Travel Scuba Diving World, Snokerling too

busyman
post May 1 2011, 05:23 PM

1,465 posts

any penang diver right here?
was thinking to get my OWD course during sept of this year~

which shop is reliable in penang? and where should i take the course?straight take the course in pulau ? pulau payar? pulau tioman?
or separate(half learn in pool at penang, then only go to island)

and estimate how much to take a OWD course? got student price?

which should i take? padi ?naui ? etc?

thank in advance

This post has been edited by busyman: May 1 2011, 05:35 PM
busyman
post May 1 2011, 05:47 PM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 1 2011, 05:42 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  Wah! nick is busyMAN but want student price. I don't think there is a student price for OWD certification. You can approach the dive shop in Church St. They can arrange for the dive course. It is quite expensive too, I think. Getting your theory and course in a pool in Penang first is not a bad idea. You won't be rushed through the course. The finals would most probably done in Pulau Payar as it is the nearest dive spot from Penang. Usually the price depends on the group, the more the cheaper.
haha, it's just a nickname, i'm stil student biggrin.gif
btw which is better
all course striaght take at the pulau ?
or
theory course in penang , then just go pulau for finishing?

which is cheaper?

i were told that pulau payar visibility is bad , is it better to take the course at other island?
will the cost in pulau payar cheaper than other island?
busyman
post May 2 2011, 04:24 PM

1,465 posts

hmmm, right now i'm planning to take full OW course at pulau payar(langkawi dun have right?)
date - between 5 sept to 11 sept

just wanna take the cheapest package, include all the accomodation, transport from penang to pulau payar

of course i need a good instructor as well~

1 more thing to ask
which should i take for the OW ?
PADI or SSI ? what is the different between this 2 ?

This post has been edited by busyman: May 2 2011, 04:37 PM
busyman
post May 2 2011, 05:08 PM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(ArisaAida @ May 2 2011, 05:04 PM)
i did my OWD at East Marine, Langkawi. cost me around 1.3k exclude accommodation, OWD manual. If im not mistake, they also has branch at Penang. Any inquiry u can email Jenny : jennycheah@eastmarine.com.my / 019-4793773.

Im also asked the same question to east marine, differences btwn PADI and SSI, here

"There is no difference between both certifications ....just the name ....like when you go to Oxford University or Cambridge University.  The qualification is the same.  You benefitted with SSI because you get one extra training dive (total 5 dives) compared to PADI which gives you only 4 training dives."

then i guess i will take SSI ,
btw u mean u take the course at langkawi? or at pulau payar?

OWD manual compulsory to buy it?
i though SSI no need buy?
busyman
post May 2 2011, 09:07 PM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(ArisaAida @ May 2 2011, 07:47 PM)
Here the detail :
SSI/PADI OPEN-WATER DIVER COURSE
4 DAYS COURSE @ RM 1300 per person  (excludes Open-Water Diver Manual)
PADI Student Kit = RM 360 per set (mandatory)
SSI Student Kit = RM 160 per set (optional)

COURSE SCHEDULE, TRAINING SCHEDULE,            DURATION
DAY 1                              ACADEMIC TRAINING            5 – 6 HOURS

DAY 2                              CONFINED WATER TRAINING            MIN. 4 HOURS (based on student’s performance)

DAY 3                              OPEN-WATER DIVE TRAINING          DIVE 1:  30 – 40 mins
                                                                                                Lunch or Surface Interval 1 hour
                                                                                                DIVE 2:  30-40 mins
                                                                                                (2 training dives for PADI certification)
                                                                                                (3 training dives for SSI certification

DAY 4                              OPEN-WATER DIVE TRAINING            DIVE 1:  30 – 40 mins
                                                                                                  Lunch or Surface Interval 1 hour
                                                                                                  DIVE 2:  30-40 mins

ITEMS INCLUDED IN COURSE
HOTEL TRANSFERS : Daily coach transfers Hotel/Training Centre/Hotel in Langkawi
BOAT TRANSFERS : Boat trip Langkawi to Pulau Payar Marine Park x 2 days (during open-water training)
MARINE PARK FEES : 2 days (during open-water training)
GOVERNMENT LEVY : 2 days (during open-water training)
INSURANCE : 2 days (during open-water training)
MEALS : Lunch on Day 3 & Day 4 only
EQUIPMENT : Use of scuba equipment during training
Day 1 and Day 2 --> at Langkawi Royal Yacht
Day 3 and Day 4 ---> at Pulau Payar
look so familiar~
this is from east marine right?

RM1300, include transportation from penang to there? accomodation? meal ? boat transfer?

busyman
post May 4 2011, 04:10 PM

1,465 posts

i'm looking for pulau payar ~~ any recommendation?
the course provide by east marine is too expensive~
busyman
post Nov 15 2011, 02:01 AM

1,465 posts

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Nov 14 2011, 07:06 PM)
I am going to Pulau Weh on 07 Dec to 12 Dec (6Days 5Night) with my friend (he will take OWC there)...RM699 - 6 dives with accommodation+airport transfer. Currently AirAsia is RM283 return. feel free to join me smile.gif
how much is the OWC over there? smile.gif

0.1098sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:06 PM