69 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Cydia 2/Cydia Store and Icy Thread (iPhone 3.0),  

akirasawaki
post Feb 14 2010, 10:42 AM

71 posts

yup i have many problems with this 3.1.3.im new user.sorry for too many question really new with this stuff.

can someone help me..?i've new problem.why when i played a game or anything my credit was decreasing very fast.yesterday i topup rm10 then after a few min my credit rm0.07. why why?someone should really help me.its wasting my money.besides i've a wifi.but it is still use my credit.now iam very afraid of to use internet or play games.actually i dont know how to explain my problem.its says something like my cellular data network is working.how to disable this?i dont want to use my credit when its online.i've a wifi in my home.sobs . its very complicated.giving up.seriously.help

Added on February 14, 2010, 12:34 pmokay lets say that ive download the appc to disable edge/3g at iphonenodata.com . but there is still same.still use my credit . please !! help me la pro forumer

This post has been edited by akirasawaki: Feb 14 2010, 12:34 PM
PeeEl
post Feb 14 2010, 03:42 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 14 2010, 10:42 AM)
yup i have many problems with this 3.1.3.im new user.sorry for too many question really new with this stuff.

can someone help me..?i've new problem.why when i played a game or anything my credit was decreasing very fast.yesterday i topup rm10 then after a few min my credit rm0.07. why why?someone should really help me.its wasting my money.besides i've a wifi.but it is still use my credit.now iam very afraid of to use internet or play games.actually i dont know how to explain my problem.its says something like my cellular data network is working.how to disable this?i dont want to use my credit when its online.i've a wifi in my home.sobs . its very complicated.giving up.seriously.help

Added on February 14, 2010, 12:34 pmokay lets say that ive download the appc to disable edge/3g at iphonenodata.com . but there is still same.still use my credit . please !! help me la pro forumer
Harmeet and a few others have been very patient and kind to offer the likes of you answers.

However, if I were you, being new, I will read the pinned threads to learn more about the iPhone. Not only will it make you enjoy the phone more, it will save you the headaches that you could face later when you try to 'configure' it, not to mention the extra money you need to spend just because you do not know exactly what to do and what not to do.
frozzbyte
post Feb 14 2010, 03:57 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@akirasawaki
Using cooked up firmware from sources that you're not sure of? If that's the case than no wonder you're having problem. I don't know if blackra1n support 3.1.3 jailbreak as I'm more to pwnage tool guy. Better do the jailbreaking yourself either by pwnage or blackra1n or other method stated in this forum.

As for your data problem, use sbsettings with data toggle. Tested this and it works fine.

p/s - I've already upgraded and jailbreak 3.1.3 and does not find it unstable.
akirasawaki
post Feb 14 2010, 04:20 PM

71 posts

As for your data problem, use sbsettings with data toggle. Tested this and it works fine.

p/s - I've already upgraded and jailbreak 3.1.3 and does not find it unstable.
so what do you think?3.1.2 better right.very easy than 3.1.3.thats what i think lah

However, if I were you, being new, I will read the pinned threads to learn more about the iPhone. Not only will it make you enjoy the phone more, it will save you the headaches that you could face later when you try to 'configure' it, not to mention the extra money you need to spend just because you do not know exactly what to do and what not to do.
sure i have read the thread many times again and again..
but i thinks for now i have to be very patient because there are too many problem with this 3.1.3 . i also already download that sbsetting but it does not work.still same,using my credits when i play a game without using wifi.all i want to do now is just upgrade to 3.1.2. thats all . but here is no way for now right besides my bootloader is 3.09 i've tried use fuzzyband and also cant because i should downgrade my bootloader to 3.08. si all i can say is this new firmware is really sucks . many appc not supported. if someone can teach me fully how to downgrade,its really really good for me.thank you.

This post has been edited by akirasawaki: Feb 14 2010, 04:25 PM
frozzbyte
post Feb 14 2010, 05:20 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@akirasawaki
I don't see any big difference between 3.1.2 and 3.1.3. I don't know why u said 3.1.2 is easier than 3.1.3.

Why the upgrades? Because Apple found some bugs or enhancements, hence the upgrade to the firmware. It's not totally different from the latter firmware, IMHO.

You've downloaded the sbsettings but did you download the Data Toggle? It's a separate download from sbsettings to stop the data usage.
akirasawaki
post Feb 14 2010, 05:58 PM

71 posts

@akirasawaki
I don't see any big difference between 3.1.2 and 3.1.3. I don't know why u said 3.1.2 is easier than 3.1.3.

Why the upgrades? Because Apple found some bugs or enhancements, hence the upgrade to the firmware. It's not totally different from the latter firmware, IMHO.

You've downloaded the sbsettings but did you download the Data Toggle? It's a separate download from sbsettings to stop the data usage.

i dont know.but i think because many things cannot be done with 3.1.3 thats what new user like me think la..

oh i see.so i should download data toogle too?then how to make it works?can u downgrade my iphone?and jailbreaking it?and teach me easyway about iphone.thank you

This post has been edited by akirasawaki: Feb 14 2010, 05:58 PM
Edoras
post Feb 14 2010, 05:58 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 14 2010, 04:20 PM)
so what do you think?3.1.2 better right.very easy than 3.1.3.thats what i think lah
but i thinks for now i have to be very patient because there are too many problem with this 3.1.3 . i also already download that sbsetting but it does not work.still same,using my credits when i play a game without using wifi.all i want to do now is just upgrade to 3.1.2. thats all . but here is no way for now right besides my bootloader is 3.09 i've tried use fuzzyband and also cant because i should downgrade my bootloader to 3.08. si all i can say is this new firmware is really sucks . many appc not supported. if someone can teach me fully how to downgrade,its really really good for me.thank you.
Just play the games using "Airplane" mode... biggrin.gif

akirasawaki
post Feb 14 2010, 06:11 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Feb 14 2010, 05:58 PM)
Just play the games using "Airplane" mode... biggrin.gif
yes thats right.i just knew it just now.but someone cannot reach me right when i on the airplane.but its helped.thank youe

Added on February 14, 2010, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 14 2010, 05:20 PM)
@akirasawaki

i already download.then how to make it works?i cant see data toogle file.just turn off the 3g edge?

This post has been edited by akirasawaki: Feb 14 2010, 06:19 PM
harmeet15
post Feb 14 2010, 09:50 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 14 2010, 04:20 PM)
QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 14 2010, 05:58 PM)
i dont know.but i think because many things cannot be done with 3.1.3 thats what new user like me think la..

oh i see.so i should download data toogle too?then how to make it works?can u downgrade my iphone?and jailbreaking it?and teach me easyway about iphone.thank you
i find it very amusing reading each n every post of urs...
in this very forum, thr is a section right at the top...
thr is one thread which says new to iphone? whr to begin...it wud be a very good idea to start thr..our mods n fellow forumers hv put in alot of time and effort to compile tat thread...
if u go on saying its very confusing n all tat, i really dunno wat to say...it has been all numbered up n written in detail...
as far as this 313 fw goes, it is no different frm 312..
i can for sure say tat even if u were on 312, u wud need the same tools frm cydia to fix ur probs...
k now for ur data prob..
frm cydia, make sure u hv sbs n the new data toggle..

then, go to more, set toggles, turn on data..
note, turning this on doesnt mean tat u r turning data on or off...it is just turning the toggle on or off to apprear at the sbs main page..
once u on tat, just press the home button, n it wud say setting language or smting like tat..
then open sbs again n u'll see a data toggle thr..tap on it to turn it off...it wud become red, means off...
once u do this.. ur 3g on or nt, ur edge on or nt doesnt matter...coz ur data wud nt work at alll.
u r done...smile.gif

After about a year of using various methods to get it to work right, there is now a Data Toggle for SBSettings. The problem with disabling data (EDGE) is discussed in my post from last July. Today, Anderson Vulczak contacted me with a working solution to both disable and reenable Data on 3.0 iPhone OS. So we quickly put together a Data toggle and put it into Cydia. In short, this solution sets a bogus IP address, (1.1.1.0) to your data adapter’s IP address. This seems to kill EDGE / 3G without any battery drain issues reported in using other methods such as entering a bad APN.

I recommend that anyone that needs to disable Data use this rather than the EDGE toggle. The toggle should work also with BossPrefs as well.

We are calling this “Data” toggle because when it is off, it should kill the data connection entirely. 3g can be on and you will not be able to access your internet via your provider’s data connection. You will notice you get an IP address, but it is a bogus one that we assign (1.1.1.0).

The only downside is that to reenable data, we have to kill commcenter which can freeze the device for up to 15 seconds. (Should come back to life after that though).
PeeEl
post Feb 14 2010, 11:17 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Feb 14 2010, 09:50 PM)
i find it very amusing reading each n every post of urs...
in this very forum, thr is a section right at the top...
thr is one thread which says new to iphone? whr to begin...it wud be a very good idea to start thr..our mods n fellow forumers hv put in alot of time and effort to compile tat thread...
if u go on saying its very confusing n all tat, i really dunno wat to say...it has been all numbered up n written in detail...
as far as this 313 fw goes, it is no different frm 312..
i can for sure say tat even if u were on 312, u wud need the same tools frm cydia to fix ur probs...
k now for ur data prob..
frm cydia, make sure u hv sbs n the new data toggle..

then, go to more, set toggles, turn on data..
note, turning this on doesnt mean tat u r turning data on or off...it is just turning the toggle on or off to apprear at the sbs main page..
once u on tat, just press the home button, n it wud say setting language or smting like tat..
then open sbs again n u'll see a data toggle thr..tap on it to turn it off...it wud become red, means off...
once u do this.. ur 3g on or nt, ur edge on or nt doesnt matter...coz ur data wud nt work at alll.
u r done...smile.gif
Harmeet, you and frozz are just so patient. I will help those deserving but you guys are just magnanimous.

I stopped responding cause he said he has read the threads as recommended but yet asked fundamental questions that you actually took the effort to show him. My hat off to you, bro.
harmeet15
post Feb 14 2010, 11:42 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Feb 14 2010, 11:17 PM)
Harmeet, you and frozz are just so patient. I will help those deserving but you guys are just magnanimous.

I stopped responding cause he said he has read the threads as recommended but yet asked fundamental questions that you actually took the effort to show him. My hat off to you, bro.
we only learn if sm1 teaches us...if all bash n say read read n find ur way then it'll deter a person frm cming here maybe...smile.gif
doing it with the hope tat one day they actually do read the first page of the pinned thread n look for answers...smile.gif

aindejeje
post Feb 15 2010, 12:24 AM

EDA MASTER
820 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 14 2010, 10:42 AM)

i lost ~RM20 before successfully control the data that suck my credit.
i think its very good experience for 1st time iphone user biggrin.gif
i open Cydia > Install SBSetting* > turn off 3G and EDGE.
*it automatically install data togglet too.
But im on 3.1.2. Dont know how Cydia apps working on 3.1.3.

U jailbreak using what tool?
Blackra1n/Snowbreeze/Pwnage?
Edoras
post Feb 15 2010, 07:16 AM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 14 2010, 06:11 PM)
yes thats right.i just knew it just now.but someone cannot reach me right when i on the airplane.but its helped.thank youe

Added on February 14, 2010, 6:19 pm
i already download.then how to make it works?i cant see data toogle file.just turn off the 3g edge?
akira -- read this --> http://blog.alltechrelated.com/2010/02/13/...ss-of-a-button/

QUOTE(aindejeje @ Feb 15 2010, 12:24 AM)
i lost ~RM20 before successfully control the data that suck my credit.
i think its very good experience for 1st time iphone user biggrin.gif
i open Cydia > Install SBSetting* > turn off 3G and EDGE.
*it automatically install data togglet too.
But im on 3.1.2. Dont know how Cydia apps working on 3.1.3.

U jailbreak using what tool?
Blackra1n/Snowbreeze/Pwnage?
are u using 3GS with new bootrom?
If yes, don't do this upgrade. There's nothin special on it.
akirasawaki
post Feb 15 2010, 03:34 PM

71 posts

hello everyone ! now i think im not a new user anymore.
i;ve done many2 things with this iphone.keep doing research everywhere.i think im done.now my iphone is perfect.i can download song video clip movies and app through my ip.and about that 3g/edge i've done with it..now im very satisfy with my iphone.for now there is no more question i want to ask..its took 3days for me to learn iphone.thanks guys !
PeeEl
post Feb 15 2010, 10:06 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 15 2010, 03:34 PM)
hello everyone ! now i think im not a new user anymore.
i;ve done many2 things with this iphone.keep doing research everywhere.i think im done.now my iphone is perfect.i can download song video clip movies and app through my ip.and about that 3g/edge i've done with it..now im very satisfy with my iphone.for now there is no more question i want to ask..its took 3days for me to learn iphone.thanks guys !
Kudos to you. You actually just proved my and many others' point. If one just spends time reading the relevant threads, he/she would end up the wiser.

It is not like we do not want to provide answers but when answers to the questions asked are easily accessible, then the ones asking those should be told so, otherwise it would be spoon-feeding and that should be a no-no especially for those who are too lazy to scour through the threads.

But there are the likes of Harmeet who still plod on.

Lastly, now you can help chip in to answer queries from noobs.
akirasawaki
post Feb 15 2010, 11:28 PM

71 posts

haha yup.so people who just get started to use iphone.dont ask too many question.just read the thread first.then search by urself.
everything in ur hand guys.goodluck for new user iphone.its quite complicated and i admit it.there still many to update adn do research.goodluck
PeeEl
post Feb 16 2010, 03:29 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(akirasawaki @ Feb 15 2010, 11:28 PM)
haha yup.so people who just get started to use iphone.dont ask too many question.just read the thread first.then search by urself.
everything in ur hand guys.goodluck for new user iphone.its quite complicated and i admit it.there still many to update adn do research.goodluck
No, I am not saying, 'don't ask questions'. What I and many others are inculcating is that forummers who have queries, read the relevant threads here first and only when they cannot find the answers, raise their questions then, not before as mostly, answers are in the threads already but there are people who are too lazy to take the time to read and want to be spoon-fed.
red-queen
post Feb 16 2010, 05:36 PM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 14 2010, 05:20 PM)
@akirasawaki

hey there,

just wanna find out is there any difference between using the data toggle add-on vs disable 3G and EDGE in sbsettings?
harmeet15
post Feb 16 2010, 06:10 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Feb 16 2010, 05:36 PM)
hey there,

just wanna find out is there any difference between using the data toggle add-on vs disable 3G and EDGE in sbsettings?
The EDGE toggle does not disable the EDGE radio. You cant do that without disabling the phone system. Instead, it just tells the iPhone settings that the network connection that EDGE uses is “unavailable”. This is the same method that has been used for EDGE toggle since 1.1 firmware in early BossPrefs.This blocks all data since it’s no longer a valid data connection. Now you may indeed have an E or even a 3G if you have EDGE off and 3G on. But you will not be able to get onto the internet. You may also have an IP address.

the data toggle solution sets a bogus IP address, (1.1.1.0) to your data adapter’s IP address. This seems to kill EDGE / 3G without any battery drain issues reported in using other methods such as entering a bad APN.

1) Some people find disabling EDGE as is in SBSettings works fine. (These folks probably have push disabled and are not using any apps that have notifications / push services.)

2) Some people find this method did work for them.

3) Some people find that a fake APN works for them without battery drain. Others experience massive battery drain.
based on the info above, it can be concluded tat the edge toggle was nt a 100% workabt for disabling data, users were facing problems tat data was still active n probably sm battery drain issues...
hence, they came up with a totally new solution, one which addressed those problems n works better than older one...:0

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Feb 16 2010, 06:11 PM
Edoras
post Feb 16 2010, 06:29 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Feb 16 2010, 05:36 PM)
hey there,

I found out that Data Toggle from Cydia works the best..

69 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:33 AM