Help with US Subwoofers and tranformer, velodyne spl 1200r

TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 02:29 PM, updated 18y ago

80 Druid
798 posts

Hi, can any sifus here advice me on my purchase of a velodyne spl 1200r from ebay (US)? specifically on the stepdown transformer issue. the woofer does a 1000w rms, therefore what kind of transformer should i be looking at? or.. would it even be a good idea for me to get the US model for this??

/ps. if im not making any sense with my question, its because i am a n00b with this things.. lost

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 02:36 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 02:44 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 8 2008, 02:39 PM)

Hv u really tot tis out?

First is like u say de step down transformer..

2nd is shippin for such a bulky/heavy object is not cheap, hv u calculated shippin yet?

3rd is our custom is not gonna be bothered tat its used(it is used, rite??)..

Regards
Dirtrun
haha spend 2 days thinking about this..

2nd shipment cost have all been calculated and + the cost of the item is still within my budget

3rd have considered this too and its still within my budget.

issue is not with money here. its just usability of it with our 220/240 current.. sad.gif

help~~

TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 03:03 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Aug 8 2008, 02:57 PM)
He's in Brunei and apparently the tax rate there is very low brows.gif
whistling.gif ...

rolleyes.gif is aiman interested with subbies too? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 03:04 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 03:30 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 8 2008, 03:28 PM)
first, I don't think there is any step down transformer that can sustain 1000w of power. Mostly I see in the range of 200-300w max. That's why I get the DD-12 locally although is bloody expensive. No choice. SPL-1200 should be around RM 5k locally.
this is 1 bad news.. oh noes.. anyone with any good news? the spl is 1000w rms, 2000w dynamic.. should my transformer be 1000 or 2000w ?

this link have a 2000w transformer.. is this what i need or??

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 03:37 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 06:22 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 8 2008, 04:00 PM)
Ok,

Noted.. Money not an issue..

I d get de svs pb13ultra (or cylinder if u prefer) if tat is de case.. summore can ask for 230v .. issue closed..

Why wanna pening kepala on transformers??
Dirtrun
PS why ebay??
1. Money not an issue as all the cost related to this velodyne is still within my allocated budget. moving on to subs higher up the food-chain may not comply well with my budget

2. firstly, the pb13ultra is over 150pounds.. that is insane for my room.. and yes the svs pb13 ultra/pc-ultra are amazing subs. but I have no idea which online store ships it to Brunei at a reasonable price. if u can advice me on this?

3. Why want to pening? because no country with 220-240v current do international shipping for velodynes to Brunei. unless u can advice me with one?

4. Ebay does international shipping..

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 8 2008, 05:07 PM)
Don't you guys think its unnecessary noise introduce into the system if we use these type of converters? ....or am I too paranoid hmm.gif
I have no idea, can anyone advice us on this?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 8 2008, 06:23 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 09:18 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 8 2008, 08:26 PM)
1000w RMS is the power rating for the amplifier and it doesn't represent the actual power consumption of the unit itself. Some sites are saying that this Velodyne SPL-1200R consumes about 220w in power consumption but to play it safe, get a stepdown transformer with at least 500 watts, it should cost you around RM200 plus. I'm using EKK stepdown transformer and it has two inputs so you can connect two devices to it.

ahh experience guy! any impact on sound using the transformer??
TScallmevil
post Aug 8 2008, 09:55 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 8 2008, 09:22 PM)
You can order online directly from SVS. They have 220-240v versions. Write them an email to get shipping quotes.

http://www.svsound.com/
thx for the advice aiman smile.gif i sent email to svs and hsu. also in the background im x-finger with htkaki's "member" hehe
TScallmevil
post Aug 10 2008, 09:35 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 10 2008, 08:36 AM)
SVS will reply to you very soon, Callmevil. I can imagine someone named Erik will reply to your email. He's the co-owner/director himself.

He replied to many times, without any hesitation at all. Really friendly guy and willing to help. I feel bad that I didn't proceed to order from SVS. blush.gif
I emailed HSU and SVS on friday, HSU replied that they dont ship to Brunei due to some complications with FedEX here,

but SVS ( ure right Erik) replied me with something very assuring (they going to ship a sub to some bugger in brunei on monday). He replied asking my room dimension, preferred volume db, budget, etc. well i replied to him yesterday morning (at the svs email and his personal svs email) and have been waiting for him to reply since. I guess they dont reply mail over the weekend. Hah, I cant stand the wait sad.gif

But if all goes well with this, then daddy is gonna bring home an SVS this month.. ooooo~~

/ps why didnt u proceed with the order?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 10 2008, 12:53 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 10 2008, 04:28 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 10 2008, 03:50 PM)
It could be due to the hassle should anything happens on the sub even with its long warranty period.
htkaki, whats ur comment on this? how often do svs subs breakdown compared to velodyne?

ive been reading all over the net that velodyne have poor customer support on this issue and their subs tend to just not work after some time.. but since ur an expert on this, what is ure perspective?
TScallmevil
post Aug 10 2008, 07:57 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

lol no choice for me.. is either order or... drool over the internet sad.gif maybe i should open shop.. haha.. but i wouldnt know how to :\
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 09:32 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 12 2008, 01:05 AM)
Most subwoofers run pretty hot so make sure it is placed in a well ventilated place to avoid the risk of frying the internal amp. Class A rated amp in subs run even hotter so do take note on this.
ahh very useful information.. lol i wouldnt want my investment to go up in smokes.. haha still waiting for SVS to reply my mail.. 4th day now.. sad.gif

TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 10:24 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 12 2008, 09:37 AM)
I have decided on the Velodyne against the HSU STF-1 due to the same warranty claim issue although Dr. Hsu himself promise the claim if any will be hassle free as they have several pick up center throughout Asia, we just need to notify them and sent the driver only to the center and they'll do the rest.....

but...still look like a hassle to me as need to open up the Sub tongue.gif
haha hopefully i wouldnt have to go through this kinda things... HSU replied to me saying
"Unfortunately we are unable to service your location due to complications with
FedEx in that area."

grrrrrrr
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 02:56 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

as of now, it looks like im going to get an SVS cylinder sub.. waiting for quotation.. no idea how long itll take.. the weight difference svs and velodyne is sooo much.. 70lbs vs 150lbs.. crazy..

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 12 2008, 02:56 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 08:00 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Aug 12 2008, 07:28 PM)
Did you ordered them from their website? How much is the shipping and were you taxed for it? biggrin.gif
yeah they been ping-ponging emails with them the whole morning.. i get a free cap and tshirt for my wait! haha wub freebies~
considering room dimension (especially ceiling height) they advised me to get the 20-39 pc plus.. grrrr i want the ultra, but they not sure if itll sound ok for my room... sadddd but nvm.. at least this one is light (55lbs).. cheaper shipment lol, they still waiting for their shipping ppl to give them the shipment cost..
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 08:19 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(MYLordElrond @ Aug 12 2008, 08:13 PM)
yes..i ordered thru their website..door to door usd245..door to airport usd205...tax 15%+10%
oh forgot about that.. brunei tax for speakers is at %5
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 08:42 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 12 2008, 08:23 PM)
15+10 bro. Meaning 15%, and then another 10% on top of that. sweat.gif

Example, for RM1000 value, 15% --> RM1150, then another 10% from that --> RM1265 #
yeah in other words.. XX * 15% * 10% . not XX * (15%+10%).. now u learn something new again.. but yeah.. the support ppl (3 of them) from svs are VERY helpful ppl kept on emailing me this morning apologizing and talking me through which subs i should go for.. vvery nice..

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 12 2008, 08:44 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 08:52 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 12 2008, 08:49 PM)
Told ya.. The SVS people are really friendly, I'm also impressed with their customer service. But I only dealt with Erik. Maybe he's too busy this time. biggrin.gif
Erik, Ron (Co-Founder, SVS), and Alex (Customer Service) attended to my cry this morning haha so good service, kena offer freebies by that alex guy

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 12 2008, 08:53 PM
TScallmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 10:26 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 12 2008, 09:02 PM)
Erik is the co-owner/director right? Kinda strange that top management replies to your email. biggrin.gif
Yup. Must include shipping cost too. In other words, everything you paid for the thing. nod.gif
lol yah erik is co-owner/director from what his sig says.. i dunno why they replied, i was surpised too but.. all good~ haha

funniest testing pic i see for the svs (testing the 20hz)
user posted image user posted image
TScallmevil
post Aug 13 2008, 06:06 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

no idea what they use to test.. maybe theres a reference disc they use.. but i do see a mic being layed on the ground in the picture.
haha about it being overkill.. nahhh its just the height, but in terms of floor space its quite space efficient.. eheehe

Added on August 13, 2008, 6:07 am
QUOTE(MYLordElrond @ Aug 12 2008, 08:55 PM)
and note that xx = purchase price + shipping cost = cif price
bro, may i ask how the sub is for u? btr than expected? below expectation? hard to calibrate? etc?

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 13 2008, 06:07 AM
TScallmevil
post Aug 13 2008, 11:48 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(MYLordElrond @ Aug 13 2008, 10:45 AM)

Added on August 13, 2008, 6:07 am
yes, the sub meets my expectation. I was worried initially since not able to test, but reading from the glowing comments made by svs owners in other forums, i decided to take the risks. I also bought together with the sub the bettercable sub interconnect - length 5 metres - can play around with the placement of the sub. also bought the avia/spl meter bundle.
It is not difficult to calibrate the sub. the manual is quite comprehensive. The sub comes with parametric equaliser(peq). but i didnt use it. havent try it yet. need to plot the frequency response curve first before can use this facility. Now since i have avr with built-in audyssey mult- eq, i dont think it is necessary to use the sub's peq
I am planning to get the bettercables from them as well but... is the SPL /avia useful to u? if yes i might get it too.. just worried that it might complicate things.. :\

ure avr got audyssey?? denon is it??

0.0257sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:08 AM