Travel Scuba Diving World, Snokerling too

Underhill
post Jan 24 2011, 09:35 PM

This too shall pass
567 posts

Thanks for the info munkeyflo, I appreciate it smile.gif

As for the Sipadan dive, yes it'll done after OWC, on the forth day. Training dive will be on Sibuan Island.

If anyone has any experience on this package, please do let me know http://www.sipadanonline.com/Packages.aspx?g=2
zaff1984
post Jan 27 2011, 06:01 PM

187 posts

im still to choose the right scuba operator for my OWC... and how about wireless (WiFi) connection there? is it free?
Augus7
post Jan 28 2011, 11:34 AM

Council
698 posts

Anyone knows the price of scuba diving in pulau aur? The 3days 2 night package~ or any other package
Putraskyline
post Jan 28 2011, 11:43 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Finally my ordered fins arrived right before we depart to Bali. Will leave a feedback when my trips end and for the 1st time I will dive at Bali smile.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 28 2011, 11:44 AM
munkeyflo
post Jan 28 2011, 12:33 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Jan 27 2011, 06:01 PM)
im still to choose the right scuba operator for my OWC... and how about wireless (WiFi) connection there? is it free?
Which resort/dive center are you talking about?
Free wifi depends on the hotel you are staying at. Some provides them some don't.
Also, don't expect free wifi at kampung areas like Pulau Dayang. Telephone line also don't have. tongue.gif

Added on January 28, 2011, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 28 2011, 11:43 AM)
Finally my ordered fins arrived right before we depart to Bali. Will leave a feedback when my trips end and for the 1st time I will dive at Bali smile.gif
Have fun! Bali has many beautiful dive sites. Hope you see some amazing marine life there and snap pictures of it. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Jan 28 2011, 12:34 PM
Misteripunyaolang
post Jan 28 2011, 06:46 PM

73 posts

Hi all, just wanna ask some question here. Is it a good idea to go for a diving trip in any island in the east coast during the Hari Raya holiday? will the dive shop be closed during that time? or too crowded?
WildChai
post Jan 28 2011, 11:56 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

hey all,

My wife and i are planning for diving at the Red Sea off Egypt in April....i know..it's gonna be awesome. Anyone been there diving before?

Added on January 28, 2011, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(Misteripunyaolang @ Jan 28 2011, 06:46 PM)
Hi all, just wanna ask some question here. Is it a good idea to go for a diving trip in any island in the east coast during the Hari Raya holiday? will the dive shop be closed during that time? or too crowded?
just as long it doesn't fall just before the monsoon season. Sea will be rough and possibility of dive cancellation will be higher. Go during low peak...say end of march and april.

This post has been edited by WildChai: Jan 28 2011, 11:59 PM
Misteripunyaolang
post Jan 29 2011, 12:13 AM

73 posts

thanks wildchai, appreciate it.

Raya this year will fall in the month of August, so that will be before the monsoon. I'm just worried that the dive operator close for 'balik kampung raya'. Planning to go perhentian during the long stretch of public holiday during that period solely for diving.
jianguo
post Jan 29 2011, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(jiwa @ Oct 16 2008, 11:15 AM)
I can't swim. Do I need to know how to swim to enjoy diving?
hmmmmmm hmm.gif learn how to swim first lol
jianguo
post Jan 29 2011, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(jiwa @ Oct 16 2008, 11:15 AM)
I can't swim. Do I need to know how to swim to enjoy diving?
hmmmmmm hmm.gif learn how to swim first lol
munkeyflo
post Jan 29 2011, 01:29 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Misteripunyaolang @ Jan 28 2011, 06:46 PM)
As long as it's between March to September, it'll be find.
The dive operators will still be open during that time. It's holiday period! Consider peak season. That's the time where they can make more money than usual days. Of course they will be open.
I know lots of dive centers will organise trips during Raya holiday as well because it's public holiday. So far I don't think there's such thing as balik kampung and close shop for Raya for dive centers on islands.

As for too crowded, that might be the case cause it's public holiday + school holiday.
My sister went to Redang once during Raya holiday. She planned to go diving but ended up just lepaking on the beach cause everywhere too crowded.

QUOTE(WildChai @ Jan 28 2011, 11:56 PM)
hey all,

My wife and i are planning for diving at the Red Sea off Egypt in April....i know..it's gonna be awesome. Anyone been there diving before?
Plan to go there in the future. Saw some nice rates during MIDE last year.
Haven't been there though. Please do share your experience after you've dived there! smile.gif
Misteripunyaolang
post Jan 29 2011, 10:42 PM

73 posts

As for too crowded, that might be the case cause it's public holiday + school holiday.
My sister went to Redang once during Raya holiday. She planned to go diving but ended up just lepaking on the beach cause everywhere too crowded.

-Oh my.. that's bad man... i'll consider making an early booking to avoid this. But, not sure if there are any dive shop that take booking.
munkeyflo
post Jan 30 2011, 07:08 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Misteripunyaolang @ Jan 29 2011, 10:42 PM)

-Oh my.. that's bad man... i'll consider making an early booking to avoid this. But, not sure if there are any dive shop that take booking.
If you are planning to go to redang, most of their dive centers
operate together with the hotels. So maybe you can check with the hotels. Snorkeling will be a big problem cause you might be seeing more ppl than fishes. Diving maybe still ok but do expect more divers than usual also lor.
don2324
post Mar 7 2011, 08:41 PM

hi...i'm thinking bout taking my diving license and dive at perhentian this end april..
1. is that a good time?
2. what about the equipment (wet suit, fins, mask,...)

munkeyflo
post Mar 7 2011, 11:16 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

^
1. As long as it's not during monsoon season, it should be fine.
2. Usually your dive packages will come with equipment rental, just more expensive than dive packages without equipment rental. However, it's advisable to get your own mask, fins and wetsuit or else might not feel comfortable in rented ones. smile.gif
don2324
post Mar 8 2011, 09:14 AM

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Mar 7 2011, 11:16 PM)
^
1. As long as it's not during monsoon season, it should be fine.
2. Usually your dive packages will come with equipment rental, just more expensive than dive packages without equipment rental. However, it's advisable to get your own mask, fins and wetsuit or else might not feel comfortable in rented ones. smile.gif
any suggestion of what type of mask, fin and wet suit....is it expensive?
Misteripunyaolang
post Mar 8 2011, 01:17 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(don2324 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:14 AM)
Cheapest average price range that i know
mask- from RM200 and more, Fin- RM200 and more, Wetsuit - from RM350 and more

I prefer not to buy any because it's to bulky to travel with.
munkeyflo
post Mar 8 2011, 03:40 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(don2324 @ Mar 8 2011, 09:14 AM)
See whether you want branded or not so branded.

Mask cheapest I got was RM70 and it's my favourite so far. Compared to all my other masks.
Fins also depends on what type of fins. Beginners usually don't have to get fins as it can be quite expensive. Around RM150 and above.
Wetsuit I prefer to get my own cause I don't like shorties. I prefer more protection on my legs and hands cause I scared the coral kacau me. Cheapest is RM350, usually around RM500 and above for good ones.

You can just go for rented gear for your first few times to know what type of gears you want. Then check out MIDE in July or so and get some gears there. smile.gif

If you wanna invest more into this hobby, then you should think about getting the full sets as it's better to be familiar with your gears especially underwater.
But beginner, I suggest just get mask and wetsuit first. Oh you can also just wear a rash guard and surf pants if you don't mind. Malaysia waters still okay, but oversea dive sites might have very much lower temperature so wetsuits are needed.

Can check out http://scubatexpro.shops.com.my/ as well. He sells pretty valuable stuff. I got my RM70 mask from him.
don2324
post Mar 8 2011, 05:45 PM

any recommended shop in klang valley area,
munkeyflo
post Mar 8 2011, 10:19 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(don2324 @ Mar 8 2011, 05:45 PM)
any recommended shop in klang valley area,
Klang Valley kinda big. Can specify more? If Subang then I know.
Also, you looking for courses, trips or buying stuff? tongue.gif

116 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:34 PM