Travel Scuba Diving World, Snokerling too

nlgoh
post Nov 18 2009, 12:23 PM

14 posts

hi all, i m new in scuba diving but i am very interested. still not very sure how the test be done. where the theory test be held? register ourself with the dive centre in kl, then after the exam only do the final dive in the sea? or can we do all together at wherever island we dive?

where is the best among the following??
1 redang
2 perhentian
3 sipadan
4 tioman
5 langkawi
nlgoh
post Nov 18 2009, 03:36 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 18 2009, 12:51 PM)
Sipadan is rated as top 10 in the world for scuba diving...what more?

Langkawi...aehhhhh..aiihhh dunno whether got life coral or all dead liao
langkawi is not in my list actually.. but wonder why some say that langkawi is not bad.. i m more concern about redang or sipadan. but sipadan would be very costly, m i?

nutella, not so soon, may be next year aug, when r u going?
nlgoh
post Nov 18 2009, 10:52 PM

14 posts

yes, it is not cheap, but i think one must at least experience once in his lifetime.. so, 1 yr to save money, should be enough by next yr. ;-)

most probably will choose redang, i met few friends from kampung redang since my last visit..
nlgoh
post Nov 18 2009, 11:22 PM

14 posts

munkeyflo, thanks a lot for ur info.. can u let me know any dive centre around kl?

skin dive in redang before, not that bad.. i remembered 3 yrs back, i went snorkelling at perhentian, many dead corals... not really fun.. pulau lima at redang is nice..

kimseng, i will certainly do it in Malaysia.. though we dont have the best ocean, but Malaysia's ocean can be one of the top...
nlgoh
post Nov 19 2009, 01:42 PM

14 posts

no doubt diving is the most wonderful hobby but dangerous, i've came across a lot of stories about divers. share some other experiences with those dangerous fish, shark or whatever incident during diving...

etigge, turtles and lobsters!!! cool... ya, how much it costs??
nlgoh
post Nov 19 2009, 10:35 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(nutella @ Nov 19 2009, 07:41 PM)
After reading the posts, i guess i will be doing the theory part on land, and head to redang or perhentian for the cert. Is 3D2N enough? I will be doing it before July, either Mar, Apr or Jun, whenever cheaper tongue.gif
Yes, i will do the theory test on land first. I thought the price is the same no matter which month u go. I need to prepare for my exam in July, otherwise we can organize to go together.... smile.gif
nlgoh
post Nov 30 2009, 02:11 PM

14 posts

anyone interested to join with me the HOPE (help our penyu)?? they are offering volunteer programme and you can get the diving certificate at the same time.
nlgoh
post Dec 1 2009, 03:47 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(chae @ Dec 1 2009, 10:59 AM)
sound interested..when?

added: just browse. the application still not open..
Not open yet? i m wondering which one to join. should i join the HOPE or SEATRU. I went to SEATRU few months ago but that one does not include diving. i can get my diving licence if i join HOPE.
nlgoh
post Dec 2 2009, 03:23 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(akRia @ Dec 2 2009, 01:46 PM)
i doubt you can get free license by observing sea turtle or clean the environment. it needs rental for gear, registration fee, and boat rental fee to conduct, if a organisation can have such money, they might as well just use the money to use it on better side? as for the dive centre owner, i don't see a reason they want to spend their time and equipment for free. its not 2hrs thing to conduct/rent a gear out, its at least 4days at minimum..furthermore, most the time non-diver volunteer, they do some beach cleaning, observe sea turtle or gather tourist's signature..i never see them actually gear up...

the last time i heard was from SOS/releigh if not mistaken, you have to gather donation of 3k in order to participate in sabah. and that also i didn't heard the participant get free license at the end.
It is not free. The volunteer programme itself cost RM940. Add another RM1050, you can get the PADI.
nlgoh
post Dec 3 2009, 12:30 PM

14 posts

the different is you may experience the whole process of sea turtles lay eggs. provided you love volunteer job and sea turtles, otherwise, it is not a good choice. it is better to go for dive centre.

0.0433sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:23 AM