Beachkid
post Dec 17 2009, 06:50 AM

258 posts

PADI vs NAUI vs SSI vs BSAC?

Lol. Sorry I just had to bring up this. tongue.gif

Added on December 17, 2009, 6:52 am
QUOTE(madblacktt @ Dec 16 2009, 10:25 PM)
Any tips and advice on what to prepare before i go for a diving course?

First timer here, would like to know any important things that I need to bring as well as anything I shouldn't do.

Your mind basically. Most divers fail because they get anxious too easily.

This post has been edited by Beachkid: Dec 17 2009, 06:52 AM
kimseng
post Dec 17 2009, 11:18 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(madblacktt @ Dec 16 2009, 09:25 PM)
Any tips and advice on what to prepare before i go for a diving course?

First timer here, would like to know any important things that I need to bring as well as anything I shouldn't do.

you can start by hitting the pool and swim 200m non stop.
its a pre-requisite before starting the open water course.

other than that, just bring the usual stuff that you'll bring to the beach.

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Dec 17 2009, 06:50 AM)
PADI vs NAUI vs SSI vs BSAC?

Lol. Sorry I just had to bring up this. tongue.gif
what about CMAS, SDI??? did you forget those?
obviously you know the answer to that doh.gif

EvanSoon
post Jan 15 2010, 04:52 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

I'm thinking of getting open water with my friends, anyone know any nice and cheap places to get it? i heard perhentian corals are dying and around tioman is a good place to get and pricing is not as expensive as perhentian..

regarding the 200m swimming.. can i relaxingly backstroke my way till the point or is there any time limit?
do i need to prepare my own wet suit?

thx in advance..
juniorkirk
post Jan 16 2010, 12:18 AM

32 posts

regarding the swimming, no time limit, you can take whole day until your instructor fed up.

wetsuit, you can or dont need to prepare yourself... cause normally the course included every equipment, but its best if you could prepare your own personal stuff like mask, snorkel, fin and wetsuit.
mazzTERJi
post Jan 22 2010, 03:08 PM

me also want to take the open water course.. but still searching 4 the best place.. what say, if we gether all who want to take the license then go together..maybe can get cheap price if many people.. brows.gif

place i prfer perhentian mostly.. thumbup.gif
miuk
post Jan 22 2010, 10:47 PM

768 posts

Don't think so much on the price. Since in most cases, ie more fellas in a group all tend to end up with the same instructor (unless instructor is damn ethical to limit the group size). I've seen some having a class size of 6 and you don't want that for the following reasons:

Less personal attention.
When doing the confined water, since everyone goes turn by turn, waiting time to complete 1 skill is damn long.

To me max would prob be 3 to an isntructor max.

Also imho, doesnt really matter where you go to do your open water, your first few dives you won't be able to experience 100% the joys of underwater, most of the time end up concentrating hard on the buoyancy and air consumption.
drake88
post Feb 1 2010, 10:51 AM

347 posts

i would like to ask whether is there any diving course (open water) at pulau pangkor?
EvanSoon
post Feb 1 2010, 06:05 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

can anyone recommend me diving places? I wan to make comparison on where they going and when.. price and services.. and so on..

can anyone recommend me in Melaka, KL or Penang.. this is the only 3 places i can go..

I've tried the place in 1Utama.. he dun wan let me take advance right after open water.. so i dun think i will go there cos my campus also offering n the price is only RM100 difference with extra 2 days..
etigge
post Feb 2 2010, 11:06 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(drake88 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:51 AM)
i would like to ask whether is there any diving course (open water) at pulau pangkor?
You can try enquiring from the Lumut Yacht Club. There's no official dive store but a few diving instructors from KL have boats there for diving in P.Sembilan occassionally. You can try asking for Steven Pan.(if he is still around)
drake88
post Feb 3 2010, 11:59 PM

347 posts

do u have their contact .. if possible PM me their contact
annahoy
post Feb 4 2010, 02:47 PM

66 posts

Im planning to go diving in lang tengah on wesak weekend. 2 of my friends plan to get OWL at tat time too. any recommendation on dive center in lang tengah?
zull83
post Feb 6 2010, 03:12 PM

going to take my OW license this 12th-15th in perhentian! smile.gif
pilotHans
post Feb 10 2010, 04:51 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

Hye.......

im interested (since early last year in fact tongue.gif ) to do my scuba diving license somewhere in Tioman......planning to go to Tioman sometime early April...the week after malaysia F1 GP....

any advice or recommendations smile.gif

hope its early season and the sea is ok..i mean the monsoon is off...
nutella
post Feb 11 2010, 10:15 AM

121 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by nutella: May 28 2010, 01:18 PM
lyndiane
post Feb 12 2010, 09:45 AM

For those thinking about diving in Sipadan Island, check out this awesome underwater video of the island:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1iN9asUgmg...player_embedded
pilotHans
post Feb 14 2010, 01:43 PM

2,525 posts

Hi nutella,

I can't read Chinese + 2d1n is too short IMHO...... smile.gif
nutella
post Feb 14 2010, 07:03 PM

121 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by nutella: May 28 2010, 01:19 PM
pilotHans
post Feb 15 2010, 03:49 PM

2,525 posts

QUOTE(nutella @ Feb 14 2010, 07:03 PM)
Most of the owd courses are 3d2n or 4d3n,
but they do not hv pool training, theory part also conducted during the trip...

We'll complete the pool trainings and theory part @ KL.
At tioman, basically we need to do 4 dives only, maybe plus some practises.
According to my friends, it's quite good for those who do not want to apply leave.
Anyway, i would like to get more advise from forumers also.
Is 2d1n really too rushing for 4 dives? (1st day will reach tioman in early morning)
then i'll opt for 4d3n....1 extra day to relax n enjoy the beach biggrin.gif

thanks man.......i think it's best to take AL, since scuba diving is a serious/ extreme sport........ sweat.gif dont want to rush into things do we...+ how often u go to tioman tongue.gif
eric_tan
post Mar 7 2010, 11:07 AM

264 posts

Maybe some of you guys can consider taking Dive Course in Redang instead.

I only see enquiries for Perhentian or Tioman??

squido24
post Mar 14 2010, 06:06 PM

47 posts

Hi there! diver wannabe here!! Looking for kaki to get the diving course lehhh... huh..
still considering which association to go.. PADI? SDI?

HELP*

116 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:22 AM