134 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

TSxtorm
post Oct 28 2008, 09:37 PM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

tot wana ask how does the ta2024 compare to ta2022 biggrin.gif got the answer....

british do make some great monitor, especially the in mids.
jazzy939
post Oct 29 2008, 01:02 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Wahhh... 'Till death do us part' eh? wink.gif

March,
If I were you, I'd do the same too... biggrin.gif

They don't make speakers like they used to now.. eh?

Will look forward, hearing it again, probably performing with the T-Amp big brother, TA2022 with CA640p and a TT.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 28 2008, 08:48 PM)
Jazzy, March already told me on Saturday that he's not parting with his HB2s.
cyl1000
post Oct 29 2008, 08:46 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 28 2008, 01:06 AM)
Most of us here try to keep our T-amps simple and costs low (with the hope of getting the biggest bang for every Ringgit spent into them), hence we have literally shunned the shop in PJ that you mentioned.

I am not going the pre and power route with my T-amps, hence the attenuator would be part of my 1st T-amp as integrated amp in the Rosewood jewellery casing.

As for speaker stands for m5, do try out The Hifi Shop in 1-U as they are also selling them; I am afraid custom made ones would be expensive. Do look into the used market as well.
So apart from JP, where can I find these quality components? Some of the caps mentioned is not available from Farnell/RS. I'm still figuring out to use linear or switch mode power supply...will linear sounded better???

Anyway, i'm waiting good news from xtorm for the new batch of t-amp smile.gif
TSxtorm
post Oct 29 2008, 09:22 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

for most user, switching power supply sound better.

all parts can be bought from farnell..

but they mention fake elna from JP sounded pretty decent
Y.C.
post Oct 29 2008, 10:55 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

Xtorm,
Glad that you started posting in this thread again. I remembered you bought some Vishay BC 20K discrete resistors for input section of all of your T-amps some time ago. Have you replaced the SMDs and what is your impression of them compared to surface mount resistors / Multicomp 12K discrete resistors?

CYL,
You should be able to source for most of the caps (decent grade ones) needed for our T-amps at Farnell / RS unless you are thinking of getting boutique brands of Auricaps, Mundorf or the likes.

My take on use of linear psu vs smps – smps cheaper, more convenient and some are with flexibility of switching to different voltages within certain range. Apart from these two, there is also the 12V battery. On sonic quality of using different means to power up our T-amps, try to google for views/findings of others. Do check out comments by a chap after he had used all three to power a T-amp: review

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Oct 29 2008, 01:05 PM
s6xs9x
post Oct 29 2008, 11:36 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Guys sorry to be lazy, this thread is too long.
What is this T-amp?
OK ok, I want to replace my computer speaker and I have a few passive speakers around.
Can this drive my 6ohm 30W~100W speakers?
(input) computer soundcard SB LIve via mini jack or mini to stereo?
How much will it cost and what is needed?

Oh ya anyone knows how to fix altec lansing atp3? sometimes got power sometimes not.

This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Oct 29 2008, 11:36 AM
Y.C.
post Oct 29 2008, 12:33 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

A T-amp is an audio amplifier using Tripath chipsets, adopting class D amplification topology. Most of forumers in this thread are with TA2024 boards where they tweaked and assembled into casings proper.

You will need to read and understand about class T amplifiers before you could ask appropriate questions. The T-amp referred here is only 10W (class D power instead of class AB) but it should be able to drive the speakers you specified.

cyl1000
post Oct 29 2008, 01:21 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Oct 29 2008, 09:22 AM)
for most user, switching power supply sound better.

all parts can be bought from farnell..

but they mention fake elna from JP sounded pretty decent

You mean can get Elna from JP??? BTW, waiting for the stock to arrive drool.gif
wui223
post Oct 29 2008, 01:25 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Oct 29 2008, 11:36 AM)
Guys sorry to be lazy, this thread is too long.
What is this T-amp?
OK ok, I want to replace my computer speaker and I have a few passive speakers around.
Can this drive my 6ohm 30W~100W speakers?
(input) computer soundcard SB LIve via mini jack or mini to stereo?
How much will it cost and what is needed?

Oh ya anyone knows how to fix altec lansing atp3? sometimes got power sometimes not.
You can buy the T-amp board from xtorm that would cost u RM55. And u need to do abit of soldering work and get other parts like casing, power supply, speaker binding posts, RCA jacks, switch etc.

Depends on the quality of components and type of power supply you want. The full working T-amp would cost you less than RM100 for the basic one. If you go for SMPS, that would cost more.

It certainly can drive ur speakers well. We tried it with much bigger size floorstanders w/o problem smile.gif

You also need a pair of mini to RCA cables if u want to drive T-amp using PC soundcard.

Regarding the ATP3, need to check on the unit to see what can be done to repair it. Hope this would help.

Added on October 29, 2008, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(cyl1000 @ Oct 29 2008, 01:21 PM)
You mean can get Elna from JP??? BTW, waiting for the stock to arrive  drool.gif
Ya, but the elna is fake one, our guys here named it: FELNA. Btw, i still cant find the shop selling FELNA and YC caps.

This post has been edited by wui223: Oct 29 2008, 01:26 PM
s6xs9x
post Oct 29 2008, 02:35 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

RM55 bucks is do-able. xstorm where are you located? maybe i can have a look at a finished one and work my way through them. as for power supply will a 13.5V 8.5amp dc work? maybe laptop charger instead?
I would like to dip my hands into this group.
thanks.
junchoon
post Oct 29 2008, 03:07 PM

411 posts

wui223, let me get back to this old post...

QUOTE(wui223 @ Oct 27 2008, 09:51 PM)
Another thing to mention is the speakers of our host, junchoon. What i can say is: Size does matter. Being exposed to small speakers all the time, a listening to floorstanders is another ear opening experience.

For the source, nothing much to say as both players perform well. Except the track jumping in the Pioneer. Not to forget the mystery of ROCK music in the hall, sound is weird and kinda lo-fi. Thats something left to be solved.

Another spectacular stuff is the DIY amp of junchoon's friend. Interested to know more about the internal of that beauty, the external looks superb of course. The sound: well, review is responsible of sifus smile.gif
if u r still in the hunt for a pair of DIY floorstanders, look for TJL2W by Troels Gravesen. u might get the parts from Singapore for about SGD1000 to SGD1100, minus the speaker cabinets. not sure if u can find the parts locally or not. reportedly better sounding than ProAc Response 2.5 clone. i have to stress that the real cost is to find a good carpenter to work on the cabinets. can go upwards of rm500 per pair on building the cabinets. parts+cabinets may cost more than Epos M16. check this out:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/782874/+20

the Pioneer changer i got not too long ago, dissapointed with the skipping lah. the ROCK music problem i believe should be the source CD lah - the pressing is rather old. tried the remastered led zep, no problem, at least to my ears, heehee...

i am not sure the internal of my friend's DIY pre+po amps, it's his side project he do for fun/experiment. a well balanced pair, can tame the M16 in most instances. his actual system will definitely make u think the m16+pre+po is child's play, haahaa...

cheers,
wps
bsl555
post Oct 29 2008, 03:53 PM

8,046 posts

I hope one of you power up the T-amp with a lead acid 12V car battery.
wui223
post Oct 29 2008, 06:24 PM

941 posts

junchoon: Thanks for the info. If i got the budget, i would rather go for ready built speakers, DIY them is too much hassle. Unless i got a well equiped workshop in house.

bsl555: I saw some good review of using battery to run tripath amp online. Right now dont have any battery in hand, unless i took the one from my smalll car smile.gif
junchoon
post Oct 29 2008, 07:35 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Oct 29 2008, 06:24 PM)
junchoon: Thanks for the info. If i got the budget, i would rather go for ready built speakers, DIY them is too much hassle. Unless i got a well equiped workshop in house.

bsl555: I saw some good review of using battery to run tripath amp online. Right now dont have any battery in hand, unless i took the one from my smalll car smile.gif
wui223: i don't think u will actually be dissapointed with the sound from TJL2W - it will suit someone who has a small room. with the money u save by using t-amps, u should spend the money on a good pair of speakers.

the Boomtube EX is using battery to power the T-amps. but not sure what battery it uses lah... could not open the Boomtube EX at all, as it uses a strange set of nuts - the side it's like a semi-circle mashed with a trapezoid. and in the middle of the nut there is a hole.

bsl555: when should i return the pre-amp?? it's either tomorrow or next week after 9th nov liao. have yet to listen to it with my friend's power amp.

cheers,
wps

This post has been edited by junchoon: Oct 29 2008, 07:53 PM
wui223
post Oct 29 2008, 08:48 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Oct 29 2008, 07:35 PM)
wui223: i don't think u will actually be dissapointed with the sound from TJL2W - it will suit someone who has a small room.  with the money u save by using t-amps, u should spend the money on a good pair of speakers.

the Boomtube EX is using battery to power the T-amps.  but not sure what battery it uses lah...  could not open the Boomtube EX at all, as it uses a strange set of nuts - the side it's like a semi-circle mashed with a trapezoid.  and in the middle of the nut there is a hole. 

bsl555: when should i return the pre-amp??  it's either tomorrow or next week after 9th nov liao.  have yet to listen to it with my friend's power amp.

cheers,
wps
For that price tag, looks like i need to save for years with my current income status sweat.gif
Curious about the sound of bsl555 tubey setup biggrin.gif

Due to space constaint, i cant experience the best out of my system yet. I usually use PC, and the speakers too close to me, about 2 feet.
junchoon
post Oct 29 2008, 09:25 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(wui223 @ Oct 29 2008, 08:48 PM)
For that price tag, looks like i need to save for years with my current income status  sweat.gif
Curious about the sound of bsl555 tubey setup  biggrin.gif

Due to space constaint, i cant experience the best out of my system yet. I usually use PC, and the speakers too close to me, about 2 feet.
space constraint?? then should consider near-field monitors. try Yamaha MSP7 (supposingly the successor to NS-10) active speakers. usually on offer at 10% off from RRP of RM5600 per pair. really good speakers, transparent without losing the punch. too bad u can't use t-amp on them. if u have XLR outputs from yr PC, then even better match. smile.gif

cheers,
wps
jazzy939
post Oct 30 2008, 04:03 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

wui223,
any progress on your tubed preamp/buffer?
wui223
post Oct 30 2008, 05:43 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 30 2008, 04:03 PM)
wui223,
any progress on your tubed preamp/buffer?
The tube circuit give some problem, need time to debug hmm.gif I will leave it aside first, but the B1 buffer u shud try it out doh.gif
jazzy939
post Oct 30 2008, 05:47 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

You still have problems with 'thump'ing sound when switching off?
Yes.. wish I had the time to build it first.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wui223 @ Oct 30 2008, 05:43 PM)
The tube circuit give some problem, need time to debug  hmm.gif I will leave it aside first, but the B1 buffer u shud try it out  doh.gif
jazzy939
post Nov 1 2008, 07:09 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

We are in 3rd page! shakehead.gif

Ok. Was in JP this afternoon got this for RM4.50 a pair! laugh.gif
The pair was preinstalled on a plastic frame to be mounted on the speaker. Minor disassembly(two small screws) required.. biggrin.gif
Earlier gabanyayaya was looking for a similar one that Y.C. paid RM5.50 each..? hmm.gif

134 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:00 PM