Need Help: Dilemma with suspicious tenant

TSMurlocSmasher
post Aug 10 2008, 06:19 AM, updated 18y ago

Hey guys,

I don't know if this is the right place to post a topic like this, but I'm trying to help out my friend with a very dodgy dilemma.

Just hoping if I could get any helpful ideas from you guys 'cos we don't really know how to react to this situation.

Currently...this dilemma takes place at Desa Hartamas, KL. I can't really reveal much details as I feel it should be kept confidential.

Okay...so what's going on now is...

1) Tenant hasn't been paying his rent for several months.
2) My friend can't seem to contact him as the tenant is doing everything to avoid the calls.
3) Tenant doesn't operate his business at a fixed schedule.
4) The electricity to his shop lot has been cut off...and the tenant gets his electricity by re-wiring his neighbor's current into his fuse box.
5) Tenant's business equipment is still in the store.
6) Store and its surroundings are not well maintained.

My friend and I don't really know what to do or who to contact as we're not sure if the tenant is part of a gang or not. As of now, we're suspicious of his personal background due to his extremely dodgy actions. I mean...if he dares to do all of these, I'm sure he might be capable of harming my friend.

Thanks for reading...hope I could get some helpful hints here.

Sorry if I'm posting in the wrong forum. My friend really needs help in this as it's costing him alot of money (paying bank loans and not able to collect rent for that shop lot).

This post has been edited by MurlocSmasher: Aug 10 2008, 06:21 AM
kristal
post Aug 10 2008, 07:28 AM

129 posts

Hehe. I think it is funny that whenever ppl wanted to share their problem in forum, they will use "My friend has this problem and I tried to help him/her" story...

Anyway. I doubt ur "friend's" tenant will pay the outstanding rentals. I suggest u opss ur friend get some help. Hiring some thugs will do in most cases... brows.gif

P/S: Just curious, how much is the bank loan and what's the rental rate like there?
Pai
post Aug 10 2008, 01:18 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

Check back the tenancy agreement and use the get out clause.

But like Kristal suggested, hiring thugs will ensure swift posession,albeit things minght get slightly complicated.
zeist
post Aug 10 2008, 02:31 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(MurlocSmasher @ Aug 10 2008, 06:19 AM)
Hey guys,

I don't know if this is the right place to post a topic like this, but I'm trying to help out my friend with a very dodgy dilemma.

Just hoping if I could get any helpful ideas from you guys 'cos we don't really know how to react to this situation.
Currently...this dilemma takes place at Desa Hartamas, KL. I can't really reveal much details as I feel it should be kept confidential.
Okay...so what's going on now is...

1) Tenant hasn't been paying his rent for several months.
2) My friend can't seem to contact him as the tenant is doing everything to avoid the calls.
3) Tenant doesn't operate his business at a fixed schedule.
4) The electricity to his shop lot has been cut off...and the tenant gets his electricity by re-wiring his neighbor's current into his fuse box.
5) Tenant's business equipment is still in the store.
6) Store and its surroundings are not well maintained.

My friend and I don't really know what to do or who to contact as we're not sure if the tenant is part of a gang or not. As of now, we're suspicious of his personal background due to his extremely dodgy actions. I mean...if he dares to do all of these, I'm sure he might be capable of harming my friend.
Thanks for reading...hope I could get some helpful hints here.

Sorry if I'm posting in the wrong forum. My friend really needs help in this as it's costing him alot of money (paying bank loans and not able to collect rent for that shop lot).
Just till the neighbour finds out, then they call TNB and you are doomed. Better to speak to the neighbour first.
TSMurlocSmasher
post Aug 10 2008, 06:07 PM

QUOTE(kristal @ Aug 10 2008, 07:28 AM)
Hehe. I think it is funny that whenever ppl wanted to share their problem in forum, they will use "My friend has this problem and I tried to help him/her" story...

Anyway. I doubt ur "friend's" tenant will pay the outstanding rentals. I suggest u opss ur friend get some help. Hiring some thugs will do in most cases... brows.gif

P/S: Just curious, how much is the bank loan and what's the rental rate like there?
I wouldn't know...'cos it's REALLY my friend's crisis, and I'm helping him 'cos he's a real close friend.

Thugs would be a good idea...but would complicate matters.

And yeah, the tenant's neighbors know about him hijacking their electricity. But they're deciding on what to do, also.

Some people out there are just screwed up.

Anyways, thanks alot for your time and suggestions. Really appreciate it, guys.

Right now, I guess the only way is to legally evict the tenant. =/

This post has been edited by MurlocSmasher: Aug 10 2008, 06:08 PM
kevyeoh
post Aug 10 2008, 08:26 PM

4,720 posts

last time kena...go through lawyer...ur lawyer will send letter to the tenant, if still no reply...just take court action i think...
but last time after send lawyer letter...the tenant move out eventually...luckily no need more trouble....

speed7791
post Aug 13 2008, 12:00 PM

442 posts

cut off his water supply also...
johnsonm
post Aug 13 2008, 01:02 PM

274 posts

go and see a lawyer. if your thugs cause too much injury, you are screwed.
agape_ian
post Aug 14 2008, 05:13 PM

468 posts

Difficult to get good tenants nowadays. I think you should consult your lawyer. But I think it will take months to settle everything.
dripinrain
post Aug 15 2008, 12:33 PM

265 posts

- Send ar registered letters to the tenant's address in the tenancy agreement.
- Make sure the notice periods all adhered too, as well as number of notices required.
- If no result, lock up the premises with big chain.
- Follow up with final ar letter that the goods in shop will be sold to pay off outstanding sums rental, your time, your fuel to inspect shop everyday, lost income because premises unable to be rented out to someone else, labour & lorry to remove rubbish, repaint wall, repair damages etc (let ur imagination run wild)

- State in bold that if proceeds from sales not enough, you will have the right to take legal action to to recover further sums.

The last action worked well in my company's case and the tenant came on their knees.
Lawyer1
post Nov 26 2008, 08:04 AM

Validating
338 posts

I think it is going to cost you more money to hire a lawyer and evict him. Probable what happens would be he'll just move out after you spending more money.

Cut off his water supply first, and lock up the main door with a big chain.

This shows that you are repossessing your property, which is, under the law, a proper thing to do. Then wait for him to contact you.
am_eniey
post Nov 26 2008, 08:36 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

TS, that's the darkside of MLM

0.0186sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:47 AM