halftothemax
post Apr 13 2011, 05:52 PM

Hi all,

very interested with scuba diving. been reading from page 1 smile.gif
i've always enjoy snorkeling.
think time has come for diving tongue.gif

i am surveying price for PADI open water course at Tioman. The cheapest so far is rm1040 for full package.
Im planning to take the course on coming 14 - 17 May 2011 (4D3N).
will be going with 2 other frens. If there's anyone who want to join me for the course, please let me know. I think can get further discount if coming in bigger group..and the more the merrier biggrin.gif

halftothemax
post Apr 14 2011, 04:38 PM

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 13 2011, 07:37 PM)

Welcome to diving world. Yes, the more the merrier but personally I prefer to be in small group for example max of 2-3 rather than bigger group. Attention from an instructor maybe less for bigger group smile.gif
think u r right biggrin.gif
so far only 3 person including me.

halftothemax
post Apr 23 2011, 10:40 PM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Apr 17 2011, 08:11 PM)
Sipadan there not really suitable for discovery scuba. Try going to WM islands first. Or if you like VVIP service, then go to Bali or Thailand dive sites. biggrin.gif
3 would be just nice. Believe me, I assisted my instructor with soooo many OWD during their certification dive when I was doing my Rescue course. It was havoc once we all went underwater. Too many people. Too crowded. I did my certifications with my bf so just 2 of us. Got all the attention we need from our instructor and dive master. Too many people, price might be cheaper, it's more enjoyable as well. But might not have enough attention from instructors. smile.gif

Have fun diving! laugh.gif
haa finally i'll be going with 3 more person (4 include me), hope it wont be too crowded sad.gif My gf is onboard! (last minutes), she suddenly very interested to get OWD cert. She realised how much she would missed out if she cant follow me to dive (mayb she think i would leave her for diving trips,hoho).

BTW, i'll be taking the course from B&J dive centre at tioman island this coming May. Quite cheap i think (rm1050 per pax for full package 4D3N).

Hopefully i'll pass all the test to become OWD! biggrin.gif
halftothemax
post May 19 2011, 04:24 PM

hi fellow fren,

we just get back from salang-tioman for OWD course.
really recommended B&J dive centre, the instructor is really proessional, price is very reasonable. The place is proper
took us 4days to complete the whole course, our instructor even ask us to stay another day and he will bring us for free diving trip on boat sweat.gif
but that is impossible, all of us defenitely cannot add another day to our leave tongue.gif

1 thing about B&J, there are no pool for confined water. all confined water wll be done at open water aka salang beach.
i find this very good and usefull because the instructor will teach you how to fin properly in real open waters where currents exists.
on the 4th dive, its rainning quite heavy and sea is a bit choppy when we surfacing, . Lucky we have learn proper way to finning and all of us manage to swim back to shore which is almost 1.5mile from point we surface. I dont think i can swim that long without fin blink.gif

Vis was not so good, mayb because of the rain (few times during our stay).
but we still manage to see a lot of interesting fish and other creature at the bottom. there's even a sea turtle coming our way, i immedielty grab my camera and snap it rclxms.gif
For rookie, i find it magical to see the turtle just by diving at salang bay, plus during our OWD course. hehe see some the pics below:

halftothemax
post May 20 2011, 10:28 AM

hehe ya, my other fren who also already a diver also feels weird when i can take UW pix during OWD. they never done that.
actually during 1st 2 dive, i already ask permission from my instructor to bring my camera down, he didnt alow me coz not confident with me. he ask me to pass the camera to him and will help me to snap photo of us. during diving, he only take 4 pic of all of us. im not satisfy at all, i want more! tongue.gif

then on 4th dive..i again ask permission to hold the camera by myself and complain he didnt take much pix biggrin.gif surprisingly he agree and allow me to bring. i just keep the camera in my BCD pocket.

u wanna know what UW camera i bring down? hehe see below:

i bought this at lowyat rm1090. its rated 10meter, but...i bring it down to 15meter!! it works super fine rclxms.gif

during skill practise..i just kept this cam in my bcd pocket. when my turn done.i immedietly take it out and snap a lot of surrounding pix. here is where a turtle come to us and i manage to snap it!! yeaa rclxm9.gif

i have almost 40 pix taken UW.
halftothemax
post May 20 2011, 11:16 AM

i believe if exceeding limit not more than 100% its rating depth shud be fine. Thats what i think:-p
because i've been following up discussion about: does g-shock can be worn during deep dives.

to my surprise..a lot of diver has bring down g-shock watch to dive even some of the watch only rated 30m and clearly mentioned in the manual "NOT SUITABLE FOR SCUBA DIVING".

some diver has bring down g-shock to 30 meter depth and more (navy seal wear g-shock too smile.gif ) and its works fine for years. then why you have to buy diver's watch which rated 200m and ISO certified for diving? price different: 300% - 500% more sweat.gif
but after all, its your own decision and wallet blush.gif

my oppinion, its rated 10meter for this camera is to protect their own a$$ on warranty and marketing. its not even the failure point for the camera. my camera works fine till now after going 15meter depth (as what my instructor told, this is our max depth). But i will defenitely not bring the camera to 30meter in the future:-p mayb only up to my max level 18meter tongue.gif
olympus stated that i you want to bring this cam down more than 10meter.. you have to buy their UW casing, price rm1200 (err..more than camera price). and..this casing is ISO certified for higher depth smile.gif

i understand the pressure effect when air expand in closed space...dont dare to hold the coke tin when its explode tongue.gif
but this camera really looks and feels tough as its model name brows.gif i have confident in it smile.gif
halftothemax
post May 20 2011, 03:01 PM

thanks for usefull info and story bro etigge smile.gif
yup u are right, always dive safe ya..and have more fun biggrin.gif
halftothemax
post May 22 2011, 08:41 PM

guys..do you wear any watch or dive computer (wrist type) during diving? mind to share your model?

halftothemax
post May 23 2011, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 23 2011, 01:49 AM)
bought a Suunto Zoop but yet to try it. will be using it in my coming Tenggol dive
Nice, that yellow color rite? how much u bought bro?
halftothemax
post May 23 2011, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ May 23 2011, 12:15 PM)
My bf use Suunto D9. It's his watch already. smile.gif
hehe ya i think Suunto D9 looks more formal. if the one with metal band would looks cool to wear to office tongue.gif

halftothemax
post May 24 2011, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 23 2011, 04:48 PM)
RM700+, forgot the exact price but its on promotion now. not naming shop names but if you want more info, pm me
wow that is super good price man thumbup.gif
hehe but i just bought a watch (suitable for diving tongue.gif )
no budget now. but yeah, i will pm u for the place. maybe my fren want to buy,haha
halftothemax
post May 25 2011, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 24 2011, 08:23 PM)
dive comp and a watch is different lah. if i want a watch and can also go diving, take a look at Mares Nemo Excel. classy enough for a daily watch but wont break the budget like D9
hehe i know bro.. the issue now is budget. already spent the budget for watch tongue.gif

if got budget, will start looks into those dive comp. D6 Metallic Strap is super cool also..3k ,adoi sad.gif
halftothemax
post May 25 2011, 07:35 PM

hehe for me, i'm just very interested with the functionality and style of those wrist type dive comp. not planning to buy very soon. buy, yeah will get it some day tongue.gif

last time im very interested in seiko 5 diver's watch. but to think it only have time keeping function, i change my mind and bought casio which have much more usefull features biggrin.gif
the one i have now have digital compass, temperature, altitude, barometer (weather forecast), high/low tide meter and etc which i found quite usefull during diving trips.

Added on May 25, 2011, 7:41 pm
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 25 2011, 06:17 PM)
If you dive in east coast only, probably no need a dive comp, but if do open sea dives like sipadan or Bali, then dive comp becomes more important as it tracks your no decomp level, especially wall dives. Basically, if you do your calculation properly, you can dive without one, but have to monitor your depth and make sure you don't yo yo while diving
yup my fren told me, when he wall dive at sipadan. its quite hard to tell and notice how deep you are because you cant see the bottom and too excited looking at all the beautifull scenes. Its very usefull to have a dive comp which can notify you of your limits biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by halftothemax: May 25 2011, 07:41 PM
halftothemax
post Jun 9 2011, 10:24 PM

wow i dont bro etigge is a DI. salute to u bro:)
halftothemax
post Jun 20 2011, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 18 2011, 10:52 AM)
Haha. My sister once told me her experience with Singaporean divers (no offence if there are any Singaporeans here).
She was on her own with about 6 other male divers who then introduced themselves. They all brag about how they are already Divemasters and say that she can rely on them if anything goes wrong, without knowing that my sister was already a divemaster herself with lots of experience.

So after going into the water, the diveguide signal to decent. After a few minutes, my sister and the diveguide was at the bottom of the sea waiting for the other divers to decent. And it seems they were all kelang-kabut, going up and down, legs here hands there everywhere. laugh.gif
hahaha this is funny biggrin.gif
halftothemax
post Jun 23 2011, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(purplelicious @ Jun 23 2011, 12:36 AM)
OW
RM980 include the course under Padi and accommodation.  not include meals lo

stay at Sunrise at Long Beach there.
wow that is super cheap, course + accommodation biggrin.gif how many days?
halftothemax
post Jun 26 2011, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(Samurai @ Jun 26 2011, 06:46 PM)
Less then 1 hour...but depends how you control breeding...normally i try to get off limit till 0 Bar...hehe dept around 4-5 meter..

Just to remind all Lowyatt member..starting on 1st July till 3rd July ..MIDE expo...thinking to buy new BCD,Regulator,Gauge ...haiiyaa!! too much maa.

http://www.mide.com.my/

See you there on Friday...chow
breeding? underwater? biggrin.gif
halftothemax
post Jun 30 2011, 01:34 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 30 2011, 01:10 PM)
smile.gif During my active diving days, I too have a full set, even knifes and torchlights. It cost me at that time, let's see, RM1500 for the Scuba Pro BCD, RM1500 for US Divers regulator set plus octopus and gauge (smallest mouthpiece at that time but regretted later as bubbles comes out in front of your eyes laugh.gif ), plus Mares fins, Tusa goggles and booties, gloves, knife, a weight belt and also a US Divers wetsuit, it comes to almost 6K. I even have those retractable thingee to put back your gauge after looking at it. Everything is housed in those oversized plastic container bought in those hypermarkets. My wife also has a full set too. we even have a portable trolley to move them.

Thing is, when we go for diving trips, we hauled everything onto the car, onto ferries, onto boats and then after the dives, we do again in reverse. THen after reaching home, take everything out again and wash with fresh water and hang out the booties and wetsuits to dry, sometimes it takes ages to dry. Very 'mafan leh!' sweat.gif  During those trips, we also have other divers who came just bringing themselves. No hauling and cleaning.

I then sold my wife's and my diving gear but kept the fins, booties and goggles only. Diving trips was very much easier after that. I used to have in my bag a small cutter and some cable ties and also my own silicone mouthpiece so I can change the mine onto the regulator and replace them after a diving for the day. Fact is in Malaysia, dive trips cost the same regardless of whether you are using your own equipments or supplied by dive operators. I think if we dive just 3 or 4 times a year, buying equipments are not really necessary, just a thought.
i agree with you etigge, if i only dive 3-4 times a year. i wont buy others expensive gears like bcd n reg. Unless suddently i got 12 month bonus rclxm9.gif
currently i have wetsuit, fins and booties only. planning to buy mask n snorkle during mide and i think thats enuf for my gears:)

btw, im interested when u mention about "own silicone mouthpiece", is this universal style and standard? let say if i buy one, can i fit it on any regulator at dive centre?

halftothemax
post Jul 13 2011, 12:09 PM

im going for my 2nd dive trip at tioman on coming 22-25 July. Mayb i'll try to have 2 3D2N trip per year:) the rest just practise in pool.
halftothemax
post Jul 13 2011, 01:58 PM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 13 2011, 01:26 PM)
What do you normally do when diving in pool? I find it quite pointless diving in pools. Lol.
So now when me and my bf go diving in pools, we tend to be taking lots of photos underwater.
hehe u r experienced diver..im newbie. i find it usefull to dive in pool to practise my buoyancy skill

0.0491sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:13 PM