wink.gif
bro, I got another smps 2.1A 13V, gonna try it tomolo smile.gif

Should be enough lah tongue.gif
TSxtorm
post Aug 26 2008, 08:59 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

go go go tongue.gif

i hit sweet spot!! i reach home at 7:15 but reach my room only now....hahahha

singer are singing above my meter, very stable, like they are there, i wish its in the middle but i dont think it cant be done without time aligment

background and soundstage good, instrument seperated nicely, well atleast for car smile.gif

those tht i though dull after the mod, now are making me wet...hahaha
inside the car, its all about tuning

ongbs
post Aug 26 2008, 09:05 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 26 2008, 08:59 PM)
go go go tongue.gif

i hit sweet spot!! i reach home at 7:15 but reach my room only now....hahahha

singer are singing above my meter, very stable, like they are there, i wish its in the middle but i dont think it cant be done without time aligment

background and soundstage good, instrument seperated nicely, well atleast for car smile.gif

those tht i though dull after the mod, now are making me wet...hahaha
inside the car, its all about tuning
bro, pls put a layer of news paper on the car mat...WET wor.......play clean and safe doh.gif tongue.gif

anyways, congrat on your new "level" biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 26 2008, 09:06 PM

134 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:05 AM