134 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 01:09 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Whoa.. kinda steep but, truly worth it when you're happy! rclxms.gif Why bother if it's a Panasonic or not, right? tongue.gif

BTW,
I am at this point of time running an SMPS rated at 12VDC 2.5A feeding my 'lil marvel... whistling.gif
As I earlier pasted from a website, I concur that SMPS is better than linear PSU! thumbup.gif
The whole spectrum of sound are now have more 'body'.. it's truly amazing! I can't believe it myself, but at 1.00 am in the morning,
I can hear every little bits of music- the lows, highs, mids, even more.. I only fear now is that, I am NOT going to bed as planned.. it's already monday morning! After the Diana Krall CD I must hit the sack... i must sweat.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 18 2008, 12:40 AM)
Me not sure does it Panasonic too but my friend said so.
RM7/pc only, as long as I happy, not really care about the brand, it sound better than my previous Elna 3.3uf NP cap  icon_rolleyes.gif .

Speaker mod? yea, simple modification but audio varying a lot, just to suit my "old ears" that were abused by too much "good noise" as yours  doh.gif  tongue.gif
gabanyayaya
post Aug 18 2008, 01:12 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

jazzy how many watt this thing produce....???? 10...??? you're playing it with the TDL....90dB
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 01:26 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

6W at 0.1% THD!
Yes! Playing using my TDL's RTL3 tongue.gif

A puny 'lil thing driving a huge monster! brows.gif

Just completed Diana Krall's Boulevard of Broken Dreams.
Although the SMPS drove the TA2024 well, it lost to linear PSU in terms of resolution..
Meaning, the differences between vocals, instruments etc is more distinct with linear PSU than SMPS..
I bet using toroids would push the fidelity further.. damn! doh.gif

Take note I have not replace any other capacitor onboard other than the input caps.
Have to check out how the DIN55 batery will perform. Definitely not tonite! (morning rather!) wink.gif
Heyy you're sleeping late! tongue.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Aug 18 2008, 01:12 AM)
jazzy how many watt this thing produce....???? 10...??? you're playing it with the TDL....90dB
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 18 2008, 01:40 AM
gabanyayaya
post Aug 18 2008, 01:44 AM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 18 2008, 02:26 AM)
6W at 0.1% THD!
Yes! Playing using my TDL's RTL3  tongue.gif

A puny lil thing driving a huge monster!  brows.gif

Just completed Diana Krall's Boulevard of Broken Dreams.
Although the SMPS drove the TA2024 well, it lost to linear PSU in terms of resolution..
Meaning, the differences between vocals, instruments etc is more distinct with linear PSU than SMPS..
I bet using toroids would push the fidelity further.. damn!  doh.gif

Take note I have not replace any other capacitor onboard other than the input caps.
Have to check out how the DIN55 batery will perform. Definitely not tonite! This morning rather! wink.gif
Heyy you're sleeping late! tongue.gif
bed???.....I'm going to now......i'm sticking a Cellophane Tape on my eye.... happy.gif
ongbs
post Aug 18 2008, 01:48 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 18 2008, 12:33 AM)
You got a spare AVR casing! Good for you!  thumbup.gif
With that huge power switch, its gonna be NICE! wink.gif
I bought it at 30 bucks from a friend, I do have two AVRs with me but one is too big (front panel plastic) and another one is fully plastic doh.gif

This casing size just nice, i may put in my smps too, if i want smile.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 18 2008, 01:50 AM
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 01:56 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

For RM30 its 'cheap'.. but it is not kinda huge housing for a small little thing? biggrin.gif
OH, you gonna house the PSU too right? I guess it should be okay..

On my side, after the listening session, I have to conclude that I love the T-Amp sounds with a linear PSU.
It has to be as good as my Bench PSU or better. I would NOT settle for any less.. tongue.gif

Actually the housing that I have is even bigger! It's supposed to housea pre-amp and it's PSU, a power amp and it's PSU and mains RFI board.
That project was on hold.. looks like I will use it for the T-Amp.. a definite overkill! brows.gif
QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 18 2008, 01:48 AM)
I bought it at 30 bucks from a friend, I do have two AVRs with me but one is too big (front panel plastic) and another one is fully plastic  doh.gif

This casing size just nice, i may put in my smps too, if i want smile.gif
ongbs
post Aug 18 2008, 02:04 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 18 2008, 01:56 AM)
For RM30 its 'cheap'.. but it is not kinda huge housing for a small little thing? biggrin.gif
OH, you gonna house the PSU too right? I guess it should be okay..

On my side, after the listening session, I have to conclude that I love the T-Amp sounds with a linear PSU.
It has to be as good as my Bench PSU or better. I would NOT settle for any less..  tongue.gif

Actually the housing that I have is even bigger! It's supposed to housea pre-amp and it's PSU, a power amp and it's PSU and mains RFI board.
That project was on hold.. looks like I will use it for the T-Amp.. a definite overkill!  brows.gif
30 consider OK lah since plastic one also >RM15 and I like the size, purposely looking for bigger casing but not too big tongue.gif
pre-amp? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
DIY too? can explain more on it? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 18 2008, 02:07 AM
TSxtorm
post Aug 18 2008, 02:18 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

i think this is what he ment by balance amp

not sure tho, 1 stereo board per speaker
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 06:28 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Yup. This is what he meant! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 18 2008, 02:18 AM)
i think this is what he ment by balance amp

not sure tho, 1 stereo board per speaker

jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 06:31 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I bought a (high quality) pre-amp kit a while back for another project.
I thought of using it with the T-Amp. wink.gif
I won't use a simple pot for it biggrin.gif
At least use a simple buffered pre-amp for the T-Amp... tongue.gif
omg.. too much 'amp'ing here.. icon_question.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 18 2008, 02:04 AM)
30 consider OK lah since plastic one also >RM15 and I like the size, purposely looking for bigger casing but not too big tongue.gif
pre-amp?  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
DIY too? can explain more on it?  notworthy.gif
ongbs
post Aug 18 2008, 06:36 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 18 2008, 06:31 AM)
I bought a (high quality) pre-amp kit a while back for another project.
I thought of using it with the T-Amp. wink.gif
I won't use a simple pot for it biggrin.gif
At least use a simple buffered pre-amp for the T-Amp...  tongue.gif
omg.. too much 'amp'ing here..  icon_question.gif
bro,

may be you may give another medical report for this amp with/without the pre-amp you mentioned tongue.gif
Let's see which setup giving better SQ.
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 07:53 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

In a quest to find out how far the T-Amp can and will go, I will! tongue.gif
Bear in mind, I am using my reference pre-amp (a Yamaha) along this while.
It would be interesting to find out how far you can stretch the budget with electronic kits.
I am all for 'bang per buck' setups biggrin.gif
Anyway, it won't be happening until the weekends.. need to rebuild the power supply for the kit pre-amp as I am using it for 'something' else.. tongue.gif

edit..
I just remembered why I did not use the pre-amp on my other amp, it was insanely accurate and sensitive, revealing almost, if not all the 'flaws' from the source.. amplified everything, noise included! laugh.gif

So far, the Amp-1 or Patient 1 has clocked 11 hours, while Amp-2 or Patient 2 managed 14 hours.
At this juncture Amp-2 is the sweet performer due to the 10uF input caps. I will keep the current configuration for my bi-amping setup which I am planning this week, among other things like the above.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ongbs @ Aug 18 2008, 06:36 AM)
bro,

may be you may give another medical report for this amp with/without the pre-amp you mentioned tongue.gif
Let's see which setup giving better SQ.
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 18 2008, 09:44 AM
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 09:13 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

It would be fantastic if I could get my hands on these casings.. brows.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSxtorm
post Aug 18 2008, 09:26 AM

^O....OO.....ooo^
3,160 posts

yea i saw tht b4, its damn nice!!

eh btw your patient is clocking really fast tongue.gif and you and ongbs woke up at 6am!!?? but you guys slept at 3++ right? wow biggrin.gif

got new from my supplier, 4x100w car amplifier, complete with housing and so on, aspecting rm1k or less...

can be bridge to 200wx2!!

t-amp base, ta2022
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 09:51 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

IF I can get that casing to be manufactured here, how much would you guys be willing to pay for it? wink.gif
heyy.. don't be too observant lah.. I normally sleep around 2 and wide awake by 6.. has been routine for so many years.. tongue.gif

car amp.. lets wait until we know whats the value of 'less' hmm.gif

power hungry guys may want to move to ta2022.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 18 2008, 09:26 AM)
yea i saw tht b4, its damn nice!!

eh btw your patient is clocking really fast tongue.gif and you and ongbs woke up at 6am!!?? but you guys slept at 3++ right? wow biggrin.gif

got new from my supplier, 4x100w car amplifier, complete with housing and so on, aspecting rm1k or less...

can be bridge to 200wx2!!

t-amp base, ta2022
mysghooi
post Aug 18 2008, 10:17 AM

254 posts

Yup, nice casing, how much ah?
ongbs
post Aug 18 2008, 11:11 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 18 2008, 07:53 AM)
In a quest to find out how far the T-Amp can and will go, I will! tongue.gif
Bear in mind, I am using my reference pre-amp (a Yamaha) along this while.
It would be interesting to find out how far you can stretch the budget with electronic kits.
I am all for 'bang per buck' setups biggrin.gif
Anyway, it won't be happening until the weekends.. need to rebuild the power supply for the kit pre-amp as I am using it for 'something' else.. tongue.gif

edit..
I just remembered why I did not use the pre-amp on my other amp, it was insanely accurate and sensitive, revealing almost, if not all the 'flaws' from the source.. amplified everything, noise included!  laugh.gif

So far, the Amp-1 or Patient 1 has clocked 11 hours, while Amp-2 or Patient 2 managed 14 hours.
At this juncture Amp-2 is the sweet performer due to the 10uF input caps. I will keep the current configuration for my bi-amping setup which I am planning this week, among other things like the above.. tongue.gif
Thanks for the info bro notworthy.gif
Awaiting you test then smile.gif
mysghooi
post Aug 18 2008, 11:23 AM

254 posts

Hi jazzy939 what is mean by linear PSU?
Oxburg
post Aug 18 2008, 11:34 AM

857 posts

Hi, can i know this T-Amp is more likely to audiophile ? Or more like car power sound?
jazzy939
post Aug 18 2008, 12:44 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Basically there are two types, linear and switched mode. Do a 'google', there's a wealth of information with regards to these two in terms of design and applications.

This is an extract from wikipedia:

"Linear power supply

An AC powered linear power supply usually uses a transformer to convert the voltage from the wall outlet (mains) to a different, usually a lower voltage. If it is used to produce DC, a rectifier is used. A capacitor is used to smooth the pulsating current from the rectifier."

In other words, it's the normal AC to DC converter. Is this clear enough for you? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 18 2008, 11:23 AM)
Hi jazzy939 what is mean by linear PSU?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 18 2008, 12:53 PM

134 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:25 AM